Hainanese Brides, anyone???

no la. u gals dunno the big hoo-ha when i went for the japan trip. not too convenient to reveal here. shall let u gals know another time when we meet. hehe.

i redeeemed my kris flyer miles for the two tickets lah!

My FW also very '大少爷' sometimes. But i think its because she finds it hard to express herself properly. So, i always take a step back and ask her what she wants, listen to her and then maybe bring her out for ice cream and roti prata. We just love to go out and makan together.

I am so envious of all of you who are getting your own homes with your partners. Haiz, I think i have to wait another 3-4 years before i am able to get my own.

Lance, u will be staying with your parents after the wedding? The important thing is that both of u have to start working hard for the common goal, to have a wonderful place of your own

Haha, thats right Huiz. I am born in 1982. My FW is one year younger. So that explains our situation of not a lot of income, and have to stay with my parents.

Actually we are aiming to get a flat near my parent's place. An area just got en bloc 500m away. We are hoping they will build new ones, so we can apply for those when they are ready.

lance - no need to envy us coz some of us oso staying wif ILs and i gotta stay wif them for the next 5yrs till my hse gets built up..!!

Janf - It's ok lah. No need to apologise.

Just finished my emcees' script.

Ok, my wedding...
Solemnization starts at 2.30pm. Everyone has to be seated at 2.15pm.

Huiz - tell your boss you cannot work on 28th mar afternoon... ha ha ha

aiyo janf, now i feel so old too....

okie, nellie, I go apply 1/2 day leave. Most probably can attend, unless boss said I can't take leave as I had tendered.

no prob Lance.
btw, I'm too staying with my in-laws currently. But so far, so good. *cross my fingers*
Actually, age is not the root of high income. I worked for so long and still no $$. :p

janf and iViED, age does not determine a person is old or not. Heart not old can already, 'xin bu lao'.

Actually i look like 30+ ah pek even if i born in 1982. When i graduate, i went to audit firm and work for half a year. Every time go home late and do not have enough sleep. Wrinkles and stress lines all come out. Now at least life is much better, and my boss is very nice. I have more time to get some sleep and do some mask now and then. I am even studying extra courses and taking motorcycle lessons.

im eating Mac meal in ofc now and realised the cashier gave me MacSpicy instead of fillet o' fish! bleh.. =(

i shd be quite onz if sherrie and ivied are cfm going.. will let nellie know soonest..

nellie - got dress code??

28th march should be okie for me. i am on "standby" duty so i don't have to do showroom duty. but need to be in the office in the morning.

where is the parking for arts house?

yeah lemme know if there's any dress code too.

lance: 1982 sounds so young to me too! even younger than my sister! how did u get to know your wife? *curious*

no special dress code lah. just wear whatever you're comfortable.

Sherrie - you can park at Parliament House carpark. Then you walk up Staircase P3.

Will email you all the details later.

boss juz came by to tell me i mite need to go for overseas meeting in sep.. bleh.. got 2gd frens marrying in sep, now duno can go anot..

i'm fine with any colors. told my mum to wear black too but don't know if she dares or not. Just don't be naked and steal my limelight.

hahaah nellie!, i luffing into my screen while reading ur last line!!

dun worrie, no one wana see my sagging fats either..

Wah, you all don't go out for lunch? I went long john silver just now and ate the seafood combo. The servings were so small, it wasn't even filling if not for the coke i had. Haiz. Going to be hungry again later.

Sherrie: I met my FW online 2 years ago.

haha... I too burst out laughing when I saw nellie's post. btw, nellie, I'm married <3 mths from yours, will you or your parents/in-laws mind if I attend?

lance, work relax liao and take extra course to stress yourself? :p Which class of motorcycle are u taking?

hee janf, tell your boss to postpone the overseas meeting.

Huiz should be off to malacca now...

ivied - keep forgetting to ask u, collected ur video liao anot? coz oredi past 6wks..

nellie - some ppl pantang.. for my case tat time, 3mths b4/aft my wedding cannot attend red/white events..

yeap nellie, like what janf said. Something like not good for either party. I'm not pantang myself, but it won't be good if your parents/in-laws are particular abt it.

janf, nope, have not receive it yet. Jacky is not in town currently. Still waiting... I asked for an additional set of video coz I wish to give to my mama and MIL. Hope can get it next week.

but yours is over liao leh. so of course can attend lah. If Huiz or Stacy invites me to their wedding, I sure can't go cos it's less than 3 months to my wedding.

btw, Li ann is coming too

Can i ask something? How come bef/aft 3 months to your wedding cannot go for ppl's wedding? What is the thing that is not good?

iViED: I taking class 2B, because i want to go vietnam ride motorcycle next time with my FW. Singapore drive car safer.

lance - u really lomantica leh! reminds me of Leon Lai the TianMiMi movie juz tat tat one ride bicycle.. keke.

actually i oso duno wats wif the b4/aft 3mths thingy but since old folks say so, u had betta adhere to it.. when u really start to plan for ur wedding, there will be 1001 pantang-ism to come..

lance, according to old folks, it is best not to attend any red/white events (e.g. weddings, funerals) 3 mths before and after your wedding. It is said to clash and not good for the couple as well as the other party. People who are superstitous will blame if some things happen in future.
In chinese: hao shi bu neng xiang chong

Lance: We're born in the same year! Haha...for a guy, you're considered young to get married. But maturity is the most important &amp; i've seen older guys who are totally still immature.

Li Ann: *hugs hugs* Quarrels are inevitable between couples. I'll be living with my in-laws (forever!) after my AD...so i foresee silent quarrels. I told my FH next time if we neeed to quarrel, we'll do it in the lift! Haha.

Nellie: I don't mind attending...but who else going? A bit shy leh...

Huiz: Enjoy yourself in M'sia!

Janf: No matter what hotel you stay in Japan, all will have slippers. I can safely say that Japanese ryokans &amp; hotels are one of the best around!

ivied - forgot to tell u my fren engaged marilyn for her fren's wedding last wkend as MUA for the bride's mum and my fren. turned out quite well.. juz tat my fren said tat marilyn's style more suits aunties.. keke.

anw, the MUA stella who did for my sis and ma charges $60 for min 3paxs now..

Hullo all.

I have reached. The Honda e hired was so huge and comfy and we took less than 3 hours to reach.

Waaa, Lance, ya man, u very lomantic leh. Can ride motorbike at night to go kan yue liang... hehe. I remembered the first time I took motor was when I was back in Malacca and my bo lao was the driver. Silly me got off from the wrong side where the exhaust is and burnt my leg!

Hahaha, Nellie, I was also laughing when I saw your line.... hehe, no la, u will still be the center of attraction that day

Hmmm, I can't wait to go shopping tonight!!

Oh ya, I got my MUA to DO MU for my sis on my AD morning n she charged me only $50. I was surprised coz I expected her to charge more.

Aiya, Pris, cannot quarrel in lift la... then the whole block will know that both of u fan lian liao... ;-P

Actually i not so romantic la, i just pai sei a girl lombang a guy. That time when i went Hanoi to visit her parents, she lombang me on her bike and keep commenting i very heavy and ask me to not anyhow shake on the bike. Haiz.

iViED and janf: Thanks for enlightening me. So the phrase good things cannot clash is used in such a context.

Huiz: Glad you have a safe trip. Enjoy yourself there!

Pris: Wah we same age. Actually i still feel like little boy, because my FW always pull my ear and slap my cheeks when i say something wrong.

janf, oh really. hee.. no wonder my mums are happy. then your friend happy with the make up and hair style?
nowadays MUA charges quite high hor.. not easy to find one that is good and not ex.

ah mais...back here for a breather... boss just left the office :P

thanks to all for your comforting words. It is really comforting to know that i am not alone here. Nellie hit the nail at the spot about not being able to tell mum or go back home after quarrel, miss her so much. And i'm worse off than Nellie. i don't even have a guest room to go. Only the little bedroom that we share. And he even beat me to hitting the bed too. Can't even chase him out to sleep in the living room...

Anyway...i resisted my temptation to kick his arms and legs away from my usual spot in bed. Thank god he shifted and rolled over to the other side before any other evil thots prevails common sense...

I didn't sleep well. It bothers me alot if we don't settle any disputes or disagreement and carry it to the next day. And then the annoying thing is when he woke up, it was as though nothing happened. urgh. Then i have to bring the whole issue up again and feel so petty about it. tsk. but totally necessary since it is a valid point which i was trying to bring across.

Buying a house really not easy ah...quite a lot of stuff to consider...from the location, to the budget, to the constraints... and plus the timing is so bad now... property prices increasing everywhere. Can you imagine a 5R flat in Yishun near Khatib asking for 60K above valuation?? and another 5R flat in Bt Batok Central got sold for 40K above valuation??

so sad. The more i want to get my own house, the more it seems realistic to stay with in laws until we are ready.

It is really better to get a house first before getting married. More bargaining power then. It is more difficult now that i am part of their family. View one house, whole kampung follow to see and everyone has something to criticize and comment. I got a bit annoyed with my hubby on this too...

argh.
sigh.

sorry mais and gor...just venting out some frustrations. Need to keep a positive frame of mind when i meet my hubby later...else end up quarrel again.

li ann: u know something..i refused to let anyone follow my hubby and i when we went for flat viewing. no friends, no in-laws, no siblings, and no parents cos i think as long as the couple is happy with it, they should ignore all other opinions. when i got the flat, i didnt invite anyone to my place until it was renovated and moving-in condition. true enough, some people commented that we have too few built-in cabinets, kitchen table top is too high, no attached bathroom, corridor flat etc...

i think housing prices are really going up v quickly. when i bought my resale flat in end 2004, a lot of people also said we overpaid for the flat cos we paid 13k above valuation for a 30 year old flat etc...haiz..

but now i hear my friend saying that even flats in inaccessible are also asking for cash..hehe

yup li ann, i hv been staying in khatib for 15yrs b4 marriage and prices are increasing at a crazy rate. juz imagine my pa bot the 5rm at $72.5k then, now its easily 3-4x more of the cost.. he tot of selling it and shift into a 3rm flat but bohua to buy a 3rm now coz it at least near 200k.. crazy..

Lance: I know what you mean...btw, my AD is just 1 day after yours. Heh...my wedding is on 29 July.

Nellie: Ok, I onz! It's on 30th right?

Li Ann: I agree buying a house is not easy. Though i'm not, i'm moving into my FH's place. The in-laws decided to renovate the whole flat &amp; every step along the way, they are active in their role...especially my FIL. Granted, they're paying for the bulk of it so i just keep quiet. Sigh. They even insist that both bathrooms must match because people will come to look. OMG. Luckily, my MIL has been kind enough to let us choose the tiles &amp; themes.

Don't get too upset ok? Work things out nicely with your hubby. *hugs*

I knew that buying flat is ex, but i didn't realise buying flat involves so many parties. I think next time i better view my flat with me and my FW better. Less problems with 3rd parties.

Wah, i keep reading you all saying MUA is ex, i a bit scared liao. If the MUA is ex, wouldn't the photographer and videographer be more ex? I scared i blow budget next year my parents 'hum tum' me.

Li Ann: My FW and i communicate in english, but i am picking up a few vietnamese words too.

Pris: Wah, your AD (actually what does AD stand for? annual dinner?) is a day after my ROM? So qiao, i wish my wedding dinner is earlier, but my mum say must wait till next year to do all the customary.

She said i very young and she actually told me can delay how long just delay. I told her i want it next year and I think she quite annoyed, but since i her only son she got no choice but listen to me. Heh heh.

Pris - it's on 28th, a wed.

Li Ann - The one asking 60k above is just testing the market. Remember reno is never included in the valuation. can just view and walk off at such units. if you're interested in a particular block in certain area, let me know, i'll ask my FH to search for you.

Before we bought our house, there's one unit above us selling too and asking 25k above valuation. he's just testing the market, nothing glamour on his reno. so we just walked off.

Take your own sweet time to find your lovenest, If it's yours, it'll be yours, just like my case.

Hihi Lance,

AD = Actual Day = Customary Day when the tea drinking and banquet are usually held together.

If u get the MUA separately from the bridal package, they can be rather expensive. If the artist comes with the package then it is usually more worth it. Same goes to the photographer. Most bridal shops charge one flat rate that includes the gowns, groom's suits, makeup and trials, flowers, car and photography. The rates usually start from 3k for a package.

I started searching for my place in late 2005. I think the property market was still not too heated up at that moment. We got the place below valuation and the ex owner also did not ask for any cash upfront. He also left me a lot of freebies (like my fave huge still workable Ariston oven) and that saved us tons on renov.

I decided to go for a house with very little built-ins coz I prefer to have movable furniture. This house suited me well coz the only built ins they have are the kitchen cabinets and the MBR wardrobe. I think its quite a waste to buy a house with too many built ins that I don't like and spend more yuan wang $$ to strip them off. Perhaps one good advice for resale house hunters is to look for a place as empty a possible so that u can do the place to your own taste without spending extra to remove anything already there, unless u too like what the owner has aready fixed up

Oh no Pris, Nellie's AD is 28th and not 30th!!! Don't turn up on the wrong day to see no Nellie!

Thanks Huiz for explaining.

Private housing prices really going sky high (Read today's TODAY), partly due to IR and foreigners. I hope it won't trickle down to hdbs because hdbs are like so ex already.

I think i will go NATAS this weekend with my FW and then go down to Tanjong Pagar to check out the bridal shop packages. Better start to do some planning.

Have a good day everyone.1 more day to weekend!

Li Ann, don't be sad. I'm on the same line as you, searching for a flat and checking up on the figures. Just that we are taking our time to source, coz my in-laws can't bear to part with their house.
nellie is right, take your time to find. If its meant to be, it will be.

lance, in addition to Huiz's explanations, do ensure that the package covers both PS as well as AD. And ask if they cover costs like ampoule and fake eyelashes. Try to go as detailed as possible to avoid "hidden costs".

lance... remember to check if the Bridal Studio can loan you suits for your father and father in law. Besides you and bride, you need to help both parents to get dressed too
For mums, you can try Sharon Rose or Rose Sharon?? mm... anyways, they have a few outlets in Singapore. I got mine from Plaza Sing, 2nd floor.

back to house...ya man. i saw the headlines too...sian...really sian.... and plus the GST increase in Jun/Jul, people are rushing to buy houses now. My agent told me that if we had started like 6 mths earlier, it would have been better for us. We asked around, most of them feel that the prices will continue to climb till IR (2009/2010) and alot depends on how successful it is. Prices may continue to climb or dip a little but not too much. Cos property prices in Singapore is still considered not as pricey as other cities like Tokyo, HK, etc. Really sian after we hear that.

This morning my boss also advise me that if i want, i should get one quick. Else, forget it. argh.