Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Yeap, Nellie, I have received it

Nellie -- I recieved your mail! Thanks for attaching the map.

Huiz & Janf: I also wanna meet you gals 1st at the MRT...i shall start planning my escape route and work out how much time i'll need to travel from Marine Parade to Yishun.

Petrina: What's the link to see all your gown pics? I can't find it! So how many more gowns do you have to choose?

Next Wednesday i'm going to choose my PS gowns and also my 2nd gown fitting. Whoo!

Hey Pris,

Talking about your gowns, I was at Arab Street yesterday and saw one shop selling the sun ray pleats cloth that u will be using for your EG. Also that kinda peachy pink colour. First thing that came to my mind when I saw that was your EG. Hmm, mebbe the BS also buy their raw materials from there? ;-P

Okie sure then 3 of us shall meet at YIS MRT first. Time wise later then confirm?

Yes nellie, have received it too. thanks.

Hey Pris, I will be in Bedok area. U want to meet at Bedok MRT first? My timing is around 6pm at Bedok station. What about Stacy?

ivied/Pris - my colleague (who stays in Yishun), will send me there. He'll pick u gals up at bedok MRT. But I gotta cfm with him again nearer to date, cos he's not sure if he've got class that evening.

have a hainanese question.
i have a niece who calls me ah mai.
how should she address my husband in the future?

i have no mai who was married in the past so not sure how the addressing goes...

hmmm, I call a few of my aunties "mai" leh...I think, the ones older than ur parents (eg, if it's ur father side one, then the aunty older than the father) will be addressed as "nien", and the one that's younger will be addressed as "mai"...

I'm not sure about "Kim" and "Peh", coz I call my eldest aunties (both ma and pa side) "Peh4 Nien3", 2nd aunties "Ji3 Nien3", "Ta Nien" etc...as for "Kim", I'm not sure leh...

hrms... somehow in my family...

the children of the elder siblings call the younger sister - ah mai.

the children of the younger siblings call the elder sister - ah boh.

the children of the elder siblings call the younger sister-in-laws - kim nein

the children of the younger siblings call the elder sister-in-laws - bo nein

do i make sense here??? :P

my sister is my direct sister and my niece needs to call her uncle-in-law... someone told me is duoh-leh... but i've not heard it before...

my MIL make bor-lao's nieces/nephew call us KimNien and GuDei but they can nvr rem so they conveniently address us as Aunty Janf and Uncle Heng..! haha. now westernised liao.. everyone oso a Uncle Aunty..

I call my dad's tang2 ge1 ah Beh Deh... n his wife Beh Nin. I think Beh could mean Bo2 and Deh is Yeh2 in Mandarin. These would be used to adress those older than our parents.

i address my eldest uncle and wifey as BehDei BehNien coz my uncle is older than my mum. then my mum's younger sis is AhMai and mum's younger bro and wifey is GuDei AhNien..

Welcome to the thread
Do drop by often.... we are a buncha really chatty ah mais who will certainly spice up your day with our lively chatter

I address my uncles and aunties with their names.

Eg, Mai Zee (2nd aunt)
Mai Buei (youngest aunt)
Ah Lee Mai (my dad's sis)
Gu Dei Hwa
Gu Dei Teng and etc

mine is same as janf's. i call my mum's younger sister as "ah mai" and her husband as "doh dei". mum's elder brother "bei deh" and "bei nien".

my dad's younger sisters are "ah mais", husbands are "doh dei" too. my dad's elder sister is "ah boh"...

haha... thanks for the welcome!

wow.. i see the hainanese mais are really close knit! i dun call them gu dei. it sounds more like gu lair to me (like wat nellie said)...

haha... so seems like "duoh lair" is new to everyone... skali my niece keeps calling my husband the wrong "addressing term".

My dad is the only child, so I really do not know how to address Tang ge, tang di, tang jie or tang mei. But like most of us, I address my mum's younger sis by their order e.g. zee mai, ta mai, tee mai etc... I think basically mai is used for someone younger and boh is for someone older. Gu deh for the younger and beh deh for the older ones.

Jen - Prob u might want to give us ur update on AD, PG, etc..so that CSI can update our table! Yeah...the family is growing!!!

Haha u bet man, Jen. We are one bunch of wonderful ah mais who are always helping each other out

So u are in with us now eh? Hehe (sounds like we are in some conspiracy... keke)

Thanks all... i'm so touched!

Hui - as requested:

1. AD = 16 Sept 2007
2. Solemnisation Venue = already ROMed in 2006 at Arts House
3. Recep venus = for banquet? Merchant Court
4. BS = Whitelink
5. AD PG = Edmund Leong Photography
6. AD VG = Miror Creations

Nellie, thanks for the invite! i'll try to make it!

janf: hmm, sometimes i also kenna confused... but it depends on which side the niece is frm... like for me, i call my mom's elder bro & wife - 'baydey' & 'baynien' (same lvl as my mom)

Mom's cousin - 'gudey' & 'kimnien'

my mom's cousin's parents - 'gugong' & 'kimpor' (my mom's grand** lvl le)

so i juz follow... not sure wat is wat anyway...

nellie, which room did you book? i got the living room.

my coordinator was cheryl. i must say that place is very nice and romantic. i'm glad i had my ROM there though there was some unhappiness before the event (cos they made some changes just a week before my ROM without informing me).. but everything turned out okay in the end.

hmm, u noe, after reading all the above posts... I'm recalling how i actually address my elders...

My elders in the order of *(MFMFFF)(Male/Female)

*Bayday & Baynien
*My Mom
*(Passed on) & Aunty Lilian
*Mai Zian & Uncle (So-so)
*Mai Leng & Uncle (So-so)
*Mai Heng & Uncle (So-so)
(seems that my aunts last name is incorporated into the addressing part)

Then all cousins of mine *except elder bro's children* call my mom *Ah Boh*

Bayday's & Baynien's children call my mom *An1 Di4*

So weird...

nellie - got ur address. will make my way there alone. bringing kids out for competition that afternoon, so will come from jurong after 6pm. may be a little late. u all start eating 1st k.

hee... no idea how to address uncles/aunties, only rem call my grandma's younger sisters 'mai po'. in fact my grandma can speak mandarin so well she doesn't speak w us in hainanese. and i have forgotten even very basic conversational words. think vaguely rem 'mai' is for younger female aunties. am i right?

Can anyone enlighten me with Hainanese GDL & custom stuff.. I am half Hokkien & Hainanese actually.. My parents don't know much abt this stuff cos their wedding last time was very simple..

Hi loinky,

we had discussed this in our past postings. When is your AD? Do join us on our gathering on 2nd Mar so that you could ask all of us.

loinky, we can help u... i also half half.. hehe

yup, join us...

Nellie: havent thk u 4 hosting us again... thks ...

We r so chatty n so many archives liao, loinky gonna search till Zzzz...hehee.

Loinky - hainan tradition is very simple. Hehee..i'm not having GDL, everything just do it on AD. Can't advise u on GDL.

yah Jen...heehee...how I address my aunties and uncles are the same as u...now that I recall, yah, the sister-in-laws are referredn to as Kim Nien. and yah...the uncles, I call them gu leh (the "L" sound...hahaha. Dunno if I'm calling them correctly or not...hahaha).

Hmmm, Loinky, my GDL was quite traditional. coz my ma go and listen to this and that and everybody else...so add this and that until become got so much things. I think I took a pic of my GDL stuff...gotta go find it and post it here...

Hmm, from these postings I realise my Hainanese pronounciation is quite different most of the ah mais. Instead of gu Leh Dei, we say gu Deh. Instead of kim Nien, we have kim Nin.

Perhaps most of the ah mais are from Boon Seo Kuai and I am from another part of the island (Le Hui)?

huiz: is there a possibility of mixture?

I also say gu deh but i dun say kim nin , i say kim nien

most of us say same... maybe u also frm boon seo kuai...

My AD is on April 15.. still have lots of things not settled yet..i know that Hainanese's custom is the simplest of all dialects.. but still know nothing.. juz wanna find out more so that i can enlighten my mum..

Hi Petrina,

No la, me confirm not from Boon Seo wan. My folks come from the eastern coastal area wan
My dad also said that we speak slightly differently from the kinsfolk from the other areas.

Hi loinky,

Welcome welcome to the expanding family! Hee.. I kaypoh wanna ask for your info again:

May we have your info i.e.

1. AD
2. Solemnisation Venue
3. Recep venus
4. BS
5. AD PG
6. AD VG

CSI, can help to update the table pls?

hi csi i don think its merely the spelling. my mum's brother (beh day)'s wife (beh nien) is from "low wee kuai"..her pronunciation is quite different from us. the "kim nien" and "kim nin" too!