Hainanese Brides, anyone???

juz came back frm breakfast wif my ILs.. see u gals later ya!

huiz - if u need a lift frm yishun mrt, call me ya.

Hi gals...hope all of you are enjoying yourselves at Nellie's place!
Merry Kissmas to all...

I've got a HUGE problem now. When FH & I booked everything, we consulted our own FS master. Now his parents want us to pick a date from THEIR FS master. The dates she chose are all different from ours. So now am crossing my finger that my hotel's ballroom is still available on the new date. Very stressed.

Even ROM gotta bring forward now...to NEXT MONTH!!! OMG. Cos FH's grandmother's grave needs to be exhumed. Being superstitious, we'll have to wait 100 days before we can go ROM. But we don't want to wait till May. So we have picked a date next month. Going to LovethatBinds on Tues to see if we can secure the date too.

A LOT OF STRESS!!!

hi all, i enjoyed myself today at nellie's place... 1st time meeting all u ah mais... so happy, looking forward to the nxt gathering... hahaha

merry christmas to all

hey ah mais!!!

I'm back!!!

Sorry I didn't SMS Ivied...was soooo sleepy...touched down at 630am. Reached home 8am. Bathed (after 11hrs of flying...) and went with hubby to see doc (he had some rashes while in Italy. Think skin too dry...and we didn't know what it was, but since it's long weekend, better quickly go see doc first otherwise all will be closed...). Waited and fell asleep on the polyclinic chair...till his turn at 1030am. After seeing doc, collected medicine, reached back home at 1130. Slept all the way till 4 plus. Set the alarm clock for 1pm...but...didn't hear it ring. hahaha. Wah...didn't expect to be so tired. Thought I could sleep on the plane, but ended up watching movies. hahaha...

So how was the gathering? Darn, missed this one again.
When's the next gathering?

Merry Christmas to all!!
(see...now I'm so wide awake. Jet lag....)

Hi Petrina (saw u at the Catholic Brides thread too!), welcome to the gang!

Hi ah mais,

I was great meeting up again with Nellie, Janf, her hubby and Ivied again and also wonderful to see Petrina, Sherrie and Nellie's FH for the first time. Looking forward to the next meeting too

CSI, u must have had a great time HM-ing... the festive mood in Europe must be high too

Merry Xmas, Ah Mais.. Poor me... arrving in office at 6.45am...

Hope everyone enjoyed the gathering... Thanks for the gifts.

CSI - no worry... hope you enjoy your HM.

Pris - you have a big headache now. How come your in-laws now then insist you and your FH to use their geomancer when you had everything planned? So sian...

Nellie -- Ya, cos my FH didn't inform his parents when we had already consulted a geomancer. So they went ahead and consulted their OWN personal favourite geomancer. Now headache...must see if my hotel still available. Sigh. Not just that, only on Saturday then they told us bout the grave exhumation.

In one morning drop 2 bombs on us...i was very unhappy cos have to re-do all arrangements. Tomorrow i'm going down ROM office to file for marriage.

morning all.. wat a day to work today.. grr..

gathering was good! and guess wat, we all were watching my AD dvd and petrina sudd went "MY GRANS! MY GRANS ARE IN THE VIDEO!!" haha.. world so small ya.. petrina's maternal grandpa is my bor-lao's paternal grandpa's same village one.. Qiao until cannot Qiao liao.. strike 4D oso not so zun..

pris - when will be ur 'revised' ROM and AD then?? really mafanz.. can imagine the hassle.. coz tat time my supposed AD was oso brot fwd juz coz my MIL went back hainan-dao and the duno wat fortune teller said our AD no good, gotta chg etc.. dingdong here and there until bor-lao oso super fed up.. and its was like barely 6mths b4 our AD say wana chg date.. really kancheong spider.. but well, juz go ahead wif wat the old folks say ya, as long the rearrangment doesnt inconvenienced u too much, juz swallow ur anger and chg..

and why is nellie working on XMAS DAY 645AM!?

Hee Hee... it's double pay working on PH but I don't have to stay till 4pm. Usually till 12pm if no problem arises.

I'm so stoned now. Been sleeping late (after 1am) for the past 3 nights and woke up early at abt 5.30am.

Today is quiet in the office but so many problems to settle. HQ set the default date to 27th Dec. They forgot that in some other countries, 26th Dec is not a PH.

I think its also quite a quiet morning on the streets. the MRT was rather empty. Guess the working folks must have chosen a good day to extend their leave.... it's such a nice morning to continue snuggling under the covers! ;-P

good morning ah mais!
ya Huiz, its such a nice morning to snuggle in bed. I practically have to drag myself out of bed this morning. *yawn*

aiyo Pris, so you have to increase your gear this month to get your things ready for your new ROM date next month. BTW, when is it?

Its nice to see old friends again at the gathering. Not forgetting our new members sherrie and petrina. But hor, we have forgotten about taking pictures this time round.
Never mind, next time. Then CSI can join us too.
oh, Li Ann is back too!

Haha, I was one of them who woke up late coz of the comfort. Jumped outta bed at 7am!

Ya, Pris, so had your future ILs' FS master suggested a new and good date for your ROM and AD? Time is kinda tight now to grab a good ROM date before the CNY.

Oh yes, we had forgotten about taking photos amidst all the excitement of Petrina and Janf's hubby TH realising their distant relationship. But ya, lai ri fang chang. We will have more gatherings to come

I think i have some 'relationship' with the birds. Not sure if I had offended them in what way.. sigh...

I moved to my MBR on Sunday nite. There's this weird bird that 'screams' on top of its voice at 5.30am!!!! This morning it did the same too. It's not like the sweet chirping of birds. I feel like taking my slipper and throw at it (but i can't see where it is) My uncle said it might be one of those south-flying birds.

aiyo Nellie, think u have offended their 'brothers and sisters' before is it? BTW, what is MBR?

erm ah mais, I need to ask you something. My best friend, who is in the magazine industry, commented that the pictures taken by my PG is not sharp enough. I'm contemplating if I should change at this point. But this PG is my ex-colleague and he is charging me at a very low rate. He is quite a nice guy and he is kind enough to take leave on my AD. How? How? How? I do not know if he is able to capture those moments on my AD but yet at the same time, I don't know how to say no to him. haiz.....

Ivied - MBR is master bedroom
how 'sharp' is sharp? Besides the PG's skills, cameras used also play part. This is a difficult situation. Moreover, you have a budget to stick. If you want those 'super pro' type (eg, for magazines), you got to pay a high price.

I'm not much into photography, so I can't really understand her explanation. She did mentioned that there could only be 2 possibilities: camera or photographer. My PG is using a Canon SLR, so it shouldn't be an issue with the camera.

I'm also stuck in the mud now. As I do not have a PS, hence AD photos means alot to me. But you are right Nellie, I do have a budget to stick. haiz, all that talking about cutting cost now has become a burden to me. May I know what is the estimated market rate? I did not do a market survey nor checking up on PG.

hi Petrina,
Wanted to...but there were no flights out (from Rome, Milan, even Zurich!) till dunno when. All fully booked...guess we were too slow...Christmas in Rome would be so nice...haiz.

Yap, enjoyed myself...so now...relaxing a bit more before going back to work...haiz.

ivied - how ur best fren know tat ur PG's fotos not 'sharp' enuff?? i tink u gotta work within ur budget ya.. i know those very very good PGs like Ron Lee, Chris Ling etc can go up to 2k juz for AD PG.. my PG's price is $680..

Hi gals...

Now a few problems --

1. In-laws want us to use the dates chosen by THEIR FS master. None of the dates she chose is my original AD.

2. 1st July looks good but this date is tentatively reserved by this couple. Coordinator keeps calling them but they not picking up the phone. FH says 1st July actually not so good because his exams is the following week.

3. Hotel has 6 May (which is a date the FS master chose) available. FH's grandma's grave gonna be exhumed 6 Feb and must be 100 days later than can have wedding.
6 May is still within 100 days!!!

4. Hotel also has 10 June available. But now must wait for FS master to see if it's a good date.

I'm going out of my mind already!!! Phone keeps ringing non-stop today.

Hi Pris,

One thing about wedding preps is to get the older folks to choose the date and go according to their choice if what they have chosen is ok with both of u. This is the safest and prevents lots of probs in the future.

Hope the FS master can come back to u soon with good news

Ivied,

Would u consider taking up a mid priced AD photog like the one Janf used? His prices seems ok. But yes, I also understand the bigger headache u have is how to turn down your friend? I know I would sound quiet bad la, but how about finding some reasons to turn him down if u are really worried about his works?

cool down cool down, pris..

u juz came back frm ROM ofc?

looks like only 1july and 10june are the only hope. and 1july being the 1st choice.. jam the couple's fones lah!, wat the hell they not picking up fones!??! or get ur coordinator to sms them and tell them its high priority urgency we talking abt here!

ivied - an evil tot from me (i know im bad), if u really wana reject ur fren, probably can tell him tat ur HUB decided to get a pro PG instead and dun wana trouble ur fren for taking a day off specially for ur AD.. paiseh etc.. coz i dun tink ur fren will go confront ur bor-lao on this ya..

heh, I even had this siao idea to tell the friend that u have a friend who does not want his/her PG liao and decided to transfer the deal to u at a cheap rate or even can say u won a PG pkg in some contest?... but of course they sound very excusy lor ;-P

huiz - i tink the 1st excuse u quoted sounds more convincing! the win-pkg-contest thingy abit too 'heng' to be true.. =P

not tat ivied cant be tat heng but too Qiao.. keke.

one of the 10finalists, michelle, is my fren's gf. my guyfren oredi jio me go to the recordings many times liao but oways somethg cropped up.. so good today nothg on so can go watch.. nah nah!, i told my fren i dun wana sit in frt!, so paiseh to appear on tv and my round face gets blown up 20% more!

hi ah mais
busy day for me so far. trying to clear all my work today before i go on leave tomorrow.

janf: please la..ur face is so slim! can't tell much even on tv!

ivied: my personal opinion is if you are not going to have pre-wedding photos, it's impt to find a professional photographer cos 1) their cameras are fast enough to capture all the moments 2) they can tell u how to pose 3) they are quick enough to capture the right moments.
is your photographer using SLR or Digital SLR? If it's just SLR, you can't preview the photos till the photos are developed. would you really want to risk the once-in-a-lifetime shots?

hi ah mais
busy day for me so far. trying to clear all my work today before i go on leave tomorrow.

janf: please la..ur face is so slim! can't tell much even on tv!

ivied: my personal opinion is if you are not going to have pre-wedding photos, it's impt to find a professional photographer cos 1) their cameras are fast enough to capture all the moments 2) they can tell u how to pose 3) they are quick enough to capture the right moments.
is your photographer using SLR or Digital SLR? If it's just SLR, you can't preview the photos till the photos are developed. would you really want to risk the once-in-a-lifetime shots?

hi ah mais

i feelin so terrible... fever on christmas evening, luckily didn't ruin my family's once a yr gathering.. felt ill after dinner..haha

on mc today n tmr..

janf: can u let me noe who's ur pg & vg? i'm gg bridalconcept to confirm my slot on thurs. wat does ur package consists? roughly can le. so i can neg... like special items... eg??

Huiz: No good news. FS master says 10 June is a horrible date for us.
So the next available date is 29 Sept but even hotel is booked!

Janf: That couple still never pick up their phone. My coordinator told me their made the tentative booking last Friday and their coordinator gave them a week to confirm. I'm thinking what if they're still unreachable??? If only they reject, then all my problems will be solved!

In-laws have picked 1st July...they said at most forfeit deposit we paid and we book another hotel. They will also top up the difference if we book more expensive hotels. But now, many hotels for July are already booked! Sigh...can't believe i'm going through all the banquet packages again and looking for a suitable ballroom.

Btw, have filed for marriage today! Booked my solemnization at Masonic Garden and my reception at Acte D'Amour restaurant beside it. Am kinda excited cos my ROM is on 20th next month! :p Went shopping for wedding bands just now...will most likely get this pair from Poh Heng.

pris: i tot usually they dun bother abt tentative bookings? my hotel way if other ppl come n put deposit, they have to give up my slot... so if they nv answer the phone, mostly likely they dun wan le...

petrina: That's what i thought too! I told the new hotel coordinator that we've already signed the contract but she explained that the couple had the idea that no one else is eyeing the date. Which was true until my future MIL wanted a different AD. She said wait till Friday then she'll give a final call to that couple...sigh.

harlow all! me at home logging in.. sianz to go to work so called in urgent leave! haha. afterall, i got leave to clear by yr-end so juz take and nua at home lor..

ynite went for recording, the whole process ended at 10pm!!! somemore rain so i told bor-lao i feel 'sick' dun wana go to work today.. keke.

okiee, me going out for bfast nw.. later log on again..

haha janf, envy u leh... can just call in take off. but then its still your entitled leave so why not right?

I am trying hard to DIY my slideshow now. Nothing fanciful and thankfully the Magix PhotoStory CD Rom I bought is helping me this IT idiot loads. Just hope it'll turn out presentable man! ;-P

back frm bfast.. bor-lao oso called in urgent leave today coz hes down wif flu and din wana take MC coz will mar his clean records.. and the pig is zzz-ing in bed now while im bzy in forum.. hohoho..

petrina - u wana leave ur email addy so tat i can email u the PG/VG and Bridal Concept details when i get back to ofc tom?

hi ah mais!!!

How are you gals??
aw...miss the gathering again....actually i forgot all about it cos just back from my honeymoon from Osaka.
keke...i'm officially a member of the "old birdies" le...

wow...so much i've missed here... i've taken pics right from my guodali on 2 dec but jus din find time to log on to keep you gals posted on the progress...from that day onwards, it was a mad rush for me...rush to clear work, rush to do my hair, rush to do mani, pedi rush to do my jiemei briefing, rush to replace faulty phone on the eve of my wedding!!!! wow...i slept for 16 hours straight after my wedding day. So tiring but yet so fun!!!

Huiz...must tell you urgent urgent...the fabric tape doesnt work so well if you perspire easily like me...really...i was telling janice that half way thru, the tape lost its "stickiness" and came off, exposing both my sides, luckily i was in the car already... 3M sticky tape works wonder. pls try to get that one. And also, try it first with the tape on the eve...and try walking around to make sure that you feel comfortable with the tape on. i din try before so i was super conscious of the tape and therefore i looked worried most of the time in the morning. at night was better cos aircon and by then i feel more at ease with the 3M tape.

Nevertheless, i was so happy with my gowns and lots of compliments for my EG. Btw, i chose another EG off the rack last min cos the MTM one doesnt fit snugly.

And ivy...sorry for not completing the conversation on the photographer. If you are still considering 39 East...Kuang is good, but my friends find him too "arty farty" for a wedding. He will find something unusual to shoot, so he already warned us not to expect the usual pics of gowns hanging on the windows, or rings on the ring pillow, etc...so we leave it to him to shoot freely. It is his assistant whom we thought could have done better...he is rather proactive.

Benny Ang seems to be more experienced in this. His specializes in journalistic and posey picture taking and his package is affordable too.

sorry, for babbling....just that i've been mia for too long so got a lot to say!

Nellie, stacy, janf, ivied, huiz, priz, csi...hi hi hi!!!

Hullo Li Ann!!!

So glad to see u back here. U must have had a really enjoyable time in Japan. Now its the year end mood too, so u can take it easy and relax a bit.

Wa really ah, I expected the tape to at least work decently since its so ex! What kind of 3M sticky tape did u use? Double sided kind is it? Err, do u know how the packing looks like? I really hope that since my EG is criss crossed at the back, it can provide good support i.e. bind the whole gown tightly to my body so that there's no lobang!

Hey, when the pics are ready, do remember to share with us okie?

I dunno whats wrong with my internet today. Can only access some sites. So cant see Li Ann's pic on the blog now.. but so eager to see it. Haii, no choice got to wait till i go home tonight la...

Me gonna siam work super early today. Got trial MU this evening at 630...

Hello Li Ann, welcome back!!!

For all our ah mais' info, the earthquakes in Taiwan affected our internet cables. Singtel and Starhub are still rectifying.

Orrrhh Nellie, u've enlightened me!! No wonder I couldn't log in to MSN and a few other sites today. For a moment I thought my IT had blocked me from these sites ;-P But heng I can still come to this forum... haha.

Ok, me gonna chow now. If my pics are ready tomorrow, I shall share with everyone then