Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Welcome back Sherrie and congrats on being a Mrs!

Hey, do pass some of your good wedding luck to Stacy and I for good weather tomorrow okie? hehe

Huiz & Stacy, the weather will be fine. Don't worry too much. Like my case, it was extremely hazy during that period but on the day of my PS, it was clear. We are all blessed.

Janf - What's the name of the guy whom you bought the dress from? I'm bringing my jie meis down to his factory to check out his dresses.

haha..think i lost my "pre wedding luck" already..i fell infront of my own door step this morning...so unlucky..

weather looks good to me...remember not to drink too much water after 8pm tonite. my MUA said it will make ur face puffy...

nellie, as below:

Kelvin Ng hp: 9380 1815
623 Aljunied Road #06-05
Aljunied Industrial Complex
tel: 6788 6875 fax: 6749 2193

call him b4 u go over hor.. coz sometimes he not ard..

yes, Huiz/Stacy, weather has been good these few days so not to worry. Just geared up for your PS.
All the best!

CSI, its lucky that I'm taking OTR gown. There are little alterations required so I can just seek the service of their coordinator. But its kindof wierd, I thought she likes to work there?

petrina, I can understand your point. I have encountered it myself. Till today, my FH is still sick of hearing stuff about wedding so I practically do everything myself. From your description, I reckon that our FHs have similar characters. Just a word of advice. Try to do most of the preps yourself. If possible, make your own decision. Unless there are issues which involve his participation like sourcing for wedding bands, suit fitting, guest list etc.

sherrie, Welcome back! We were commenting the other day that your wedding will be fine coz the weather is good on your AD.
Back to work so fast? Not taking extra days to rest and relax?

CSI/janf, I think I may cry too. Though I do sleep over at my FH's place frequently, but I feel real sad over the weekend when I was packing the stuff in my room. I keep looking back to my room when I was moving the stuff out of the door. hee..

ivied - at least ur NiangJia and ILs place are within the same estate leh! u feel like running home oso can! my NiangJia at yishun.. wana run home oso muz take #854 for 1/2hr to reach home ah.. haha.

so sherrie going HM anot?

hi Petrina,

St Teresa's:
booking of church hall and reception area - $400
priests - up to you how much you want to give. Fr. Arro (parish priest) is ok if you prefer another priest to celebrate you wedding mass/service. Just have to let him know. We had another priest celebrating the mass, while Fr. Arro solemnized our marriage - 2 priests.
altar servers - check with the priests for your mass, who's bringing the servers and how many. Shd give these boys some extra pocekt money too lah...they helped mah. hehs...
deco - we feel that the sacristan and the florist "gang-up" one. The sacristan made things a bit difficult, coz we didn't take the church florist. But it wasn't too difficult that we couldn't get around it. I guess coz we had reason and logic on our side. Can't fight with that. hehs...church florist quoted us $700 for the deco, which I felt was very little deco for that price. So in the end, my friend helped me with the deco. It's not a must to use the church florist (hey, some of us have relatives as florists, right?
choir - you can have your own choir or the church choir. Church choir will be $250 (for I dunnoo how many pple). We didn't use the church choir. My cousin and her frens sang for us.

Anything else you need to know? heehee...if you want, you can PM me...

for us doing car sales, we normally go on hols after CNY. anyway the memo is out. for my company, we start work officially on 5th day of CNY but for those born in the year of the snakes, we are advised not to report to work till 6th day. hence, my hubby and i are thinking of going for a short trip. probably maldives. he wants to go to japan but i have already been to japan thrice. we have both been to nz and australia. not that many places left for short trips.

7 days aint good enough for outside asia...haiz...

huh sherrie? why those born in the year of snakes are not to report to work till the 6th day? any meaning to that?

What about Korea, Shanghai, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Xi An?

janf, i do not have a room after i have moved out. I jokingly told my parents, i can't come back should i quarrel with my FH in future. hee...

cos 2007 is the year of the pig. pigs "clash" with snakes. my colleagues said this year considerably better cos only one horoscope clashes with the year. sometimes, its up to two or three and people born in that year(s) are all banned from starting work on the same day.

taiwan, hkg, thailand, china, vietnam, cambodia etc..we have been there before. i went to korea with ex bf before. odd to go on HM with hubby rite? my hubby has been to india before (of course i wouldnt want to go there for HM la!).i have been to laos and myanmar on biz trips before..so only left with sri lanka and maldives after checking thru the websites..

sherrie - the clash tat u mentioned is ur boss say one or its proven by master?? if true then i wana consider taking leave and come back to work on 6th day.. haha.

looks like maldives is the only place left for ur HM since u and hub are widely travelled.. maldives is nice, my fren oso went HM there but u muz like the sun sand and sea..

sherrie, glad that everything went well!

Huiz: Don't worry! I hope it'll be a bright sunny day tomorrow too!

Ivy: I'm also worried bout saying my vows...hopefully i won't stammer or mispronounce words. Otherwise very paiseh!

To All: I didn't take pics of my ROM dress cos i forgot! Nevermind, just wait about 2 more weeks and it'll be my solemnization ceremony! Hee...

Bought my ring pillow! So happy...got it online.

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v68/Prisseet/Wedding/?action=view&current=Ringpillowedited.jpg

i suppose my boss or someone from management must have consulted some master. master's advice. i am not so much of a beach person. we went to krabi and phi phi island after our rom 2 years ago. it was nice but i am not the sort of person to sit down and relax..i prefer places with historical value or cities with good shopping!

my hubby and i think its pai say to leave before cny cos its our 1st yr afterall. gotta give red packets at least before we leave. else i would have suggested leaving on cny's eve or even before. can go for a longer trip.

well sherrie, ur hubby has a point too...

but maybe, if u guys are open to this idea...can pass the red packets to someone (eg. your mother) to help you distribute. If it's not too pai sey. Then you can go for your longer trip. heehee...

Some pple say 1st year can still receive red packets? not too sure leh. hehs...

CSI, ya, I have also heard that newly weds can still get angpows. My mum lagi better, as long as the newly weds doesnt have kids yet, she will continue giving them. But I guess this applies to the closer relatives only la.

Wa Stacy, it rained since 6pm today! Really hope that the weather during the day can stay the same tommorrow

Pris, I have seen your ring pillow. Sweet! Like I said, too bad I am very busy now if not can help u make one too

jan, i paid my deposit wif jasmine today le... they still rem u n ur borlao.. haha
i din say ur borlao n i related but they say i look abit like ur borlao leh... i was like huh??
later then i tell them then they went like no wonder...
i took the 3088 package

CSI, if juz book church how much> it's fr michael am rite?
my godma opens florist shop, so she deco 4 me, church $500 plus car, hand bouquet, w corsages...
she say no workmanship charge as it's a gift to me.
but i need choir... they say philip lye only $100. dun noe real or not...

hi petrina,
okie...but just to answer your questions anyway, so that u also know lah...hehs...just book church is $300 (reception hall is $100). Fr. Arro = Fr. Michael. hehs...same guy, but we call him Fr. Arro (Fr. Michael Arro).

It's good that your godma can do for you...

Yah, I also heard that Philip Lye is $100. You can check with Minssy on the Catholic Brides thread (not the Catholic Brides 2007 thread). She engaged Philip Lye for her wedding.

yeah! I just got the soft copy of the layout of my AD album...heehee...so happy. After 1.5 mths, album is ready for processing. Should be able to share with relatives on CNY...

Huiz- u muz have completed ur makeup n now ready for ur studio shoot. Update us after ur PS! Enjoy urself!

Pris - ur ring pillow so sweet. Oh..u got fm this lady who sells wedding accesories online rite?

sherrie, no wonder the master told me this lunar year is good for me, can get married, can't wait till next year.
Then I should also inform my boss that I will start work on the 7th day after CNY. hee..
Need to ask you, how much wine have you consumed on your wedding night?

CSI, can sense your excitement here.
I have seen Stephen's works, not bad. So yours is the coffee table album?

My mum also told me that I have to give angbaos on CNY. Die lar, bank account is depleting already...

petrina, since your godma is doing up the flowers for you, so your BS package involves the gowns only?

Pris, your ring pillow is very sweet. Like the pink roses on it.

Huiz should be having her PS now. Wonder where she is at this moment.... Hope the weather will be good for her in the afternoon too.

yeah, hope the weather is good in the afternoon for Huiz. This morning it was raining...

Yap Ivied, mine is the coffee table album. He has so many different kind of albums...matted ones, Asuka book...and others. I like the one from Australia (leather bound one). It feels very lush! But...it can be quite heavy, for just a few pages of images! Too heavy for my liking lah...hehs...

So will you be getting another AD PG? 3 more weeks Ivied! Excited for you too...

ivied: we consumed two barrels of beer, 39 bottles (complimentary from hotel), extra 1 crate at the dinner (12 bottles)..so that makes it a total of 51 tables..2 bottles of brandy

we brought up 1 crate of 12 bottles...my friends stayed in the suite till 4am...they consumed 9 bottles of wine, beer and 1 bottle of jack daniels...

ended up bringing 3 bottles of wine home...

i have to give red packets this year too..nvm la. we have been collecting red packets for so many years. we should feel happy to finally give people.

petrina: i think your godma is very good the church decor will cost quite a fair bit already. our BS package comes with the car decor but my hubby didnt like the fake flowers. we ended up paying $200 for the flowers. i think its a waste of money cos i am not the sort of person to appreciate flowers
we took the hand bouquet and corsages from the bridal shop.

CSI, yeap, 3 more weeks! Need to start my back scrubing, facial toning, skin moisturizing... haha...
Do you have the pic of your AD? Only get to see the day pic, what about the dinner ones?

err, I have not decided what to do with the PG leh. I have to call my ex-colleague and decide later. He is quite busy lately.

wow sherrie, your guests really drink alot! Yeap, the festive season brings up the mood for your wedding too.
I will be taking 7 crates of red wine and no hard liquor. Hope the guests will not complain when there is no hard liquor.

hi ivied,
oh, I didn't send the dinner ones ah? pai sey...ok ah mais, I'll send you the link. I finally know how to compile all together and send (in Yahoo Photos). hahaha. so you might see the day pics again...but just click on the dinner photos lah.

Hey petrina,
hmmm, maybe you can try the balloon shops...like those party and gifts kind of shops. There used to be one at Holland Village. Not sure if it's still there...

harlow all.. juz came back frm my 1yr anni 'celebration'.. went to eat merchant court buffet and vivocity walk walk.. its raining now, hope huiz completed her PS liao..

petrina - the $3088 pkg consist of how many 15R pics? so u exchg for other stuffs in replacement of the flowers?

csi, i live near holland v, but that shop only sell party things, no rental of helium tank... thks anyway.
jan, she charge me 2888 for tat package. but she gave me car.

yah, hope Huiz finished her PS before the rain...

Huiz, must update us on how it went!

Janf, wah...shiok leh...enjoyed yourself a lot...hehs...

Janf: Woah...i'm sure you enjoyed your with your hubby!

Ivy & Stacy: Ya, i bought my ring pillow from this yahoo auction seller. She always makes & sells wedding accessories online. Definitely cheaper than buying from Kalms or other shops! Can't wait to receive it...

Huiz: How did your PS go? Hope you finished it before the heavy rain started. Tell us all bout it and where you went ok?

Hi all ah mais!!

I am back from my PS! FUN is just the word to describe it. Even my bo lao told the BS guy Jit that he had enjoyed himself
I really really do not regret our decision to go for a pre wedding PS. It's certainly an experience of a lifetime

Ok, here's a recount of what happened this morning....

The sky was still drizzling and we really had a hard struggle deciding to either go ahead with the whole thing, cancel and reschedule or take the indoors today and the outdoors another day. In the end we decided to just go ahead first and if things really turn out bad, the take the outdoors on early Feb.

Things went really well during the morning we had a fun time in the studio. We left for the outdoors at about 3pm and the first stop was to the Orchid Garden @ Botanics. Thankfully the sun was still holding high in the sky. And wow, despite the 5 bucks entrance fee we had to pay, it was worth going in. The orchids are beautiful! And so many tourists stopped to take photo with me.... haha, I should have charged 2 bucks for each photo taken with me.... just joking lah....

After this, we went to Tudor Court. Wonderful quaint place it is. We took a few shots at the florist at the corner, at the front facade and at the corridor.

Next we moved on to The Garden Condo @ Bishan and the sky was already starting to cry a bit. And despite our friend already informing the condo management that we were going, they gave us a bit of a hard time and we were not that happy to stay long. But then again, coz of the rain, we also did not stay long and hopped back in the car.

We were really in a dilemma if we should proceed to Seletar Plains or not. I called my dad working there and he said its raining there. But I bor kam guan leh, so I asked the PG to drive down there to check it out. Wow, luck was on our side. The rain stopped when we reached and we managed to take a few pics on the wet road and in front of a colonial style house.

Finally, we made our way back to the BS to return our gowns. So much for an eventful day. And never had I been so worried about the weather before.... heehee

I will download my pics tomorrow and shall share with all of u then

wah Huiz, good to hear that you had so much fun!
yah, it can be quite an experience...

Tudor Court is really nice...can't wait to see your pics.

Speaking of tourists taking photos...same thing happened. Think you can expect tourists to want to take photos with you on your AD too. hahaha...it's like, so strange lorh...they just want to take pics with us - strangers... Then when I went for HM, we came across a few weddings too...and I felt the urge to take pics with the couples there! hahaha...so I think can understand what the tourists felt! hahaha...

Good morning ah mais....

I have my photos loaded in the net liao. U can check out my Shutterfly account for them
Some of the pics are taken with my mobile phone so that's why it looks quite dark....

hi petrina
u can check out the website for "Bez balloons"...look for andy goh..he is the boss. they are the ones who do the balloons for national day parade. i have his card somewhere but gotta look for it. when i was doing events, we used the company's services before. my ex boss rented the helium tank from him for her daughter's bday party before.

hi Huiz,
thanks for the pics!
wah! I really love your CS manz...(esp the back!).
Where got model wannabe? Like real model worh...very nice, very nice...

Hee, CSI, I was just trying to play around in front of my own camera ;-P

But too bad didnt take much shots with the CS and EG..... just hope that the pics with the PS will turn out well

Huiz- its really a blessing manz! I agree with CSI, I liked ur CS looked..very elegant

CSI- received ur pics link. U've got a shrug with the WG in the evening. My gf got me one fm Australia as well..say can wear it with WG for 1st march in. U've got so many pics, I must take time to look at them slowly..hehee

Li Ann - can share with me ur nonya caterer for AD? Dunno y pa wants nonya food.

Petrina - u can try those balloon shops at concourse?

aiyo.. I saw 3 pretty ladies at one go, made me drooling all over. hee...

wow CSI, u look sexy in that black dress leh. The 'cape' that u drape over your shoulder makes your whole gown looks so grand! You look so gorgeous! Your bo lao looks so lost walking down the aisle alone. hee...
Your wedding looks really fun. Hoping to see the live re-play of your wedding.

Huiz, feel so excited for you. It is such an eventful day, imagine watching the sky and posing at the same time. hee.. I'm sure the pictures will turn out well. Though the rain, but the sky is just in the perfect condition for a shoot.
U look so pretty.

hi stacy, thks... i got the person already but not sure if he's the cheapest though... he'll do up the venue on my AD morn. charge me balloon only. - $7 per balloon. the foil heart shape type. quite nice on their website...