Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Lance: Lee Hwa popular for the destiny rings & joan rainer range... I almost bought it.. TianPo popular for the annika larrison range. Goldheart - platinum range.
Those were the various researches I made.. The other jewellery shops - designs quite normal, so I didn't take notice... U can go Fairy's Inc if u wanna custom made.
Many of them used Jacky as their VG/PG. For me because he got another job so I took shutterbug productions *used/recommended by my fren*

Huiz: i'll bring tiramisu & chocolate biscuit.

Phew, just finishd an interview. Need to write essay somewhere. Heng I managed to make it through in me piece. Lance - my AD PG was Andrew Tay from The Edge. Can send u his contact if u interested. I suppose your studio shots taken care of by Bridal Concept?

huiz...thanks for organizing the next gathering, can't wait for it le! i'll be there! mm...wanted to bring tiramisu but petrina beat me to it.

ok...let's see what we have now... two dessert (yum) two meat dish (yum yum) one noodle and salad... i think i'll bring another veg dish ok? Since we have some brides to be... i just learnt to do a veg dish a la vietnamese poh piah style...

Lance, better forewarn your FW that the only "vietnamese" thing about this dish is the vietnamese poh piah skin only! :P

We customize our rings (my hubby designed them) at Fairy's Inc. Difficult to describe it here..i'll show it to you next time we meet. The price can be similar to Lee Hwa and Poh Heng unless you use alot more blings. But there are more choices of the material, e.g. i used champgne gold and my hubby use rose gold. They have "black gold" too which are really nice. No harm just checking them out for ideas and comparison. They are located at Delphi Orchard, Level 4 i think.

As for the PG, i didn't use him but i find him friendly and his pictures are captured with alot of life and variety - Benny Ang.

I'm so happy this week! Cos i'll be attending the May Day concert this Sat and my friend got us the second front row tickets!!! Gosh... i'm excited just by the thoughts of it! I never miss their concerts! You practically get "HIGH" from the start right till the end. :D

petrina: Wah, tiramisu... that one is also one my to learn desserts. I will try to go Tianpo and Fairy Inc see later.

Huiz: Where did you go for interview? Govt or private? Yup, bridal concept take care of everything.

Li Ann: Thanks for the info on Fairy Inc, will go see see, since you and petrina recommend. Can i walk in? You making vietnamese spring roll... nice nice. Don't fret about the not Vietnamese part. Ha ha. Are u frying them?

Lance: Yep, Big Sally is a very nice lady!
If you have anything you're unhappy with, just voice out to her. When is your ROM? Choosing gowns so soon...must be very exciting for your FW!
My PG is Derrick Ong (recommended by my colleague) and my VG will be Jacky (recommended by Janice).

Janf: They banned SGBrides? Woah....

Huiz: Good luck for your interview

Li Ann: Wow, May Day concert...enjoy yourself & have lotsa fun!

Pris: Yup yup, ROM is one day before your AD mah. 28 Jul 2007. So, actually i not sure can go your dinner or not. Haiz. My FW is say she wanna go la. But need to ask my mother. How is Jacky's package like? Can email me the details? Thanks!

Lance - you got to make an appt with Fairy's Inc b4 going down. Wanted to have mine made but gave up the idea cos it's too ex. (hee hee cos my design is complicated)

Lance... yeps, they will still attend to you if you walk in but if they have other appts then, you may have to wait. So, to get their undivided attention, best to do so. It is run by two lovely ladies.

You can call Evelyn at 6235 5570. Their add is 402 Orchard Road, #03-03, Delfi Orchard Singapore 238876.

There are also many other bridal related shops in this building for you to browse.

Happy shopping!

Lance - yup, you have to make appointment at Fairy's Inc. Think they use gold...but it's not those gold at the goldsmiths (think those are the 22K gold?) Fairy's Inc is nice...esp if you have a design in mind...but it was out of budget for the design I wanted. heehee...with that price they quoted, I could have bought 3 of my platinum bands. haha. If you can, go for it!

i have been so busy at work but still enjoying the reading.

huiz: talking about potluck stresses me out. everyone seems to be able to whip up a dish or two except me
did you go for an interview with a statutory board or ministry? usually they have written tests. when is the next gathering?

i noticed li ann's wedding band that night. it's very nice. i asked her abt her champagne gold wedding band. i think i have the cheapest wedding band amongst all. my hubby and i spent abt $500 on both rings during great singapore sales. haha.

i am hitting the big 3 tomorrow. so sad. seems like a big crossover. my mum asked me to go home tonight to break red egg.

okie back to work!

janf frm timbaktu is here again..

i oso wonder WTF (sorie i sound crude) they dun allow sgbride.. the feeling of not being able to log super sucks..

lance - yup, some of us used jacky one way or another.. sherrie and myself used him and his partner for PG+VG.. send u my pics later..

i cant cook for nuts!, see wat my bor-lao can whip up tat day and will let u know u all in advance..

sherrie - me oso hitting the 30s club soon..

haven got chance to chat with all of you for a long long time...changed my wedding date from 4 oct to 8 nov...btw I called the hainan 2nd street to order the big sesame balls...then find out the uncle had passed aways...so no one has the skill to make any more...the man who picked up the call spoke to me in hainanese..wah stress man!! i had to answer him in my broken hainanese ..but at least i understand what he was toking about..
u gals have other contacts for me to order the chin deh?

Hi Lance,

Our wedding rings were custom made at fairy's inc too....total $2000...ours had black gold on them....they also have rose gold like what the others told u..quite nice...but will be fun if you have in mind what design u want
my hubby designed our rings himself...

Hi Diana,

It's sad to know the uncle had passed away. He's the only person in Singapore who knew how to make the chin deh. None of his decendants learn this skill.

you may want to use 'yi bua' or the smaller chin deh to replace the big one.

Hihi everyone,

I am finally home after being out for the whole day. Went for tatting class after the interview.

Sherrie, I went to a stat board for an interview. But heng I managed to "spot" the test question. Did some reading up before I went and wrote the essay rather smoothly. The gathering will be on 14 July. Can come around 6 or 7 plus lor. I have sent everyone some emails on the details and directions
Hee, sherrie, make the new chapter of your life more meaningful with a little baby soon

What a pity to know that the art of making chin deh has died.

Yes, Sherrie, happy happy birthday to u! enjoy the day to the fullest

janf, u logged in from home before u left for work?

Ok here's the updated list again:

Nellie - Cheese tarts
Mos - Oven baked garlic & curry paste chicken
Lance - Sweet & sour pork
Huiz - Fried noodles & potato salad
Li Ann - Vietnamese popiah
Petrina - Tiramisu & chocolate cookies

Sherrie, my hubby's and my rings cost $1 less than yours lah...hahahaha. $499 for 2 platinum rings. promo lah. I must be the most cheapskate. hahahaha....

Hmmm, sherrie, Happy Birthday! You and my pa have the same birthday...hehs.

erh, the food horh...by then I dun think I can carry much stuff...maybe loaf of bread to go with the curry chicken? heehee....

Happy Birthday sherrie! I agree with Huiz, have a baby soon! That will spark a new phase in your life.

Hi Diana! Nice to hear from you.

Wah, quite a number of ah mais go Fairy Inc. to make the rings. But from the looks the of it, it is quite expensive. Maybe my FW and i will go down this weekend, just to take a look. I went only to Tianpo yesterday, the Annika series really quite nice.

Huiz: You very steady, how did you spot the question? Next time must teach me. My question last time was on land transport (no relation to my ministry), lucky not too difficult. Whats yours this time?

janf: So "qiao" ah. Ha ha.

thanks for your well wishes! i arrived at work only at 10am this morning. overslept big time! now i have this nasty feeling cos i am not sure if i locked all the doors properly. maybe gotta go home to check if the door's properly locked. aiyo.

huiz: it's so tough to spot the question. you are good man. hope they get back to you soon!

Haha Lance, I more or less know they will ask me 2 suggest ways 2 do something (tell u the details if we meet online) coz this dept plan activities with a goal in mind. I guess this is also a good way 4 them 2 get free ideas without them thinking too. On my way 2 another interview now. Really dislike going 2 such things. Whoever speaks the truth during interviews??

hAPPY Birthday sherrie!! yupp, have a kid soon.. hehe, then u all can bring ur babies to our future gathering.. *imagining now*

I think this yr is no good 4 me... woke up wif sore throat again... hmm, been sick on/off since april... so sian..

Lance: i got the annika series. rose gold ctr on top of white gold. the reason y i took tat bcoz they say it wun leave ring mark. not pain 4 women to wear while pregnant... (comfort interior design)

me and FH bought rings only to humour our parents, coz we actually dun like to wear rings. lol... bet no one as bochup as us abt wedding rings. we last minute went nearby goldsmith shop in the neighbourhood to buy rings when our ROM was near last dec. now they're still happily sitting in the box together in my FH's house. i guess they'll get to see daylight again when we're having customary. =P

Ok back from interview.

Aiya CSI, u don't need to bring anything! Hehe, I have mentioned that u come and enjoy can liao

huiz: how was your interview?

lance and petrina: no plans to have babies yet. i dread the next lunar new year. sob sob. everyone will be asking. haha

Hi ah mais, guess what?

I met my FW for lunch and we went Tianpo at Chinatown. We bought our rings liao. Ha ha. Its the Annika series. It cost about 1.5k/pair, and its quite nice. We chose the rose gold ones.

petrina: we got the same rings!!!

Huiz: How was the interview today?

mos: Wah, you all got try hanging it on necklace and wear?

sherrie, I think the companies are making interviews rather tough nowadays. Either they make us write essays or ask us questions, expecting us to find solutions impromptu. This was what happened just now. Asked me for a difficult situation in my previous work places and how I solved them. But ok la, last time at the polyclinic, there were so many examples to quote from so the whole thing still went on quite well. Oh ya, there is also this position which I applied to where they asked us to also submit a short write up putting down what we think the KPIs of that postition should be.... what's the HR department doing har?

Heh, talking about babies, I can't resist sharing with you this clip of my hubby's primary school friend's son learning how to roll over: http://www.szuefei.blogspot.com/

huiz: i totally agree with u. interviews really shake my nerves. i went for an interview with a major frieght forwarder doing sales few months back. the interviewers threw me a pen and asked me to sell the pen on the spot to them. after i cleared thru that round, i was asked to go for an aptitude test two weeks later but didnt get the job. i went for a banking interview and halfway through, the interviwers walked out and asked me to call them on the phone to role-play selling them their banking products.

actually stat board and ministries' interviews are the most tedious. i went for this stat board selection shortly after i graduated. 1st round was essay and maths test. second round, there were 5 interviwerers and halfway through, the interviwers asked to speak in chinese. everything was in chinese. i got thru that round but i didn't clear the last and final round. anyway that was the shittiest interview cos it was soooh time-consuming and nerve-wrecking each time.

Lance, I think I did rather well just now. But then again, nothing is up for me to decide now. It's all in their hands.... haha.

Ya man, sherrie, somehow I always feel that interviews are always a waste of time. Who in the right state of mind would say that they left their previous job coz they couldn't stand their bosses or colleagues? So I always thought what people say during interviews are not very true. Other things like qualifications and experience they can see from our resume also what. But then again, maybe they have finally come to realise this so they focus more of the interview on assessing our skills see if we have "liao" or not. Sighhh, qian nan zhuan ah. But really ah, the interviews that u had been to really sound very very scary!

haha...talking abt interviews...everytime my boss will ask me to go interview the candidate (1st round). his logic, the colleagues got to like this candidate and must be able to work with this person. If not, he hire also no point. So always my colleague and I kena to interview pple. We dun like it either. It's super time consuming lorh...esp when you have other work to do.

Also have test for them...but we're not expecting perfect answers lah. More often than not, it's to see their thought processes and maturity in thinking. I never know what kind of questions to ask the candidates one. Always felt that asking them "why you want to join our company" (my co is not a big company in this industry...it's like, one of the last few places you would want to join) is like so fake. hahaha. So nmy questions is always based on scenarios and the candidate's interests. And from there, throw the person some challenges "but what if this? what if that?" to see how the person reacts. hehs...maybe I should pick up a book on how to conduct interviews. haha...

Huiz - dun worry so much about it. As long as you tried your best. There's always something to learn about ourselves through each interview process...

Lance - wow, that's fast decision making! hahaha...congrats on getting your rings! One thing less to worry about.

Mos - Lance's idea about hanging your rings on necklace is not bad...can consider. hehs...

Lance: Congrats on getting your rings!!!
You must be very happy.
Check with your parents whether you can attend my dinner ok? As far as i know, yours is ROM, not the Chinese traditional wedding...so i don't think will "clash". I'll ask my parents too.

Petrina: I think i'm the youngest BTB here...how old are you?

Sherrie: Happy birthday to you!!! Wishing you lotsa happy returns on your special day. Are you celebrating?

mosburger: I really think you can consider wearing your ring on a necklace. That's is quite a good idea!
Actually i have married colleagues who do not wear their bands or wedding rings at all. Partly due to their liking for T&Co rings...can't wear so many rings at one shot mah! Haha...

My interview experience is rather interesting this time. My friend is leaving her job (same organisation as the one I went to today) and she recommended me to her boss who in turn asked the HR to call me for an interview. But HR told them that I have one with another dept today and will see how my performance is before they call me up for another interview to fill up my friend's place. Come to think of it, doesn't it mean that if I get called up for the interview (my friend's position), that means my chances for the one today are all dashed? Haha.

Lance, one headache off your shoulder now that u have bought the rings. The next exciting thing will be the choosing of the ROM dress
Is your FW's family coming for the ROM?

nite all, me juz came back frm gathering.. heng tom is public hol can rest at home yawn..

yup, woke up early to chk on forum coz i rem not wishing sherrie last nite.. blur me haha..

lance - glad tat u settled ur rings liao! show us the pic leh! TianPo website shd hv..

Hey sherrie, happi birthday! Hope I'm not too late. '-)

Good for you Lance! u have settled your banquet venue, BS and wedding bands, can feel more at ease now.
Is Bridal Concept providing a gown for your FW on your ROM?

aiyo, all of u are good. I don't think I can wip up anything leh. Lemme go think think what I can do for the pot luck. (errrrr......)

Talking abt rings, yeap, I also have friends who simply dislike to wear rings. So their wedding bands are chuck nicely in the box since the wedding. My hubby is one such example too, but his is due to work hazardous. No no to jewellery.

Huiz, good luck to all your interviews! Perhaps by then you have to decide and weigh the pros and cons of joining company A or B. :p

This week not so good for me. 1st I fell ill. Then my MIL almost gana hospitalised. Now my hubby is down with high fever. Tomorrow must go pray pray liao. hmm...

Lance: I also got my rings in chinatown tianpo... aiyo, so *qiao* who served u?? which annika type u got?

Pris: i'm 26 this yr.

This is mine...
488443.gif

Haiz, i finally got my internet to work at home. The wireless thing go crazy for 2 days and after spending 3hrs, i finally figured that it is due to the wrong WEP.

Huiz: Yup yup, my FW's mum, bro, grandma, auntie x2 are coming. Her dad can't come due to work. I think this time you will sure get the job you want after the interviews. Your friend even recommended you.

iViED: Wah, your week doesn't look good. Today is Vesak Day, you got go pray pray? I think its the bad weather causing us to get sick.
Yup, Bridal Concept is providing the gown, and i feel better and more relax knowing that most of the big stuff do already. Cheers!

petrina: I think the salesgirl is Sammi. Wah, you one year older than Pris and me!

Pris: Steady, my mother coming back tomorrow from China i ask her. Ha ha, i think she will be exhausted from taking care of the "little monsters" overseas.

Here are my rings ah mais:
488523.jpg

Ohh Lance, your rings are almost similar to Petrina's other than yours having a few more blings.

Hmm, jobs ahh, I have no say in it now. It's all in the hands of the potential bosses now. But yes, thanks for the confidence in me Lance

Btw, "little monsters"? Who did your mum go China with/who had she met there?

Lance: Your rings are nice!!!! Esp the one meant for the bride. Classy choice. *thumbs up*

Petrina: You're born in 1981? Lance & i are the same age (1982)...we were even in the same JC but didn't realise it!

Ivy: Hope your hubby will get well soon. You must take care too.
I can't cook well too...maybe i'll bake brownies? If not, i'll see what i can bring. Most likely it's desserts.

Huiz: All the best for your interview...since you're recommended by your friend, your chances should be quite high. Good luck!

Huiz: Little monsters are those students. My mother bring them to China. Ha ha.

Hi ah mais, I just signed up with Jacky. Just came back from his place. He very friendly and my FW comfortable so steady liao. Plus, he showed us janf's video as a sample. Heh heh.

Ohhhh Lance, now I get what u mean.... haha, ya now I remember what occupation most of your family members are doing... hehe.

Pris, I realise that there's quite a few of us here from the same JC (TJC)

Pris: u bring brownies bah.. i may not bring cookies. oven gone wonky...

Lance: ur rings nice. but i dun really like it tat time.. tat series all nice de, hard to decide tat time.. If u wan engrave nice wordings, dun use their engraving. cause it's standard type de, and because of ring design u gotta leave it wif them 4 a wk. i do my engraving outside..

Pris/Lance: i didnt noe there's younger ppl than me, i tot i married early lor... u all even earlier than me.

hi all, woke up early so log on now.. chiam mah, only can log on on extreme hrs of the day haha..

TGIF!!! evening going shopping wif bor-lao..

haha lance, he showed u my video ah.. so do i look diff from AD and in person?! haha fat liao lor.. u oso steady leh, so ShuangKuai sign up wif him liao.. but congrats, u hv settled the 3 most impt stuffs of a wedding! can relac till AD nearer ya..

huiz - wish u all the best in securing the job! =)

ok mais+boy, me now gotta go do up bfast liao.. hv a gd day ahead..

Sherrie, was so *qiao* bumping into you in the middle of the day @ Raffles Place... Cause I seldom go there... Haha

Aiyo, nobody online today...

Heh, I am online now....

CSI, my hubby told me a drug salesgirl gave him some samples of iron supplements for pregnant ladies. I have asked him to bring it home from his clinic tomorrow so that I can give them to u when we meet the next time

Petrina, u met Sherrie at RP today? Sherrie on leave ah? hee....