Hilton Hotel

Ling> for me i did not
as almost all our guests know where Hilton is (opp Thai embassy & diagonally across Isetan Scotts)..

good good
i tink mine is on the same day
awaiting for t-dragon to call me

ling>> for me, i doing hot stampin.. i wun be printing on the card.. i guess only a few of my guests require.. so i intend to juz get the 100pcs from t-dragon, then i will juz see how to put on the back of the card

Me and my hubby very interested in Hilton Hotel. We were wondering whether anyone of you here recently just signed up with Hilton? Looking at their weekday rates, really quite attractive. The current perks for the wedding show is:

1) Complimentary 1 bottle of wine per table
2) Complimentary day-use room for helpers on the day of event from 2pm - 7pm
3) Complimentary use of 2 LCD projectors
4) Complimentary additional one night stay in the Suite Room

Can we check if anyone managed to negotiate for cash rebates or more wines from Hilton?

Cannes: I signed up on this yr Apr bridal show oso..they have very gd deals
1) additional 1 nite stay
2) nite stay for entourage
3) compliemtary 24 wines consumed in ballroom
4) 2 LCD projectors which I asked for, by right only have 1
5) unlimited waiver corkage for all wines/liquor that brought in

Thanks saggiegirl and chercher....

As for the card, My hubby love the red love blossom Invitation card thus we be having that

chercher>> hot stamping is more ex$ than the normal printing thus I took normal printing.

red love blosson is the only red card

haha...we get that too as hubby side a lot of elders

but the inserts design i get to choose lor...

will be collecting the cards and inserts by this week as t-dragon just called me

definitely hot stamping (embossed printing) is much more expensive than normal printing
so we also choose the normal printing
and it looks quite good with the cute icons

Hi Cannes,

I signed with Hilton mid 2009 for 2010's banquet.
I have the same perks as yours except (1) Complimentary 1 bottle of wine per table. I only managed to get 12 bottles of wine or additional beer barrel. No cash rebates and they were unable to offer me free flow beer or 1 bottle of wine per table.

From my understanding, they usually give more perks if banquet to be held within the year to fill up the empty dates. hehee... So as comfort to myself, I just signed loh.. :p

actually i feel that the upcoming show's perks is really quite good.. me and SO have decided to sign with hilton already!
feel that their package is comprehensive and competitive for a 5 star hotel.. and the themes and wedding favors are nice. a pity the grand ballroom has pillars, but we are on a budget, so have to compromise on certain stuff..

cannes -- are you going down for the upcoming wedding show? i will be going down to see see the set up and new wedding favours..

Thanks for sharing, everyone!

Hi Emily,

Actually I am very indecisive between Hilton, Orchard Hotel and Grand Park City Hall.

I am looking at a weekday in Nov 2010, and Hilton offers a rate at about $820 (i took into calculation wines and liquor for estimation), while Orchard Hotel is about $770 (wedding show) and GRand Park City Hall is only about $720.

We are hoping to break even, we like Grand PArk City HAll because of the reasonably lower cost but it is not a 5* star and as well known, hence guests may not equate with a higher angbao. Hilton on the other end is located in Orchard, well known, but not sure what is the Angbao rate for weekdays from our guests.

Its so difficult to make a decision...haha....actually wonder are we too early in booking since we are not looking at weekends, but more of weekdays in END 2010...

Cannes: just go down for the wedding show lo.. and see if you like the place. Sometimes after seeing the place you will make your decision better.. whether it's like or don't like.

Oh orchard hotel was one of my choices too.. really love their pillarless and high ceiling ballroom! think they have a show coming up too.. and i think they are quite ok to nego with..

it was a tough fight but i chose hilton in the end cos i didn't want to commit that many tables first.. want to keep the crowd managable and minimise loss..

cannes>> actually u are not early to cfm the venue.. if ur date is a popular one.. ppl usually grabbed them 1.5yrs before
like wat emily mentioned, can go down to their wedding shows, venues to check out.. i believe the decisions will be much easier.. my 2 cents worth..

emily> ya I agree on the pillar issue. I compromise that with the 'live feed' facility.

Cannes> u had the same concern as mine earlier. Just to share my selection experience: I was left with Park Royal@Beach Rd, Concorde, Goodwoodpark and Grand Corpthorne Hotel after comparison with their stars and quotes. Then I made arrangement with the coordinators of the shortlist hotels to have a look at their ballrooms. Story cut short, none really catches my eye and yet still constrained to my budget $800/table at the same time.

HTB and I were very stuck whether to compromise our own liking to the budget. At the same time it's once in a lifetime and ballroom settings will makes a big difference in the ambience for the couple and finally... photoshots results.

In fact, Grand Corpthorne's ballroom looks great, got live garden stage. But I felt given the higher pricing around $838/table for weekday plus the out of the way location, I doubt my guests would give more angbao.. When I tested market with my friends, none know where is Grand Corpthorne and thought it was a 3 or 4 star hotel. But when I mentioned Hilton, everyone just went WOW...

So I went ahead signing with Hilton. In the end.. I still change my AD to weekend ($800<) for convenience sake. haa..

hi missysee, ur perks is better than mine.. I signed in 2009 for 2010 as well. didn't get any free wine at all.. is urs the grand ballroom? cos mine is not..

Hihi starfrost, Yup mine is the grand ballroom. How many tables are u having? Did u ask for wine corkage waiver?

Ironically, my encounter with Hilton is they are unable to offer us better wine/beer perks and the other hotels' coordinators are much friendier although June and Rachel are still very nice though.. Ended up still sign with them and no regret since.. phew.. Hilton was the last hotel I visited and decided straight away.

hi gals, before you made payment of the deposit, u must check and discuss the extra perks with your coordinators. they will put into the contract after payment is made.

hi missysee > before i choose hilton, we went to hyatt, orchard, four seasons , traders , mandarin , st regis, and fullerton hotel, we walk like mad and discuss quite a broad range of things we want but sad to say, the dates we wanted have been taken up.

hi saggie > actually my prefered venue is the fullerton hotel because the food there is good and quite spacious , i even know the FnB manager becoz my previous company DnD is held there. But the dates are all taken up. Then my HTB suggested hilton becoz he won the first prize in his company DnD last year and becoz of this , we go for our advance honey moon in hokkaido and tokyo for 13 days this year CNY.

bubblesss> haha ur HTB really lucky

fullerton pricing is quite high so we did not go there... all our relatives are not so well-to-do so we did not visit this hotel

saggie > it is just coincidental that hilton's venue is not taken up on the 22 nov 09 ,so we call june to chop the vista venue. That time , it is either orchard hotel or hilton or four season , but in the end we book hilton

this year we went for a back to back winter vacation in korea and japan. that is why i suggest to you to enquiry the tour agency in which we went to. It is really a good one whereby we took the korea air and the arrangement is also good

Went for my food tasting yesterday. Really good. Love the following:
- Steamed Live Atlantic Cod Fillet (The Cod is super fresh and yummy.)
- Warm Yam Puree and Gingko Nuts with Pumpkins in Coconut Jus (The texture is great!)

haha so funny skip the last 2 dishes to have 2 servings of yam paste.. makes me feel hungry..

missysee > i saw the live feed on someone's AD and the screen and visuals were quite good..

bubbless: i'm in the midst of discussing the contract with hilton. do i have to make sure that they put down all the extra / different stuff that we nego for in the contract first before signing? cos i don't feel comfortable with paying first before seeing the extra perks in black and white.

hi emily > for me, june usually prepare a draft for us to have a look then if there is any amendment, we will discuss with her and until we are satisfied then june will ask us to make a disposit. Make sure the perks that u have nego are listed down, so scroll line by line.
hi jane > we also have live cod feed and the yam paste, we just love it

AmrasEnelya> haha
good
we were so full until cannot sleep

we did not choose the cod fish as parents were quite traditional folks...prefer the fish to have a head and tail on the table when presenting ba

hi chercher> it depend on your preference venue and choice, at the end of the wedding u can relax n say that it is a correct choice.
wow, have another 21/2 months b4 my AD

bubblesss> ya lor
hee hee...

we are counting down to 100 days
just went to collect our cards ytd evening after work

will allocate 2 weekends to do wedding card production work at our new hse :p

bubblesss> wow so envy your holidays..The weather must be good there.. I am now saving very hard to manage all the wedding exps (sweat~) wah.. your hotel selections were towards the higher ends.. Same thoughts with Saggie, my relatives are not so well-to-do and hence didnt want to put the stress on them. Some hotels were avoided like Hyatt and Marriott simply becoz most of my friends had theirs there.. so I didn't want to be the same.

emily> oh really... glad to hear the visuals are good. I have not attended any wedding at Hilton's Grand Ballroom hence relying on reviews here.

U must must really see item to item on what u had negotiated.. I felt a bit paiseh to be "Yim Gim" (particular) when I was seeing the draft. But HTB says better to be clear from the start than ugly in the end.

Am feeling hungry from the way you girls describe..

hi missysee> no lar, we share the same interest in travelling and we both prefer countries having winter because he love skii, when we were in hokkaido during the chinese new year, we really miss the tit bits but we have our own reunion dinner in the hotel. it is very lovely when hokkaido is in winter times.

I attended a wedding banquet at one of Hilton's smaller ballrooms which was rectangle shaped.
Personally found that it is a very clever and good set up with just one row of tables on either side of the aisle. All the guests can get a clear view of the couple as they march in from one end to the other.

missysee> haha why u hungry
hee hee...

yup the visuals are quite OK... we viewed an actual setup previously and it looks quite good

yippee!! half of my close colleagues are coming to my wedding...

Shu Yen>
yup the set up is quite good

hi missysee, we should be having 20+ tables. I guess cos yours is grand ballroom thus the better perks
I think they are giving waiver for 1 per table.. agree that other hotels' coordinators are a lot more friendlier :P

saggiegirl> hungry coz of the good reviews..

starfrost> hmm i saw somewhere in the thread people has unlimited wine corkage waiver.. maybe she got it during the wedding showcase. But come to think of it, I dun really need that much? heee..

missysee> haha
quite true
hee hee...but that is the only time to enjoy the food
coz on the wedding day itself...really no time (but perhaps can enjoy the pre-dinner snack??)

saggiegirl> I only had light porridge for lunch, saving for the feast tonight....woah ho!

starfrost> Ok ok, i will update you gals on the dishes after tonight.