Hainanese Brides, anyone???

I'm back from Bintan. Thank goodness the weather was good there. Gonna unpack and pack for Malacca tomorrow.

Sherrie, I think u do have some teacher look... hehe

Hi mais, I finally finished unpacking after my trip to Hanoi. It seems you all enjoyed yourself during the last gathering. Hehe, i wish i was there. So when is the next gathering?

CSI: Hope you are coping well so far after delivery.

Nellie, Huiz: So i owe who money ah? I see so many emails until I dizzy lei.

petrina: When you giving birth? Or did you give birth already.
I come back from holiday I really blur liao. It seems like so long.

Li Ann: You bought house liao? I thought you staying with your in laws.

Btw, when did sherrie change job and become teacher?

wah Lance,
you really ah...hahaha...I guess this is what they call, post-wedding joys. hahahaha. Enjoyed your wedding so much that u a bit "blur" liaoz. hehs...

I'm ok lah...now getting used to sleeping at strange hours. hahaha.

Petrina giving birth in Feb/Mar. Li Ann bought house some time back liaoz. Sherrie never change job lah. Just saying that she has teacher look...heehee...

Merry Christmas everyone!!

hui, jan, stacy, got your orders le. they are quite fast in processing the orders. Think can collect by Boxing Day! You can transfer the monies to my POSB savings 135-10731-0. I'll sms you gals again.

lance, hehe, you more blur than me hor? i bought my house early this year and hoping to TOP by Mar next year.

Our next gathering is the CNY lou hei. Tentative plan is dinner at Noble House on 19 Feb 08. Hui is organizing the dinner this time.

So did you manage to get your white shoes??

Aiyo Lance, u must have had too much to drink during your wedding liao. Hangover till now... hehe. But do share your photos with us soon okie? waiting eagerly too see them.

Hey thanks Li Ann! I shall transfer the money to u when I am back in Sg. Can't remember exact amount now, but I will go dig out the email I sent u to confirm again.

It's darn hot in Malacca now. How I wish for the rain now. But better dun rai tonight coz wanna go 2 the Portugese Settlement next door to see their Xmas lightups. According to my MIL, they cal it the Orchard Rd of Malacca worr... haha

Here's wishing everyone a very very Merry and joyous Xmas!

haha, juz logged in today.. realised tat Lance can be labelled Blur King liao..
I'm delivering in end mar 08.

Merry Christmas to all!! Enjoy your holidays!!

harlow all!, im back home frm 'xmas dinner' wif hub - had drinks at serangoon gdns Liquid Kitchen n bbq stingray at ChompChomp haha..

hv fun, all n hapi hols! n MeRrY X'mAs!

Hello folks,

Now with Xmas over and the New Year soon to be over, I am already dreaming of our CNY dinner. I had just called up Noble House and found out that they have already opened bookings for CNY and their menu is also out. They are faxing it to me in 10mins time. Will post it up when I receive it.

So the venue shall be fixed at Noble House and as for the date, we shall go for 19 Feb at 7.30pm alright?

I hope to be able to make the bookings by the end of next week (kiasu). For those who are able to attend the dinner, please drop your name (or names if your other half is joining too) asap. Thanks!

Ok, I am back with the menu.

There's 2:

#1 Fu Gui Ji Xiang Menu @ $598+++ for 10 pax

- Bountiful Salmon Yu-Sheng
- BBQ Combi
- Sauteed Prawns with Vege in XO Sauce
- Braised Sharks Find with Fish Maw and Crab Meat
- Stewed Wild Fungus and Sea Cucumber with Selected Vege
- Steamed Dover Sole Fish with Garlic Sauce
- Stewed E-Fu Noodle
- Chilled Dessert with Fungus Dried Apricot and Perilla Seeds
- Chinese New Year Delights

#2 Jin Yu Man Tang @ $1488++ for 10 pax

- Roast Whole Suckling Pig
- Monk Jumps Over the Wall
- Sauteed Scallops with Macadamia Nuts and Pepper
- Deep Fried Conpoy and Black Moss with Golden Sauce
- Sauteed Dover Sole Filled with Greens Served in Crispy Fish Bone Bottom
- Poached Jap Handmade Noodles with Lobster Meat
- Chilled Red Dates and Snow Lotus Seeds wit Rock Sugar
- Chinese New Year Delights

After thinking about it for a while, I realise that Noble House may be a tad too expensive. Assuming we adhere strictly to 10 pax per table, the cost can easily add up to more than $120 a couple.

I called up our 2nd choice venue but they are unfortunately (more for them) not ready with their CNY menu yet. It will only be ready at end Jan 08.

The next choice would be to go to the No Signboard restaurant at Geylang (414 Geylang). Its a much more casual place and we can really let our hair loose and make as much noise as we like. There's no need to order the set. We can simply go ala carte with a lo hei thrown in. I will be going to the Esplanade branch tonight and if possible, I shall check out their prices and have a guage of how much the total cost could be.

At the moment, here's the namelist of attendees:

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz & Eric
3. Stacy
4. Christine & Tiong Hwa

If u are able to make it at 7.30pm on Tues, 19 Feb 08 and is also agreeable to the venue (Note: Its not any upper society or branded place with high class ambience. There may not even be aircon.), please leave your name here or you could MSN or drop me an SMS. Thanks!

589074.jpg

huey: i went to the esplanade branch abt two mths ago....we also paid abt 60 plus bucks per person...we didn't order a lot of food...the usual cereal prawns, crabs, veg, yam ring dish etc...

Hmmm, it seems to me that the prices in Geylang will be cheaper.

I ordered chilli crabs, fried man tou/bread, lobster w/dong fen, salted fish fried rice, scallops with brocolli. Only $150 plus and there are 4 of us. Super full after the meal.

hi all.. past few days bzy shuttling to ttsh.. my FIL had a small accident on thur, whole bonnet, bumper n passenger door smashed.. then fri he decided to go see doc at ttsh, who knows ended up gotta be warded.. yuan lai he got double vision on xmas day liao but tot prob due to tireness so din bother much.. until accident happened on the road then decided to chk..

lucky tom half day work, juz go n nua.. so tired now yawn..

huiz - the no signboard dinner ok wif me.. many thks..

sorry mais... i need to vent her abit...

i'm pissed at my hb n mil today. actually every wkend...

my mil cooks every sun. sub standard food, no issues wif me... but she nv clears her mess. leaves soya sauce bottle on the table after cooking, all table cloths soaking wet, washing sink all wet, stove nv wipe after cooking...
i have to carry a huge tummy gg ard wif a mop n cloth to clear all stuffs... wipe all tables...
i'm very very tired... i dunno how long i can take this...

Oh no janf, I hope he's doing fine now. Which discipline is he warded under?

Petrina, would asking your hub to remind her nicely help?

petrina: You so poor. Your mil buay zi tong lei. How come like that? You never tell her you preggy cannot do manual labor ah?

janf: Hope your FIL is feeling better now. Heh heh, i also half day work tomorrow. Very tired.

Nellie, Huiz: So confirm Geylang ah? My wife not going lei. She going back to Viet to celebrate New Year liao. Haiz, i alone again.

Lets all look forward to New Year Day!!! Holiday!!!

Lance: i dunno wat she thinking... anywayz, i told hb liao... he say, leave it... i was like *how to tahan the sight of the messiness*?? haiz...

lance - how come i no link to see ur pics??! I WANA SEE HAHA!

huiz - i duno wat discipline leh.. only know hes in 9C-105.. MIL go see him liao.. hopefully the ENT checks are ok..

petrina - ren yi ren ya.. or else get ur hub to do the cleaning up.. now u are king since u preggy leh..

Huiz, count me in for the CNY dinner. hubby and baby too. Hopefully can bring baby along lah...coz dunno how she'll be with crowds etc...now still early to tell. hehs...

Petrina, listen to your hb lah. think when your baby is out, everybody will be super kan cheong and super particular then...coz they will realise that every action of theirs will have an effect on precious baby. Now may be difficult for your MIL to feel the possible impact on her precious grandson, so she just continues her ways. heehee...

CSI: I dunno lor... She thinks i cannot care for my bb. juz now, i came home frm shopping... *I bot the Rapid Steriliser pack... So worthwhile...* Comes wif NB Starter Kit, Bottle/Food Warmer, 2 Wide Neck Bottles...
hehe...
I was packing my hosp bag. She say, all my bb clothes remove frm neck.. Not good 4 bb. Say i dunno how to wear/remove his clothes. So she intend to buy 4 my bb hosp discharge clothes. She say wear tee n diapers can liao. then wrap towel come home.
Then i was like huh? dun need to wear pants, booties, mittens?? then she say u wan wear then wear lor... got towel wrap can liao mah... i so angry...
I told hb, cannot let her handle my boy... I'll take charge.

Janf: i cannot tahan de. so dusty... i think after preg i become very picky on cleaniness.

Hi mais, just came back from supper. Geylang was SUPER crowded. Btw, you all can check out my multiply for my Viet wedding photos. I look fat in all the pictures. Haiz.

Huiz: Pictures not i post one lei. Kelly insists she post the pics so that you all can see. I think she is still in the process of doing it, so you can only see the starting part bah.

petrina: I support you. Ha ha. You should take charge of your own precious baby.

janf: See multiply.

Lance: saw all ur pics... haha, u look abit blur leh... kelly looks very pretty... i like her hairstyle. like the Miss Universe look... Maybe spore seldom let down all our hair bah... so she looks different frm local brides.
Ur family went to vietnam wif u only? u gonna hold another customary in spore?
Vietnam hotel super cool, u welcome guests at the lobby entrance... like u rent the whole hotel woah...
the hotel rm is the same 1 tat u check in for ur stay?

Yeah, I agree that Kelly looks really stunning! Eyes big big and have dimple somemore... hehe

Were the gowns from Viet or u asked Bridal Concept to lend u?

lance - wats ur multiply link?

petrina - are u gona be a SAHM? coz if ur MIL no experience in taking care of bbs, tink she will hv a tough time bringing up ur kid..

Petrina, cool down cool down. Don't get so agitated, not good for the baby. Since your MIL is having menopause, she could not control her emotions and actions at this point. Perhaps u can work something out with your hubby? Come to terms about certain decisions and see if there are other options that u can explore besides what u are facing currently.
E.g. Engaging a P/T maid to clean the house once/twice a week; leave the baby in the hands of the nanny after u resume work etc.

Lance, I was laughing out loud when I read thru your earlier posts. So have u managed to catch up with us? :p Saw your Vietnam wedding pix, Kelly is lovely! You do look a bit plump in the pix but I think it all lies in the angles that were taken. A slight twist to the side will make you look slimmer though.

Huiz, I think count myself in for the CNY dinner only. Hubby could not confirm his schedule as yet. I'm ok with Geylang No Signboard, just wondering about making my way there.

janf, how's your FIL? Hope he is fine. Sometimes we take our health for granted and never realise the consequences till we had a checkup.

Holidays are going to be over soon. Its time for a new year and a new beginning! Have a great day everyone!

ivied: u noe, last nite, i came back wif my shopping... hb was keen to show her wat we bot.
then she say, aiyah, u all young ppl buy so many things. dun need buy so early de mah..
i already 7mths++. where got energy to go shopping in feb/mar? she nv considered danger of preterm?

then she was mentioning abt bb clothes, bb's head.. then proceeded to sarong topic.
say, bb slp sarong, head nicer, rounder..
i told her, i no time to observe sarong. sarong dangerous for bb if nv take note.. I explained to her abt SIDs. then she also brush it off n say because we young ppl dunno how to care for bb.

Piangz man... i so fed up...

then finished above topic. lead to next topic.. her job.
she dared to say so loud, if not because u both ask me stay at home look after ur child, i'll find another job already...
**she's unhappy wif her current job, i asked her change job. then she say i mar delivering. no point working 3mths in a new job then resign**

at tat pt, i was so angry i decided not to talk to her. i went to bedroom n told hb wat she said. he ask to me to tell her to find another job then. tat i'll care bb myself.

Which i actually did already. afterwhich she kept quiet. i told her, actually u dun need to resign. u can carry on working in new job, i can take care of bb myself. then she suddenly become quiet liao.

oh ya, huiz... add me n hb. i was waiting for hb's reservist timing tats y it took me so long to confirm wif u.
by then abit inconvenient to travel alone liao..
geylang is fine wif me.

Hi janf, u can access Lance's Multiply page by going to your own Multiply, click on my link and go look for him under my contact list (prefer not to publish his Multiply address here). However, you will have to be his direct contact to see this particular wedding album

Petrina, I guess your MIL has a point about dressing newborn with Ts that are removed from the head kind. My impression is that their heads and limbs are still soft so perhaps those button front tops will be better? Not sure what the hospital dresses the babies in though. If got chance can ask the midwives/nurses lor.

If I were ever to have a kid, I don't think I would wanna let them sleep in a sarong too. Besides safety issues, I don't think I will have the time to sit down and swing them till they go into dreamland! Think I will nod off before they do man... hahaha

huiz: tats y lor.. so sickening... we already bot cot/playpen. she still wanna argue abt sarong...
last time my grandma had to slp below me to prevent health hazards...

hehs...when you have your 1st kid, everyone thinks you're a retard (with regards to caring for your kid). That's just how it is lah.
heehee...

Petrina, with regards to the clothes, ur MIL is right. Those over the head types are more difficult to handle compared with front buttons / tie string types, though not impossible. Once u get the hang of it, it shd be fine. Hospitals dress bb in front button / tie string tpes...for the same reasons Huiz mention. I bought all front button T-shirts and rompers for my gal. and I'm wondering why they still sell those over the neck types.

And yap, they dun need to wear pants. Makes diaper changing much easier, esp if it's 6 - 10 diapers a day. Just swadle them up can liaoz. Hospital also dun dress them in pants.

Booties and mittens need lah. to prevent bb from scratching themselves. Coz even if swaddle tightly, they will still struggle and hands can still come out of swaddle...hehs.

Hehs, you become more picky after preggy? Hahaha...it's the hormones. Like nesting instinct. I was the same. I was still re-decorating the home and cleaning here and there up to the day before I popped. It's just an instinct thing. Tired, but still want to carry on kinda feeling.

oh, almost forgot to add...

I also bought the rapid steriliser. It's good. Had the same newborn bottle set, food warmer and wet wipes thrown in. THere's one problem though...me and a few other mummies in the Dec07 thread find that our babies have problems sucking on the Pigeon teats. Not sure why. Maybe it's the shape of the teats. Their perilistic teats are relatively new product. My gal has no problems with Avent teats and NUK teats (suck non-stop and is happy). I only just found out recently when I fed her EBM (super tiring to latch on all the time lah, plus came down with bad engorgement and probably mastitis). So Petrina, you might want to get ready a couple of Avent bottles or NUK just in case. KKH gave NUK. heehee...came with their sample FM.

The sarong thing...I slept in a sarong when I was young. Think it's ok..probably not for newborns lah. Sarong can be used for 1 or 2 yr olds right? But still need to put mattress below just in case. Head is supposed to be nicer and round...BUT...hehs...we're hainanese! the Hainam head is flattish at the back....so, sarong or no sarong, no diff leh. My sis' head a bit flattish. pple one look at her can tell her "you're hainanese". Hehs...so maybe u can tell ur MIL, bb is hainanese, so sarong or not, no diff lah. heehee...

oh by the way, my gal's 1 month celebrations will most likely be held next weekend (12th / 13th Jan). Yeah! Confinement ending...wah, so looking forward manz. but also means only 2 more mths of maternity leave... Venue...still thinking. hahahaha...tat's why the date is either 12th or 13th coz gotta see if venue booked or not.
Would like to invite ah mais and ah kor to attend...(last min gathering notice. hahahaha. So I can understand if some cannot make it.
).

will post up or email u all the details when it's more finalised.

lance, congrats ya! You two made a really sweet couple. I like your pics with the xmas tree inside. The xmas mood added a somewhat magical feel to your union.
And your matching white shoes. keke...

huiz, noble house doesnt accept ala carte? Two years ago when i went there for lou hei they still provide that. Must have realise that this package doesnt make money... haha. ok, geylang no signboard also can. pls count me and Thomas in for the CNY dinner.

jan, how is TH?

pertina, the thing with old folks, they do have something to comment on almost everything we do, cos, they had experienced before and they genuinely believe their methods are the right ones. If argue with them on every point, you will only tire and frustrate yourself out. Decide on the few things that you will stand by firmly, discuss it with Ray, and then let your mil know that it is the final decision by both of you. If it can be communicated via Raymond, then better too. Whatever comments made after that, just ignore ba. Having said that, sometimes what they say may be true depending on how your bb adjust. So, do take it with a pinch of salt.

i din appear here for so long n i realise this thread has become more for mommies talks.. hahahah.. access in office takes so long tat i can fall aslep..

So where is CNY dnr held finally?

CSI.. do let me know when is the baby full mth.. enjoying being mother right.. kids are jsut so adorable even when they irritates us..

Petrina, sarong is cooling for baby to sleep in n the rocking motion make baby sleep longer but cons are dangerous n baby may have habit to rock when sleep. i let jolie slep on her tummy after 1 week cos they feel safer n sleep longer. however must chk on them regularly.

kokoyln,
yah, hahaha...from weddings become mummy-talk. hehs. Chrysallisph and M&W might find it weird. heehee...coz they still preparing wedding / just got married. (M&W just got married right? Last weekend or something like that?)

yah lorh. Babies are just sooooo cute! My gal can cry and frustrate me so much each time she wails regardless of what I do. But when she's sleeping, aiyoh...so cute. heehee. But also quite sad lah, to hear them cry until so sad sometimes...

Oh, Caroline is good leh. I feel so shiok after each massage session...heehee...and she's quite fun to talk to. Good recommendation.

wa, CSI, very fast hor? My colly who gave birth about 1.5 weeks earlier than you swing by office earlier. Had the whole office laughing with her giving birth story and how all the mummies gathered around and yak about their own experience... i still remember her telling me, teary eyed that she cannot imagine going through labor pain again, and just now can laugh and joke and tell me she forgot the pain le. Another one also no prob now. keke...

wah today lotsa postings!

huiz - TH shd be joining for the CNY dinner. pls incl him in for now bah.. ok, im logging into multiply now but i can only see the 44pics of ROM? does lance need to grant me some other access?

wah..so many postings...cannot catch up with you guys man...

it's the 1st day back to work after the long hols but feel so tired..told my colleagus i feel i'm back to school again..the same lethargic feeling i used to get on 2nd jan when i was studying...so many things to do at work...hehe

lance: congrats..haven got the chance to see ur pix yet...can someone forward me the link? alamak..think i cannot remember my multiply password too..

huey: please count me in for the CNY dinner...my hubby shd be able to join us too...

janf: how is TH's dad? hope he's well...

Csi: i have a wedding to attend on the 12th jan..got church wedding in the morning and lunch in the afternoon..if it's on the 12th, i won't be able to attend your baby bash...

petrina: i used to sleep in the sarong thingy too...i can still see the hook on the ceiling at my grandma's place..in fact, all my cousins slept in that too...and CSI is right..people always say hainanese have flat heads...dunno why..my hubby is a teochew but when he goes for haircuts, people always mistake him for a hainanese cos of that...cool down, i am sure ur MIL has her own way of doing things..try not upset u and be a source of conflict..else raymond will be in a difficult position...

Hmm, janf, I think for Lance's ROM pics, he could have set the access rights for everyone (meaning the public). But for this wedding one, I think only the folks in his network can see. If I see him on MSN later, I shall ask him if he can either add u to his friends list or open up the album's access rights.

Kokoyln, yes, the CNY dinner shall be at Geylang. The list of attendees now stand at:

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz & Eric
3. Janf & TH
4. CSI, Leslie & Louisa
5. Ivied
6. Petrina & Ray
7. Li Ann & Thomas
8. Sherrie & WH

Haiz... CSI, i bot front button sleepsuits as well. but i also bot the neck ones.

Dialect Name
MIL dun bother if hainanese or not. she nv bothered much abt hb's culture... she say the dialect name, if we wan hainanese dialect, we go find ourselves. otherwise she'll give hokkien dialect.
i was upset, i think that she has no respect for our culture at all.
so i told hb tat I ask my grandparents while he ask his hainanese boss. then we come back n match the dialect spelling...

kokolyn: ya. i find tat there's more cons than pros. i rather my bb head not so nice, i also dun wan risk his life. imagine, if she in toilet or bathing... then leave bb in sarong?
anyway, we already bot playpen. so i dunno y she kept nagging on pros of sarong.
I also slp in sarong when bb time. but my granny slps wif me on a mattress under me. so it removes the cons.

CSI: I can't attend ur bb full mth.. hehe, pantang la... congrats hor. take more pics for me to c..

hmmm, regarding dialect name...my hb hokkien. so end up the spelling of the dialect name is same as the hanyu pinyin. haha. not that PILs bother also lah. To me, as long as my gal's name is nice, can liaoz. heehee...

Her name is Rui En (dun have chinese software in this comp, so cannot type it out). Rui is the "wang2" side, with the "shan1" (mountain) on top and the "er2" (er2 qie3) below the "shan1". En is the one that means gratitude. Apparently Rui means ji2 xiang3 (auspicious, lucky), so ok lah. hehs...

That's a very sweet name, CSI. Same name as the Mediacorp starlet (but her's is written differently) and another long time no see HK actress

it's the same rui as my uncle...all my uncles and his cousins have that "rui4" but hainanese pronunciation is "thwee4"..

petrina: its quite difficult to find hainanese spelling leh..my sisters and i all do not have it...