Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Wow mos, that's a v nice gown. Reminds me of the gown from Tan Yoong that my friend's wife had for her wedding. Good choice gal!

Looks like the weather in Taiwan is about the same as that in Sg.. it's raining all the time!

thanks huiz. a pity not in time to take close-up pic of pink EG tho. weather was really bad by then. wind and rain and cold...

i've sent some photo highlights to ur email. hope can see a bit from there. need to imagine a little. :p

EG for photoshoot is halter ball gown design. in front is horizontal lines of diff coloured beads. back is criss cross strings. quite happy with e gowns they have.

Hi Ah Mais,

I've moved into my new house FINALLY!!! Everything's in a mess now

No change for our gathering. Don't have to bring any food.

I'll be ordering nasi lemak, otak and satay.

Mos - glad you enjoy your PS. you're the only bride who didn't sweat during PS... ha ha ha

harlow all..

mosburger - can see TW very cold from ur pics.. the gowns u wore are from the TW bridal shop??

huiz - is ur workpl the one near our homes? if yes then my bor-lao can send us to nellie's pl this coming sat.. u let me know ya..

Haii janf, no leh... my boss la, put me at choa chu kang now!! I will take MRT down from here lor. Thanks for offering the lift

Mos, thanks for sharing your pics!!! Where in TW did you take your pics??? It must have been very cold especially wearing only the shoulder baring gowns. Very nice pics!

Where are your gowns from?

hi all, all e photos taken in taipei. didn't have time to vsit central & southern areas. i got e gowns from BS in taipei, xinzhuang (新莊), 法國å°åŒ—çµå©šé€²è¡Œå¼. they have a wide range of selection which were very different from sg style WG & EG, so was pleasantly surprised.

huiz - sorry, i'll be away visiting my granny in m'sia over e weekend, so can't join u all.

nellie - yalor... didn't get drenched due to perspiration, but rain. hahaha...

nellie - rem to give us ur home addy ya..

ivied - u setting off from home for the gathering? ur hse in amk rite?

Hi ah mais, its been a tiring weekend for me. I had just completed painting my new room and now my whole body is arching.

Nellie, received your email. Sure, will be there.

hmm janf, most probably I will be at my FH's house, which is also in AMK.
We can meet to go together.

hi mos, great to have you back.
Saw your pic, the weather looks terribly cold and wet. But your smile is still as charming.

The details on your outdoor gown is pretty. So now u have a concept on how you want your MTM gown to be.
One suggestion though, I find that you will look good in a princess line silhouette, it will elegantly elongates your figure.

oh, I forgot to add, I'm doing some facial treatment at the moment. My face is in the ultimate ugly condition, i.e. red dots all over my face. So ladies, don't be alarmed.

oh Huiz, its treatment for my scars. I have marks due to pimples as well as chicken pox so I'm receiving a long term treatment for this.

Imagine it as a wound. It will turn red initially, then it starts to dry up and new born skin comes on, the old one will peel off. A stage like this is considered one treatment. Each treatment will take about 2 weeks. I have to go for continuous treatment monthly till my skin recovers.

janf, I had the treatments at Apex. Its at Beauty World Centre. I do not really know the name behind this treatment, just know that it is meant to treat the scars.

What they did was to dip the solution into each and every scar mark that I have. This solution will sink into the skin and thus causing the redness. It is not like the AHA peel, but it does have some acidic feeling on the skin.

ivied - thanks for advice on WG. will take note when AD is near. meanwhile, drink more water in e day too, coz water is good for skin too.

HI all, I need help on hainanese customs. Can anyone tell me the full details on what to buy for both sides n what to do and what not to do on AD? thks alot.
My FH is hainanese, my mom is hainanese but my dad is hokkien, so we following hainanese customs.

Sherrie - I've sent you my address

Petrina, welcome to our thread! I've also sent you the details of our gathering. We can discuss our hainanese customs on that day.

Right now, we have Huiz, Janf, Ivied, Sherrie & Petrina. CSI can only confirm on that day. Hopefully, she can join us if she's not tired.

nellie, i dun have ur no... ltr i lost... looking forward to c so many hainanese... cause non of my frens r hainanese...

Don't worry, Petrina.

Not all of us can speak Hainanese... ha ha ha

But we're sure a bunch of talkative Hainanese girls.

Hi Petrina,
Welcome Welcome! Look forward to seeing you too.

I'm one such Hainanese who can't speak the dialect. hee.. But as Nellie said, we are all chatty ah mais.

Nellie, so we do not have to bring any food? What about drinks?

petrina, I do not drink though. But you can bring some, think the others will drink.
BTW, were you thinking of renting a London cab previously? Have you found it?

nellie: thanks. i have received it. what time are we meeting on that day?

petrina: welcome! how much does it cost to rent a london cab?

i have decided on engaging a videograher finally..cos my friend who got married last sat didnt engage a professional. he got his bro-in-law to do it instead. the effect wasn't as good. i could see it on youtube.

petrina, oic. BTW, when is your AD? maybe you can leave your details here too.
AD
Solemnisation venue
Reception Venue
BS
AD PG
AD VG

hey sherrie, then who have you engaged as VG? Are you able to find one at the last min?

AD: 22nd sept 2007
Solemnisation venue: Church, not sure
Reception Venue: Orient Ocean @ Hotel Miramar
BS: Not sure
AD PG: Not sure
AD VG: Uncle

harlow all!, me on leave today and juz came back from town.. soooo many ppl in town.. gosh..

hihi to petrina! u sama sama as me, my bor-lao is hainanese, me half-half..

sherrie looking for VG?? u can try injack since hes taking ur PG, at least engage his partner got chemistry wif him.. ya.. need to rem to bring my AD dvd this sat for u all to hv a good luff..

huiz, ivied, sherrie and petrina hubs all coming along?

i took in jack of course...he has been "pushing" his video package to me for the longest time ever. i took up the one with video highlights too...

guess i was more inclined towards it. hubby alrite with it only.

eh...is it ok to bring hubbies along?

Good morning. Was on course for the last 3 days and back to opic today..wow, all looking fwd to the gathering! Remember to take more pics ya!

Pris - the dinner I'll be attending this Sat is at GCW. Same same??

Petrina - welcome to the gang!

Janf - not only town is crowded, even neighbour area also crowded (eg: Tampines). Either pple clearing leave to get xmas gifts for friends or themselves, n its holidays seasons for kids!

Err no la, my bo lao wouldn't be joining us as his parents will be in town for the weekend. Need to be with them lor.

I will be going to Ikea Tampines on Sun. Alamak, I can imagine the crowd there. Need to be mentally prepared man! ;-P

So fast, tomorrow is my food tasting liao. Hopefully everything goes on well.

Oh ah mais, any good caterers to recommend? My papa asking me to keep a look our for good caterer..wanna do buffet after the tea ceremony. I m thinking of Neo, YLS??

Yes, Huiz..gotta mentally prepared ya. Esp now the courts (next to ikea) is open. Sure there's gonna be crowded. I went Ikea for lunch on Mon, gotta queue for 20mins for food n could hardly get seats.

I m going to get my SDJ this weekend. Hopefully MIL will let me choose sth I fancy..hehee

oh petrina, perhaps the cost for the bridal car deco is high. I managed to find a rather low cost florist so in total, I spent $500++ for rental and deco.

hee.. sherrie, same here. I was the one who was pushing for a VG so my FH gave in finally. Anyway, he was ok with In-Jack Studio too so we signed up immediately. (thanks to janf too. (^_^))

me not bringing FH along too. He has to work on the new room. hee...

Huiz, things will work out fine.
How many people are going for your food tasting?
Ikea Tampines is VERY crowded. FH and I switched to the old one instead. hee..

I'm going for my EG fitting tonight. Quite excited man. Wonder how it will turn out to be...

We have 10 people going for the food tasting. 6 from mine and 4 from his. So ngam ngam sui sui make one table lor.

My goodness, it's been almost a month since the new Ikea has opened and its still soo crowded?? Sigh, looks like Sg people really have not many places to go ;-P

Hmm, I am also gathering more info on caterers. I had tried this Purple Sage and Angeli before during some company lunches. Angeli's rendang is shiok man!

Hey ah mais, ask u something (which I think could have been discussed before)....

If there's only 2 kids in the family, first is a son and second is a gal, when the guy gets married, should the card be printed as "marriage of the ELDEST son" or "marriage of the ONLY son"?

hehe. yeah. my video and cameraman is in jack studio. cakes fr pine gardens. buffet catering is from neo garden. cos of the festive season, my catering number is 30 pax (that's the minimum figure).

i chose my own SDJ from soo kee.

when i was doing events planning, i tried purple sage before. their set-up is very nice if you wanna splurge a bit more.

my mum even ordered fresh flowers for her reception at her place. but with the flooding at so many orchards, i wonder if it's ok. heard from radio that even far east flora is out of operations.

Janf / Huiz - ya, I tried Neo Garden at my friends fxn..bb gathering party, birthday, etc. Yes, I loved their lemon fish (chef recommend). Purple sage also nice

Was thinking prob I will get Yeh Lai Siang for my papa's place (cos they've got Hainanese buffet) http://www.yehlaisiang.com.sg/hainanese/hainanese.htm n prob Neo garden for my IL side.

My gf recommend me dong He Seafood. I've not tried them thou

Oh yes, I heard Far East shut down yesterday. Another nursery along the orchard area estimated their loss to be in the millions. So chialat. Seems like the rain is coming again today. Can start timing how long it'll last.

It's been a long time since my company used Purple Sage. I was in the planning committee but I guess the boss would have forgotten me by now. Haha, if not can ask him for discount. Repeat customer ma ;-P

Oh my goodness, look what I have found on the Yeh Lai Siang website....

æµ·å—羊肉汤 Hainanese Mutton Soap

Heehee....

Sherrie - ya..those nursery on Thomson Road got affected beri badly. Far East Flora shut down its operation yesterday. Not sure if they resume biz liao.

Huiz- haha...u are now doing the text for the invite ya? I was discussing with HB what we should word..all these, only son, eldest son..blar blar...so blur! Anyway, I asked him to consult his mum liao. I think yours should be only son bah...*guessing*