Hainanese Brides, anyone???

ivied, huiz, nellie... i'm with you gals. The project that i was working on involved india and working with them is really a pain in the neck. Despite telling them what was required and RFQ given to them, they still come back with a totally different solution which puzzled all of us, but insisted by them to be absolutely correct. Tell them to change le, still come back with the same mistakes but in different forms. Even right to the last min, two hours before tender closed, they still send in rubbish. Really can vomit blood talking to them. All my collys are reluctant to pass on any sales leads for them to work on. They are just a funny group of people living in their own world.

sorry...talking about them simply brought back bad memories of the project... am just glad that it is all over now...

i am both equally excited and flustered... still got some errands to run here and there... but luckily i managed to get my shoes and all the stuff required for the guo da li this Sat.

The guest list is really a headache. Guests can't come cos of business trips, etc...wa...shifting them around is really no joke.

CSI...love your CS. You hubby must be so touched when you sang the song for him!

Misty...hi back! Your wedding is slightly more than two weeks after mine! Bet you must be also feeling jittery with work and preps.

janf..take care...once in a while will kena colic too...rest and like ivy says, ginger tea will help to remove the "wind" from stomach.

pris...hi there...that day must be an auspicious day ya? Have fun choosing the BS.

Ivy and huiz...ya, i use musking tape. Bought one from the stationery shop. i tried the criss cross method...seems to have a little bit of effect....but cos my gown is bare back, thus need to be careful how you stick it at the sides else may attract attention at the armpit area! hee....
but one problem with the musking tape it...i cannot then wear the nu bra cos it needs to stick to your skin and i have musking tape over it. I trial-and-error for two hours until i perspire also cannot achieve the best result. Thus, i am going to ask my bridal stylist to sew on push up bra and then i wear the nu bra instead. I don't have problem with my WG and teadress, only EG. cos i hiao hiao go and make a bit low cut. Now a bit regret. My pic looks 2-D

haiz....

Stacy...hi...
never hear from you for a while le...

no prob Huiz. He has a wide range of fabrics available so you can make your selections. BTW, u can get Daniel to recommend too. And let him know your requirements, e.g. do u wish to have a stiff look or soft ones.

Actually after conversions, the Melaka MUA is not that ex ah. I believe u will trust the job of the boss than his/her staff right? For a pro MUA in Spore cost min S$600. The pic in the website looks ok, not that bad.

haha.. Li Ann, *shake hands*
They are really a pain in the neck to deal with.
ya, guest list is terribly headache. *haiz*

Janf - hw are u feeling now..take gd rest ya
catch up wit u again.

Pris - long time no see also. Nw sch holidays, teachers still got start planning for next yr class liao...poor gal. Take time to rest n enjoy

Huiz- other artist = trainees or qualified MUA? For a shirt, its quite fast. Think they play it on a safe side for 2.5wks. Ya, its gd to go early, at least if not suitable, can go shop ard for suitable ones.

Li Ann - *wave* hello!! Hw's prep? Wow, u can trial n error for 2hours!! For me, think one or two try unsucessful, i will give up liao. U really can perserve. Good!

stacy...hee...i am really desperate man...my stylist had my hopes raised so high...i thought this time sure have cleavage le...end up the effect is only ok...so very determined... almost used up half a roll of musking tape. *shake head*

ah mais...ask you all a few questions...
1. The door money that groom is supposed to give to jiemeis...does that money come out from groom's own pocket?

2. Must all groom and bride's guests sit at each side of the ballroom? what if one side is more than the other side?

3. Must we prepare any seats for our Videographer and Photographers for the dinner? There are three of them altogether.

4. If my emcee, receptionist, ushers are all done by the same group of jiemeis and xiongdis, do we give them one lump sum angbao or give according to task?

5. For jiemeis, once they got their door angbao, do we still give them an angbao separately?

6. If we don't give angbao to JM and XD, we can give them a treat as an alternative?

Hi Li Ann,

I think I am also gonna give up on any long kang for myself liao. Me beyond any hope haha.

I had been a jie mei at my friend's wedding before and I could help with some of your question:

3. I don't think there is a need to leh. They are busy running around liao so wouldn't have time to sit down and eat also.

4. I feel that giving them one lump sum is nicer. Giving them one by one make it seem like we are paying them for their "service"... not so nice lor

5. My friend gave me a separate ang pow for helping her out, in addition to the door ang pow that we split among the 4 of us.

6. This one is a bit tricky. If don't give an AP on that day seems q funny. People might tend to forget the point that they would get a treat after the event and go back feeling a bit unappreciated? This is how I feel larh...

Ya Stacy, I also hope that the "other" artists are not the students. This one I need to check out and make sure.

Thanks so much Ivied for your contacts. I had been calling them and now have a rough idea of the price. Lowest starting from $65. So I guess this is it, off to the tailor we go!

ya lor Li Ann, u really have perseverance. I shall try your methods and see if I can get it worked.

To ans your ques:
1) Technically it should be from groom's pocket but nowadays this is shared by both.
2) Yup, bride and groom's guests are sat at each side of the ballroom. As always, one side will be more than the other, the tables in the ballroom are arranged likewise too.
3) Nope, do not have to arrange seats for PG and VG. They are paid to do their jobs.
4) Yes, give one lump sum.
5) It depends on you. Some gave the JMs a gift, some gave additional AB, some did not give anything. This is not an essential.
6) This is possible. But let them know before hand so that they know that their help is being appreciated.

no prob Huiz.
But hor, lower price also means cheaper fabric so u have to take note ah. Cotton is widely used but there are many ranges of cotton so check with the tailors before u place your orders. A sturdy and stiffer look requires higher thread count and higher quality of cotton.

BTW Li Ann, u really good leh. Sticking and removing the musking tape is quite painful, how do u do it?

Yes Ivied, they did tell me that they have a wide range of fabrics and the lower prices are for the normal cotton. We will have to choose lor. But whatever it is, I think even the better fabrics come at a lower price than if I were to buy from the shops! Somehow I prefer tailor made too. Give a more personal feel.

Heehee, Li Ann, think u can give us demo sessions liao...kekeke

hihi ah mais!

CSI - congrats on becoming mrs!
your guests are so spontaneous! from your link, e songs u have during your wedding are wonderful. exactly e kind of songs i would go for too. i used e song 'The Look of Love' on my little ROM montage too. so some updates here, it turned out that we eventually had a buffet at my FH's house with abt 20 guests, coz it got difficult to decide who to ask and who not to ask. for that purpose, i did a quick video using ROM photos. didn't fulfill my dream of having a small gathering with intimate frens only. anyway, will try to post more pics again soon.

Bendi - i like your pics. very well taken. u specially went to aussie to take pics?

Huiz - i think hollywood tape is really necessary. i borrowed a long halter gown from my BS for my ROM, and it's always slipping down. lucky got halter strip to hold on. but when i tested it in e shop, ok leh. maybe nv wear long enuff or walk around much to realise.

let me try if i can post pic here. until now still dunno how to post pic here. :p

janf - take care of yourself. yup, i think ginger tea helps.

pris - nice to seeya again. agree w u EOY always very busy. same here, busy w all e stock check and arrange next yr's stuff too. i'm targetting to finish my stuff on hand by 8 dec, so that i can go for my taiwan trip peacefully.

ivied - i think e hair colouring refers to temp hair colouring which MUA sometimes put on fringes or part of e hair for better photography effect.

stacy & misty - hihi
how have u been?

431073.jpg

hi mos...is it my laptop or is your face blurred out in the pic you posted?

ivy, huiz...thanks! Those are the burning questions as i was doing our budget and floor plan layout...

I finally settled my caterer! I tried this nonya buffet at my friend's ROM party and really really love the achar and the balachan chili. And some of the dishes are really different from the normal buffet spread we eat. Yum yum!

He has a restaurant too...called Nonya Bistro @ Kampong Bahru (33 Kampong Bahru Road, opp SGH carpack and exit F Outram MRT station). Having a dec promo...1-10 Dec $10 all you can eat buffet. Can call 62239172 to enquire and try the food too.

http://www.gw-foods.com/

Li Ann, the food looks delicious! But the min pax is 30, I do not have that figure. Does anyone know of places which offers catering for <20 pax?

hey mos, u have did it! yeah, I like the B&amp;W pic too.
Gives me the feeling: something old, something new.

BTW, I like to ask you something. I wish to take a part of the song for my march in, what is the software that I should use to filter it? How to go about it?

gosh, I missed so many posts! Busy day today...

erm, Li Ann...what CS? the crumpled one I posted here some time back? hehs...in the end, I didn't wear that CS. hahaha...Hubby scold liao. Spend $$ (ok lah, quite cheap lah) to make, but never wear. hahaha...

Nellie - A Little Dream? I'll email you, yah? Coz sekali some other forumer (not our thread one) happen to read and it may be different from hers (though I doubt lah, but just to play safe). Btw, have I emailed you the cakes thingy from Pine Gardens? Sorry...I can't remember. :p

Huiz - u talking to me right?
hahaha...the link? Which link? heehee...This is the link to A Little Dream's blog. http://alittledream02.livejournal.com/

The photos link?...erm, not sure if it's still working...coz my PG was saying the photos are slowing down his webbie. hahaha...coz too many and files too big. :p So I've uploaded onto Yahoo...will email you ah mais if you haven't seen it yet.

Hi Mosburger,

Thanks, thanks...

hmmm, I like ur skill in blurring ur face...quite cool leh...

Well, you can always have another gathering just for those really close friends.
Can't be helped lah...it's like that.

hi ivied

just be careful. my company and ex company uses them. sometimes their fabrics shrink after the 1st wash. they do practically all the uniforms in the car sales industry. they also did our suits for the motor lately.

ivied - i used Four Seasons Catering for my recent buffet. my frens and my FH's family commented they liked e food. i also like their gold colour table skirting. so pretty. i didn't tell them it's for ROM celebration tho. scared they push expensive package to me. u can try to call them to see if they can cater to a smaller no. of ppl. some caterers are quite flexible on this.

song-wise, i use e audio track(s) of a video editing software to cut out e part i want. explain more in e nxt post.

CSI - thanks. i'm still playing around w photoshop. my skills are not good, only know some basic functions. as for gathering, yup, will take e opportunity to get my frens out for a small gathering soon. feel a little bad twds them e celebration turned out otherwise, coz they were so excited getting this and that for me, coz i'm e first one to get married in e gang.

ivied - i do video editing, so i dunno how to use audio editing software. if need to do simple audio extraction, software i use is Ulead Media Studio Pro. for audio editing, use only e audio track timeline. use preview window determine which portion of song is needed, then cut it out, paste on timeline, then adjust volume at both ends for fading/blending effect. yah, that's roughly how it works.

Ulead Media Pro trial a lot of limitations, another one is Avid Free DV, but interface is not easy to use.

Links: http://www.avid.com/products/tryout.html
http://www.ulead.com/msp/trial.htm

I have seen your photo montage, Mos. And there is one thing I really have to say, u are very very photogenic and have a very sweet smile!

Hi Nellie,

Oops...

Ok, I've sent it to you already.

Yeah, agree...Mos' smile is really beautiful. Feel so happy just looking at her photos...

Hi Bohty,
Yah, they are good...it's a pity we were busy mingling around, going up for 2nd change etc...coz we missed quite a bit of their singing. Really wished I was a guest at my own wedding manz!! hahaha...then I can relax and enjoy their singing...

morning all.. me on MC today.. yday aft the stoopid doc dun wana give me MC, i took own leave go home koonz.. scurry running a high fever of 40!, quickly called hub to come back earlier to bring me go see another doc coz no1 at home and i ate panadol, temperature oso din go down.. the 2nd doc kind enuff to give me MC for today.. but now my rite eye swollen.. mayb its allergy to one of the med.. will stop for all med for now.. grr..

i juz finished reading past postings.. so csi sang at her wedding izit?? me confused liao, muz be my cooked brains cant read/tink well.. haha.

hahaha....Janf, u sick still can joke.
must be the med making u groggy...but yah, I sang at my own wedding. What to do? bo lao wun sing for me, so I sing for myself lorh. hahaha...no lah. just wanted to do something differently.

aiyoh csi, me yday trying so hard to zzz in the pm but cant coz too hot.. then my stoopid bor-lao can still tell my ILs "eh sai sa gui nu liao!" (hot until can fry an egg).. faintz..

i attended my fren's wedding in may, my fren the groom oso sang a song for his wifey.. wah, i suaku 1st time seen ppl sang at wedding (minus those getai kind of singing) and we all clapping wildly away..

need alot of courage to sing.. really peifu u, csi.. =)

F**K my boss man!!! people send him something one week ago and he sat now it now when people chase him he conveniently make me do it!!!! i don't care man, i do what i can and the rest i throw it back into his face!

I've received it, CSI. Thanks!

Got to take care, Janf!

Huiz - I have the same problem as you - the BOSS!!!! Mine is getting on my nerves. The whole dept is fedup with him.

huiz, nellie, CSI - thanks. i'm hoping to lose some weight so i can look better on photos. :p will be taking more pics when i go taiwan nxt mth. yay, so looking fwd to e trip!

janf - are u allergic to synflex? my eyes, hands and feet get swollen when i take certain painkillers. better find out if u're allergic, coz this is very common medicine. e reason i'm taking anti-inflammatory jabs for my injured hand is also becoz i'm allergic to painkillers. doc dare not give me medicine.

CSI - did u share pics over email? if u dun mind, can add me to ur mailing list.

Wooh, managed to finish that darn piece of work b4 12. Now can continue with my opic packing. I have also learnt a lesson now. Don't bring too many personal stuff to work. When resignation or relocation time comes, can die bringing things home man... haha

hey janf, hope u are feeling much better now. having fever is no joke ah. Glad that your bo lao took good care of u

Oh yes, thanks Li Ann for the nonya food contact. I should be going down next week to try and might engage them if they are good. My ILs though are not Peranakans, they are good at discerning good Peranakan food. So gotta get something up to their standard. We thought of catering this as its something more unique lor

huiz - my frens n colleagues were all stunned when we brought out e cake, coz they thot we would prepare a wedding cake or smthg. suddenly there was an air of silence when e cake box was opened. i guess birthday song was not suitable in this case. :p nobody said anything and my FH went "Huat ah!!!" and he cut e cake. only then ppl started laughing and realised that was a cake. too bad at that time everyone was in awe no one took photo. haiz~~ anyway, me dunno how to play mahjong. bought e cake simply becoz we want to make everyone laugh, but their response surprised us instead. lol

wow, I have missed out so many in one morning.

janf, have a good rest.

sherrie, is it? Oh, this shop is recommended by my FSIL as her bosses are regulars there. My dad and FH are quite happy with the suits, I shall try to wash the shirts and see if they will shrink. Thanks.

mos, thanks! I shall try first. I can still check with you if I encounter any prob hor... hee...
Just saw all your pic. Your smile is captivating! No worry about your weight, I find that u look good enough. Just rem to flash that charming smile of yours.

wow CSI, you sang at your wedding. Cool! How do u do it? I mean, do u go on stage and say that you are going to sing a song?

Huiz/nellie, bosses are like that, that's why they are able to climb up the corporate ladder so fast.

mos, I just realised that the 2nd guy from the right in the last 3rd pic looks familiar. Is he your friend? Think I have seen him at NP.

hey Mos,

Can I ask you...how do you put so many folders to share with everyone? I uploaded my photos onto Yahoo also...but then I can only share 1 album at a time...that means a few emails for the people I want to share it with...

Yah, I like ur cake. At first I thot it was real MJ (small pic on PC) until I clicked on it...hahaha. Your frens' reaction quite classic...if only there was a shot of their faces then...hehs. Hmm, what flavour was it?

Hey ivied,
erm, just sing lah....hehs...I only told my friend (who is also a professional wedding planner) about it. Then he informed the emcee just before it. So they announced "please stand to welcome the goom (instead of Mr &amp; Mrs X again)". And according to my frens, hubby was panicking, coz I wasn't there. Then friends just dun care him and opened the doors. Apparently, hubby kept asking "where's my wifey?" and he didn't want to walk...but they kept pushing him to move (doors were already opened lah). until 1 fren told him "she's in front! Singing to you!" then he "oh" and started walking in on his own. hahaha...

So it was a surprise to everyone also lah...(now my colleauges are saying next time we have a roadshow, I'll have to sing the theme song) hahahaha...

ivied - yup, do ask me if u need help. i would say that the interface of Ulead Media Studio Pro is more user-friendly.

CSI - i signed up US-based yahoo instead of SG-based yahoo, coz only US-based yahoo got e new 'tray' function, like flickr photo album. so when i made e albums public, the anyone who go to any one of e albums in my yahoo photos, he/she can automatically see all public albums. less hassle compared to e old yahoo album.

i think only disadvantage is that photos get resized into 800x600, so better to keep ur originals on ur hard disk.

btw CSI, u are really brave to sing on stage. peifu peifu!

ivied - i'm not sure which photo are u referring to? most of e ppl i invite for buffet are close colleagues and JC frens. enlighten me?

oh mos, its the last few pic in your album. You have pictures taken with 4 guys standing behind while 4 ladies were sitting in front. The 2nd guy from the right looks very familiar, but I can't recall where have I met him before.

CSI, you are quite brave leh. But it adds a nice touch to the wedding, makes it more meaningful for both of you

I read something yesterday, here's for you.

Spare Me The Fake-Cake Wedding
by Tan Dawn Wei
The Straits Times, Monday, November 27, 2006

Weddings used to be fun affairs. You get to dress up, gossip with the girls and check out the boys. And you also get to unleash elaborately conceived sabotage plans on the happy couple - hopefully without wrecking the hotel bridal suite and getting billed for the damage.

But after giving away more hongbao than I want to remember, weddings have become a bigger drag than any bride's trailing, carpet-dusting train. The problem isn't that I've been to too many weddings. I've just been going to too many of the same weddings.

Anyone who's been to at least five Chinese wedding dinners has earned herself enough stripes to be an authority on What Goes On At A Chinese Wedding Dinner. Hotel wedding coordinators have honed it into a science. Even friends who have helped execute many of these dos readily pass around their trusty notes with a blow-by-blow description of what to do when, where and how.

That's the problem: Weddings have become become nothing more than just a big, elaborate show that not many of us actually enjoy watching. Spare us the cheesy dry-ice effect, half-hearted yam sengs, styrofoam-cake 'cutting' (please, everyone knows it's just knife to the slit) and DIY slide shows done to pop ditties from boybands that no longer exist.

We don't need a picture of ourselves at our table with the toothy couple either. Save your stamps and don't send it over. And what's the point of popping a champagne bottle and making a big display out of pouring it down a glass pyramid when none of us will actually get to drink it? And where's the cake you just cut? How come we don't get to eat that too?

Another pointless exercise at Chinese wedding dinners: multiple gown changes. Hate to break this to you, oh beautiful brides. But honestly, no one's keeping score and no one cares. Besides, being absent from your own wedding for half the night to change into your assorted costumes - that's not the trait of a good host.

Couples should get it into their heads that a cookie-cutter wedding that proceeds like clockwork and follows the rule book down to the letter doesn't a memorable event make. Nobody remembers the run-of-the-mill hotel banquets and standard menus of cold dish/shark's fin soup/roast chicken/steamed fish/braised mushrooms/fried rice/red bean soup. But everybody remembers that one unusual wedding that dared to be different. Like my friends' intimate ceremony where they exchanged vows in the front yard of their house with just a handful of friends and family members sharing the moment.

The wedding banquet conventions of today may have come from a long tradition that dates back 50 years or more, but that doesn't mean you can't throw tradition out the window. Customs like the tea ceremony have great significance and should be preserved and practised, but meaningless routines like fake-cake cutting and champagne-pouring do nothing to make a wedding momentous or heartfelt.

While we're being egged on by the people who govern this country to be more creative and entrepreneurial, we should apply a little imagination to our nuptial dinners.

I know I'll want mine to be festive, personal, surprising and, most importantly, fun. Oh, and champagne and real cake for everyone.

u know, this author reflects my thoughts totally.

I am one of the last few gals in my group of friends to be married and hence I had attended countless numbers of weddings. When it comes to my own, I too wanted to do something different but my FH and close friends are not spontaneous about it and hence all my 'quirky' ideas were being turned against. They were saying that I had done too much.

Well, so I just leave it as a 'normal wedding' for my big day.