Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Lance & Huiz: I love my beef with blood too! haha...i usually have it medium rare. Slurps slurps. My fave is black pepper steak.

Janf: How? Did you win anything at the D&D?

Petrina: Ya, my auntie is fierce and when i was much younger, she used to scold me if i get below 90 marks for tests. When can you be discharged?

My GDL will be on 21st July...the FS master finally told my MIL the date. My An Chuang also on the same date. Coincidentally, it's the date of my cousin's wedding. Too bad, can't attend each other's wedding.

Have you gals received my wedding invite??

Hi Pris, ya, I got your invited yesterday. I was surprised to see your FIL's name so similar to mine. Same surname and same middle name. Perhaps we could be from the same village or something ;-P

Pris: yaya. ur aunt super fierce.. today i asked 4 discharge though my tummy was pain.. i think i was juz throwing tantrums.. so she allowed me to go on home leave. juz came back frm cineleisure.. FH & I watched F4. Bit boring, but overall was good. Not sure when discharge though.

Lance/Huiz: I'm eating lambchop 4 dinner here in MtE. Nice n juicy, but abit too cooked.
Tmr's dinner is hainanese lamb stew.. hmm, sounds good. haha

Hmm, i dunno wat veg u guys talking abt. I personally dun like dang3 Oh1. super smelly. not sure if it's the same veg.

Ok, i got Lance & Huiz on my invite list... Others, let me noe soon k> thks.

Wa Petrina, the menu sounds sooo nice and unique... hehe. U have been put back on a solid foods diet already?

Oh dang oh... I like this vege... taste very good with steamboat
But this is not the gau sang... gau sang is long and thin, looks something like spring onions.

lance, i cannot speak the dialect too. i rem my grandparents used to teach us a little. but as we grow up, they started speaking in mandarin to us, and all of us in this generation lost the ability to the language. none of my cousins can speak hainanese either. so i thought the only way to link back to my roots would be to learn the dishes from my dad lor. haa...

pris and huiz, i love *bloody* beef too. my dad, me and my bro love to go eat beef together, coz my mama pray to guan yin, cannot have beef in the house. so poor us gotta eat outside the house. ;p

Recipe to dong shan yang as follows:

Ingredients:
500g mutton meat (thigh area)
500g mutton ribs (for nice soup taste)
1/2 clove garlic
cut up garlic
1 ginger smashed up for the juice
3 slices ginger
1 short stick sugarcane
100g big black fungus
100g small black fungus
2 slices dang gui (herb)
10 ji zi (little red herb)
5 red dates
5 beancurd (dou gan)

Method:
1) Wash the mutton with lemon (Malay way of cooking) to remove mutton smell.
2) Marinate mutton and ribs with ginger juice, soy sauce, salt. Leave overnight in fridge for better marination. Soak black fungus.
3) Stir fry mutton with garlic and ginger.
4) Stir fry beancurd (dou gan).
5) Prepare big pot. Boil water.
6) After water boil, put in ginger, garlic clove, sugar cane. Boil.
7) Put in ribs, then mutton meat. Boil.
8) Put in big black fungus, dang gui, red dates, ji zi, beancurd (dou gan). Small fire. No more boiling.
9) Slow cooking for 1 hour or more.
10) Serve.

Warning: Above ingredients for 1 big pot which lasted my family of 5 for 2 days. I dunno how to cook small pot.

Another recipe for kong bak. Click on "recipe".
Found it online in someone's blog. Heh... Typing out a recipe is a chore. Have to think about the ingredients and method. Can't find dong shan yang recipe online though.

huiz, the cuttlefish dish is cooked with a vege called jiu3 cai4. i found out that is also hainanese dish.

pris, i received ur invite. The sticker at the back of the envelope very cute leh.

hehe now i blur.. the dung hoon is cooked w DongOH, gau sang or jiu Cai ??

hope i hav the time to try the mutton recipe..

so happy tat i found a group of u love beef n mutton.. they r my 1st n 2nd meats.. i can eat them consecutive for days without feeling sick..

hi Janf, is it? hahaha...so qiao...pierced22 is your forum fren...hehs. the motherhood forum has sooo many pple, and the posts just keeping going...hahaha.

the jiu cai (gau sang + dang hoon) is my fav dish!! hahaha....I can sit there and eat the whole mountain on the plate all by myself, with nothing else (ok, maybe with chicken rice)...hahaha.

Petrina, shd be able to attend your wedding service (no liturgy so not mass right?)and luncheon. but I can't confirm with you yet...nowadays, I dun dare to confirm anything beyond August...coz by then I'll be in final trimester. Not sure how I'll be feeling (other than super heavy...haha). When you sending out your invites?

About bb's gender...hehs...went for scanning on Sat. BB was in sitting position with legs bent!!
haiz, so cannot see gender. Hopefully next month (5th month detailed scanning) can tell. From the sound of it (first detailed scan - bb turned away and showed us it's back; this scan, cross the legs in front), I think probably girl. So shy...hahaha...

Kokoyln, the dang oh is the kind that is used to make soup, usually seen during steamboats. On the other hand, jiu cai = gau sang.... it's the Chinese name for gau sang if I am not wrong.

CSI, BB maybe sleeping soundly in that position. So he/she could mean, "I'm sleeping, don't disturb me".... keke.

CSI - new boss is here so quite busy. and he's so young- only 1 year older than me!!!!

Pris - Received your invite. Will be there for sure.

Petrina - i'm coming!!!!

wow oh wow. you guys were at home on Sat and Sun?? I was out the whole Sat on a bargain hunt! keke... John Little moving out sale at Specialist Center is SO SO good man! 50% discount on regular items and on top 20% for card members.

mm...so many postings... where do i begin... let me see...

ivy...so happy for you!! I've tried a few ballots but never successful. Your location is so good.
My EC was open for viewing last Sat & Sun. We can finally "tour" the place and view the facilities. The lap pool looks so nice. Can't wait to move in!

pris... got your invite! Confirming again that i will attend! i went mango early early sat morning. Can't imagine myself waking up early just to shop. I bought three tops, used my isetan vouchers and only top up $11. :D Reserving my cash for the coming zara sale (it usually follows right after mango sale)

petrina... poor gal... i hope doc will discover what has been torturing you this long... i'll make it for your wedding luncheon!

kokoyln, huiz, lance... BEEF! i LOVE beef too! omg, for the longest period of time, my gal frens have been giving me weird stares for my penchant for bloody beef steaks! I don't understand why would anyone want to eat well done steaks just as they don't realise what is so nice about medium rare/well steaks. Like kokoyln... i am so so so happy to find you folks! i am now convinced that this must be a hainanese trait... keke...

kokoyln...i know which one you talking about!!! My dad loves the golden mile place as compared to 7th storey. I like both though. For hard core hainanese dinner, i rec golden mile basement. But for friends that are non-hainanese, 7th storey is usually a more popular choice. aiyo...early early talk about this, i hungry le. Our next outing must go golden mile!

bendi... agree with kokoyln... most importantly it is to keep the connection going... doesnt matter how often. Like me... i usually come in with one full blast and bombard everyone with my super long email and then disappear for a while. keke... people gets busy from time to time so just post when you can. You can start a topic too... am sure at least one of us here will response...keke... i love coming in here to view the postings to de-stress.
I kept telling my hubby i am so happy to find a group of like-minded friends. You know, i was never close to my dad's family so i don't have the chance to go back to hainan island, nor speak the language at all. So, in a way, i found a sense of belonging inside this forum. I was even joking to my hubby maybe it will be a good idea to visit hainan island together

oh, your sis has chosen a nice pic to submit for the contest. I'll vote for you! ;)

CsI... your bb keeping you in suspense... keke...so cute. My colly's bb kept waving her hand nonstop though...

mos... thanks for the recipe! Like you, i also finds connection to my hainanese roots through the food! I am so keen to try out the recipe!

janf... how? got huat or not?

wa...i think i've broken my record of long posting. :p

Time to zor gang le... everyone has a nice week ahead!

Laterz~~~

Yeah man, Li Ann, I too cannot enjoy well done steaks. So dry and hard ah.... hehe

Wow, u must have had a wonderful weekend. Can start shopping around for household items now. If u have the deco theme in mind now, grab those suitable deco/kitchen ware/small items that are easy to store now. I realise that whenever I go out with the intention to buy something, I can never find anything suitable. But when I am just browsing around, then I can find what I like.

Oh ya Janf, any luck from the D&D lucky draw? U and your hubby were both there, so that's double the chances of winning something

HI, i juz came back from endoscopy. will wait 4 the results... yes lance, i'm back on solids le.

Looking forward to the hainanese stew ltr tonite. haha

thks, nellie n liann 4 the confirmation.

Mos: dun worry, i'll leave u a seat first. if u not coming then i'll remove.

Btw, u all coming wif or w/o partner??
So far: Lance, Huiz, Nellie, LiAnn is coming....

oh yah...beef...me too. I lurve med well steaks. Can't stand well done ones...so can imagine how upset I am nowadays....coz I can only eat cooked food (not a slightest bit raw - just in case mah). That time, whole family went Jack's Place for mother's day dinner. Everybody ordered med well steak. I had to go for well done.
So sad manz...

haha, CSI, juz rem this is all 4 ur precious bb can le.
After birth i'm sure ur bolao will let u eat as many bloody steaks as u wan.. haha

petrina, do u often hav such problem or jsut this time.. i did endoscopy few years back becos i keep having indigestion tat make me simply wrap myself up n sit on the floor.. after i start to follow blood group diet, it jsut went off.. i'm B+ so i hav info on B group diet/exercise, if u r B+ as well, i can send u the info if u keen..

if anyone want the info, can let me know too..

Huiz, i think u r right.. dung orh is for soup. i scare tat smell.. bitter..

Petrina, yah lorh...have to wait...till after give birth (dunno if during breastfeeding can eat or not also. hehs...)

kokoyln, I'm a B+ too!!
Can send me the info pls?

hi CSI, give me yr email i send to u.. is a big file so comes in 2 parts..

btw those in B group will be happy to know tat mutton n beef benefit us.. it helps our digestive system.. yippie we shall hav more steak then..

oh no, kokolyn... I'm A+. i checked.. cannot eat 2 much meats cause A+ ppl's blood very thick, eat meat will worsen the situation. sianz man

Hi mais, had a tiring day today. Had to unpack my stuff from the office after renovation. My new boss just came too. Nice lady and i think she is very experienced. Heh heh. Can learn a lot of things from her.

But I think next time i cannot surf forum in office liao. After reno, my seat is like super exposed.

petrina: you cannot eat meat then makan more vege lo. when you are feeling better, then can go for a canivore buffet.

kokolyn: i am B+ too.

Li Ann: Thanks for the info. I will head to john little tomorrow after work.

mos: haha, cannot speak also never mind i think. just have to make sure when we go back hainan island, we bring some old folks with us as translators.

wah, so many B+s...

Lance: i A+ cannot eat meats. veg diet to lose weight.

check out my link 4 more info on ur blood grp

Waa, I am also an A+.... cannot eat/eat less meats?? alamak, I think this is something tough for me to accomplish.... hehe

Lance, I saw the new JL... opposite to the old JL @ Specialist. They are now occupying the old OG.... there don't seem to be any sale at the new place now.

Petrina: Interesting link! Heh...shall read more in detail later. What is home leave? Really hope my aunt can find out what is exactly wrong with you. Have you gone for a full body checkup?

Mos: I bought the stickers from a shop at FEP selling all sorts of wedding stuff.

Huiz: I asked my FIL...he's also not sure! Ya, it's really such a coincidence that your names only differ by the last character.

Li Ann: Thanks for SMSing me today about the last day for Popular.

Just to share, my mom told me that Popular Bookshop is having a closing down sale. Li Ann went today and bought many books cheaps. Last day is this Sat (30 June) and she told me there're many assessment books on sale. I will definitely go down one of these weekdays to buy the books! Heh... shun bian collect my NDP tickets from Marina Square.

CSI: My parents didn't know my little sister's sex till she was born! EVERY time they went for a scan, she would turn or refuse to open her legs. Cheeky baby! Of course made my parents very excited cos they were hoping for a boy. :p There was already my sis & i. Haha, too bad they didn't get their wish in the end.

Sigh...it's back to work for me today. Timetable still super packed but guess i can't complain. At least now, with the timetable reshuffled, i can finally have proper breaks. Phew.

Pris, my mum also not sure if we know your FIL's family. I told her either we are not related or we are some far flung relatives. Afterall, my great-grandfather had 4 wives, so who knows there could be some possibility.... haha

Wow, where's the Popular sale?

huiz, u also a+? how come u so thin... haha..

Pris: hmm, i also really hope to find out the cause. now i'm tryin psychotic help. c if its the cause.

Nellie/Huiz: thks 4 visiting me today. i love the chipmucks. super cuddly...

Yup, Petrina, I am also A+. But, my "thin-ness" could be because of my medical problem. Nearly lost consciousness due to my hypoglycemia last Sat. But then again, I always say that this "thin-ness" could be "for the time being" only. Who knows, after I give birth, all this could be ke3 wang4 bu4 ke3 qiu2.... hehehe.... but hey, no prob gal, what are friends for right?
Hehe, at least there are now TWO "shuai ge-s" to accompany u to sleep tonight... ;-P

I'm a A+ gal too.

Huiz - the Popular sale is at Orchard mrt. they are closing down that branch.

Petrina - As Huiz had said, we're friends mah. it's the least we could do lah. Chip & Dale will help us to keep you company at the hospital.

Petrina, tat is a good website.. i have another one which is directly from Dr Dadamo..
www.dadamo.com/typebase4/typeindexer.htm

alternatly if anyone work in Raffles PLace, go to gOlden shoe n visit The Blood Type Store. you will be able to get the book.. my info is an extract from tat book [B group only]

CSI, i email u the info le..

Lance, if u want the info, give me yr email..

Pris, so jealous u can watch NDP.. i ballot for 3yrs liao still can't get it..

good morn to all... pris: i also wanna watch NDP.. sob sob.

CSI: i forgot to reply u.. got mass but no holy communion only. after gospel then proceed to blessing of the rings.

Good morning everyone,

It's a pity that they are closing the Orchard Popular. I shall drop by later and see what I can get. Hopefully they have some good books selling cheap... hehe

I do have some phobia of going to watch the live NDP. Easy to get there but difficult to go back due to the overwhelming crowds. I guess that for me, watching it on the telly at home is good enough ;-P

Wow, this is interesting. Didn't know before this that the different blood groups have different types of diet suitable for them. Something new and good to learn about

hi kokoyln, thanks for the email!
It's very informative. Hmmm...i'm not sure if I shd start on that Type B diet now...hehs. coz dunno what blood group BB would be in. Hubby's type O. Oh well, everything in moderation...

Hi Petrina, how are you feeling today? Hmmm, I think if there's no communion, it's called a wedding service...mass would include eucharistic celebration. But then again, I may have remembered wrongly lah.

Hi CSI, my gal follow my blood group n her dad is o+.. well don follow strictly.. moderate inbetwn.. cos afterall during preg, usual we tend to chose food..

CSI: yup, wedding service... usually the child follows A+ or B+. mine is A+ followed my dad's. my bro also A+ followed dad's. my mom's O+. so if 1 is O+ & the other is another type, usually follow the other.
maybe got special i dunno lah.

hi hi! Back from hectic morning meetings!

Yeps, Pris is right. The popular at orchard mrt is closing down, everything has to go by this Sat. Books starting from $3. 20% on stationeries and assessment books as well. I was so in the mood to read yesterday. Browse around Borders but just couldnt bear to buy the books. $16.80 for a book is really expensive. So i decided to compare price at popular bookstore and stumbled on this sale! So happy! Bought so many books that i bio-ed for the longest time and now i cant wait to get off work to finish off my books. Bought 10 books (including one newly launched) at $75.

kokoyln, pris and mos should really check it out for your kid/students.

kokoyln, i've read about the type B+ blood gp diet but jist can't bring myself to follow the diet cos that means no chicken meat nor beancurd. Those two are part of my fav. Anyways, no harm following 70% of it. Can you pls email me at [email protected]

Yeah, preggie women are picky about food. hahaha. I've been going for salty foods. Have been avoiding fish like it's my biggest enemy.

hmmm...My dad's O+, my ma's AB+...hehs...then my sis and I are B+, bro is O+. heehee...nobody A+. So interesting.

Yah, I also can't bring myself to follow the Type B diet totally...means no chicken rice!! Cannot!! I cannot live without my guei bui....

Hi all, i m in good mood today... dr finally found e cause for my pain!! yea!! but on e other hand, sob sob cause i gotta eat loads of medicine again...

there's bacteria in my tummy. though i finished the course of antibiotics 1wk back, the bacteria is still going strong. haiz...

So dunno to cheer or to cry. anyway, it still hurts..

hehe, nellie/huiz: my opp bed neighbour's granddaughter was bio-ing the chip&dale last nite. she kept pointing at it.. but she shy so nv come over to take it. so i let her cuddle them 4 a while to entertain her.. haha, C&D is attracting lots of attention.

Li Ann, when will the sale end? if can, i will go n grab some activity bks for my gal to do during mrt trips..
btw i saw this upload attachment button, can i upload the file here so anyone keen can take it? if not i will email u..

Petrina - God bless u n may be get well soon..

Petrina n CSI - both of u catholic?

Hi All Hainanese Folks,

I am a July Hainanese bride-to-be need help from you folks. I m looking for those Hainanese Bing and the Round Round big Ball of Jing Lei.

Can anyone advise where can i get those goodies purely from Hainanese style or Hainanese pastries?

Would appreciate that =P
Hope to hear from ur advise soon!

Thanks alots,
Maoster

Hi mais, how are all of you doing?

CSI: I thought pregnant mum must eat more fish and protein? How come you avoiding? Ha ha, i also type B, which means cannot eat chicken rice.

petrina: You shiok hor. Keep eating good food. I thought you in hospital? How come got all these nice food?

kokolyn: please email me: [email protected]

Huiz: JL move opposite to OG? I thought OG is still there. No more liao ah? Btw, when u starting work ah?

Pris: I almost forgot school started on Monday. I was wondering how come the train was crowded.

Lance: i can choose my menu de. keke. too dry though. cause it's welldone.
B grp can eat meats, only no kuei bui mah. i A grp only can eat veg leh.

i'm watching channel 8. blk 22 toa payoh lor 7 got a stall selling yi bua n *san jiao bao*
blk 111 toa payoh lor 1 selling chicken rice balls

Petrina! We had the same thing for dinner. I too had a sirloin at Toa Payoh. I was afraid the aunty didn't get what I mean by "rare" so I told her "suku (quarter)" cooked can liao.... hehe... it was really shiok to see the juice oozing out... sllluuurrp. So how would be the treatment now? Eating meds will drive the bacteria away? Any op in view?

Lance, OG vacated the building (next to Orchard Emerald) sometime ago. So now JL have occupied it. Me ah, starting work on 9 Jul.... my days of lobo-ing around are ending soon... haiiizzz

kokoyln, I think the sale ends this Sat, 30 June.

I was there just now and was drawn to the books inside Harris. Those that I like were still rather expensive even with the discount so I decided to give them a miss. I have lots of craft books at home already, so I guess I can still live without one or two la.... hehe

Alamak, Petrina, group A can eat vege only ah? Haha, this is not for me man. I think I am still a "true blue" meat lover ;-P