Hainanese Brides, anyone???

petrina: Eh, i thought 1 page they only paste 1 picture. Then in that 1 picture got a few pics? How come the pics you don't like? Who is stella? And they only let you choose one type of cover? I rem i was told can choose quite a few. Ask Pris to ratify. OMG, it sounds traumatizing for you.

mos: So yours is considered mag layout?

Huiz, Li Ann: Wah, basil leaves also can plant in SG ah. Didn't know that. I want to plant liao. Heh heh. I always go buy the basil leaves quite ex lei. Plant myself cheaper.

Lance, there are layouts where the PG can digitally blend a few pics into one page. Some have a blurry background of the couple's pics and then in the foreground, the pics are sharper like a normal pic. Hmm, have u seen Mos's album through the link she gave us?

I think these herbs mostly can survive in Sg's hot weather if they are kept indoors. Yah Lance, u are right man.. really can save lotsa $$!

Yup Huiz, i saw liao just now. Ha ha. Thats why i asking if those are mag layout. The one u say blur blur one is also mag layout? Then those 1 pic 1 page is normal one?

Basil and parsley really quite ex in SG. I use a lot when i make pasta or pizza, and that increases my costs.
Where did can i get them in SG? Ikea?

Lance, i got my basil plant from my boss, who planted from seeds. Think she got the seeds from those big nuseries at thomson road. Ikea only sells indoor plants i think.

Good news everyone. I have a job offer, the job that I had wanted. But I haven't accepted it though. Everything is fine except the darn pay!!! Giving me a bit less than what I asked for. Alamak, such a big organisation, what does a few hundred bucks mean to them right??? On the other hand, I am also feeling rather disappointed now....

let's put it this way: 1 page, they paste 1 piece of photo paper. On that 1 piece of photo paper, it may have many images (nowadays all digital one mah) super-imposed, faded, angled etc...to create some effect. That's usually consiered magazine layout.

Sometimes, depending on the way the pic is taken, eg, couple on right hand side of frame on beach. Left hand side is "empty" except for some scenery. They can stretch that pic over a BIG photo paper and paste that over 2 pages facing each other. So when you close that page, there will be the centreline, which has a risk of tearing after many many many many (probably a few thousand times, I dunno) flipping. hehs. But there are also albums that dun tear lah, all depends on how they are handled lah. I guess those at roadshows are usually not taken care of, coz sample only mah...so u tend to find a few that has torn off kind. heehee...

Chili plant is easy to plant...just take chili from somebody, throw a few seeds into the pot of soil (in case not all seeds do sprout). My plant still growing...no chili yet. haha. only 3 mths old. I also dunno how long it takes to grow chili. Still monitoring it. Aloe vera...hmmm, idea leh. How to start that?

Congrats Huiz! You got the job that you wanted!!
Hmmm...possible to negotiate pay? (I also dunno how to negotiate pay...coz it's like, qutie sensitive thing). what about AL terms? same as your prev organisation? Bonuses?

Thanks CSI
I tried to negotiate, asking for a pathetic 100 bucks more but they didn't budge. Said their bonus is good blah blah blah. Come on la, I had been in this same big medical group for 4 years liao think I dunno ah? As for the AL, its the same, 21 days (ok la, some consolation) and the other good thing is that its a 5-day job, much nearer to my house and also v v near Orchard (haha good for after work shopping trips).... hmm, is the scale tipping towards the pros rather than the cons side? But then again, $$$$ makes the world go round leh... hehehe

Oh ya CSI, u can ask someone who has an aloe vera plant now to give u some of the small "offsprings" from the bigger plant. Just plant that into a pot of soil will do. It grows somehow like cactuses. Small ones will grow out from the bigger one.... haha, if I don't remember wrongly how my dad used to do it la ;-P

Huiz: Congrats! But pay not good ah? Is it govt or private job? I think govt job can nego one. Which company is it?

Thanks CSI for explaining. So you all mean those type of tear ah. Actually its quite bad. I will take note not to do pics that cross 2 pages.

Congrats, huiz!
Which one you going to take up?

Lance,
i took the one that cross 2 pages hahaha... i thought that one nicer so i took that type =P
its a personal preference la...

mosburger,
i like your outdoor pictures =)
where are they taken?
so good, you get to take back your layout... my BS dont allow me to =(

hi all, me back frm 'celebration' coz bor-lao bad nose today.. keep ah-chooooing non-stop.. so betta to come back early and he juz pop a pill and taking a late nap now..

went Billy Bombers for lunch.. my god, the food portion sooo big i cant even finish my spaghetti.. but the potato salad i managed to finish coz potato is one of my fav foods haha!! then went Orc walked awhile and juz back at 4..

huiz - congrats on ur job offer!! thanks for the greeting, will convey to bor-lao later keke.

yes lance - u need at least 40pics to do into a mag style album.. i had 45pics i tink..

petrina - no sad ya.. its usually the case where we see our ownselves in pics as bleh-so-so-nothg-fantastic.. but to others, its diff! GeHuaRuGeYan ya..

ok, me gona bath now.. later log on again..

lance, yes my layouts are mag layouts across 2 pages. i had 70 photos in the album altogether. gotta be very careful when flipping album. i also scared ppl spoil my album. not gg to put it out for my dinner. will use the layout soft copies as slide presentation during dinner instead. think that is good enuff. album for me n family personal viewing will do.

dory, thanks. i took the pics in taipei last dec, winter time. super doper cold... my layout designs were done by the layout designer with lots of input by me, so i must have the soft copy to edit. i took abt 3 mths to follow up after PS before i finally confirm layouts in march. haa... i think whichever photographer get me as customer considered suay, coz i'm very particular abt photos n videos, since i also do these stuff at work. haa... in all, i took back soft copies for my layouts, selected and unselected photos. quite a good deal, i must say. so i'm quite happy abt it.

wa! never thought that taipei can be so beautiful =)
you really hardworking hor, still do the edit yourself hahaha... i just let the designer do whatever they want =P
what do you work as?

wah... Lance: I always buy the rdy herbs de. keke. lazy to plant plants.
You can do lots design if u have a series of similar photos... I did the 3-in-1 for my bedhead photo. Luckily can find 3 same backgrd photos, otherwise cannot do le. Mag style is nice. but like wat mosburger said, my worse fear is tearline.

Yup Janf: reason y i didn't like majority was either my borlao or me dun look good. so i only take those we both look good in. I also took some individual shots. there's one i love so much... will show u all when i get the soft copy.

Mosburger: wat's ur webby?

I juz finished all the neccessary tests... haiz, gotta wait 4 doc to tell me the results tmr morn.

Wow...so many posts!!!

Lance & Petrina: I topped up my PS pics to a total of 48 for my magazine style album. Will haf 16 spreads and i had many choices for my album cover. In the end, i picked the black "LV Epi" cover. Kit was the one who helped hubby & i to choose our photos, frames & album cover.

Lance: Stella is the big boss of BC. She's often at the counter. Curly long hair lady. She's a Hainanese and if you tell her you're a hainanese, will have more perks.

Huiz: Like you, i'm horrible at growing plants. Sigh...but planting herbs sounds like a good idea.

So how, are you going to take up their job offer?

I have good news to share with everyone! I went for the interview with this school yesterday afternoon. The Principal & VP of the school interviewed me...and it lasted an hour! Today, i woke up & checked my email, they offered me a place!
Have replied and accepted liao. Very happy!

Wow Pris, an hour? What did she ask u?

I should be taking up the offer. Now just buying time and thinking if I can come up with another bargaining tactic..haha

Lance, its a semi govt job... tell u where when we meet online yah?

hehs Lance, the "cross over 2 pages" kind can also be quite nice. Although mine is 1 page 1 pic, it's also like 1 big photopaper cross over 2 pages, but just 1 pic on each page, and not 1 big pic across 2 pages...hahaha. oh well. Some pics are really very nice when spread across 2 pages. Impt thing is to handle your album properly so it wun tear in any way...coz it'll be your memories, souvenir...

Hmmm, Huiz, not sure how to bargain also leh...is there anything that you had to "give up" in order to join them, kinda thing? Sounds like most of the benefits are better...but u are right, $$ makes the world go round, although it ain't the most impt thing lah.

Pris, congrats manz! You got your transfer! So means what? Start of 2nd sem you'll be at the new school? (wait...that's next week right?)

petrina, this is the link.

dory, my students call me "miss tan".

pris, congratz on getting the new job!
so u gotta commit yourself to the new school for 3 yrs?

huiz, how long do u have to take up the job offer?

mos: urs is the story type album... ya, muz take care of it. if ctr tear, then not nice le...
nice scenery...

pris: congrats on ur new job.. where will u be then?

Huiz: They didn't really ask me many qns. The interview was quite relaxed. The Principal & VP of the school (both males) interviewed me. Then for the remaining 20 min, it was me asking them qns. Hmm, tell you more online ok?

CSI: I will only transfer to this new school officially at the end of the year. Will finish up the year with my current school.

Mos: Thanks! I was quite surprised to receive their offer the next morning.
I won't be able to transfer school for the next 3 years.

Your students still calling you "Miss"? Same for me! Haha...they're so used to calling me "Miss Seet". Guess i'll start afresh in my new school next year and get the kids there to call me "Mrs Goh".

Petrina: I'll be starting next year in another school in the North. Can't reveal which school here cos official records not updated yet. Tell you over MSN ok?

Hi mais, just returned from CMPB and back in office. A morning wasted, haven't even makan lunch. Eating yogurt now and reading your posts.

CSI, Dory: Hmmm... you all give me a lot of ideas liao. I think when my time come then i worry. Most prob no so soon. Heh heh.

mos: Okie dokie. You got a lot of photos lei. 70 is a lot. If i add to 70 then i think i broke liao. Wedding dinner don't put the album is a good idea for preservation.

petrina: I also buy ready made one. Those small bottle type. Haiz, but those ex lei. One bottle $5 i think. Hope you are feeling better today. How long are you going to stay there?

"Mrs Goh": Wah, next day offer. That is super fast. Maybe their school shorthanded is it? Heh heh.

Huiz: Hmmm... okie!

Lance: not sure till when as now my doc is using the trial n error method. tackle 1prob at a time.
Ya. i also considered my $$$ factor. if i really liked the pics, i may actually add up 10 more pcs to do mag style. but unfortunately... so to me also like sort of save $$ lah. mine is 10" so 1pc is additional $55. still acceptable if gotta add $550. but nvm le. keke

Pris,
Congrats! That's so good...
I'll be finding a job after my wedding...
Wonder if my chances will be low taking into account that i'm married =(

Mos,
So you are a teacher too... that's so nice ya, nuturing the future hehehe... so will you and pris correct my english when i write here hahahaha... pls dont k, cos think you all will vomit blood =P

Petrina,
Really hope that you will get well soon k... =)

Heya everyone,

Finally have the time to log in after a busy busy day. went to the market in the morning and came back to make chicken rice for the first time. Then spent the whole afternoon rushing a wrist corsage order. Someone ordered 4 sets from me and needs it urgently this Sat.

Aiya Dory, there's no reason how marriage can lower our chances of securing a job
I just got an offer yesterday and would be signing on the dotted line this Fri.

Mos, the company told me to confirm with them ASAP. I had just given them the positive reponse this afternoon.

Phew, I finished making 4 complete sets of corsages in half a day. So tired now... haha. This is my 1st corsage business and I hope the buyer will like it

Huiz: that's great news!

Dory: I don't think being married will mar your chances of getting a job. Good luck with your job hunt.

Lance: They advertised for 3 teachers. I "answered" the ad for a Eng/Math teacher.
I was quite surprised they offered me the place the next day. Looking forward to working there.

Huiz: Wah, so fast confirm liao ah. Did u manage to negotiate?

Pris: You mean they advertised on MOE intranet?

petrina: Trial and error? They going to try how many times? Try too many times later spend a lot of $$$.

Huiz,
GREAT! congrats!
But did you nego on the salary?

Pris,
I dont know leh, my fren in HR said that for private sector, it is true that they will look at the status when interviewing or selecting candiates. =( haiz...

I did try la, but not isn't successful on the salary. So I told my hubby to pay me the "shortfall" every month... haha, just joking la.

Dory, it is outright discriminating if they choose based on martial status. Can report them to MOM ah.

not bad..u can still go for a short trip! must really cherish whatever free time u have..i think the best break is in between jobs

Lance: because doc couldn't find out the cause of my pain still... haiz... did so much tests le. n because of all the tests, i haven't eaten since monday nite... so darn hungry...
Btw, it isn't ericia lee's mum who's here. It seems to be Ix Shen's mum. cause he's here now.

Hi hi! Seems like I have missed out alot.

Petrina, take good care of yourself leh. So sad to hear that u are in and out of hospital.

Huiz, congrats! hee.. then u have to make more corsages to earn back the loss in income.

Pris, so good that u are getting married. Then AMK Hub will be our meet up point. hee... Just curious which school will u be teaching in? Can PM me?

DoryMiki, I do not agree with your HR friend. And yes, Huiz is right. They can't discriminate staff who are married, this has to be reported to MOM. I think those co had the fear that married women has to take 3 mths of maternity leave.

Li Ann, u are our 'budget hunter'.
Anymore good bargains to share? hee..

I have decided to leave my current position. Now have to start flipping thru the papers again. haiz...

pris, huiz... congrats on your new job!

huiz... read your posts too late... mm... what i did with my job was i also din get the pay i wanted, so i nego to them that after confirmation, if my performance is good then they should give me a pay increment to the amount that i first wanted. It worked. But it is just a couple of hundreds la. not much too.

dorymiki...being married means you are more matured and stable in your job. If employers can't see beyond this, then most likely they are not good employers to stick with. A bit selfish and myopic in this kind of thinking.

Petrina... poor gal... hope you get well soon...

Ivy...you fu tong xiang mah. I'll be happy to share any bargains as long as i knew any.
Add oil for your job hunt!

Hi ivied, long time no hear from u too. The job market is picking up, esp for the field that u are in. I am sure u can find a suitable job soon

Hur hur, make more corsages ah? It's really rather tiring man.... kekekeke

Ya, Li Ann, I am also waiting for a post confirmation increment. A few hundred more is better than nothing right?

Posted on Thursday, June 21, 2007 - 3:09 pm:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
yes huiz... after marriage and having a house you call your own, a fe hundreds do make a difference now.

*ahem*
Living up to my reputation as a "bargain hunter"...

gals... heads up!

Elizabeth Arden sale - up to 70% on skincare, makeup & fragrance - starting 23 Jun at Suntec Convention Hall Level 2, Rm 203, 10am - 8pm

:D

Hi CSI Fan, hi ladies!

I came across this thread, all of you very chatty leh
I'm also a pure hainanese, just got married last month

hi nice lip..welcome!

ivied: good luck with your job search. mkt is on the uptrend. u will find a better job soon!

li ann: how come u always have so many lobangs!!!

Hi Petrina, Sherrie

Yup, I'm a pure hainanese, but my hainan cannot make it la, can understand but cannot speak at all!

I this hainan mai never marry hainan gor leh, my hubby is peranakan hokkien, cannot speak his dialect also, and he is quite amuse at how my parents talk coz when they converse in hainan, it sounds as if they are quarrelling, hahaha!

Hi DoryMiki, read that you are looking for a job, not true la, I'm in HR and we don't discrimate married women. What sort of job are you looking for? Good luck on your job search!

Welcome to the clan nicelip!

Haha, ya we are indeed a very chatty bunch. Heh, your hubby has made an observation of the typical Hainanese way of speech. My folks (myself included... haha) speak very loudly too.

hi mais.. juz came back frm dinner wif some indon relatives frm my MIL's side..

yesh yesh!, hainanese really talk as if shouting away! cannot imagine if they do shout at each other, tink the sky will fall..!! rarely find a soft-spoken one keke..

hi nicelip, which date u got married last mth? got AD pics to share oredi?

quite surprising tat u gals say hainanese speak loudly cos i mix wit hainanese for so many yrs i hardly hear them shout.. not easy to be hainanese's wife cos they are mostly traditional n value family bonding.. eveyrthing is ancestor, fective occasion, the eldest daughter-in-law will slog to cook n ensure everyone come bk to eat.. omg.. why can't jsut go out for a nice dinner n still serve the same reason.. men r more MCP but they value their wife.. women, i notice they r more submissive..

Hi mais, i agree hainanese talk very loud. When our family go out, my father and sisters talk so loud like nobody business like that. Always have to tell them to talk softer. Ha ha. But luckily, i don't seem to talk loudly.

Hi nicelip! Welcome!

janf: Where did you go makan? Some nice indonesian restaurant?

petrina: Wah Ix Shen ah. You got ask for autograph? Heh heh.

Li Ann: Wah, how you know these things one? You very up to date with all the bargains in town.

iViED: Sad to hear the job didn't work out. I think the market now is very good. Shouldn't be a problem to find another job. You going to go for a holiday first?