Hainanese Brides, anyone???

lance, yalor... we need translators. sunday read lian he zao bao, got one article about hainanese ppl in s'pore. we have 220,000 hainanese in s'pore, considered minority as compared to other dialect groups. article is abt hainanese being un-interested in promoting hainanese culture in s'pore. as a result, 3rd or 4th generation hainanese all dunno their roots, language and culture. writer tries to encourage more hainanese to be more proactive in promoting own culture. hmm... i dunno what to feel about that.

petrina, wat show did u watch on ch8?

pris, it's good to have a change in your timetable. mine no change. still 4 core subjects. got trainee with me again tis term. she came to observe my lesson on monday. still not used to ppl observe my lesson. more stressed than have sup observe. coz must show and teach strategies. a lot of prep work on my part. nowadays a lot of forms to fill in as well.

btw i heard zara sale starts tis thurs. JL also sale with 20% using credit card. anyone have more details? or bargains? me planning to go for retail therapy tis weekend. stress lvl up to neck tis week.

hi kokoyln, yup, we're both Catholics.

Lance, yah, shd take more fish and protein...but coz expectant ladies' sense of smell is heightened when pregnant, so fish is like super smelly to me now manz...apparently it's quite a common occurence among pregnant women. Most of my frens also can't tahan fish (cooked in whatever way). The one fish I dun mind eating is cod fish, and the fish parents/PIL prepares. heehee...I guess I dun dare to go outside hawker centre/coffee shop to eat anything fish (fish soup etc) is coz there's always this chance that it is not very very fresh. And I noticed that if the fish is slightly less fresh, my taste buds/mouth will reject, when in the past I'll just eat. hahaha. Guess I'll get my protein from other sources...hehs.

Last few days of shopping before GST goes up...and the cost of using NETS (though they say they cannot pass it on to consumers, retailers may raise prices of every item by a little bit right?)

mos: i watched the red dot on channel 8. where they search for the red ball amongst parts of singapore. 8pm tue.
Mos, u have sun article? can email me?

huiz: yaya, so i also nv follow diet. how can I be a veg eater? sianz.. to think I have to forgo my beef steak n lamb chops/stew..

Yes, CSI, I agree with u. Even if they say they charge the retailers the NETs charge, high chance it will be passed on to the consumers as well. Yang2 mao2 chu1 zai4 yang2 shen1 shang4!

Why isn't our pay going up too??

Hi ah mais,
How's everyone?

I have been missing for quite sometime because i have just shifted to my new place =)

what's the topic now? =P
is petrina feeling better already?

Petrina - i'm in betwn Christian n Catholic.. use to attend church service but recently start goin to Mass due to my gf n bf.. i enjoy them but 1 question in my head, why only the Father drink the 'Blood'. Christianity, we take both during holy communion.. thks to Mass, now i can remember the Lord's Prayer..

MOs - Zara sales tomor? confirm?? then i must to the Liat Tower branch..

CSI - i only can't take steam fish.. fried ones still ok.. my preg was a bliss.. no morning sickness, no craving, no weird contraction, only tummy become big, the rest of my body no change.. went in the ward, 3.5hrs i gave birth liao.. my gynae got shock, midwife ask me to give birth to more bb.. <faint>

pls don follow the diet too strictly.. life is abt enjoyment n food.. probably eat less of those tat is no good to us n eat more of those tat are good when we r unwell.

Huiz - haha.. WLL lo.. companies where got so nice to raise pay ..

Nellie: I read it liao. Ha ha. Didn't know we so rare in SG. We need to unite.

Huiz: 9 Jul still very long lei. You still got around 3 weeks to enjoy.

CSI: Wah, can only eat cod fish. Expensive lei. Heh heh. Try taking protein powder la. Those body builders eat one. Ha ha. Just kidding.

mos: zara sale thu ah? I can go see see liao.

Heh, kokoyln, I think it's more like "WLL also don't have".... haizzz.... life is getting really tough now.

Lance, 9 Jul where got very long? It's after next week leh. Wah, your FW is really lucky... u go Zara see see (and later buy) things for her ah? Or u buy for yourself? hehe.

Ya, it was rather disheartening to read the article. Hopefully things will get better

DoryMiki, where's your new place? It must be very exciting to move into the place which both of u had seen it "grow" with all the hard work u have put in. I am sure u are looking forward to many happy days in the house

Hi all!! I juz came back from my home leave... Went to company seminar *Compulsory*
Then went to taka, paragon n bought sooo much things!! had my cousin to carry my shopping bags back to the hospital.. keke

Blush having super sale - $8-$18
MNG - I bought a bag n a top
Marks n spencer - Bought sweets n crackers
taka talking hall - U2 &amp; G2000 sale @ $8 each

Because of pain therefore i came back early.. otherwise i'll shop till i drop manz..

Eating my curry beef now *they kept dinner*

kokolyn: the reason y we only take communion n not drink blood is because of crowd control &amp; hygiene purpose.
If u attend the weekday morning mass @ 6am, u'll get to drink it. cause there's less than 20ppl there. Been there tried that.

hehe, petrina, hopefully the retail therapy can help to relieve a bit of the pain. But seriously, I hope they are not gonna keep u there any longer.

petrina - understand.. but can use those disposable small cup like wat the christian church r using ma.. if i could wake up i would visit the earliest mass..

huiz: i have adverse reaction to the antibiotics so she gonna keep me here another few days.

Lance: haha, i managed to squeeze everything in a huge MNG bag. i also bought a pair of heels @ URS Paragon. sale up to 50%.

kokolyn: where u stay? i check out which church is nearest 4 u

kokyln - hmmm, not sure what the christian churches serve. I remember I went to one christian service during Sec sch days, and they distributed Ribena. During Catholic mass, it's wine. Wine from Jerusalem (or some where near...hehs, I can't remember). But the wine has to be that particular one, and cannot be substituted. Also, for Catholics, it's impt that the wine is served/drunk from the chalice and not any other cup.

At masses where there's a small group of pple, (weekday morning mass, weekday lunch time masses in town or even a small prayer group (Christians call it the Cell Group) coming together to have mass for a particular reason...)one would be able experience communion of the two species (host and wine).

thks CSI.. i wonder why my 2 catholic friends can't give me such a good explanation like yours. Christian church serve grape or ribena.. i heard of catholic serve wine but only on impt occassion.. however becos i'm not yet a catholic so during communion, i only ask for blessing from the Father..

Petrina - i stay yishun n i have been to Church of the Lady Star in Yishun, Christ The King AMK, TYP church, Church of Good Shepard and i like Yishun n City hall ones cos the Father's style of speech i could digest them..

i Peifu you.. now u in hospital right but seem like u hav all the freedom there..

G2000, U2 sales? humm maybe i go oub ctr see see..

kokoyln,
so envy you ah, you got such a smooth pregnancy =)

Huiz,
My place is at Redhill. Ya so happy after so many months are waiting and hardwork doing search and buying new stuff for the house too =) it really paid off...

Petrina,
Yeah! retail threapy!
I am curious, i wonder why you all need to drink blood? err.. is it real blood? i heard its ribena...

Dory
i'm glad tat my preg was smooth n happy one. so blessed by GOd..
hehe it is not real blood.. i can't rem wat e term for it so i say blood lo.. after the wine/ribena symbolise blood of Jesus..

Hi Dory,

Hehe, can sense your excitement here too
Did u go for any theme for the house deco?

loinky, I went past the Taka Talking Hall where they are holding the U2 &amp; G2000 sale on Mon evening. I think they are selling T-shirt tops. I think it should be at least on till the end of this week ba....

hello ah mais,

me just came back from Zara sales at vivocity. Packed with men &amp; women. but luckily everyone was fast in trying their clothes so not too bad. To me, there's nothing much, only bought a pair of pants for work.

hi kokolyn, I stay in Yishun too.

hilo Nellie, so zara sales is here.. i shall go next wk since in my transition to new job.. u work in harborfront? if not how to shop at such hr?

i stay near khatib camp.. next time can go la kopi together..

I work in raffles place. on half day leave today so went there jalan jalan.

i stay near hua min pri. we're having a gathering on 11 aug at Huiz's house. Join us if you can.

Nellie, 11aug no good for me, my gf wedding day.. helping out.. Huiz stay in Yishun too? I'm working in Raffles Place too. now boat quay, 9july onward OUB ctr.. do u shop at SOuthaven.. i'm their fan..

Loinky - Alvernia Hosp.. so my gal got this shirt Ã'm a Alvernia Baby.. my gynae prefer there than TMC..
Taka Talkin Hall is B1, near the gift area.. the laylong place..

loinky: only taka talking hall B1 have U2 sales.. not the boutique.
also have roxy &amp; fox sales. have guys'clothes, but not much.

kokolyn: i attend bt batok - ST.Marys of the angels *SMOTA*. morning mass have wine to drink from the chalice, the priest will wipe the cup after each person. mixed wif holy water - diluted

dorymiki: catholic church serve real wine. *read CSI's post* it's diluted wif holy water. it is considered blood of jesus, therefore during the last supper, they take the body n blood of christ *holy communion &amp; wine* - in the past is non-yeast bread + wine.

I'm waiting for friday late nite shopping tmr... keke, will take home leave again to shop till I drp. haha

I went home to put my shopping bags today in the afternoon. I couldn't stand the sight of the bedroom therefore I did hsewrk while at home. after which i came back to Mt.E. sianz manz

Kokolyn - Huiz stays in Hougang. too bad you can't join our gathering. never mind, we always have one every few months. my office is opp OUB ctr, it's Sing Land Tower. Southaven does't have my size... ha ha ha... me too big

Hi kokoyln, yes, I stay at Hougang. Very near Yio Chu Kang Road and near to the Grace Haven Children's Home.

I think most of us are staying in the North/North Eastern area like Yishun, Toa Payoh and AMK

huiz: only i stay far away.. holland village area.

Hmm, today's tomato beef stew is horrible. beef soo tough. can't digest.

Can u imagine they serve cold tau suan??

Nellie - yalor.. i chk my calendar den realise i need to help her mom and 'sisters' to do makeup..
so coincident we stay n work in same area. i wonder will we meet in the train.. hehe

Huiz, r u near to Punggol Park? i like to visit Bliss cos they serve ice wine at the affoardable price..

Petrina, Mt E leh, how can they serve cold food??

Hi mais, came back from watching TRANSFORMERS this evening. Wonderful movie.
Action packed. You all should go bring your 'bor laos' go watch. It seems most of you are on a shopping frenzy this past week. How i wish i can find time to go. I have been so busy.

petrina: you steady liao. squeeze everything in he bag. tau suan got cold one ah? ha ha.

Lance/kokolyn: tats y i send the tausuan back n ask them to heat. heated also not hot. hmm, maybe they purposely chilled it?

ohh, zara sales... hmm, maybe go tmr.
i think i may catch a nite film ltr tonite.
hopsital too bored. medicine very dizzy so i not allowed to move much after medication. so can only go out 4hrs after medi. haizz...

Southaven clothes ah...I like some of their clothes...but I notice they have a big sale after a while...so I usually wait for the big big sale. no point buying during non-sale, and then see the price drop so much. In fact, there was this skirt that I bought at one of their sales, for $30. The subsequent round of big sale, that same skirt was going for $20. hahaha...oh well, they still had stocks to clear lah...

hi loinky, how are you?

Lance, I'm also planning to watch TRANSFORMER but heard that tixs in SG are almost gone thru-out the weeks.. next wk no work, hope i can catch it at noon..

Petrina, how come the hosp let u come n go like tat? thot they are suppose to keep tab on their patients and ensure they really rest.. when i was in Mt A. they were so strict about where i'm going even within the compound..

CSI - yeah i love southaven cos they have dresses tat fit me well.. they will have sales abt 2-3x per year and i will grab like they r closing down.. hehe..

CSI: still not to bad.. juz feeling bloated all day..were u always cold for the first few mths.. can't pespire thou i did some light dancing.. i can only rely on hot soup to pespire.. oh.. can i attend wedding which is less than 3 mths frm my AD? still considering to go or not..

Which malls are having fri late night shopping?

Good morning everyone.

I had a terrible night. think I kanna food poisoning again. Threw up last night and had diarrhoea this morning.... sian....

Yes, kokoyln, I am near Punggol Park. My parents are also staying nearby. So on my AD, I had time to go to Punggol Park to take some pics too. And I had also heard that the Bliss restaurant there is not bad

Hah, Transformers is my bo lao's fave! I know he has been a fan since his kiddo days. He was looking so intently at the Transformers toys at NTUC the other day that I thought perhaps I should buy one for him.... hehe

Petrina,

I think there is a Southhaven at Wisma? But not sure if it's still there or not though.

Hmm, loinky, are u preggie too?

Congrats loinky! Now we have another mum-to-be ah mai. Hehe, u are very fast too ;-P From the questions u ask, can more or less sense that u are going to be a Mama too
So happy for u!

finally i can login.. for the past 30mins i can go any webby except SG brides..

petrina - southaven is at wisma n hitachi tower..

loinky - congrats.. n enjoy your preg.. stay jovial..

thnx! I'm trying but feeling very lousy today.. no appetite but still hav to bring myself to eat.. + hubby is too bz at work that he have not been accompanying me for the past 2 wks including wkends..

Wow, this thread really very active, I have to really read thru to catch up!

Hi janf, I got maried on 26 May in St Teresa Church, same as CSI, hehehe, have not sort out my photos yet, see if I can send you some nice ones

I staying in Hougang too, near Hougang Point, anyone staying ard thr? But that is my mum's place, we'll be staying with my mum till our own place ready in end 2008, looking forward to that.

Hey, seems like we have quite a number of mum-to-be here, congrats! My office also have quite a number of pregnant ladies, seems like this is a good yr to get married and have babies huh

Have a great wkend ladies, I'm gonna spend my wkend visiting sme old folks and oso play mahjong!

hi loinky,

yup, the first few weeks I was always feeling cold. Everytime i get out of the shower, I'll be shivering like mad. Now, it's ok. In fact, I'm beginning to feel hot quite often. Can feel the temperature inside me suddenly rise, like I'm burning inside...must ask kokoyln if it's normal or not...hehs...
But whatever the case, must drink lots of water to hydrate ourselves. I felt VERY sleepy ALL the time during the first few months. hahaha.

Weddings less than 3 mths from AD? I dunno leh. Better check with your parents. Some say not good...But in the early stages of preg now, you dun want to go out too much also I guess...coz body still adjusting to the new life inside, and may tend to feel uncomfortable every now and then.

Hey nicelip, yeah...we're active manz...hahaha. gotta come in here more often...

nicelip: so gd to be able to get married in St teresa church... on the day of my wedding, they having funfair. so cannot host my wedding. sob sob.
torn between church of st bernedatte n blessed sacrament now.
Mahjong?? we shld be playing mj at huiz place in aug gathering. rite? Nellie/Huiz??

so good to be preg.. woman's nature i guess.
can't wait till then. keke *blush*

my FH is sick.. migraine. so cannot watch transformers tonite le.. hmm, hope he's ok by tmr. i'll be on home leave tmr.. yay!!
I miss my bed n my home..

Nicelip/kokolyn/loinky: i'm inviting all hainan mais to my wedding on the 22nd sept 07. church wedding plus chinese luncheon @ miramar hotel. RSVP, thks

Pris haven't come in for quite some time... i think she's busy wif her wedding final preps. woo, so exciting. after hers will be mine le..