Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Just came back from a two day course. It was so boring, i wonder why i signed up.

petrina: youtube have shrek 3 ah? Really fast. I go youtube watch liao.

Nellie: Steady, next time no need squeeze liao.

Bendi: Copy your montage lo. I think i going to learn flash or something to do. Or maybe get my friends to help me do.

Pris: Remember to give detailed food review after tasting hor.

Li Ann: Wah, i see you list down all the expenses i.e. stamp fees, legal fees..... like a lot lei. Ha ha. I read already just confirm my thoughts that i no $$$ to buy my own house yet.

li ann - haha can imagine u screaming away at MayDay!!

lance - not i can afford jacky's tik but coz i missed the last time he was here so die die this time muz watch him in town.. its crazy lor.. the day they launch the 2nd day tiks and i went into sistic to book, all the cheapest tiks all taken up! left me wif not much choice..

din buy anythg but my ILs bot a printer for my SIL.. saw so many of my co. colls (other depts lah) at the pc show too..

petrina - even me married 1yr+ liao, i oso pop by BC to say hi to the lady boss or jasmine if they are ard.. but only if bor-lao is ard lah coz once he start the lingo, the both ladies cannot stop and keep yakking/luffing away wif him..!

i watched Shrek 3 last sat too.. i hv watched the previous two and was oso abit disappted at part 3 tho.. somehow lacking somewhere.. but this sat me catching Ocean's 13 at vivo! yeah yeah!

lastly, 11aug shd be fine wif me too.. it shd be a long wkend coz nat'l day.. not sure if anyone mite be going away during tat period ya..

I had always wanted to go to an Emil Chau concert (haha, ya, I sound very old to like his songs right?) but had missed all his previous gigs here. I promise myself not to miss his next one here.

I am going to Bintan this Sat. Can't wait for the weekend to come!

janf, your hubby is really a live wire. He certainly brings much cheer to a group

u girls all like to go concert. I cannot go, too many ppl, too crowded then migraine come attack me. It happened to me many times in the past, i used to go genting to see big big event.

Petrina, the song is "THE PRAYER" from josh groban + charlotte church.

hihi! Great to see Bendi, loinky and Dory back here again. 11 Aug is fine with me too. Hope to see more ah mais on that day.

Bendi, your sis's montage is so touching, especially like the image of the 'continuous' kissing scene - your bro-in-law kissed the bride after getting pass the gatecrashing follow by the kissing scene in the outdoor shoot. It is like so synchronising.
BTW, petrina, the song is "The Prayer" by Andrea Bocelli.

Pris/petrina, sure, will be awaiting your invite.

Pris, enjoy your food tasting tomorrow.

mos, yes I agree. Study and marriage both require $$, so it is best to take one step at a time.

to those ah mais who had ROM first before the customery, did u engage a pro photographer on your ROM? What is the norm rate?

opps! I did not know Bendi had replied at the same time as I do. So the song is by Josh Groban, I thought it sounded like Andrea Bocelli. pai seh...

btw Bendi, my hubby hates crowded areas too. He had migraine attacks or will get extremely irritated. I was told that regular massaging or aromatherapy will help, am trying to get him to go regularly. Perhaps u can try too?

Thanks ah mais for welcoming me back =P
i'm a lost sheep once again hahaha... but i try to catch the essence of it..
I went to the PC show too... super crowded but didnt managed to get anything cos my dad said that its not that cheap...

I am a poly grad from TP...
guess you guys are meeting on 11 Aug, right? cos i cant make it on 14 July hahaha... its my birthday =P a day after my wedding...

I'm going to Jacky's concert cos FH is a fan of his hehehe... quite pai say to say this but we got his most ex tickets...

Petrina,
maybe can check out the one that i am using... A&D interior www.interior.sg
so far so good, but work is still progressing... will update more if you need to know more...

wow so many posts in a day. was so busy at work today. my hubby loves IT shows too but luckily we were busy this weekend and we didnt have time to go. i personally hate pc shows.

lance: before u wanna buy the property, u can lemme know. i can do a financial breakdown for you. hehe. at least u have a clearer picture of what is expected. don forget its part of my job now.

Hi DoryMiki,

Wa, your wedding is a good time to celebrate your birthday too... shuang xi lin men
I suppose u would be very busy by then? Btw, are u a teacher too?

Yes, mos, ivied is right. After doing my post- grad, my pocket has a big big burnt hole liao. Whether can recoup from my next job or not is still a big question mark.

Oh yes Sherrie, I also dislike going to PC shows. Only drag myself there when I have something that I need to get. If not ah, I rather bore myself at home than go there.

Wah, you all really like concerts hor? Btw, is anybody here going to listen to the PLAY symphony this weekend at esplanade?

sherrie: steady. Ha ha.

Huiz: 11 Aug should be okay with me. I note down on calendar liao. Cheers!

janf: Wah, he so popular. So fast sold out the tix.

bendi...your sis's montage is also very nice!
In fact, i think all montages are sweet and never fail to bring a smile to viewers' lips. I attended a friend's wedding last sat and her montage was really really nice. Most of my gal frens are already mums... and for a good moment, they all stopped fussing over their babies and just stared at the screen and smiled. Some of them even got a bit teary... i guess they must be thinking of those moments when it all weren't so long ago... quite a touching moment.

For all brides and groom to be...enjoy every moment on your wedding day cos it will become fond memories for you and your hubby.

haha...feeling nostalgic all of a sudden...

have a great day ahead, mais & gor! ;)

wah, so many posts...hehs

Li Ann, yah...I heard about the cocoa butter bit...also can use stretch mark cream. It moisturises the skin to prevent stretch marks. But hubby worry about any effects it might have on baby. So have to wait till next gynae visit to check with gynae. For now, he's making me drink lots and lots of water. Coz, stretch marks come about coz skin is dry...

Huiz, have I mentioned before? 11 Aug shd be ok...

Great to hear that u can make it on 11 Aug, CSI and Lance. I am so looking forward to the end of this month and Aug. Planning my hubby's ex-Malacca classmates gathering in Sg at the end of this month and there's our own clan gathering to look forward to in Aug too

I have been seeing this Palmer's anti stretch mark ad on TV recently. Claims that many US celebrities had been using. Wonder how true are their claims of its usefulness.

Heh, I can't wait to go down to Chinatown to top up my yarn supply later. I am trying to make an evening clutch bag and was so pissed off with myself for not buying enough yarn.... grrr... need to make another trip down again

Huiz,
Ya will be super busy, actually now very busy already =)
I'm not a teacher but aspired to be one =P
Too bad NIE rejected me and i never try again hahaha...

Petrina,
I'm using Simon, he's a nice person... you can say Mike from Redhill recommended... he dont remember me cos most of the time my FH deal with him... if you are into Fengshui then la gi best cos he will advise a bit here and there too... =P

hmm CSI, I bought a Clarins stretch mark prevention cream for my best friend who is due this month. She swears by it. Perhaps u can try? (But a bit ex though, think $78/tube)

Hey Huiz, enjoy your Bintan trip. Looks like you have your programmes well planned these 2 mths.

loinky, your AD over already? Any pic to share?
Li Ann is right. Enjoy every moment of the AD, it will be a wonderful memory.
Looks like majority of our ah mais are married. This is going to be a Mr and Mrs Hainanese Club. hee...

Yup..over liao..on April 15.. I will try to upload the photos at Multiply once my friend has finished doing the selections for developing & return the soft copy to me..

Loinky, the baby oil is not oily as the cocoa butter oil. My sis-in-law used that. She told me that it's cheap and good. Read this too at one of the threads in Singapore Motherhood.

One of my gf used the stretch mark cream from Rustic Nirvana. Don't think that's cheap either.

yah, a lot of these stretch mark creams can be quite ex. at the end of the day, they prevent the marks lah, but also depends on individual. Some pple use already, still have the marks. Aiyah, bottom line is, drink lots of water to keep yourself hydrated...coz preggers tend to dehydrate easily.

Ya, ivied, most of us are married by now. Mos & Pris have also ROM-ed. Now left petrina to hold her AD cum ROM day and Lance his ROM. Time really files eh. But one thing is for sure, it's been more than great getting to know everyone here, no matter how long time has passed!

me use Biotherm Celluli-Choc, quite good too..

ivied - quite a number of my frens who ROM b4 AD got engage professionals.. the range for ROM pics can be as low as $200 and abv.. usually ROM pics are abt 80-100 developed pics..

dorymiki - which day of Jacky's concert are u watching?!

Wah, you all talking about oil and cream i really catch no ball. Next time when i need to know then i ask you all again hor.

Huiz: Just now pai sei. Really busy. Wanted to go home on time so must work harder. Ha ha.

I finally got the right CD from my PG this recent Mon. I have loaded some of my AD pics in my Multiply. Do take a look if u are free

Lance, it's okie. Work still gotta finish first wan

Heh janf, maybe u can bump into DoryMiki at the concert?

loinky,

There are lots of pple who will say different things...the very 1st gynae I saw even told me, "there's nothing you cannot eat". So I go by the scientific / logical way.

I prefer to avoid raw food - sushi, sashimi etc. Although someone asked, then those Jap ladies how? They also still eat sushi in Jap mah...but my point would be, the sushi is probably 100 times more fresh in Japan...hahaha. Raw food coz there might be some micro-organisms (esp salmonella - a kind of bacteria) that may be present. That may affect baby's development. So I'd rather not take the chance.

'Cooling foods' including green tea also should avoid. That may cause cramps and therefore affect pregnancy.

Coffee and tea and any other caffeinated drinks and beverages, gynaes all say it's ok, as long as you keep it to 1 cup max a day. But I prefer to avoid totally. Coz I read that too much caffeine sort of "blocks" or restricts the body's absorption of Vit C, which is essential to baby (as well as mummy lah). Pple say it's ok one lah. How much caffeine can there be in 1 cup? But my question is, how do I know how much would be too much for MY body? Your body maybe still be able to absorb Vit C effectively even with 2 or 3 cups of kopi. But maybe my body cannot? I really dunno lah...so I prefer to just avoid lorh.

Soft cheese or soft ice cream, coz there may also be some micro-organisms (that are generally not harmful to the adult and kid body) present in these foods. But, may affect baby's growth and development.

Processed foods coz they consist of stuff used to process them right? Somee vits and minerals may be lost and stuff used to process them...hehs...may affect baby's development.

At the end of the day, baby's still inside. We can't see how the foods we eat will affect baby - if there's any reaction etc, we can't see mah...hehs. So I "kia see" lah. I just prefer to play safe lorh. Go back to basics. Everything go back to "caveman time". Nothing processed. Go natural. hehs...Try to lah. sometimes really hard to resist that Pringles lah...hehs.

I agree with CSI...better play-safe & avoid these "ambiguous" food during your pregnancy. Avoid eating pineapples & watermelons...both are too "cooling" for babies. Eat more tomatoes because they help make your baby's cheek rosy.
Take more calcium too!

Btw, my colleague who gave birth a few months ago swear by Galenic stretch mark preventor cream. She bought it from Guardian pharmacy. Drink more water ok? My mom didn't get any stretchmarks during all her pregnancies so it's also dependent on your skin elasticity & structure.

Petrina: If you want, i can recommend my ID to you. He's from Image Cre@tive.

Ivy: I didn't engage a PG for my ROM. What i did was ask as many guests as possible to bring cameras & appointed one of my hubby's friend to be the "official" VG. Good in the way that we got a lot of shots from different angles.

Lance: My food tasting was great! Will update you via MSN ok?

Li Ann: When do you want to go shopping? I'm free nowadays because it's the sch hols. Just drop me a call/sms ok.

Huiz: I'm sure that BTB picked your gown because it's very nice!

Janf: I also use Biotherm Celluli-choc...i believe in prevention is better than cure. Now no cellulite or stretchmarks, but i already started using this last year. I also use the Abdo-choc cos i get water retention easily.

Today i'm going to my BS to collect my 4R prints & soft copies...will email the links later tonight or tomorrow.

Whao.. detailed information.. Thanx!
So how many mums in this thread? Btw.. must look for the doc after self test or after 2 mths.. cos i heard that the test they do for early detection is the same..

loinky, erm....think I'm the only one...hahaha. how come we're talking abt stretch marks and babies suddenly? hahaha...Aiyah, most of the info I also got from the various books on pregnancy, internet and talking to various people.

Oh, I went to the doc (GP) the same day after I self-tested. GP did another test, checked belly, then confirmed it. Then I looked for gynae. It's always good to know early also lah, then can take precautions eg, if pregnancy is unstable, gynae can prescribe medication or strict bed-rest, start taking folic acid if you're not already on folic (women should start taking folic acid early esp if planning for baby). Or say you have low (or too high) blood sugar for eg. At least you can start taking steps to improve health to have better pregnancy. Having checked early is also good, then can start scheduling the regular gynae visits to monitor baby. Cost will be a factor lah, but I'd rather check early to ensure baby is ok...heehee. there's some tests to take between 11 weeks and 14 weeks of pregnancy one...so check early also gd.

Oh, one other food/drink to avoid is....ALCOHOL. hahahahaha...

Pris, more tomatoes? hmmm...ok, ok. Shall try that.Lucky think I like tomatoes. hahaha...taste buds really quite different now...

Hi DoryMiki,

I have PM-ed u my Multiply link

I think I will take lotsa calcium and iron when my turn comes to be a Mummy. As we all may already know, calcium is not only good for the baby, but will also prevent us from getting osteoporosis later.

Haha.. I hav quitted drinking after my wedding nite.. dreads being drunk again.. =p.. how is ur gynae charging.. u looked for a private one rite.. btw.. which part of spore are u living?

Huiz: High 5, i love tomatoes too...also like drinking tomato juice.

CSI: Thanks for your tip...i'll remember to start taking folic acid a couple of months before my hubby & i try for baby. :p Haha....

Huiz, yah...calcium is good...coz baby also zaps alot of calcium from us. but too much calcium I think can also lead to some loss in bone density, and it may "dispel" magnesium into our blood stream or something like that. Then also not too good. Read it somewhere lah. Dunno how much is too much also... Think that's why they all say, everything eat in moderation...hehs...

loinky, erm, yah...mine is the private side of KKH (KKH structured hospital mah...). Took a package that covers all sessions (except emergencies - total about 10), delivery suite and hospital stay. Information can be found on KKH's website.
http://www.kkh.com.sg/ForPatientsnVisitors/SOCs/Womens/Maternity+Services/index.htm

Heehee...you trying to find out if we know each other? I haven't seen you before horh... kekekekeke.... :p I stay in the west side.

Hi all Ah Mais/Gors: I'm coming to you live from gleneagles hospital ward... keke

wah... all talking abt babies le now... eek!!
I also wanna baby... but my FH dun wan... so we can only max have 1, earliest in 2009/2010 born de...
Otherwise i gotta wait till dragon year le... *sob sob*

I maybe thinking of A&D Interior... Cause the ID i feel most relaxed wif. I still sourcing though...

Ok gals, i gotta go back to my bed le... the nurses chasing me... there no internet access... will log in again in the nite..

Hi DoryMiki,

Thanks for your compliments.... heh, but I also have "imperfections" somewhere or other ;-P

I was told by a few people that I had lost weight recently. Face has become sharper. But dunno leh, I don't feel it myself.

dory - me oso watching 14th concert!

pris - is Abdo-Choc good? i bochap, use Celulli-Choc for tummy as well haha.. but sometimes really lazy.. not everyday use.. only when i rem..

petrina - wat happened to u?

petrina: you feeling better? tummy how come will inflame? you makan wrong food?

CSI: you very knowledgeable about these things. you really prep up to be a good mother liao.

Huiz: i also like tomatoes!!!

Pris: saw your food review. looks good. but the duck how come got camphor duck? i thought it was pipa duck? is it the same?