hazuki,
the jar food i was talking abt is organic ones. Earth's Best. Probably some sort of organic preservatives. At the end of the day, u'll need some form of preservatives to keep it on the shelf till Nov 09 kinda date...
Koko, yah...too clean is not good. But we feel that certain stds got to be there lah. at least till 1 yr old. hee...so it's only her bottles and pacifier that are "super" clean (i.e. sterilised). Bowl, spoons, teethers, toys, bumper mat etc, we only clean with hot/cool water/wipes.
Maybe also coz of what we've experienced lah. BIL's son, they stopped sterilizing once he hit 6 mths. Only use hot water to rinse etc. The boy is now 2 yrs old. He's been in and out of hospital and the clinics dunno how many times, for fever, stomach flu...even before he was 1. Whereas their #2, they sterilise till 1 yr (the boy just turned 1 yr), and he has only seen the doc once for fever coz his brother had fever then too. It could be that the older boy's constitution is just weak, but we decided that we will just play safe till she's 1 yr.
mash potato w carrot is one of my gal's fav foods. I've been feeding that to her since she started on her solids (a few days after intro baby cereal). Just introduced broccoli to her on Sunday. She gave the weird look on her face. hahahahaha. But she whacked up the whole lot during lunch yesterday (so I was told). Pumpkin soup is another favourite. heehee...never knew these vege could taste so yummy...
oh, the TV show was abt bb not drinking water before 6 mths right? After 6 mths can slowly start...Anyway, I only give water during meals, and little bit. Sometimes alternate with barley water. Think everything is in moderation lah. My fren's PD said, max is 60ml water per day (wah. how to quantify sometimes?) Then another PD says, glucose water not good, coz can lead to sweet tooth (???). Dunno lah. Just moderation...The research on the TV programme is in ang moh country. maybe their water souce there is not as clean, and their weather quite different. SG so hot and humid...dun drink a bit of water, dunno will get dehydrated or not? Hehs. So far, I never gave her during her 1st 6 mths, and she seems ok leh. heehee...