Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hi all, agree...Hainanese folks seem to have louder voices. Heh, even my hubby say that i talk quite loudly, especially when i get carried away! Haha...

nicelip: Welcome! It's good to know another ah-mai.

Ivy: I will PM you ok? Ya sure, next time we can meet up at AMK Hub...is it near your place? For me, it's walking distance. My new place is near AMK Polyclinc.

Good luck with your job hunt. What kind of job are you looking for?

Li Ann: thanks for sharing the lobang but unfortunately, i don't use EA stuff. Nvm, can tell my friends! Heh.

Dory: If you come across a company that discriminates against married women, you really should report this MOM. It's not right and it's sexual discrimination! I studied about this issue in uni and when questioned, such employers will come up with some crappy excuse to justify why they didn't pick that married lady candidate. Disgusting.

Huiz: Starting on 9 July, gosh, that's quite soon. Enjoy the rest of your break.

Hi nicelip!!

Good to see you here...hehs. Your hubby's observation is the same as my hubby's. When he first got to know my extended family that many years ago, he was a bit offended. Hahaha...coz he felt that why everybody has to shout at each other, why can't anyone talk nicely to each other! hahaha. Told him that's how it's been. They are not quarelling, but just talking normally...at first he couldn't ta-han but now he's so used to it liao. Even sometimes when I talk normally to him, he says I'm shouting at him. hahaha.

Dory: yah, shd report...in fact, interviewers shouldn't be asking illegal questions such as, are you planning to have kids etc...That kind of questions are considered illegal, and irrelevant to the job. While can understand why some bosses will ask (eg. job requires a lot of travelling), there are other better ways to put that question across. One way to handle illegal questions without answering the question directly is: "I don't see how this would affect my ability to carry out my duties". That kind of thing...

wah janf: the sky falling down... reminds me of my latest father day gathering... 3room flat, wif close to 20ppl in it... children talking their own, adults talking on their own.. i tot i felt the hse shaking... haha

Lance: i think it's very contrast de. because my mom is a soft spoken person, whereas all her sisters n me talk very loud. my hainanese colleague also talk very loud de. but my cousin-in-law is very very quiet... maybe we r extremists... either super loud or super soft bah..
Btw, cannot get his autograph. he looks aloft... i dare not look in his eyes.. so cool man. anyway she's discharged le.

Welcome kokoyln... R u a hainanese also?

Good morning everyone,

Nicelip, ya, do u have any AD pics to share?

Pris, I wanted to start even later, on 15 July, but on 2nd thoughts, I think its better not to start too late and end up jeopardising my chances of securing this job. Haha, have to play the chess game very cautiously now.

Ok, me gotta scuttle off to sign my employment letter and do pre-employment check now. Chat with ya later and enjoy the Friday!

Actually, i think hainanese people are very easy to identify. We got a particular 'aura' or look, and we behave in a particular way (this may be changing because of eroding values). Let me cite and example, there was this one time i went to this dept somewhere in my office building and a lady asked if i was hainanese. I asked why and she told me that her husband is hainanese and we sort of have similar facial features and talk the same way. Furthermore, she goes on to tell me i look like her daughter's BF, because of my haircut. And guess what, her daughter's BF is also hainanese.

Ha ha, this just makes me conclude that hainanese got a vaguely similar features and behaviors.

Huiz: Start earlier good la. $$$ comes in earlier also. Heh heh.

petrina: I suppose all celebrities got a 'dao' look to their face. 20ppl and house shaking. Ha ha. Thats a good example.

CSI: Wah, you very experienced. I didn't know those are illegal questions. I better keep a look out when i change job next time.

Haha,u are right Lance. My mum n I were in a goldsmith a long time ago n the boss could identify us as Hainanese eventhough we were speaking in Mandarin. He said tt we talk in a different way n tone. I guess its only e older generation who can tell us apart like this. I am in e bus on e way now n I'm so hungry! Need 2 fast before I can do my blood test (this is not part of e pre employment test). Can't wait 4 this whole thing to be over. I'm also very touched by my hubby who prepared sandwiches 4 me juz now

hi nicelip and kokoyln! Welcome to our chatty club! :D

hehs... i was smiling to myself when i read all these posts about hainanese talking very loudly. Actually i think hainanese and hokkien tends to be a bit loud cos of how the dialects sounded. Whereas teochew and cantonese are more sing-song type and therefore a bit less "rough". We also teased our guy collys who are teochew they sound a bit bit "gu-liang" whenever they speak teochew. :P

What kokoyln said about the hainanese being traditional and stuff, ya, i do agree... i often hear hainanese going back to hainan island and quite close knitted.

Another thing my mum told me (she used to stay in the hainanese kampung) is that generally hainanese women are more capable and tougher than the hainanese men back in her kampung days, therefore the women tends to be more "qia" (fierce) haha...

I see all of the above in a friend's family. Mum is the one working, dad is the one who does housework, three sisters "shout" at one another all the time... parents and sis went back to hainan island almost two or three times a year.

Anyway... am proud to be a hainanese. It always make me feel special.

hehs... about all the lobangs... i have many auntie friends mah...so we always share good bargains among us... i never used to take note of these bargains until i started my own family. Now i'm beginning to appreciate all the efforts my married friends put in to save wherever possible.

having said that...time for me to search the papers for good deals le.

later~~

Li Ann, thks for the warm welcome.. yes hainanese love to go back hainan island at least one a year.. And they bring out tons of clothings, coffee powder etc tat i wonder if they r too poor to buy or there don sell.. but hainan island got the best golf greens right.. think my whole life are associate w hainanese cos my Sis in law is a hainanese as well..
btw i hav a 3yrs old daughter so if u all have good bargains, pls do let me know..

pris, my kids still address me as "miss" coz my FH and i work in e same place. if they address me as "mrs koh", and there's only one "mr koh" there, it's as though annouce our relationship to the whole sch. hahaa... no need for that.

huiz, making corsages and crafts can become your side line liaoz. good way of making money in between jobs too.
btw so sweet of your hubby to prepare sandwiches for u. my FH can't cook at all. my dad cooked hainanese herbal mutton (also known as dong shan yang) last week and told him to eat. he can't even tell it was pork or mutton. lol...

lance, i also think we hainanese have certain facal features which stand out. i thot most of us have high cheekbones, if u go look at our gathering photos again. ;p

CSI, that's really good tips for job interviews.

li ann, i also feel proud to be a hainanese. especially now that i'm trying to learn as many hainanese dishes as possible from my dad. my latest achievement: learnt to cook dong shan yang from my dad. my dad said my grandparents were from wan ning, and dong shan is just nearby. so i was quite happy to know that i've learnt a recipe that's so close to my ancestors.

btw people, i'm starting a collection of authentic hainanese recipes. if u all have, can contribute? i'm putting them into a scrapbook. so far, i have recipes for hainanese chicken rice, dong shan yang, cuttlefish, kong bak (dunno how to spell...) if any of u got photos or info on hainanese cuisine, can u pls let me know? thanks.

Li Ann,i couldnt agree with u more on all tt u haf said. Kokolyn,its not tt e ppl r poor tt we buy e things.some of them can b richer than us.its this love n concern w hav 4 our kinsfolk tt we do this.i think we r mor close knit with our community than others.like li ann,i m also v proud 2 a a hainanese :-)

yaya, although I am not a pure, I also feel very proud to be part of the hainanese clan... I feel special when i converse wif my family/relatives outside in hainanese. it's like a secret language tat most ppl cant understand... haha, very haolian rite??

I confirming gg hainandao this oct le. for abt 1wk.
So happy...

mos!!! Can i learn how to cook the mutton soup from you?? Well... i was never close to my dad side of family, so i never had the chance to visit my hometown in hainan island nor the chance to learn to cook hainan dish. Or, if you dun mind, can share the recipe with me?

This weekend is the opening of the tampines retail park - Courts, Giant & Ikea. Got special discounts (you have to cut out the coupons from Straits Times).

Another one that caught my eye is piano sale! keke...i don't play piano but kokoyln, if your gal plays piano, maybe can check it out.

The ONLY sale that interest me is MANGO sale!!! yey!!!!!!! 50% off!!!!!! Yey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Huiz, ivied & Pris,
its my fren's company so cannot report them to MOM hahaha...

LiAnn,
Because they felt that after marriage, they know that there will be plans for babies so they have to take into considerations about the maternity leaves and the manpower when you are not around during that period ma. then after you come back from the long leaves, bb still small then you might need to take more leave or mc in case child is sick or what lor... so its kind of disadvantage...

Nicelip,
Thanks for the info, i'm glad that not all companies view married women as "useless". I'm looking for HR/admin/customer service related field =)

koko,
hahaha... agree with you... Hainan men are MCP but they value and dote on their wivies one... women are generally more submissive for the older generations... for my clan, they talk super loudly like quarrelling like that(including myself hahahaha)

CSI,
My fren said her management will ask whether when they are planning to have kids kinda of questions =(

Lance,
hahaha... yes yes... those older cols can identify that i'm a hainanese straight away, i think we really have a uqinue look...

mos,
wa! you so li hai know how to cook hainan dishes... i only know teochew one cos my mom is teochew and since young she taught me =P

ya lor, the older folks are good at recognising the person's dialect just by looking at the features. I only know 2 tricks of hainanese:
woman - low bridge, flat nose
man - the back of the head is flat
Talking in a loud tone seems to be our distinguished characteristic hor.

yes petrina, its proud to claim that u can speak hainanese among the younger generation. Think our dialect is losing its crowd when it comes to speaking. My hubby always like to 'suan' me when people ask abt my dialect. I'm one who can't speak. haiz....

welcome nicelip and kokoyln!

Li Ann, I fully agree with you. Though I have been a breadwinner b4 I got married, but the 'task' of saving for the rainy days does not seem to be my priority. Now, every single cent spent must think and think. Especially when the house is concerned.
oh, btw, I have been allocated a chance to select a flat in the recent balloting! Yipee!
But my in-laws will still be staying with us till 2 yrs later. Then they will decide if they wanna stay put or move out on their own.

Pris, nope, mine is near AMK swimming pool. But just 2 bus stops away will be AMK hub. (my hubby's fav hangout now) haiz.... Dunno when will I be moving out, but we sure can meet at central if we have the chance.

Thanks gals (and guy) for the encouragement. I think I will look for a job b4 I tender. On the other hand, with 5 days of OT, it is rather hard to go for interviews. hmm.. Not sure what will be my new job too....

mos, that's a great idea! Do share with us when u have compiled the dishes.

CSI, great tips u have. How are u? Easy on your pregnancy? Any morning sickness?

Huiz, congrats again! It will be a wonderful weekend for u.

Sorry gals for flooding the posts. Must be screaming: so lor sor... hee...
okie, back to work. today is going to be till midnight again.

Huiz, i'm not saying they are poor just wondering becos the way my ex's parents pack can go tahan 1 mth war alredy.. buying gifts for relatives are nice.. i like to do tat too..

Li Ann, u are talkin abt toy piano or real piano hehe? currently don think i hav space for real piano but planning to let my gal learn it from a gf of mine.. the mega sales @ tampines IKEA start wat time n end?

DOrymiki, haha.. i'm also a loud speaker.. agree tat hokkien also speak loud.. my mom who is a teochew alwys grumble why my dad, sis n i have to talk so loud when we r jsut beside each other.. ;P

Dory, can understand why they will ask if planning to have kids etc...but, still illegal question lorh. As an individual, we have every right not to answer those questions (just have to put it across the right way). Who knows manz, maybe they will be impressed by the way you answer, that it dun matter if you have kids or not, you will still do your work well...

Lance, no lah, I'm not experienced. Heard all these from my hubby...a few of his frens kena asked such a question before and for the same post, and the ang moh fren that kena-ed retorted back that she dun see how it would affect her abilities. Whereas the Chinese/Asian fren just answered very truthfully (yes, I plan to have kids). In the end, the ang moh got the job. Dunno if it is coz the ang moh has better qualifications or not lah...but one thing I noticed from this is, the ang mohs tend to vocalise their thoughts more...or, they know their boundaries / rights better. Such that they know when others are over stepping the line...

Think about it this way also lah, you wouldn't want to be working for a company that discriminates...coz at the end of the day, what kind ouf culture exists there? would you be happy there too?

thks iVied for your warm welcome..
i'm changing to my new job the wk after.. hope can still surf net if not i'm sure to be lack behind.. you all reply super fast that i have problem catching up..
i'm quite new to this forum.. qing duo duo zi jiao

Ivied,
where will you be balloting for? =)
How come you need to work thru the night one?

Koko,
hahahaha...same here hahaha... my mom who is a teochew also complaints that my sister, father n myself always talk so loudly that other floors can hear and she will use her hands to cover her ears hahaha... =P lucky i managed to marry myself off else no one wants a loud mouth wife =P

I also have this problem of keeping up with this thread initally but now i'm better at it liao hahaha...

CSI,
wa! good idea wor... hehehe... thanks..
Hows bb? you know the gender liao?

Hi Hi Ah Mais, I've been MIA for a while.

welcome to all the new ah mais! We're having a gathering on 11 Aug at Huiz's house. Do join us if you can.

dory, i think if we marry non-hainan gors, shld be fine... cause we talk so loud, we need submissive husbands... like mine, we tend to argue lots cause he is hainan MCP, i also stubborn.. so when ideals clash, we'll argue... haha

yaya, all newcomers pls come.. so our clan can expand bigger n bigger... keke

talking abt wrk, my boss also same type... when i was single, i was his fav agent.. *lots production mah*
then i took mths to prepare my wedding, *production fell*, i almost got suspended.
then now nearer the date, *production worsen* he threaten to sack me.
he say nxt time got kids how? might as well u stay at home! sianz man...

your boss chinese? not anti-chinese boss but typical oriental boss tends to be less considerate.. my current n new job both assisting expat so i know i wont be getting emotional stress from them. Ang Moh more consider n tend to separate work n personal..
my gf who reveal to her boss tat she's preg for 9wks, he start to give her problem n even warn her tat if she don buck up in 2 mths, off she goes.. KNS..if she is not good, why he confirm her probabtion in the 1st place..

hmmm, BB's good, but dunno gender yet. coz BB was shy, turned away...
tmrw's thw next appointment, so hopefully can find out gender tmrw...can't wait. heehee...will post pics of the scan when i get up scanner up...hahahaha...

nellie....missed u leh...been busy?

Hullo everyone,

I'm back from my shopping. Went to Chinatown after my pre-employment check to get some materials to make some novelties for my big bunch of friends..... *hint hint*.... hehe

Petrina, how are u feeling now? Hope u are getting better and can go home soon. Haha, I agree with u on Hainanese being a "secret language". My mum and I talk when we go out in our "secret language" and no one seems to know that we are talking about them.... hehe.

Ivieddd!! U mean u managed to get a unit during the recent balloting which the results was announced yesterday? Lucky you! Congrats
My close friend came out of the week-long balloting process empty handed and she was so disappointed. So which area's houses are u considering?

Mos, my mum called me last night to say that she had been successful in making this mutton soup. Let me go home this Sun and ask her for the receipe and the pic. She learnt it from a cookbook that focuses on the special foods of the local dialects.

I am not gonna cook tonight liao. Haha, so tired after going out for nearly the whole day. Securing a job isn't doing good for me in terms of spending. I bought a new pair of shoes just now and is now thinking of getting a new bag.... hmmm, this is no good man! kekekek

Huiz: Aiyo, still pain... I'm beginning to think that there may be a bigger background prob at work here.
Even pris's aunt cannot find the actual cause of the prob... Tried n tested most medicine avail already... so sianz... seems to be acid reflux + gastric + gallstone + constipation + appendicities...

I think my whole stomach is all jumbled up le..

Morn ah mais/gor... juz woke up..

Huiz: good tat u got a new job tat u like.. shopping is good. shld shop, if it makes u happy. keke

Ivied: congrats on ur hse hunting.. u so lucky, so fast got unit le. i trying to get the commonwealth hses, but full le.

CSI: pls show us ur bb photo when it is rdy.. keke. i so KP..

Mos: if ur mutton shop is successful, teach me ok?

Haha, petrina, my new shoes already cost more than the money I made from making my corsages. But then again, it feels great to be spending something that we have earned.

Oh no, petrina, u mean there's a possibility of u having appendicities too?

It's gonna be a busy Sat for me today. Going off soon to help my friend prepare her stuff for her coming wedding. Enjoy the day everyone!

Petrina: My goodness, sounds like your gastro system is quite messed up. Hmm, i suggest going on a light diet with lotsa water & fresh juices. Try to avoid oily & fatty foods for awhile ok?

Ivy: Congrats! Where will your new unit be?

Huiz: I like to see all the pics of dollies/tatting you did. When we all gather at your hse during the next gathering, i can see the real things! Heh...

Li Ann: I bought 2 skirts from Mango sale.
They're for work and quite good deals. Was $60 each but discounted to $39! Did you buy anything?

CSI: Looking forward to know whether you're carrying a baby boy or gal!
Keep us updated ok?

I'm also proud to be Hainanese (thought not 100% cos my Mom is Peranakan) and i'm very glad my granny insisted on only conversing with me in Hainanese since i was a little kid. My sister & i are her only 2 grand-kids who can converse fluently in Hainanese. Am very proud too that my Hubby can do it. Haha...next time must get my children to speak it too. Else the dialect will just "disappear" over time.

Yeah Pris, it's important to teach a bit of the language to the kids. Its always advantagous to know more
Heh, my DIY things are in all parts of the house. Shall point them out to u all when u are here.

Yes yes, CSI, I am so looking forward to seeing the scans

Hmm, talking about mutton soup, I am just wondering if the Hainanese is one of the few dialect groups who eat beef and mutton. Due to whatever reasons, I think we Hainanese eat more of these 2 meats than the other groups. One thing is for sure though, I simply love beef.... hehe

hi mais, juz finished reading all the postings..

tonite is my co. D&D at swissotel.. been attending for the past 6yrs and no luck in lucky draw every yr.. hope this yr got huat haha!

petrina - is ur gonggong going back hainam-dao wif u as well?

csi - juz realised tat pierced22 in ur mumhood forum is my forum fren too keke..

pris/ivied - me oso frequent AMK Hub at times coz nearest bigger mall to hougang liao.. ivied ballot hse at which area?

finally saw diggers digging the parcel of land of my future nest liao!! hapi!, at least the proj is moving..

hi kokoyln!

ok mais, me gona get ready go shopping 1st then go D&D.. longgg nite for me and bor-lao tonite.. yawn..

Hi janf!
best of luck tonite..

i agee w huiz. mutton n beef are fav or most hainanese.. i love to eat steamboat at golden mile basement.. they hav beef and b4 cooking it, raw egg will be dip 1st.. talkin abt it, i'm drooling le..

can i have the mutton soup recipe as well.. thks

Hi mais, so many messages. I also proud too be hainanese. We are SPECIAL~~!!! But i can't speak the dialect. Heh heh.

janf: Enjoy yourselves and good luck for the lucky draw.

Huiz: Yes, hainanese eat a lot of meat compared to othr dialects. My dad and i loves mutton soup.

Bendi: Are there any prizes for winning the competition?

CSI: Ya, ang moh know their rights, because i think they grow up in a liberal environment. I also want to see your scans!!!

huiz: no lah.. though it's pain, but doc ruled it out. so the pain is mainly my gallbladder n GERD prob. juz dunno which is worse.

Yes Pris: ur aunt is very fierce de. when i say got pain, she immed switched my diet to S/D w/o milk, oily, fried foods. No bread n butter 4 me also. *I love it so much*

Janf: nope, my gongong only go back during dec. so during my HM, my granduncle will show us ard. cannot rem the name le.. keke

Lance: Me too, mutton soup is top fav. I love beef steak manz... but dunno y my FH dun like beef. maybe because he *bai guanyin* cannot eat beef bah.

kokoyln: i drooling le...steamboat!! *smell* nice.

Hi all, it's a bit early to give notice... hehe, but i need to count the no. of tables i need... So, can u all roughly gauge if u all can make it...
Date: 22nd sept 2007 - Saturday 9am wedding ceremony n wedding luncheon @ 12noon at miramar hotel.

thks.

lance,
There are many many msg here esp weekday. I always stop posting as I am always lost somewhere in the this thread.ahahha.. yah, there are price, a laptop, hope to get it then can give it to my sis who is getting her acca.

You girls start talking about makan liao...my parents also like mutton soup but I love lamb chop..yumm..

petrina : hehe.. hav u tried tat place b4.. i know hainanese will either go there or the 7th storey.. i don like 7th storey they don serve beef.. which i find it so weird..

altho i'm not hainanese, i had married a hainanese so i could say basic sentences n understand what they talk.. now i tend to speak hainanese n 4get abt my hokkien.. hehe

Bendi, how can get lost in our posts? Everyone else is catching up so well

Yes, Petrina, I think I should be able to make it. I shall block the date now.... eh, isn't your FH a Catholic too?

Oh yes, I love my beef steak too. Do it medium rare (or even rare) and I will start drooling liao. I don't like it well done coz I think its too dry like leather.

Heh, Lance, perhaps those of us here who know the language can teach u some? Does your parents speak it between themselves?

kokolyn, nope.. havent been there b4. juz love steamboat.. haha, my FH ate in 7th storey b4, he likes it.

Huiz: me too!! medium rare is my fav.. i also dun like well done. too tough. thks for coming. Nope, my FH is a non-catholic. so the mass will be short. without the liturgy.

Bendi, i agree wif huiz.. if u come in once everyday, u shld be able to catch up..

petrina - u shld go there n hav a try.. authentic hainanese steamboat n steam chicken.. u can see that they r packed during wkend n hav aredy take up few empty shops to cater to their customers.. yes pls order the hainanese Pork Chop.. yummy.. hungry le

i love beef steak medium rare too.. hainanese has this beef soup too tat i love.. btw hav u all try the seah street [Hainan 2nd street kopitiam] herbal mutton soup.. v tasty n has the herbal taste. meat tender too.. opp is the HOck Lam Street Beef Kuay Teow.. during my preg period, these 2 dishes are my fav..

the only hainanese dish i don like is Dung Hoon w/ a long green veg..

huiz, may I know if you are working? facing the computer most of the time?

My job doesn't require me to sit in front of the computer and definately not allowing me to surf internet, not to mention forums. There are at least 15-20 postings each day in this hainanese thread and everytime I come here, I need to read all the postings then I could reply accordingly.

My tight schedule daily doesn't know allow me to have the luxury to surf internet and my hubby start using the computer to do this company work right after dinner until midnight, by the time he finishes, I am already sleeping on my bed.This is what I meant by saying I am lost in the thread. Everyone is catching up so well,how I wish I could.

Look at the time now, is 8 plus morning and here the thread is quiet. Now I have the time to surf internet, check mails and do some postings.

I am not being offensive here but there were time where I did posting but just can't seems to be able to "link" to the topic.

Bendi, I am not working at the moment but would be very soon. I too do not face the computer the whole day even though I am not working coz there are also many other things to do, but its nice to be here to chat with everyone else whenever I log on

Kokoyln, yeah, I know which dish u mean. I think some also add some dried cuttlefish in it. I too do not like this dish. There's a smell to that green vege.

petrina: Me and my FW should be attending your wedding *writes in notebook*. But my FW not too sure if she needs to go back Viet that time or not la. But she says if she's here she will go.

Huiz: I also eat medium rare. Beef steak is best. Have a bit of blood even best. Ha ha.

Bendi: You sound like me when i was in audit. Too busy to even surf net.
I think we all appreciate each other coming in to share our views regardless of frequency. Heh heh. Moreover, next week my new boss come, i think i will be very busy also liao.

kokolyn: what vege is that? I think i never eat before.

hi Lance. huiz said is gau3 sang1. it is cooked with dung1 hoon4, some will put cuttle fish.. they say is a must for prayer to ancestor n also fam gathering..

Bendi, is ok to take yr time to post so long you continue to post.. right ;) i'm changing job the wk after so i don know if i can surf net. can't imagine if i can't..

Heh, Lance, high 5. I love my beef with blood too... lagi best if cooked that way. Then can enjoy the juicy meat. My dad says I sound like a cannibal... hahaha