Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hi mosburger,
pic and slides sent. your bf is really sweet. He should be the doting type of hubby in future. boy, proposed 4 times!!!

is high cheekbones one of the characteristics beside flat nose? hmm... I go back to ask my mum.

nellie and Huiz, my hair stylist was telling me its best that we go for a hair cut 2 weeks before the actual events. Not to worry, your hair style will stay in shape. More important is that u have grown accustomed to the new hairstyle and be more confident of your new look.

Hi ah mais!!!

I'm soooooo sorry about yesterday...FH sends his apologies and he's feeling very bad about it too...It's coz of him that I couln't make it. My apologies...Sorry for making you all wait so long...Blur me didn't get anybody's HP and I didn't leave my HP to anyone also. So pai seh...

I was really looking forward to yesterday's makan...
kao_cry.gif

Thank you for all your concern...I was on leave yesterday to paint the home (again) coz FH said he not satisfied with the earlier attempt. Started at 10am. Finished all at about 4pm. But FH still not happy with the biggest wall in the living room despite me telling him repeatedly that it's OK!! (faintz...). So he did another coat of paint on that wall, and in the process, he kept dripping paint on the floor! So I had to keep running after him to clean up the blobs on paint on the marble. And after that, there's all that cleaning up to do. So FH feels that it's coz of him wanting to do that "close-to-perfect" coat that resulted in the delay. In the end, we finished at 8pm...Crazy right? paint 1 whole day...He knows I was meeting you gals, and after painting, could see that he was running and rushing to wash up etc...but washing paint rollers and brushes, clearing newspapers etc is not easy manz.

Now my whole body aching...

Hey Pris, Stacy...u gals are Bedok ah mais too! Me too!! Until next Monday, at least. hahaha. Tuesday onwards, I'll be a Clementi ah mai again. heehee...Moved to Bedok while parents renovated the Clementi flat.

CSI - we're glad you're fine. No worries lah. Let's look forward to our next gathering when Misty is back.

Huiz - I've decided. Will go for a haircut either tmr or Sat. You want to join me?

Hi mosburger,
I'll send u my website link lah...heehee...then u'll know what I look like - though not very clear. heehee...

wah, your FH proposed 4 times! I thot I was bad liao..hahaha...FH had to ask 3 times! heehee...How long were you together?

Hi Huiz, Nellie,
I cut my hair 2 weeks before PS and the Sat before PS, went for treatment (before the hair gets hit by all that hairspray)...

hi Huiz, I went for PS with straight hair. Coz I was thinking, it would be easier to curl the hair (using curlers) than to straighten the hair (esp if you just curled/permed it). I'm not too sure if that's true or not lah, just my thots, so I went with straight hair. heehee...

Huiz, personally I prefer curled hair. It gives a more lady like look. The hair does not look so flat too. If u are unsure, u can start looking for sample hairstyles and present it to your MUA. Here's some for you.

Eg. 1
412397.jpg

Eg. 2
412398.jpg

Eg. 3
412399.jpg

I had the intention to perm too but I'm afraid the result wouldn't be up to my satisfaction. Prefer to have my MUA to do temp curl for me.

Hihi CSI,

Glad to know that u are fine. I thought u were unwell.... choy choy choy

Nellie, where u usually go for haircut? I can't make it tomorrow or Sat.... Sat got friend's bday function after I knock off (yes, I work on Sats... siannzz)! I am thinking of going on Sun. So sorry about it. Another time okie? Remember to cheo me hor.

Hey Ivied, thanks for the pics. Really gave me some good ideas. The problem with me now is I can't decide what kind of hairdo suits me best. Gotta ask my MUA during the trial. But I'll surely show her these pics to see if they're ok for me

Oh ya, I like the hairdo in the 2nd pic. I think I would go for something like that for the evening look. And I'll adorn it with some fresh flowers... me sucker for that.... heehee

I'm going to YESS salon in Raffles Place, near my office. My friend had strongly recommended it. And I recommended to Misty too when she was back here for her PS. Thumbs up from her!

Will be going there tmr after work.

Ohhh icic... ok, next time I go there to try. But since it's at Raffles Place, does it close early? Does it also open on Sun when the office crowd is much thinner?

hi CSI, its alright. Glad that u are fine. Then we shall meet in Dec. By then u will be Mrs??? and you are another tough one, ha ha.. 3 times! mine just simply say: We get married ok? *faint*

CSI, I have PM u my mobile number, in case u need to reach us the next time.

Hey, perhaps we can have a pot luck at someone's place by then. Not necessary to cook lar, just bring one edible food will do.

I'm having my trial make up next week, so I shall ask my MUA what I should do with my hair too. My hair stylist proposed curled coz it is easier to set and I will look more womanly. hmm.. I need to re-think about that statement though.

Good morning.. That's was a nice gathering last night. Looking fwd for the next one. As usual, I can only dl my pics over the weekends. Send to u gals when its ready ya!

Janf - ur guy really chatty. Glad that he joined us, really bot laughters to the table.

Ivied - my singnet account is back running. Can send me the ppt file? Tks!

Mosburger - ur guy really sweet..somemore waited for u to send you home. When I reach home, I called my HB...he's still in the office club hse with his pool games..sign.

Nellie - after seeing ur fitting pics..I xin yang yang...can't wait for my 1st fitting...hehee.. U muz be looking fwd to your PS on 18th!

Huiz - Hei, I'm also going up to Malacca next weekend...hehee
. Not attending any wedding, just going there with colleague n her church gp. Will not miss to try the chicken rice ball at jonker st.

CSI - glad that u are fine..its ok, do join us for next gathering. Remember to take our HP nos..
. Y ur mummy hse reno, need to temporary shift to Bedok...I mean fm Clementi to Bedok, a bit far rite?

Sorry for the long long post...got to get back to work now...see ya!

Stacy, Huiz, what chicken rice ball? I'm going Malacca during the super long weekend to attend a wedding. Where can I find it? Any nearby landmark?

I have 3 weddings to attend this month (7th, 21st, 28th). Like what we mentioned last night, people can't wait to get married the moment the 7th month is over. wow....

Huiz - Yess Salon doesn't close early. They do open on weekends. I'll be dropping by later to make an appt. Will post the operation hours later.

Ooooo the chicken rice in Malacca... yum yum yum... have to be there early and get seats. The last time I went, I 'ta bao' back to hotel to eat (cos no seats).

Hi ivied,

U go to this famous red red church, cross the road and u'll see a bridge and this OCBC (or is it UOB or some Singaporean bank). The rice ball stall is opposite the bank building, a corner shop. It's a very Chinese style kopitiam with those marble top tables. And u bet, the boss is a Hainanese too. U can't miss the shop

Stacy, u setting off on Sat? Me going on Fri morning.

Oh...Yess Salon...I did my hair there too. Cut, colour, highlight, treatment. hehs...Yup, I strongly recommend them too. Vincent (think he's the mgr there) did my hair for me.

Hey Ivied,
Thanks for your HP number.
Dec ah? Okie...I can't wait...Wait...Dec when ah? Me on HM from Dec 12 to 20.

Stacy, yah lorh. It's not a bit far...it's VERY far ah...hahaha. Not used to it...and now that I'm getting used to it, time to move back to Clementi. Bedok quite happening leh...the Central is soooo big. Got so many shops! Aiyah, my parents have an apartment in Bedok lorh, and just nice, they wanted to reno the whole clementi flat (haven't reno-ed it for the past 15 yrs liao) for my wedding and the tenancy for the Bedok one just ended. So we moved there lorh. Actually reno long ago finish liao, but some uncle said we could only start to stay from 10 Oct onwards, so next week then we move back. And since I'll only have 1 more mth in the newly renovated home, I must quickly stay there and utilise the new furnishings/toilet etc as much as I can...hahaha.

Hi ivied,

I managed to find a pic in the net of the shop. It's not the shop front, but judging from the looks of it, this is the corner shop I was telling u about. I was told by my ILs that this is the best rice balls in Malacca.

Rice Ball shop: http://www.cuticuti.com/album/displayimage.php?album=random&cat=10739&pos=-5005

There is also this stall selling superb mee sua soup. Also a corner shop but I can't really remember the name and exact location liao.

Shucks, me getting darn hungry now.... haha

CSI,

Yeah yeah me love Bedok central, especially the hawker center. The food and variety is great! Hadn't been there often since my TJC days. Miss the food so much....

CSI - I'll be looking for Willy to do my hair. (recommended by my friend). How much did you pay for the whole thing?

Stacy, CSI, u are welcome.

Huiz, thanks for the link and the pic on the crochet patterns. U have been a great help.

I have been to Malacca sometime in 2004, is it similar to this one?
412446.jpg

Bedok has nice food... I always move around during lunch to the nearby areas like central, blk 85, siglap, joo chiat, east coast etc to makan. yum yum... now, where should i go today? hee.. going off for lunch....

Hi Ivied, u r welcome
It's my pleasure to help around.

Aiyo, don't have too high hopes of the rice ball shop ah. It's definately not so quaint like the pic. The folks there walk around in singlet and flip flops. It's corner shop, so both sides the doors are open.

So envious of u gals to have so many places to go makan during lunch. Me stuck in this far flung Timbuktoo with only the same few places to hang out. Gotta get my ass outta here one day. Hahaha.

wow... u gals must have a GREAT time yesterday. Onli never check thread for half a day and so much catching up liao... how to go on hols like tat
So when's the next gathering? Dec no good lah, hols season & i dun want to miss the next one too.

I'm not sure abt the high cheekbones but I must say the flat nose is SO true esp in my case. Constantly contemplating abt a nose job...

I dun recommend to do anything drastic to ur hair esp b4 the PS or AD. In fact my MUA said if u want to do anything, do it 2 weeks b4 and leave it ALONE until the PS or AD. She also mentioned that re-boned hair is harder to handle/style unless u intend to let it down. Nothing mentioned abt perming so i guess it is fine lah.

Ivied, thanks for remembering to send me the pics.

Hmmm... Dec is the time when most ppl go for their holidays.

However, our dear missy Misty does not stay in Singapore. Not sure how long she'll stay in Singapore after her AD. Nevertheless, we'll have to find the best date to suit all of us. Most probably we have to accomodate Misty's schedule cos we don't know when she'll be back in Singapore again.

Hi Nellie,

I wash, cut, coloured, highlighted...took me 2 hrs and cost me $250. Ouch....Then, for customers that coloured/permed the hair at Yess, they have a discount for treatment. Using their voucher, treatment was $19 (if I remembered correctly). My hair length is abt yours (or slightly shorter...but definitely not as long as Janf's...hehs).

Hi CSI,

I'll be doing the same thing as yours. $250??? We, girls really can spend so much $$$ on us... ha ha ha

Yup, Misty will be back then. She has another dinner at M'sia too. So, let's hope that she'll read the thread soon and let us know her schedule.

That's why people always say women's business is the most lucrative ma.

I've made up my mind to go do some soft curls to the tail end of my hair this Sun. Bored with straight hair now. But hoepfully my length now is suitable for curling.

Oops Lydia, we must have been assuming that u are in Sg all the time. U working in Japan?

Misty stays and works in US. In Boston if I don't remember wrongly....

hey, we have another overseas BTB.
Lydia, u are in Japan for work purpose? And, not a prob. Just a thought to introduce our 'clan'.
Did I miss anybody out?

I think Misty is currently in Edinburgh, completing her post-grad training in Paediatrics. *Info compliments from her website*

BTW BenDi, I chanced upon your blog. U are a nurse?

Huiz, I had permed my hair before. Its quite easy to manage actually. Just rem to apply sculpting lotion after each wash, to keep the curls in shape.

I rem Misty mentioned before that she may not be free to log on to SB forum so freq now. Think we have to check with her via email.

hee.. I'm quite free today so u can see me so often here today.

Woah...the thread moved so quickly since last night!!! I finally have time to sit down at my cubicle after an entire day of teaching...very tired. Now got sore throat. Wonder why.

Huiz: I was also from TJC! So coincidental! Anyway, my hair (as you saw last night) is permed and i permed it in early May. After every wash, i apply some lotion (dunno what, Stylist asked me to buy) and just twist my hair. When it dries, it becomes nice.

Ivy & Nellie: The both of you are really tall... me quite petite and it's obvious in the photos! Wish i'm a bit taller.

Stacy: You're very pretty...will definitely look very good in your gown so don't worry about your 1st fitting.

CSI: So sorry you couldn't join us but nevermind, i'm sure there'll be a next time! The next time must bring your ah-lao ok? But at least your new home now has nicely-painted walls.

Janf: Your hubby really made the dinner livelier & can really crack jokes. Your hair really no need to rebond lah! It's already so straight.

Mos: So happy there's a fellow teacher in this thread. Hee...hope your wrist will recover soon.

Sorry for long post!
Shall show the pics we took last night to my FH later.

Yess, Nellie, that's my worry too! I am actually v lazy when it comes to hair maintainence, so usually end up like a mad woman. But then again, still hiao ma, wanna give it a go again after my last try.

Pris, Stacy was from TJC too. So that makes us a trio!

I am also free now. Boss not around!

Wa piang. I was talking to a drug addict just now. So scary man. He was uttering total gibberish and I really didn't know what the heck he wanted me to help him with. And he looked like he's going to lunge at me!

actually there is not much maintenance to do leh. just apply sculpting lotion to it after washing the hair. then leave it to dry on its own. its just like applying leave on conditioner for straight hair.

He left liao.... after mumbling don't know what to himself. Luckily the CISCO guard was on stand by.

Haha, I was told to do the sculpting lotion part but well, u know la, lazy lor. But this time I make a resolution to maintain it well.... haha, need to "ban4 mei3 mei3" liao ;-P

haha.. no wonder they say:
every woman will show their hardworking nature only when the BIG day is coming. any sacrifices will be worth it.

glad that u are fine. *heng ah*

initially, I also wanted to do big curls for my hair...like those jap perms...but when i ask my stylist abt the maintenance pt..he sait must apply sculpting lotion, curl the hair, blar blar...i was like "er..think i stick to my straight hair". M those kind very lazy...take shower, wash face, comb hair and off to work.

Pris - yes, I also fm TJC..near to home mah..

Huiz - my boss on leave today. But she left so many follow-up for me to do...still struggling with my ppt slides...very diff to convert medical terms in Chinese

Ivied - what u say is true..now I m rather hardworking in maintaining shape, face...but think after AD..i boh chap liao. Will turn back to my auntie style..haha

hahaha...me too. The colleagues in office are saying "wah, new hair style, new image...you gals went for image consulting ah (the other gals in my dept also changed hairstyle)"...I think after my AD, they're going to say "why go back to old image?" hahaha...

wah today so chatty!

me on course today and tom so cant log in until i get home..

to ah-mais who wana do somethg abt their hair b4 PS - dun do too drastic stuffs like perm or rebond.. coz MUA will spray lotsa hairspray (majiam like u keep spraying insecticide at lizards) and u will feel heartpain to see ur nicely permed/rebonded hair gone lidat..

i din do anythg to my hair b4 PS. but aft the horrible coiffing of my hair for PS, i went to trim the ends the next day! if u gals like curls for some of the poses, juz let the MUA know and she can do the temp curls for u. tats wat my MUA did..

stacy - my hub oso say u pretty! wah, got concensus views leh.. keke.

pris/nellie - my hair really like lion's mane lah.. prob next mth see how.. met my gfren yday lunchtime and she oso said i siao!, rebond for wat?! waste $.. but really unmanagable now.. bleh.

nellie - i did my rebonding twice at YESS and i seconded ur choice! still $150 regardless hair length? did once at YESS raff pl 4yrs ago and YESS cineleisure 2yrs ago.. let me know if willie is good ya coz those who did a good job for me all jump ship to other salons liao.. =(

mosburger - my hub say u very cute looking! do u know i kept admiring ur flawless complexion?! really envy.......

pris reminds me of one of my schmates.. the 'Say' and looks.. keke.

csi - hope to see u at next outing hor..

tink next outing gotta look for other interesting places liao.. find a Lao Bei-Dei who can take pics at a faster pace.. haha!

sorie all for my lorsoh posting..

I used to be like that...my hair was straight & rebonded in the past but then i got bored. So i "itchy hands" and asked my stylist to perm it on a whim! I agree with Ivy, it's just like applying leave-in conditioner...i find it quite fuss free. Then when your hair is dry, you don't need to comb!

Janf: I where got "say"??? No no...

Huiz & Stacy: Me was in 34/99 back in TJC... the mud-green uniform & Mr. F Tong...remember?

Lydia: You're so lucky to have a chance to live in Japan! My FH & i are going to Japan for our HM next year...so don't think we'll have the priviledge of you showing us around.

Hey Prisc, I was from 13/96.... the very "auspicious" class. Hah, who can ever forget the katek katek F Tong? Heard he is still terrorising the lifes of the folks there now. Well, one of my biggest regret to choose TJ was the uniform. Yicks. But then again, TJ was like "yi jian zhong qing" for me.... so no choice lor ;-P

YESS really sounds good. Looks like I'll make a trip down and make a good investment there before my PS and AD.

I bought some eye gel just now. Hope it'll work to lighten the shade under my eyes.... haizzz..

wow... the thread moves fast within a day!

huiz - i think curl easier to style compared to rebond.
u still have time to change hairstyle b4 ur big day. just try!

ivied - thanks for the great effort! got e pics and ppt.
chicken rice ball stall (hainanese boss) near the red brick house in melaka. got 2 stalls, 1 original, 1 copy-cat.
another recommendation in melaka if u enjoy nyonya food, Restoran Nyonya Makko.
Add: 123, Taman Melaka Raya, Off Jalan Parameswara (Bandar Hilir)
Lunch 1130-1445 Dinner 1800-1730
I try to get name cards from the food stalls if I can, so datz why got e address. ;p

csi - no pb. will seeya in e nxt gathering then. thks for ur webby.
as for the proposal x 4, coz i trying to be difficult lah.
i nv ever thot abt marrying too young. he 4 yrs older.
e 1st time he asked in front of my whole family in my living room, and nobody said a single word but continued watching tv, pretend nv hear him. lol, all waiting for my dad to say smthg, while he sit there n really sweat!

nellie - i see all ur gown fitting pics, i can't wait for it to be my turn too. haa, gals luv all pretty things!

priscillia - hee, thks. i went back sch yest to check on my RT and kids. they told MT tr can give more h/w coz me not around.
they get it from me when i see them nxt wk. thks, i hope my wrist gets better too, things are piling high now that me still on medical leave.
my hair also permed but i also lazy, like nellie, nv twist twist after wash.
now with my hand like that, shower is a torture to me. haa, try to get it done quickly. ;p

janf - ur hair nice nice mah. but i guess only we know it when we wake up that time hor. morning is always bad hair time.
thks thks for e compliments, me get good genes from mama. she married late, now in 60s, but still look like 40+
really must thank her for the good genes for my skin. but when i get out break in T-zone, very obvious one.

stacy - i find u very familiar leh. have we met somewhere before?