Hainanese Brides, anyone???

janf - aiyo, sometimes i really cannot stand e word 'cute' coz overused by my bf. i always ask him why marry me, then he answer 'u are cute'. *faints*

but i really gotta work out when my hand gets better. u gals really keep urself in good shape! pei fu pei fu! i must be less lazy. ;D

Hi all ah mais - happy mooncake festival

oops...boss is here...brb

Hahaa...got a mail on this...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Memory Tip 1 - WIDOW & WIDOWER
Problem remembering which is for the man and which is for the woman?
Try rotate the two words 90 degrees so that you see the word "widower" is standing taller than "widow".

r
e
w w
o o
d d
i i
w w

Usually but not necessary the husband is taller than the wife. Now you know how I remember. It helps me and I hope it helps you too.

Memory Tip 2 - NOWADAYS & NOWSADAY
Sometimes I see or hear "nowsaday (incorrect)" being used for "nowadays (correct)"

'nowSADay' Notice the word 'SAD' in the incorrectly spelled word.
So if there is a 'SAD' in the word, it is incorrect.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

feeling a little frustrated coz not supposed to move my hand much. so used to waking up early, feels wierd walking abt at hm when everyone's out at work... nothing nice on tv, read all the newspaper n mags, and wondering watz nxt?

i want my hand to get well now and i can do smthg! 2 weeks mc is too long for me. hiyo...

mosburger, most of us also thought Stacy looks familar when we first met up, but also can't figure out when and where exactly we have seen her before.... heehee. So what did your dad say when he proposed to u in front of your whole family? He must be really brave!

Makko restaurant is my MIL's favourite Nonya outlet in Melaka. She works in a dental clinic few doors away and will make special reservations for us when we are there. The food is very nice. Worth a try.

Oh yes, happy mid autumn to all too. Too bad my hubby has an interview tonight. So it's rotting away at home for me later.... mebbe do crochet or write thesis la.... borrring

Mossburgerrrr... I also want long leave (but not MC la). Too bad I need to scrimp and save my leave this year for next year, so I gotta work like an ox this year. Sian.

Stacy, that's interesting! I have something amusing to share too. Someone sent me a resume yesterday. On top of every page, she put this very "cheem" sounding line "Life is too short to be happy".... oh my goodness... don't know to laugh or cry

Back!!

Hello all...

Janf / Pris - no lah..my guy always say I look auntie..(cos' I always wear my 3qtr pants on weekends..like go marketing). Aiyoh, n u shld see all the freckles on my hands and face!

Mos - Sorry, I'm very bad at remembering people. That day I was on the train, this gal was smiling at me n she remembered my name. Was my junior, but I don't remember her name n face also..veri terrible of me. Don't know if we've met before..but very unlikely lah..cos' I hardly go west. Prob its my 'common' face that u find me familiar.

Mos - ur bf very cute leh...propose in front of your whole family, n ur family all very good too...pretend onli

Lydia - After AD, will u be heading bk Japan again..when can have a chance to meet?

Bothy - tomolo is ur big day! Gong xi... Did u order the yi bua...how much har...kpo here

huiz - what position did she/he apply for...haha...maybe that's the marketing tagline..
funni pple nowadays

Mosburger - Rest well during your MC..if I got long break...sure stay hm n watch korean vcds..hehee

She applied for a frontline Patient Service Assistant position, those who sit at the counter to register patients and collect payments. Whatever the reasons why she made the mistake lor, but I feel that this is a resume, better not try to do anything funny. First impression counts!

Haii, I am already beginning to dream about my short getaway next Friday now.

Ya hor, Bohty, all the best on your Big Day! Enjoy and congrats!

hi mosburger, thanks for the address. I sure will go look for it. (me always searching for food to eat... hee)
Have a good rest at home. Recuperate then worry about the piles of workload. It is never ending anyway.

Lydia, ya, so u will be going back to Japan after your wedding? hmm.. so when will be our next gathering?

Gong Xi Bothy.

Me can't come in today, customers are here for testing. Have a good day and a good weekend ahead ah mais.
kao_babydust.gif

huiz - i simply love the food at makko! a place i MUST go there if i go melaka.

dun be sad abt working hard. guess we all have no choice but to work at this stage of life. nxt yr go for a good trip for ur honeymoon k!

stacy - hee, dunno why find u familiar. but thks for e good suggestion. i shall go rent some vcds nearby! gee, i've been sitting at home rotting for the past few days u know! haa...

ivied - u are welcome. have a good friday!

huiz - that proposal came as a surprise! nobody expected it, so nobody knew how to react. we all wait for head of family to react 1st mah, so bf could do nothing but sit there wait and sweat! haa. so hilarious when i think abt it. we actaully had silence in the air for almost 30 min. no one's really watching the tv but all sat there not moving when we heard him blurt out those words. haa...

Mosurger, your FH is so cute.... (now I use the cute word on him)

Perhaps we can all share our proposal story?

Mosburger, take the chance to rest and relax. Once u get back to work, u will hope u cld be back on MC again

I will be heading back to japan after my AD. Expected to stay for another yr or shorter perhaps. This shd be my last trip home this yr coz flown back 5 times liao just for the wedding. So xian of taking plane.

Happy Mooncake Festival everyone. Take the extra bite of mooncake for me ok.

My neighbour just had her colour analysis done. A lady (a certified colour expert) will tell u wat are ur right and wrong colours to wear, make-up colours to use & perform a wardrobe "audit". She even do a hair and makeover for u during the session. My neighbour said it was amazing and she has been wearing all the wrong colours all her life. Really makes u wonder if u got the rite colours and shades. Ever heard of this in SGP? ANy idea how much it cost?

Lydia, just curious, what time is it in Nagoya now? It's 10.06am here.

Colour expert? This is certainly something new to me. I suppose the closest one can get to a color expert here is a fashion designer? I believe they should have received colour training during their fashion course. But this lady can sure make big money if she comes to Sg... heehee

Huiz, there is an hr difference. 10am in SGP will be 11am in Nagoya.

She is already making good money here. Each session cost abt S$220. But if u consider all the wrong clothes u've been buying, it will make sense eh... Still contemplating if i shd get it done. Too bad cannot make use of the info for my wedding. All the dresses done deal liao.

Good morning ah mais!

Friday is finally here! I'm looking forward to my salon appt. I have deicided not to perm cos I hate putting the lotion in my hair. I'll get breakouts easily.

I managed to squeeze out my 'qian nian lao hei tou' last nite. YEAH! YEAH! YEAH!!!!

Nellie - that muz be a painful one..*ouch*

Lydia - er, I think we have something similiar..like wat huiz said, fashion designer or what u call that?? They'll basically analyse ur skin colour..n recommend u what shade of colour is more suitable (eg: warm / cool colours). Not sure abt the charges thou...cos' I basically attend one of these free talk during the learning festival

Yah boy, Nellie, I was about to say "ouch" too. But then again, I understand the shiok feeling to have it out.

Stacy, the best part is : not painful. Maybe it's bcos of the cleanser I had on my face while squeezing out the black head. Now trying another range of skincare from Nuskin.

I expected a small hole after squeezing out the blackhead and wanted to put some cream on it but the pore just closed up. Thanks to my wonderful cleanser. hee hee

wah...active morning...heehee...

Hi Lydia,
I think we have something similar in SGP. Not sure what it's called. I attended one many many many years ago (when I was in Sec sch) when my dad sent me for grooming course during school hols. Yah, he said I walked like a duck, so had to send me to grooming. And I look at myself now, I think he wasted his $$ on me manz...

Not sure how much these pple charge to do the colour analysis. I know this lady does it - Jill Lowe (her co name is Jill Lowe - something...can't really remember).

Wah Nellie,
must be so relieved to have it out...hehs.

Hi mosburger,
ur FH so cute leh...heehee...he must have been wishing there was a hole in the floor or something that he can just hide there, at that moment. hahaha...

Hi all... i'm home on MC today. Throat inflammation and doc forbid me to work today. :p

Nellie: Congrats on squeezing out that blackhead. Got a shiok & very satisfied feeling right?

Mos: I can't believe your FH was brave enough to propose in front of the entire family!!! *claps claps* But must have been quite awkward while waiting for someone to start talking right?

Huizz: Why is your year the auspicious year? And yes, F Tong is still at TJC after so many years!

Lydia: The colour analysis thing sounds very cool. Wish i can afford to go for one in SG too so i won't have to waste $$ on buying clothes that don't bring out the best in me.

Happy 中秋节 to all!

i'm back in here.

pris - get well soon! drink more water k.
yup, that 30 min was really awkward.
best thing is, my dad no reaction immediately after the brave act, so nobody dared to react too.

lydia - haa... i guess me cant decide wat i want. got mc want to work. gotta work then want mc. lol
the colour analysis thingy sounds cool tho. but different colours suit us at different times of our life. how long does the results last?
me very practical person when comes to spend $. haa, in other words, very stingy w my money, coz it's hard work getting my monthly salary. ;p

nellie - i heard of the nuskin product range too. so how? good or not? i hvnt tried it b4, but fren recommended.

Hi ladies, just popping in to say 'zhong qui jie kuai le'

Saw the photos of the gathering... wish I was there
. Anyway, thanks for thinking of me re the next gathering. I'll be back on x'mas day i.e. 5 days before the wedding and will be flying off for the honeymoon straight after.... so not sure if I will get the chance to meet up leh... will try my best but please just arrange a date that's convenient for everybody.

Latest update from me: FH and I just bought our lovenest! Very exciting... now changing from buying wedding mags to home deco mags :D

Congrats Misty on getting your Lovenest! Where will it be? I'm too stingy to buy home deco mags so i borrow from the library or i just browse those at Kinokuniya. :p

Hihi Misty, congrats to u too! It's always exciting to deco a new place. And I alway feel that the houses in the West are so much more beautiful

hi Misty,
Congrats on your new home!
It's quite exciting doing up the home...only thing is...(IMO) the men tend to want to have more say in home deco. Wedding-wise, they usually just say "as long as u like it", but home deco...hehs, not so much the case. hahaha. FH and I had a few little arguements on where what should be placed etc. hahaha. but it's still quite fun doing up a home.

Aiyoh, the haze level today is sooooo bad (PSI level hit 150!!). I could hardly breathe. I'm asthmatic lah. Hope they can resolve this and no haze on my AD...

CSI...today you must be happier cos the PSI is more or less back to normal. Think it's the wind direction changing cos even the haze over KL has cleared up a lot.

Ah-mais...just to check, when do both sides parents meet to discuss bout dowry/bride price etc???

Hi Misty, congrats on getting your new home! Have you begin the reno? As for the gathering, we shall try to accomodate a date that can suit everyone.

Nellie, how's your new hair cut?

CSI, the haze has dropped to a safe level today. Feel so great with the fresh air, I finally stepped out of the house after being trapped for a day.

Pris, I can't ans this ques leh. Its up to you and your hubby to determine the 'best timing' to meet. I can only say advisable to do it 6 months before the AD so that u can get the necessary stuff ready and sorted out before any unhappiness aroused. Best to check with your mum first and inform her to bring up whatever things (dowry/GDL/traditional items) that she wants during the meet-the-parents session.

For me, I inform my mum that the discussion to be finalised during the meet-up and not to include any other stuff later on. It will be quite embarassing for both parties should there be more items required at a later stage.

misty - congratz on your new home! i'm waiting for my balloting results for new flat. take some nice pics and share w us your fun in decorating your new home.

i just learnt smthg new today!

the ampoules brides gotta use for photoshoot and AD is called "make up primer".

i googled "ampoule" and finally found one post that explains properly wat it is for.

ha, feels good to know one new thing. :P

Hi Priscilla, Ivied,
yah...heehee...I can breathe easier yesterday...could at least step out of the house and get some wedding stuff done...

Hey ah mais,
hmmm....ampoules...do you all have to use that? My MUA didn't put for me nor tell me to get. My beautician (the regular facial one) told me it's not necessary to get...I'm confused...

oh! I finally collected my invite cards - for the dinner only...the church-cum-dinner ones are still in production...heehee...

Started writing on Friday night and shd be giving them out soon...

Good morning ah mais,

Finally had my haircut and colour done last friday. the whole process was 4 hours. Ouch! my buttocks hurt.

Huiz - Operation time for Yess Salon : Mon to Fri - 10.30am till 8.30pm. Sat - till 6pm, Sun - till 5pm

Ivied - my hair is 'thinner' now but looks messier cos my frizzy hair all come out. I have to clip my hair up to look neater. I'll sure rebond my hair again when the wedding is over.

Mosburger - Nuskin products (to me) is quite good. I still think it depends on individual skin.

Misty - Congrats on getting your lovenest!

Anyone needs home reno/decor mags? can get it from me. I got plenty.

I was also previously clueless on what ampoules are. If I am not wrong, its something that is used as a base layer for smoother, longer-lasting makeup. I guess the practise whether to put or not varies between MUAs. Wonder if they consider the skin condition of the bride or not....

Misty - congrats that u've found your love nest...have fun during the home n deco...
Remember to show us pics of your home when is done. Hope to see during our next gathering

Mos - Heee..I also learnt something new from you..I know there are many diff types of ampoule. Some MUA will ask couple to pay for the ampoule to make the MU more lasting. But think my MUA does not apply ampoule for couple leh. Think it depends on the MUA??

CSI - cannot go out due to haze, so stay home to write wed invites har..hehee...wow, muz be counting down...

Nellie - new haircut and colour for your hair
. But I recon that 4 hrs kinda long worh...muz be damm sleepy sitting there..hehee
My frizzy hair always come out, got to use tons n tons of hair gel to fix them properly.

Pris - erm..I only know that when my MIL came to my hse and inform my parents that we are getting married, my parents told them the list of things to get prepared, eg, # of tables, boxes of cakes, bottles of liquor, AB, etc.. think parent already got the list ready long long ago...just can't wait to get the daughter to be married off..hehee...

hey Bohty,

How's ur wedding?
Do update us, yah? By the way bohty, I read from Hsin Yeow's blog that you guys engaged them to sing at your wedding! Me too! They'll be singing at my wedding...hehs...

Hi Stacy, yah lorh...cannot go out, might as well make full use of my time. So I finally sat down to wrap my AP box and write the cards. heehee...

ivied - i saw tat u posted my AD wedding schedule on 1 of the threads ah?! at 1st i panicked, tot all my personal info in it but heng u deleted the nec.. keke. hope it helps the rest of the BTBs..

hee... I find that your AD program is very useful, better than what the others had passed to me. I had used it for my reference too. So paiseh never inform u first. Sorry, wo xian zhan hou zou.
kao_embarrassed.gif

pris - i saw u looking for budget MUA for mum and sis etc.. i hired one named Stella 90062966. i dun hv upclose pics of my mum and sis but they are all in my AD pics link lor..

my mum and sis are satisfied wif her output and she does makeup+simple hairdo. u mite wana call her to chk..

recap:-
<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

but when i see the word 'primer', it gives me the feeling as in painting of walls. coz u know the 1st layer of paint is called 'primer'. lol

so when we paint our faces, it's like painting the walls.

apparently models doing photoshoots or shows will use make up primers becoz they are under strong studio light for hrs and they need the make-up to be long lasting, as that layer enables a smooth application of the foundation that follows. but i read in other sites that if foundation is good, need not make-up primer for day-to-day make up.