Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Yup.. my AD is 15 April.. of cos staying with hubby..=p but sometimes he work until so late..& i can't possibly wait up for him cos i get tired so easily nowadays..

hopefully it gets better next wk.. his boss is just not responsible.. that's y..but guess my hubby is tired for working everyday for 2 wks including wkends..he says he's going to take 1 wk leave next wk.. haha

I prob not in time for yr of the pig cos EDD is after chinese new yr.. but next yr is my yr so its ok..=)

loinky: oic... i tot u went through ROM n not AD. cause my cousin also did tat, n when she was preg, she stayed wif her mom cause her hubby was a pilot. no offence...
My FH also wrk through the weekends. but i tend to wait 4 him at nite. we staying same hse now, for wrk convenience.

Hihi loinky,

I am not in a hurry to have kids. But this doesn't mean that I do not like to have kids lor. I want to enjoy some "us" time for say a year or two before we start planning for a kid. Your hubby is 10 years older than u? Hmm, he looks so young in your wedding pics! Alamak, why are men liddat har? They don't seem to look as old as they are... haha

Hey nicelip!!! I am staying at the Hougang Point area too! Very near the NTUC. hehe.... we could have bumped into each other without knowing who each other is

Oh yes Petrina, do bring along the mahjong tiles to my place to have a great game!

No leh, I do not have a proper mahjong table coz i know nuts about playing that game. perhaps someone with a car and also have a table can bring it along? If not I have a small rectangular plastic table that maybe could be a subsitute too?

hi mais+bro.. so shacked this wk.. tink i super overworked until cant even straighten my back when i woke up this am..!

loinky - gongxi gongxi!!

nicelip - me oso stay in hougang! me stay oppo huiz's pama's hse so often see huiz b4 she got married.. but now her new nest still near my pl too keke..

kokoyln - i luv southhaven too! but their clothes are increasingly exp.. heard they hv a alike warehse shop in the west, tink its Hong Leong House or somethg lidat.. the past few seasons clothes at a discount..

yday me oso went taka walk walk b4 meeting my frens for dinner.. bot a Seseame Street mug coz it had all the characters on the mug, so cute until i cant resist buying it!! bor-lao say i crazy.. eat until so old still craze over such thgs.. bleh..

petrina - me cant cfm whether can go ur wedding yet.. coz i mite need to go KL for a meeting tat few days..

I had a wonderful time with my hubby's Pri cum Sec sch friends gathering at my place this evening. We had our own wines and some of them also brought Wolf Blass! Hehe, can share with everyone during our gathering
Bring on the mahjong tiles and the wines! *hic* hehe

Janf - yup agree. southaven dress is like $89/S$98 per piece.. lucky i got their vip card if not broke man..

btw i went to watch TRANSFORMER just now.. COOL!!
so long din laugh and enjoy a movie so much le.. my bf also mesmerise by the story n actions.. e leader among e soldiers was charming too ;-)
Next movie to watch: DIE HARD 4.0.. bruce willis & Maggie Q..hehe

CSI, Loinky - i don feel cold during 1st trimester in fact my appetite increase so much tat every half to 1hr, i will be searchin for food. pple tot i seow but i was really hungry. i refrain from walkin, running or doing chores so much cos it make me hungry faster.. i had more than 5 meals a day and no morning sickness, no puking yet i LOST 4kg in the 3mths, GYnae shock but he say bb growing well. after tat i only put only gradually n reach 12kg which is the acceptable weight for final stage.. Just a tip i learn from my mom, after 3 mths, cook chicken essence to drink weekly n 7mths onward drink birdnest weekly cos bb growin meat.. but still continue essence bi weekly.. true lo. my gal born w rosy skin.. her face is v nice n not dry n wrinkled

Petrina - i shld b able to attend your wedding unless i got work assignment.. timing? u haven decide which church? U out of hosp aredy not?

i love mahjong.. my dad, sis n her FH will ask me play during wkends.. hehe we don play too big but sometime if my form good, i can win a cab fare to town..

oh ya if those stay yishun, if need gynae can visit DR CHen Lin Han -Women SPecialist Clinic at the CHong Pang Mkt.. he's good, detailed n clear. my delivery only 3.5hrs, no hell pain, no stitching pain there n i din had any painkiller cos no pain at all..

Morning mais+gor!!!
Yay!! tuesday can finally go home le... I so happy!!

huiz: u like wolf blass? hehe, i'm serving gold label during my luncheon..

kokolyn: timing is 9am mass *st bernadette/blessed sacrament n 12noon lunch @ miramar hotel.
woo, mahjong kakhi... juz nice 4ppl le. gdgd.

any volunteers for mahjong table yet??

wah, southaven dresses so ex... hmm, maybe i stick to mng/zara instead.
last nite went late-nite shopping.. keke metro got sale, but my FH so sick, so we walked 4 an hr or so n he went home le. bought frm Blush again. too good offer to resist. later will buy again. *buying separately not so heart pain*

janf: no worries, let me noe nearer the date. wat abt ur bolao?

Hi Petrina,

Yes yes I like Wolf Blass. Find that their wines are smoother and hmmm, in general, taste better lor. I had also visited their winery in Adelaide before and that also left me a deep impression. U bought the WB Gold Label?

huiz: yes, cause my FH's colleagues simply love WB. n my FH prefer WB Gold label. so we decided to get that for our wedding. but woah it is ex... $38 per bottle *cheapest i can find*

Oh ya, one more thing, the food from Neo Garden that I catered for the gathering last evening was superb! Everyone loved it and the black pepper pork was especially popular. My guests thought it was beef! I personally like the cereal fish. Really unique taste. Two thumbs up for NG!

petrina: You serving wolf blass ah? Its good. But its ex. Heh heh.

CSI: you feel hot ah? is that normal? i know tired is normal. one of my colleagues just told me she is 1 week pregnant yesterday. so happy for her.

kokolyn: Transformers steady la. Heh heh.

Yup Lance.. Transformers is so nice tat till now i'm still thinkin of the scene where they take cover at Sam's house and Bumble Bee helping Sam Pao3 Niu1.. make me laugh just like tat.. my bf tot i kuku le or i thnk he jealous cos i keep saying tat soldier is so charming.. thinkin of watchin it again..

hmm wines. i like.. but i haven heard of WB, m i less-informed?? i alwys drink Sauv Blanc from NZ, Ice Wine/Riesling from Canada or Riesling fr AZ..hehe i prefer white more.. Have u all been to Wine Garage @ Riverside Pt or Que Pasa @ emerald hill.. usual i drink there cos price reasonable n nice ambience.. if not i buy from mart n drink at Book Cafe..

Petrina - St Bernadette is near to Great World right?

st bernadette is near havelock road. 10mins frm hotel miramar. but i still hope to hold the ceremony at blessed sacrament instead. cause i like tat church. my parish church...

lance: hehe,ya burnt a hole in my FH pockets. but he like so he pay. i not forking $$ for WB wine. i pay for hard liquor only. keke. but i also standby some red wines *normal types* in case not enough. when i finish WB then i'll open the normal ones.

Wah, everyone is preg... so nice... i wish all preg mums happy pregnancy n smooth delivery.

kokoyln, same here! I also prefer white wines. Taste sweeter to me. Your hubby and little gal didn't watch Transformers with u?

Wolf Blass is really good (to me la). They served us quite a lot of variety in their winery in Adelaide but me still prefer the whites.... haha

huiz, my gal only goin 3 tis yr, cannot bring her to cinema la..wait she wail i no need to watch then.. i'm separated now..

hi hi! Seems like everyone has a good weekend ya?

Me just finished changing bedsheets and putting in laundry to wash...drinking kopi now...

loinky...congrats to you!
my colleague is going thru 2nd trimester now... she is ALWAYS feeling hot and suffocated. As though she cannot breathe so we have to put a fan (which is next to me) to blow so that she is more comfortable (when i am freezing) keke... she'll be in sleeveless dresses whereas i wrapped myself with jacket and shawls. Think you will start to experience this once your 1st trimester is over.

nellie...i went to zara @taka. by the time i went there, the whole place looks like it's seen war. Clothes strewn all over the place, shoes lying around... i spent 3 hours there till 9pm, totally not feeling hungry at all...grabbed two pairs of heels, three tops. I carrried on at mango, grabbed another three tops and one bangle. I'm happy but my hubby is not. :P "Issued warning" to me le... my stuffs are already overflowing to his section inside our wardrobe. :P

Well... i cant shope le but still sharing with you gals that gucci has further reduction to 50% and coach 30% on selected items.

kokoyln, lance... i also watched transformers with my hubby who is also a fan. He has been humming this song "TRANS-FORMERS! Robot in dis----guise----" ever since the movie is showing. And after watching the movie, it's my turn to hum that song.

kokoyln, i also stay in the North - sembawang, with my ILs at the moment, i'll move to my new house at Woodlands next year, still North. I've grown to love this part of singapore cos of the lush greenery and vicinity to the parks that are located here. Very nice place to stay.

Petrina, nellie, huiz... you gals playing mj??
hee...i love playing mj too. Think you gals can make do with the plastic table that huiz has? Jus buy some mj papers and spread over it.

huiz...i'll bring some chilean wine to the gathering at your house. Chilean wine is also quite smooth... but i'm bringing red though...you can try and see if you like it.

kokoyln...i'm a fan of BYSI. Their dresses are usually at the range of 60-70. and i got discount card 15% so very dffciult to resist. Esp when they only bring in very few pieces of each size so you have to grab them fast. New items come in almost every week and so it became a pilgrim for most of my collys and i. Alot of babydoll dresses lately. I always gave the excuse to my hubby that these can be worn next time i pregnant keke...

okie...time to hang the laundry le... laterz~~~

Li Ann - wa u shoppig happily hor.. hehe i like mj.. think abt it, this wk i haven touch the tiles yet.. think tonight i shall chio my sis n her bf.. kekeke.. BYSI i can't really wear their stuff. it either top too big or bottom too small.. haiz.. babydoll dress.. i love them too.. hehe my preg doll dress now also becom my daily dress..

Wah, everybody talking about wines. I like wines a lot, red and white, and especially those from France. I like old old wines. But they are very ex, and i can't afford to drink them all the time. So i buy young ones, keep for 4-5 years then drink.

kokolyn: Wah, you go wine garage ah? Very crowded on Friday nights. Heh heh. Used to go there when i was in my old job. Every Friday was like a drinking night. Maybe we can call all ah mais go next time.

Li Ann: I also keep humming the "transformers... robots in disguise" Ha ha, i think my FW don't know why i hum that because she didn't watch the cartoons before.

petrina: Wah your FH pay ah, later he go broke lei. Heh heh. Try less expensive ones la. I just bought a bottle of Hardy 2006 ($17) from Giant Tampines yesterday,. If good can use for my wedding next time.
I think Yellow Tail from Australia also quite good but i haven't try yet. Will try that next time.

hi all.. my ILs juz dropped us a bomb (more like a bomb to me only haha) tat they hv sold this hse im staying and we all need to vacate within 3mths..! everyone incl my bor-lao like so hapi, only me gave the huh-shift-hse look.. haiz.. sad.. juz when i start getting used to staying here, there i need to shift again sianz sianz..

now ppl buy hse so easily it seems.. the couple came to see yday pm then today came back again to see wif their old mother and ta-da!, done deal..

bor-lao said i too sentimental over staying in hses.. bleh.. i told him our new nest in future, dun tell me wana sell aft 5yrs hor! bish!

li ann - me oso BYSI fan!! so u hv the disc card ah?! lidat can borrow frm u next time liao..

petrina - bor-lao wun be going ur wedding coz hes travelling to jpn for work trip on 22sep.. and maybe he leave i cum back frm work trip.. grr.. duno how yet..

lance - i hv tried Yellow Tail and Hardy both and like Yellow Tail better.. so u try liao let us know ya..

i waiting to watch Die Hard too..

Wa so many mj fans ah? I know nuts about mj, but everyone is welcome to enjoy rounds of the game at my place

Aiyo janf, u moving ah?? To where?

Lance, I had French wines for my wedding too. I had this Serame. I find French wines slightly more bitter? Actually I don't drink at all due to my medical problem, but nowadays I had been taking little sips here and there from my husband's wine glass just to have a taste of it.

hello everybody, i'm back!!! really shagged from the driving. Weddings in Butterworth are really different from ours.

Congrats to Loinky!

Think we better stop talking abt the prenancy thingy till everything is stabilized. I'm really superstituous now. In this Butterworth trip, I learnt that my friend's sis had an abortion bcos her BB was not growing. My mum & MIL said that when one is pregnant, is better to keep mum until the pregnancy is 'stablilized'. My dear friend was telling me how her sis was treated like queen when she was in SIN to attend my wedding and that time her sis was about 2 months preggy. I was not told that she had an abortion b4 i went Butterworth. Thank goodness! I didn't mention anything when I saw her sis. Whew!!!

Petrina - I'm bringing the mini mahjong tiles to Huiz's place. No need mahjong table lah. we can make use any square table in her house.

Li Ann - you really are a shopping queen! I salute you!

Welcome back Nellie! I really can understand how tired u must be feeling now. Thinking of the long drive alone can tire me out liao... hehe

Hmm, ya, Nellie is right. For the well-beings of both mother and child, we better take the safe route and discuss about this topic sometime later.

Okie la, then I prepare the table (more a rectangular than a square) for the MJ session. Then those who can make it, come earlier to start getting the tiles moving lor... hehe

Huiz & Nellie: I agree with you. I heard it's taboo to mention your pregnancy until it's "Stable". Some who are more pantang will wait till 1st trimester is over before "announcing" to others.

To all...sorry, i haven't been logging in. Been down with flu and work is piling up. Been really busy with work and there's much to do. Thank goodness long weekend for me, no need to work tomorrow cos it's Youth Day school holiday.

Janf: So where will you be moving to?

Li Ann: I'm staying away from shops cos my CC bills have been shooting up. But i think i need to stay away from the internet too cos i end up internet shopping! :p Just bought 2 pairs of Abercrombie & Fitch shorts online today.

Petrina: Glad you can go home. So what's the final diagnosis? What did my auntie say? Hope you're much better.

Lance: I watched Transformers last night with Hubby. Really enjoyed it alot!!! The captain very handsome and cool. Haha.

Ok, when we go to Huiz's place, someone teach me how to play mahjong ok? I don't know how!!!

Yes Pris, your wedding is coming and u are also planning to have a family very soon so you are right to start cutting down on spending. The ILs may also have less things to "talk about" when u stay with them... err if u get my meaning ah...

hehe, me no MJ player and am also not keen to learn. But I am more than glad to be everyone's kopi-soh...hehehe

I finally watch transformers juz now!! yay!! next on the list: HP & DH4

Ahh, liann: me too... i was like *transformers, monsters in disguise* all through the credits... my FH almost went crazy. haha

I love chilean white & aust red...
i miss MJ. we can play mini de since nellie is bringing.

Lance: he wants good wine, he gotta pay 4 it. he dun like yellow tail. he only likes WB. so he buy lor.. everytime he flies, he buy 1bottle. by wedding, we'll have 40bottles.

Pris: i'm better now. ur auntie is good. she cured me *more or less*.

haha, huiz: kopi-soh.. like those auntie whom get paid for using their hse as MJ place..

Huh, petrina, got such things as people charging a rate to use their place for MJ? No mannn... I will never do this.... haha, its open house for everyone and me the kopi-soh is here at your service!

janf: then where are u going to stay?

petrina: Wah, u mean he go overseas and buy ah? or go DFS? Your place can serve duty free ah?

Pris, kokolyn: Aiyo, you all find the captain handsome ah? Then you all should watch the drama Las Veg*s. Got to put the star there, the forum don't let me post the full word. Hmmm... i wonder why. Heh heh.

Nellie: The wedding you attended must be fun. Show us some pictures next time.

Huiz; yes.. some auntie open up their hse for ppl to play MJ then per round they collect S$2-4 per pax.. hehe when i was in primary sch, my mom help to nanny their kids then they MJ at neighbour hse.. good $$, hrly rate..

Lance : not handsome just got the charm tat i will give 2nd look.. Well i don go wine garage on specific day. so long my drink buddy chio, i go.. He know the mgr leong so i alwys get to taste various wine or champagne when he's ard.. hehe..
stop goin Que pasa for awhile becos our frien, Eugene the bar mgr was beaten till death n we are still sad to visit tat place..

Nellie, oh i would agree wedding in Msia is diff from SG.. i been to one in Bentung.. karoke all the way.. n i was ask to sing 2 songs on the stage.. i was kinda shock when i see the ambience but eye opener..

Janf : vacate in 3mths.. really too fast to react.. so where's u shifting to?

Lance: he buy @ airport dfs. bottle dun state D/F. so hotel wun noe de. and the bottle same size as sold outside. they dun ask 4 receipt mah.

kokolyn: wah, u so on de.. nxt time n go drinking together le. i only go wif colleagues, cause they r the only drinking buddies i noe. my FH seldom drink wif me. he also drink wif his buddies.

Janf: then how? u stay where? so soon - 3mths.. not enough time to pack manz...

Huiz: haha, okok. when we play MJ then u can take our orders.. haha
maybe nxt time when u really retired then u can open ur hse for MJ session as parttime income. keke...

Good morning everyone....

Ya man, kokolyn, the weddings in Msia are indeed an eye opener. I went to my cousin's one held in a school hall (90++ tables) and the singing was really deafening! My other counsin held his in his restaurant and they even had those professional singers belting out their numbers and selling their CDs at the same time. After these experiences, I got to know that they like to sing during wedding dinners so when I held mine there, I told the hotel manager die die I dun wanna have karaoke!

Okie I gotta go fetch my friend to my house now... be back later. Have a pleasant Monday morning

At my friend's wedding, the singers kept stressing that the bride has guests from S'pore. So malu! especially when I was taking pics alone with the bride. My friend was the tallest among her friends there but I was even taller. Ha ha Ha!!! She didn't engage a PG for her banquet. Her friends were the PGs. I became her temp PG the next day for her wedding which I wasn't even prepared.

Forgot to mention their practice. They usually have 2 banquets and the banquets are paid by their parents. my friend had 2 banquets on Fri & Sat. Fri's banquet is the bride's side and Sat's is the groom's side. So Sat is the wedding day where the gatecrashing, tea ceremonies take place.

Janf - you need us to help you to move house? If you need a van, I can lend you mine.

wah...I missed so many posts.

Janf, I guess if your ILs are prepared to sell the place, they must have another place in mind already right? So, look on the other side lah...that it's easier to move (coz you dun have to scout around for another place), just pack and go. Start packing the stuff that you dun need first, I guess. Like all those ornaments/display items etc. wrap those up and put them in boxes first. Clothes that u hardly wear and stuffed toys can also pack up first (or give away). Maybe some of your stuff you can 'tong pang' at your parent's place first? then take to your new place after you're settled in there...Is the new place going to be far from the current place?

Now, property so hot...I guess when pple see something they like, got view that they like, can afford it...grab lah. and sellers, got money to make, no need to worry about children's school being nearby or not...sell lah.

Hmmm, abt Malaysian weddings...I attended 2 M'sian weddings in my life. And they were Ohh La La...hahaha...really fun and funny. hahaha. One of my frens married a China lady. They were a bit surprised by the karaoke etc (and so were we, the Singaporeans)...but what surprised them even more, was something we Singaporeans are so used to...the yam seng. hahaha. When it was yam seng time, they were shocked by the screaming, that they almost dropped their glasses (the bride didn't expect it either). For that wedding, my fren engaged a band...made up of old folks. And they are good...for their age...But the singing and spontaneity of everyone really adds to the fun atmosphere.

janf and li ann - i am a bysi fan. i am wearing a new dress by bysi today. i have their vip card too. i used my UOB credit card. can "clock" UNIdollars too;)

janf: a lot of people are buying properties and selling properties like nobody's business. i have gone past southaven's warehouse at hong leong gardens. it's just below those very "lok" walk up apartments.

i also watched transformers on sat nite. quite a cool show. highly watchable!

so sian. having monday blues now.

Wah, didn't know malaysian wedding so interesting one. Got ktv. I thought i only see those in the movies.

petrina: really ah? like that i start stocking up also liao.

hey sherrie, so nice to hear from u again
been busy? I fell in love with this vintage looking dress from Southhaven sometime ago (that kinda Kate Beckinsdale in The Pearl Harbour style) and would have bought it if not for the exorbitant price.... haha

I will also be going to watch Transformers this Fri... finally.... I'm always the laggard...haha

Lance: u gotta check wif ur hotel if they need ur receipt. if yes, tell them the wine is left over frm ur relatives' wedding. say u dun have. then if they say ok then nvm, then u buy frm airport. the airport girl told me de.
Sherrie: go transformers!

Hi ah mais,

anyone of you are interested to take part the walk/jog organised by Shape?

www.shape.com.sg

It's only opened to women. Sorry Lance, you can't join us. Maybe you can ask your FW if she's interested.

I've already signed up for the 5km one. The freebies attracted me to sign. Hee Hee

huiz: yes.i have been so busy lately with work.
but still have time to read thru the thread. hehe. wow. nellie and petrina are so sporting!

sherrie/nellie: ya lor, i also not sporting de. i used to sign up 4 NP walk cause of freebies. i also interested in the nike tee. keke