Hainanese Brides, anyone???

ivied

Thanks Huiz for organizing this gathering. It was indeed an enjoyable night. (I get to share my birth story too) hee..

Looking back at the photos brought back fond memories and this trigger me to do the following slideshow. Pardon for this simple and uncreative slideshow. hee..
http://ivied.multiply.com/video/item/16

And yes! I shall be attending the makan session at 7th storey. That was where we first met.
And like Li Ann, I was also eyeing around at the MRT station then, trying to see who is the hainan mais. haha... Oh, this dinner will be just me alone.

zapzap

Attendance :

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz
3. Pris & Augustine
4. Stacy
5. Lance (Kelly coming?)
6. Li Ann & Thomas
7. Michelle & Winston
8. Janf & TH
9. Petrina & Raymond & Ryan
10. Sherrie & WH
11. Ivy

Ivy : saw the slideshow. it reminds me how I first started this thread and get to know all of you. Cheers to our friendship!

madames

Hahaha, Li Ann, I was also one of those at Bugis Guardian eyeing every gal around me suspiciously. Till now, I can still remember the scene very clearly.

And yes, I will be there for the dinner, despite it being a busy period for me. ILs may be in town and it could be time for us to collect our new Swift, but heck la, my friends and tummy also very important. As for Dr Lee, he has work in the morning and a lecture to attend that afternoon so I shall ask him if he thinks he can be alive enough to go.... hahaha ;-P

kitty_li

Think it'll just be me and hb. Difficult to bring Baby L out for steamboat...difficult to eat. Plus she'll want to pull stuff etc. better not lah. So it'll just be L & L. hahahahaha.

Yah, that first meeting...I remember I didn't bring out anybody's hp number...think the 6 of u stood outside Guardian for quite a while, trying to figure out which gal in jeans is me. hahaha...but I wasn't even there...! So pai seh...

hazuki

Nellie, i confirm wif u again... Cause it's 7th mth liao.. I scared Ryan make noise at night.. I can't leave him alone with my MIL at home either, in case he get scared. Then my mil can't handle liao...

zapzap

Attendance :

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz
3. Pris & Augustine
4. Stacy
5. Lance (Kelly coming?)
6. Li Ann & Thomas
7. Michelle & Winston
8. Janf & TH
9. Lynette & Leslie
10. Sherrie & WH
11. Ivy

kitty_li

hazuki,
7th month, ryan will make noise at night? or you mean to say, normally, he might make noise at night, looking for you? (trying to understand what is your concern...)

hazuki

last nite ard 2am he started le... i dunno lor. but my hb's niece will. the whole mth she nv go out after 7pm. i dun go temple mah.. but my mil say if need to then go. i dun wan.. prob bring him to church more often this mth. hehs...

i'm a sunday catholic.

so i afraid during dinner he'll have probs. i wan observe him nxt fews days n c how then i decide.

today supposed to go airport fetch hb. but first day, so i decided to stay at home.

kitty_li

oh i see...I understand liaoz.

my mother also say dun go out after 7pm. THen she'll kena scolding from me. hahaha. Coz she so staunch catholic, still say things like that. where's her faith manz?

so for this month, we'll make sure L has her medalion on all the time (esp at night). Hmmm, if we feel the 7th mth bit is affecting her, then for our gathering, it'll only be me...coz can't leave L and maid at my parent's place liaoz. By the time after dinner go pick them up, it'll be too late. Actually, I'm more concerned abt the smoke from all that burning...

hazuki

ya.. smoke.. tats y i faster sun all his clothes then keep.. i think they starting soon le. i dun wan all the smoke on his towels n clothes.
my mom also. in fact, she was the one who kept persuading me not to go airport today.. haha
i asked her abt faith, she say, this is chinese custom.. irregardless of religion. :p

kokoyln

CSI, Hazuki - i totally agree no matter what religion our parents are in, so long chinese, they will be more careful in 7th mth, including my mom. My sis place a bible in her son's cot while last time i use to pin a cross on Jolie's mattress.. Babies are prone to cry at nite esp from around 7pm. Wat my mom taught me was on your hse's light at 6pm+ so BB don feel the change much. another thing is u hav to stay calm to handle crying bb.. sometime is us who panic tat y they cry.. they r smart to sense/fee

zapzap

Attendance :

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz
3. Pris & Augustine
4. Stacy
5. Li Ann & Thomas
6. Michelle & Winston
7. Janf & TH
8. Lynette & Leslie
9. Sherrie & WH
10. Ivy

stacy

ah mais n kor...

Remember to invest in the $8m jackpot draw!!! Draw date is tomorrow, 08.08.08, 9:30pm.

Good luck! The one with the winning ticket will buy us dinner on 16th...hehehe

kokoyln

stacy, oh there's another speech on 17 aug ?? hmmm ok will wait then.. i hope to see more paternity leave n more cash bonus.. hee

hazuki

koko: ya.. hb say the speech very sickening... telling us watever we know.. abt additional costs and all. nv say wat they'll implement to help us..

stacy: we'll wait... ya. hope for better bonus..

stacy/janf: first time hb won toto... but.. only $60... haha 3+1 system 7.

then, this silly mummy juz spent $60 on a lousy lightweight stroller... so? all gone...

i told him all thanks to ryan.. keke.

loveangel

koko: Don't kan chiong. Must wait for the National Day RALLY speech. That's usually lengthier & more important.
Hopefuly there'll be more benefits for parents.

Pet: I thought you already have a stroller? How come you bought another one?

Btw, i heard that it's best not to position your baby's cot next to the window...for *ahem* reasons that babies can be very sensitive.

To share some news, i went for my detailed scan checkup 2 weeks ago & i'm expecting a BOY!

His name will be Preston Goh...

kitty_li

pet,
yah, thot u already have a stroller?

Koko, that one is just National Day Speech. We must listen to the National Day RALLY. the super long one, that is shown on all channels. For a few hours on a Sunday, can only watch cable or DVDs. Otherwise, will only see the PMs face. haha.

hazuki

CSI: haha. ya.. few hrs muz watch cable... so sian, this yr muz tahan local channels. cause we wan to know wat perks we get..

pris/CSI: i got him a reversible handle stroller. kinda for training purpose or standby stroller in my mom's plc in future.
i think he likes it better. but i dun really like the outlook though. i hope he can be stroller trained soon then i'll use back my sturdy/heavy stroller.

CSI: jgal is doing spree for babycenter.com
u wan join? if so, can consolidate order for u. if not, we can organise a pte one amongst ourselves.

kokoyln

Pris - congrats!.. another boy coming..
is yr idol Elvis Preston?

hehe.. i will sure watch the RALLY regardless how many hrs..

Pet - i don get u.. u get a reversible stroller for training then once trained go back to your sturdy stroller???? wat u mean.. any difference?

CSI - babycenter.com is in USA right? so we jsut combine order? let me visit the website.. when u all doing it?

hazuki

koko: because ryan needs to see me otherwise he'll make lots noise..
cause he need to be carried often, i hope can ease the transition by letting him see me while he's in the stroller.
then when he's used to be in a stroller most of the time, i hope he can start facing crowds instead of me.

pris's baby is preston.. elvis is presley..

loveangel

Koko: Heh, we were very surprised to find out baby is a boy!
But i'm still happy to know he's growing well & normally. And yes, this year, MUST listen to the Rally..no matter how tired i am.

Nope, my idol isn't Elvis Presley lah...just like the name cos we wanted the letter P for boy (to follow me) & letter A for gal (to follow Augustine). :p

Pet: So the new stroller you bought enables you Ryan to see you? Hmm...your current one cannot reverse the handle?

CSI: Lemmet surf the site too!!! :p

kokoyln

Haha Ops i made a blunder over name..

Pet - now i got it.. like tat u v siong lo..

i'm going for Jovan's growth scan today. hope he is growing well cos my last chk-up show tat he's growing slightly slow.. only put on a bit of weight.. haiz..

hazuki

koko: bobian.. i spoilt him rotten liao... now i have to make amendments b4 it's too late..

pris: yup. my normal stroller can't reverse handle. it's meant to be sturdy but light. so the mechanism dun allow handle to be adjustable.

kitty_li

pet, koko, pris,
anything...we can combine our orders and order via Borderlinx.
Think we limit ourselves to end of this week (Sunday night so can place orders on Monday)? In case some stuff OOS, coz they have sale for some items. Heehee...

maybe you gals can email me? [email protected]

Pet,
hmmm...will you be meeting jgal? coz I noticed she only does registered post...otherwise, if our order is small small, yah, maybe can consolidate...heehee...

Oh...I see, understand why you got another stroller. I thot I saw a Combi stroller at Huiz place that night...not urs?

This year's Rally will see a record number of viewership...hahaha...a new high.

hazuki

nope.. not mine. my original is lucky baby voyage stroller.

i wanted combi initially. but abit unstable? shaky i mean..

i go webby c any i interested then i email u. then u c our order how much.

i buying the leapfrog discovery ball frm her. i tested in taka. price is good. $26++ after shipping.
taka selling $49.90

kitty_li

Pet...ooh. pai seh. hahaha. must have seen the brand wrongly. That night blur liaoz.

Yah, I got the leapfrong discovery ball through another pte spree with other frens. Abt that price lah (S$20+). That ball is quite fun for the babies.

kitty_li

oh Huiz,
still owe you $$. heehee...

Re this saturday's dinner, it'll only be moi, coz the husband has got his own dinner party with his colleagues. haha. Just that after makan, I'll want to cheong back home lah...coz baby L needs me to khunz...haiz.

hazuki

oh ya... huey paid for the catering isit? how much? i very short memory. i think i also haven't pay.. paiseh.

sat dinner: we may go.. if i no prob.. i think if go home b4 9pm is ok.

kokoyln

Pris, CSI, Pet
i browse thru the web, i don think the clothing is cheaper.. US8 will be S$11 + freight.. i can buy Carter at Yishun Chong Pang Mkt at $10 per rompersuit.. r u all buying something else instead of clothings? I saw the Baby Sign DVD.. i wonder if i can find in SG..

hazuki

koko: oh. i getting those on really sale type.. $1.99 type. so sg abt $3 + $1 shipping.

those baby sign dvd is avail in sg.. but i dun find it useful.. hehe.

kitty_li

koko,
yah yah...heehee...getting those on sales. heehee...and maybe some toys (those light weight ones lah...). Baby Sign DVD, can...can find in SG. but SG not cheap. And the retailer in SG dun give much discount (I asked before. heehee). Only 5% disc for MOQ of 10 sets. Chey... End up, got a fren to burn the DVD for me.

It's ok lah. Useful in the sense that baby learns some signs...esp if u dun already have a particular sign for something. Not so useful, if you already have a particular sign for, say eat. For some pple, eat = hungry = rub tummy. So the sign may be different from what is shown on DVD...then parent also confused...haha.

kokoyln

Pet, CSI,
i'm jsut thinkig abt the DVD. actually i saw an advert on 1 of the set but i can't rem the name le.. 2nd one i wont hav much time to train him like how i did for Jolie, so i tot, n DVD lo.. hehe..
actaully i also don know wat to buy lo.. i see here n there see till i blur.. any tips? I alwys prefer to buy something tat i can see n feel..

hazuki

sat's makan was great.
i love the food... esp the pork chop.. haha
too bad i din really had the chance to enjoy it..

kokoyln

ya hor.. u all went for the steamboat le..

me work till i can't even walk that day. limping n Jacob became my walking stick..

btw did u all bombarded by other threads which is post by Sharon Lim (sharonsharon08).. my mailbox was bomb with 400+ email from diff thread with all same postings.. super buay tahan. today i got another 300+

kokoyln

Huey, i jsut empty my deleted folder.. she post beauty service such as facial, massage, manicure, pedicure.. i thot forum cant post ad.. if can, i also post le.. seow cha bor.. make me gotta clear my mailbox madly..

Maternity leave increase to 16 weeks!! yippie, more bb bonus.. 6 childcare leaves.. i keep my fingers crossed that it will apply for babies due after Aug or earlier.
detail will be out end of this wk.. keep my eyes n ears open

hazuki

lance: not bad lah.. 16wks maternity leave means u get lesser emotional imbalanced mummies stressing to bottle train or sleep train their babies... haha

childcare leave add up to 6days now.. but muz take b4 baby turns 2yrs.
unpaid infant leave - 1wk. for parents with babies below 1yr.

kokoyln

Pet, childcare leave is renewable yearly till kid turn 7yrs wat.. why u said 2yrs?

no effective date was mentioned yet so keep finger cross that it will be back-dated just like in 2004..

when Wong Gan SEng revealing the details??

kitty_li

Pet, the unpaid infant leave is for babies until 2 yrs old. childcare leave is 6 days every year. cannot carry forward...until child turns 7 yrs old.

yah, I'm also hoping it will be back-dated....till last year...hehs...then I can enjoy 1 more mth of ML...hahahahah