Hainanese Brides, anyone???

mos: What Fox? The name of the shop?

iViED: Thanks for offering to give me your ring pillow. Nellie had also offered to lend me her one. Ha ha. You all very nice and helpful. I check with my FW on what she wants tonight and let you all know if I need it.

Yup, we have chosen our ROM venue. Its at the ex-New Park Hotel. The one at Kitchener road. The wedding planner at ROM recommended that place. Our area is situated in the corner of the restaurant.
Any ah mais would like to come?

Huiz,
Nope i'm not a Silverlinging bride.
I went there cos he offered rental of EGs and he asked how come you are still here in forums so i told him that you are still active in the hainanese forum, then he admit himself that he is a hainanese hehehe...

Actually i need help, i cant find anything i like in my bridal for EGs, do you all have any recommendations? i need rental of OTR cos i dont have time to make a new one.
I also need recommendations for VG services too...
very desperate liao... =(

Hi DoryMiki,

Ohhh, so Jit is also a Hainam-kor ah. Haha, shall sms and kachiau him. ;-P Which bridal shop are u with? Did u find something u like with Jit? Have u tried Allure Charix? I think they do have some nice evening gowns too
Most of the ah mais here had/are engaging Jacky from InJack Studios as their VG. They could give u his contact if u are interested

huh Jit oso hainanese??!?! wow tats qiao!! oways see his pics in wedding mags and din realised hes our 'clansman' too!

mosburger - HaPi BiRtHdAy!!! and many hapi returns ya.. =)

dory - yup, few of us here used InJack for VG or PG.. ur AD on 13july ya? better quick quick research a few other VGs as well and book fast coz july's a hot mth for weddings too..

lance - my ring pillow was a handmade gift frm a forum fren.. we hv been chatting over forum for quite awhile and tot of meeting up. scurry 1st time meet her and she gave me a ring pillow. i was really very touched and surprised lor.. my rings oso in the TianPo box but we din use it lah..

pris - me tom cant go zouk lah.. got dinner appt wif my frens.. u enjoy urselves ya! happening leh!

I am with White Link...
My FH like all the gowns that he took out for me to try, but i thought they are too plain...
I went Allure Charix too, but they have nothing i like too...

Okie, can someone pass me injack's number? is he good?

Hey Huiz, good luck to all your interviews. I'm sure u will be able to make it this round.

Work is still as busy and hectic. But I'm beginning to adapt, just hate the long hours. Daily OT, wow liao.

Lance, no prob. Just lemme know. Sorry I can't make it, helping a friend to move house that day. She said its her auspicious day. hee...

DoryMiki, here's Jacky's details.
Contact Person: Jacky Kok
Telephone: +6596694588
I find him not bad, my guests were praising his 'Express Highlights'. (Can quote janf's name, sure get good discounts. hee..)

I have an EG, if u like, can lend it to u. (provided u like the design and cut)
There's a shop in Vivo city, can't rem the name. It is near the escalator going up to the cinema. It sells many gowns, can take a look. Or can try 'Felt' and 'Ted Collection'. What kind of gowns are u looking for? Design and cut wise?

janf, haha, maybe that's why Jit and I can hit off rather well (him being a Hainanese too)

Thanks ivied!
eh, btw, I thought u have sold off your EG already?

Lance... if you want the wedding bear, i can lend it to you. It's quite big size though. But the bride bear got veil and pearly bracelet. very cute!

erm... i wanted to post the pic of the bear but don't know how to resize it

Dorymiki... hee...i am a silverlining bride too and din know that Jit is hainanese too! Did you like his collection of EG? He has many nice EG to choose from. His signature is bareback. If you like lacey, you can try Margaret's Bride. Very dreamy and sweet. My colly use Julia, also not bad.

Hee, DoryMiki, wonder if Jit showed u my EG (this greenish cross back number). Even though its not easy to put on, I still love the design very much

hi all, juz reached home frm roadshow... so tiring stand 12hrs... tmr n thurs also... so no time to read this forum... cya'll on thurs nite...

Happy belated birthday Mos!!

Lance, can use the tianpo pillow. i let my ringboy hold the box (opened up) then pass to my bestman keep in pocket.

thks for all ur regards...

Mos: Happy Birthday...though i'm late in wishing you. :p You share the same birthday as one of my JMs.

Lance: I bought my ring pillow from yahoo auctions, it's brand new & handmade by the seller. Paid only $10!

Huiz: Yep...Mayang Sari is definitely more suited for couples. Can just relax by the beach & spend couple time.

Woah, didn't know that Jit is also a Hainanese!

Dorymiki: Perhaps you can try Lavender? It's at Stamford Court. Or perhaps you can try Sunny Ang?

janf: I haven't clubbed for more than half a year. Hubby wanted to go and so, asked his cousins along.

I'm feeling lucky...yesterday the NDP committee person called me. I got 4 tix to NDP!
My mom is sooo happy.

morning gals.. me cant zzz well so wake up early and log on..

pris - u are soooo lucky!! i used to go NDP during my poly days every yr but now no more liao.. somemore last time need to Q overnite at stadium and me and frens take turns to camp.. wah piang horrible..

dory - haha din know ivied gave u injack's ctc too, me oso mail u liao haha. err.. ok lah, quote my bor-lao or my name, he shd know wat to do.. juz tell him same gang as ivy, pris etc, he knows liao keke.

ok mais.. me going to make bfast now and off to work.. today's a bzy day at work grr...

Wah, so many posts overnight! My FW and i am going to BC later in the evening to choose her ROM dress. Will post pictures later when we return home.

iViED: Wah, move house. I like to help friends move house also. Very fun one.

Pris: You lucky ah, 4 tickets. Thats a lot. But don't you have to bring the children for the NDP rehearsals too? My mum brings the school children there every year.

Li Ann: You got wedding bears? So nice. Did you sew the veil for the bride bear yourself? My FW said she is fine with anything actually. I hear liao i was going to peng.

Huiz: Your interviews gaining steam liao this week. Heh heh.

Dorymiki: I also using Jacky (signed up last month). He is very friendly. My FW and I just quoted janf's name and he knew what we want liao.

Calling out to all ah mais: Would any of you like to attend my solemnization on 28/7/07 (one day before Pris' banquet)? Its a simple affair. Just come makan and take photos with us. We hope you can come grace our event.

Thanks for girls for all the suggestions, i'm so touched... But i dont know if i'm just being picky with the EGs =( i want something that looks elegant and sexy... but not too simple as well =(

Ivied,
Can you show me a picture of your EG?
Vivo city one i went before liao, never saw anything i like... Ted Collections dont do rental leh, i checked liao... as for Felt, where is it?

LiAnn,
His gowns are actually very simple and elegant, but too simple for my liking leh... But FH love the one that is pale green and very bare at the back... think its in his website one...
Margaret has very little choice for OTR cos she usually let her brides keep them...

Huiz,
I saw your EG in mutiply, but he didnt show it to me leh...

Pris,
Lavendar does only short gowns right?
Where is Sunny Ang?
Congrats! You are so lucky to get the tickets!
My frens are still waiting for their calls...

If I remember correctly, Sunny Ang is in Orchard Delfi. 2nd floor, opposite Irene's Creations.

You can check out Blum too. One of my gal frens bought her EG from Blum. They have a lot of dresses (work wear and non-work wear), so gotta slowly sieve through...There's a Blum shop selling evening wear at Change Alley Hitachi Towers (the AMEX side facing the former jetty).

Hello everybody,

Sorry that I've been missing for so so so long.

Mos, Happy Belated Birthday!!!

Petrina - Pls take care. If can remove, remove early. My MIL didn't remove hers early. She experienced extreme pain just few weeks b4 our China trip. Had hers remove then and she had 18 stones!!! Luckily she's able to go for the tour.

Huiz - Good luck to you in the interviews!

Lance - I'm coming to your ROM with my bor lao.

Today log in late. Hubby start work only in the afternoon today so we went to the market in the morning and I prepared lunch after we came back.

Hey Lance, yes, I will be there for your ROM. I think if I have found a job by then, it would still be a 5-day job so I should be able to attend, by myself without my hubby though coz he works on Sats.

Okie, Lance, here is the pic Li Ann has for u
Sorry ah, the colour is not so sharp after I resized it. But isn't it very very beary cute?

492774.gif

Hey Nellie, u had been busy?

Ya, Petrina, if u can, remove the stone soon. My mum also removed the whole of the gall bladder, together with the stones.

Yes, DoryMiki, u are right. Jit's evening gowns are very simple yet elegant. He likes to go for one colour gowns but makes it attractive with the different cuttings, designs and diamontes.

DoryMiki, have sent the link to you.
Yes, Blum does sell gowns too. Felt is at Stamford House. They have many elegant looking dresses and some gowns. Yes yes, forgot about Sunny Ang Boutique. Another good choice too.
BTW, Lavender is at Stamford House too right?

I'm not too sure if it is in time for you to make a gown now. My seamstress told me she can do it in one month's time. U can give it a try.

Huiz, nope, did not sell it. No takers.

hee Pris, lucky you. The atmosphere is really different as compared to watching it at home. Then have you prepared a red shirt to be worn?

Huiz - yup, some of the systems were ugraded over the weekend by HQ. Wanted to come to office early yesterday but I overslept. Luckily, it's school holidays, less vehicles on the road and I was only late for 20mins.

Here's mine... ha ha ha

492782.jpg

Hehe, Nellie, your cuties really brought a big smile to my face! It's really very unique and cherry looking!

Lance, I made my own ring pillow. The champange ribbon is a bit long so I cut it shorter in the end.

492798.jpg

Huiz: Your ring pillow is very beautiful!

Nellie: I remember your ultraman...hee. I'll be using Hello Kitty cos i'm a HK fan. :p

Lance: I brought pupils to NDP rehearsal for past 2 years. This year i will be excused cos of the wedding prep.

Dorymiki: Sunny Ang also has a boutique at Far East Plaza. If you want to customize a gown, it may be quite rushed. Perhaps you can check out other BS?

Haha, I remembered buying all the materials to make this small pillow and now ended up with a whole bag of fiber fill.

Pris, u will be using Hello Kitty for? I thought your ROM over? U still need a ring pillow for the AD?

ivied,
Thanks i received your link.
Your EG is the blue one right?
its nice! but err... i'm a bit short to carry such a long mermaid dress hehehe...

Pris,
Yes i checked with quite a few BS liao, but i will check out the few that the others recommeded later or tomolo... =)

Huiz,
WA you made your own pillow ah... so li hai... for us, we just used the one provided by Goldheart when we bought their rings hehehe...

hahaha Huiz, yah, I remember last time we talked abt making our own ring pillows. I also ended up with bag of fiber fill (& 3 ring pillows - 1 from Tian Po, 1 from BS and my own DIY. used BS one and my DIY one was as display at reception table. hahaha). Probably will use the remaining fiber fill for baby's mattress or pillow next time. hahaha...

Pris, bringing pupils can be quite stress leh, coz gotta account for every single one of them. This year good...dun have to bring them. hehs...

Huiz: Steady Huiz, see you on that day. Civil service confirm 5 days work week, so we have work life balance. You so steady can make yourself. Li Ann's bears are beary cute.

Nellie: Wah, who can forget your ultraman dolls. So cute.

Pris: Heh heh, so good can get excused. Don't know if my mother is going this year.

Ya man, I really admire the Pri/kindergarten teachers. Bringing them out is really a nightmare. I saw 2 pre-school teachers bringing a big group of 5 year olds on a outing by SBS bus before. I really wonder how they handle them!

Heh, DoryMiki, I tried my best to DIY most of my wedding stuff.

Eh Lance, civil service is say 5 day work week la, but hor, they also potong annual leave ah. Heard that its now 18 instead of 21 days?

Hi mais, here is the dress my FW chose for our ROM. She had such a hard time choosing because she didn't know what she wanted. Haiz. Then in the end i told her this one nice then she chose this one.

ROM dress

Huiz: No problem. Will update you when the date is nearer.

Would any more ah mais like to come for my ROM? Li Ann, CSI, janf, mos, stacy, Dory, petrina?
Pris, i don't think you can come for my ROM since i can't go to your wedding right? SO qiao, one day apart. Our mothers superstitious one. Haiz.

Lance: i dun think i can go, cause it's within the 100days thingy...

Huiz: i fear that if i remove my gall bladder, then my liver may overload...
so when this fri i get hospitalised again, i will ask everything then if can remove stones only i will if the whole thing, i most prob also will bah... cause too painful le.

I using donald n daisy duck... getting someone to sew the wedding clothes 4 us. keke

Petrina, my mum removed the whole thing (gall bladder included) for some reason I cannot remember. She was also told not to take too oily food.

Wow Donald and Daisy is a very good idea too! Very very special

Hey Lance, I cannot see the ROM dress pic. I need to be a member of the "kellynlance" network I think. I have sent u a request to add u to my network. Need u to authorise first ah....

lance: put it here lah... otherwise ma fun, gotta join so many member... i nv use multiply... only to view huiz n ivied photos only...

Huiz: cause i like donald duck. by FH no fav.. only doremon, but cannot 1duck 1doremon... keke. so we scissors paper stone lor...

Lance...i got another bear couple, their arms are smaller so you can place the ring over their arm. The guy bear is kissing the gal bear while holding a heart that says "I love you". when you pluck his lips away from the gal bear's cheeks, there is a voice that squeals "I love you!", "I love you!" keke... if you are interested, let me know, i'll pass them to you.

I did sew the veil leh. Not so talented la. The bears are already dressed when we receive it as wedding gift.

I was inspired by Huiz and DIY my ring pillow and ang pow box, which in turn, inspired my hubby to make our wedding guest book instead of using the hotel guest book. It's not as pretty as we wanted them be, what we had fun nevertheless. hee... esp when we struggled with the fabric glue. I'm also left with a big bag of fibre fill. :p

And oh, ya, i'll attend your ROM
What time does the solemnization start?

dorimiki...whats your email address? Maybe i can email you my gown. If you think that is sexy enough, you can ask jit to show you gowns like my type.

ivied...really been a long time since we last chat... looking forward to seeing you during our next gathering

Lance - oops, must have missed that post. Sorry. Yup, Sat I'm free. That weekend is a good time for getting married huh...Pris' wedding on Sunday, my fren's wedding also on Sunday, Lance ROM on Saturday. hehs...

Petrina, the Donald Duck idea is so cute! Very unique....

Li Ann: Wah, this bear couple like cuter, can talk somemore. I think my ROM starts at 11.30am. Must go home check and confirm. We still looking around for bears or dolls. Will let you know if we will be borrowing from you. Thanks!

petrina: 100 days ah? i thought is one month only. i post the pic here liao. is it there? hope my FW don't complain later say i anyhow post her pic. keke.

493175.jpg

Liann,
My email address is [email protected]

Lance,
ahhaha... didnt know that you are a guy...
when is your ROM?

Petrina,
So cute ah... donald and daisy...
Mine is 2 Piglets =P cos i love piglet...
But mine got no clothes cos no time to do, think just got veil for "girl" and bow for "guy"

Lance: the dress is nice, but u prefer long or short? this looks similar to a JM's dress...

Not sure. Pris told me de. her's within 100days so she not inviting me n i not inviting her... but urs is solemnization, so i dunno if it's the same...
Of course i wanna go, but if *clash* then it's better to avoid. rite??

Hey dory and Petrina, do show us your ring pillows when they are ready okie?

Heh, yes, dory, Lance is our "wan4 lu4 zhong1 yi4 dian3 hong2" ;-P

Lance, maybe u can ask the Bridal Concept staff for some advice on the kind of dresses that suit your FW's build?

Dory: Wah, i sound like girl ah? Heh heh. MY ROM is on 28/7/07

petrina: Oh, i think we got no preference. Maybe i get her to wear a tiara then won't look like JM? Ha ha. Ya, i think if clash better to avoid.

Huiz: The BC staff said she so thin, wear anything also ok. So we just anyhow choose lo. Originally wanted a blue long one. But then she complain too long also. So are you going for any interviews today?

CSI: Steady, will keep you all posted on timing again.

Yes, Lance, I have one interview at 2.30pm today. And then 2 more tomorrow. Sighh, so sian to answer their questions all over again but then there's really no choice... beggars can't be choosers yah? haha

Huiz,
Me not doing my ring pillow leh, unless i have time then maybe i will modify the one that goldheart gave us =P
The piglet one that i mentioned will be either sitting on my bed or the front of the car =P

Good luck to your interview ao...

Lance,
No la, i am not active in this forum for sometime ma, so didnt read some of your posts so i assumed =P
Sorry i might not be able to attend your ROM cos mine is on 13 July and we might go for a short trip after that =)

Huiz: Oh...the Hello Kitty dolls will be placed on our bed on the AD! I have the Dear Daniel & Hello Kitty wearing traditional Chinese wedding clothes.

Lance: Hmm, can i be honest with you? I think the lower half of this dress is too puffy. I agree that it looks more like JM dress. Does she prefer a short dress? If so, did you ask the BC staff to show you more choices? The one i wore for ROM was also a short tube dress.

My folks are very superstitious so Petrina cannot attend my wedding because our Chinese ceremonies are within 100 days of each other. Yours is ROM, gotta depend on whether your folks or Petrina's folks are particular about it.

petrina, unique idea! It will be very cute.

Li Ann, yeah, its been a while since we had our last conversation. No worry, will sure turn up at Huiz's house in Aug. (or rather Pris's wedding first) hee..
BTW, I have tot of what to wear already. haha...

Lance, that dress is quite cute.
yes, your FW is so slim, anything is good on her. I do agree with Huiz, perhaps a longer dress will be better? If your ROM is in the morning, then maybe I can go. I shall let u know again.

Have not seen Stacy for a while. Wonder where is she....

finally have time to post something. i'm on mc today. was running a fever since tues nite. finally went to see doc last nite.

lance: i think ur gf will look good in tube dresses but that dress is a bit puffy. may not look so good in photos? think i have the same opinion as pris. hehe.

huiz: good luck for your interviews! they have reduced the leave for civil servants. when i was working for a stat board, they gave me 21 days cos we were working alternate 5.5 days. then after they changed to 5 day work week, they changed to 18 days. actually 18 days is quite a lot already. i heard from my friend who's working for a local company in hkg..he only has 7 days..on the other hand, my gf who is lecturing at ngee ann poly has 42 days leave!

Lance: hmmm...some pple told me it's 1 mth. some say 100 days, some say 3 mths. And I've also heard a 6-mth time frame (before and after AD)...so, I really think it all depends on the individual/parents. Chk with them is the best lah. Coz maybe nothing will happen. But you dun want anything to happen, and then they say "see lah...tsk tsk tsk" kinda thing...

I like the dress though. hehs.
I like the puffy part. I think it's unique. Straight dresses tend to remind me of what one can get from Daniel Yam kind. No offense...Daniel Yam's (or is it Yen?) dresses are nice...but I always thot, ROM/AD is once a lifetime, shd be more unique. Heehee...Of course, impt thing is have to suit the person wearing it lah.

An alternative suggestion though...how about your FW wearing her traditional Ao Dai for ROM? Perhaps a more elaborate Ao Dai, instead of the normal ones...it would be quite unique too...then can also do up her hair...I think the Ao Dai an be quite meaningful, afterall she's Vietnamese and getting married in SG...hehs...Up to you guys lah. heehee...

Hi mais, thanks for all your comments and suggestions. Arigato gozaimasu. Ha ha, i told my FW, and she said she want to go try another one. I think we will be heading down to BC another time next week.

Dory: No problem!

Huiz: How was your interview? 18 days is a lot. When i was in the private sector, i only got 14 days.

sherrie: You coming to my ROM?

Pris: Will confirm with Big Sally tomorrow and let you know again.

CSI: I will go ask my FW about the Viet dress thingy. How do you pronounce Ao Dai? Ao2 Dai4? Heh heh.

iViED: Steady, you let me know again.

Woohoo, i am going to watch fantastic 4 later. 5 more mins to knock off time.