hehs...when you have your 1st kid, everyone thinks you're a retard (with regards to caring for your kid). That's just how it is lah.
heehee...
Petrina, with regards to the clothes, ur MIL is right. Those over the head types are more difficult to handle compared with front buttons / tie string types, though not impossible. Once u get the hang of it, it shd be fine. Hospitals dress bb in front button / tie string tpes...for the same reasons Huiz mention. I bought all front button T-shirts and rompers for my gal. and I'm wondering why they still sell those over the neck types.
And yap, they dun need to wear pants. Makes diaper changing much easier, esp if it's 6 - 10 diapers a day. Just swadle them up can liaoz. Hospital also dun dress them in pants.
Booties and mittens need lah. to prevent bb from scratching themselves. Coz even if swaddle tightly, they will still struggle and hands can still come out of swaddle...hehs.
Hehs, you become more picky after preggy? Hahaha...it's the hormones. Like nesting instinct. I was the same. I was still re-decorating the home and cleaning here and there up to the day before I popped. It's just an instinct thing. Tired, but still want to carry on kinda feeling.
oh, almost forgot to add...
I also bought the rapid steriliser. It's good. Had the same newborn bottle set, food warmer and wet wipes thrown in. THere's one problem though...me and a few other mummies in the Dec07 thread find that our babies have problems sucking on the Pigeon teats. Not sure why. Maybe it's the shape of the teats. Their perilistic teats are relatively new product. My gal has no problems with Avent teats and NUK teats (suck non-stop and is happy). I only just found out recently when I fed her EBM (super tiring to latch on all the time lah, plus came down with bad engorgement and probably mastitis). So Petrina, you might want to get ready a couple of Avent bottles or NUK just in case. KKH gave NUK. heehee...came with their sample FM.
The sarong thing...I slept in a sarong when I was young. Think it's ok..probably not for newborns lah. Sarong can be used for 1 or 2 yr olds right? But still need to put mattress below just in case. Head is supposed to be nicer and round...BUT...hehs...we're hainanese! the Hainam head is flattish at the back....so, sarong or no sarong, no diff leh. My sis' head a bit flattish. pple one look at her can tell her "you're hainanese". Hehs...so maybe u can tell ur MIL, bb is hainanese, so sarong or not, no diff lah. heehee...