Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Haha, I have been staying with my ah por for as long as I exist leh. And she is those kinda that despite being in Sg for 60 odd years, can only converse in her own language. She can understand other dialects, but simply can't speak it ah.

But then hor, I can't really carry on a serious conversation in full hainanese la. Think can tackle 70% only. My dad says the ultimate is to be able to read the Chinese papers in the language... oh spare me man.... hahahah!

Hee...i doubt i can read the Chi papers in Hainanese too though i'm conversant! Looking forward to the dinner later...hope we can recognise each other at Bugis MRT later!
I also got warning to give...i got throat infection so my voice sounds weird!

My FH said so cute...a bunch of ah-mais meeting up for dinner & to chit-chat bout weddings! Btw, my FH is also Hainanese!

CSI -- Happy Happy Birthday!!!

thank god my hubby is teochew so I can skip that. hee.. Cantonese to have live chicken? my my... just the thought only freaks me out.
My mum said she is modern and practical mum, AB can replace everything. *shiok*

ya, i agree. Huiz can speak quite well. so tonight must pick up some from all the ah mais here.

looks like most of u are not feeling so good. We try to keep our food intake small and less heaty stuff. small small portions can already. (anyway we have to keep fit right?)

Haha, think we can form an off key orchestra tonight also. Me and Li Ann coughing away, plus my blocked nose and also Pris' throaty voices... ;-P

Haii, now me having big headahce with my loo. Hubby told me last night that the big pipe in the loo is leaking smelly water. We really don't know if its coz of a crack in the pipe or coz of the upstair neighbour's fault. Just arranged for a plumber to come in to check. Wa piang, I hope it wouldn't be a big prob man. I can't imagine my beautiful loo destroyed by the hacking!

Heh, no worries, steamboat very healthy one. Soup with very little oil. And its warm, so good for the system too!

Ya i agree...steamboat is not heaty so it's a good choice for all of us!

Just to confirm again...we're meeting outside Guardian Pharmacy @ Bugis MRT...7.15pm?

yup. I will be there. So how many of you will be waiting there? Just to be sure so that we do not miss out anyone.

Hello Mais,

Don't have to wait for me at the mrt. Will make my own way there.

Will call either one of you when I reach there.

Will be making my way via MRT...I'll see u gals at Guardian Pharmacy @ Bugis MRT...7.15pm. Since KO at 6pm, will be meeting my sis for a drink before that

wah!, pris is pure pure pure hainanese ah?! lidat her offsprings cfm purest! haha. can ur hub speak the language too?

CSIfan..Happy Birthday to you!

How to make the ball puffy all the time? Blow it lor..keke... like the paper bola bola we used to make when young.

And speaking of chicken, i got chased by a fierce hen before...very territorial...cannot walk past her territory de...will come chasing after me and want to peck me...and she runs very fast somemore. Not joking, it's for real! Actually now that i think back, quite a funny sight. My mum has to accompany me and bring along a ratan...keke.... then the hen pretend pretend and walk away. Then when my mum not looking, came after me again. Tonight must revenge!

Ah mais...as busy as i am...i'm stealing a moment here to show you a link...
http://hk.promo.yahoo.com/movie/superman/Stop_Press_Game/index.html

I had lots of fun playing with it. Enjoy!

4.5 hrs to go and counting down...

I hope I can make my way out of this asylum by 6pm and this is provided that my boss don't MIA this PM. By the time I travel down, I should be able to reach Bugis MRT on time. If not I shall SMS Stacy to inform her la

Wa, Pris, envy u leh. Me used to dream of having a pure hainam ah lao, but well, these kinda things are out of our control isnt it?

Hoho, Li Ann, you are getting nearer to what I have seen on this documentary on Hainanese confectionery. Yah, it is right to blow air into them.... but.................

*gulp*

can imagine wat huiz will tell us tonite abt the balls then..! wait till we finish the steamboat then tell us hor..!

Hi Janf, I did mine in Yishun - Cross Salon. Had been patronising there for 10 years liao. Very good (lasting) except that it's expensive.

oh nellie, i know which one liao coz i stayed in yishun for the past 17yrs! keke. yup, its pricey.. my fren oso did her perm there and lasted quite awhile.. how much was ur rebond? 200+?

Janf & Huiz -- Ya my FH can speak Hainanese...so can i.

Gals my headache is getting worse...don't think i can make it down later. Already on MC at home and thought i had rested well. I wanna make it for the 1st gathering...so sad.

Enjoy the steamboat...take lotsa photos & post here for me to see ok?

errrr..my dear ah mais..did i miss anything????gathering ah??
i dun have computer for the past one week....felt like i lost both limbssss.......

updates: I booked the Regent for 4 Oct 2007 last tues...for those who have booked regent ans still have not decided on the themes...there are some weddings going on this month:

Friday 22 Sep - Tranquility
Saturday 23 Sep - Chinois
Monday 25 Sep - La Dolce Vita
Saturday 30 Sep - Jazz

All themes have, except Dream

hi pris - hope u are feeling betta now..

juz came back from our outing and it was still drizzling when we left.. so full now.. *burp*

tink i shd watch my repeat slot of Ch55 Healing Hands while waiting for my food to digest.. grr..

nice meeting all ah-mais juz now!! =)

hoho, me caught u in time online janf!

Yah, me so full now too. And I boh tai tee went to eat so much chicken just now. Feel like there is a huge furball tickling my throat now. Wonder how I am gonna zzz tonight *bangs head in wall for being greedy*

Ok, we shall plan for another even bigger gathering the next time. We have a free voucher from the dinner today!

hi Stacy,

I call to check and they say have only. Size dunno yet. I think the usual one is like basketball size. Need it only in OCT 06. Will take pic of it n show U.

hi ah mai's

when to this salon at tlk blangah drive for hair cut . they like got promotion for rebonding hair for any length at $88 i think so. any hidden cost or not i dunno. maybe u all can call n check.

Huiz... hehehe.. which hairstyle made u nuah lau? Ey, u sent me PM rite? I cant seem to access it leh... do u mind re-sending it? Paiseh...

Stacy, thanks.. I think I do hv photos of lilies of valley. It's photos of the whole centrepieces i want i.e mixture of roses/hydrangeas etc in green/cream/white.... still searching

I'm glad you ladies enjoyed yourselves... i look forward to the next outing.. hopefully can join in then

Good morning Ah Mais,

It was a great gathering last night. Nice meeting you gals!

Wanted to watch the Healing Hands too but fell asleep b4 that and my TV was on till 1 plus.

I had a shock of my life this morning....

I was forced to wake up at 5am by the noise made by some birds. I thought they were fighting outside my windows so I kept hitting my windows to chase them away but the noise didn't stop.

Feeling something's not right... (I didn't dare to open my curtains to check) I went out to my service balcony to look. Oh my gosh!!! There were hundreds of swallows flying around. So scary!!!

They then rested on the metals bars on the 5th storey of the multi-storey carpark (my block is opp the carpark). A very, very rare sight!

I woke my parents up and they too, had a shocked of their life.

The next thing on my mind was : How am I going to work???!!! There were some birds still hovering around. How am I going to walk to the MRT???

My mum being the brave one (always), offered to accompany me to the MRT. Mum... always the greatest.

By the time I'm ready to leave for work... 80% of the swallows are gone...Suddenly... very weird...

And here I am in the office typing out my morning encounter....

wah piang nellie, u really reached ofc EARLY!!! wat time u k.o? 430pm??

where the swallows come from? scurry coz of rain last nite.. i oso woke middle of nite and hear rain sound.. grr.. why im not zzz-ing at home now..

Hee hee... I knock off at 4pm

No idea where the swallows came from... Mum said must be 'shifting house', half way stopped here for rest.

I wish that I was in bed too... what a cool weather to be tucked under the warm blanket...

nellie - so shiok to k.o at 4PM!!! but why IT job need to start work so early? the IT fellas in my co are lazy bumbs.. wait for them to come in fix prob, we dun need to do anythg liao.. haiz.

stacy - when the deadline for the steamboat voucher?

Cos I need to make sure all the systems are ok before the rest come in to work. we cannot afford to let the 'internal customers' wait. If ganna complain, it'll affect our appraisal and increment. Very stress sometimes.

halow all....

Good morning!

Nice meeting all attended for the gathering. The free voucher is valid for a mth..ending in 4 Oct. Its only applicable for weekdays...so shall we have another gathering, cos i wanna meet those ah mais who couldn't make it this round

Prob we should invest in the following nos : 8960 (cost we consumed yesterday); 3088 (dunno..its written on the free voucher). If heng heng strike the no...can have free meals again...whahaa.

Pris - for the pics, I can only dl this weekend, as I've left my cable at my hse but I'm staying with ma ma now

Bothy - thanks in advance! So ur wed is in Oct, i suppose? Hw's prep?

Misty - erm...lilies of valley + mixture of roses/hydrangeas..er, I don't have leh...*paisay*. Prob u might want to describe to your florist and she what she can propose?

Nellie - that's a strange encounter to start the day. That day, the swallows came to build nest at my cousin's toilet..hahaa. Maybe u should be the lucky one to buy 4D..hehee

Morning ah mais!

Me dyyyyiinnng this morning.... heavy head and the cough is worrssseee. Thinking of taking half day off and hibernate in my new place. But I forgot to bring the keys leh. Thinking of going to the hospital to get it from my ah lao, but sure kanna scolded by him.... but aiyah, heck la.... hahaha!

Misty, me love those with flowers!

Eh Nellie, that is really a strange sight leh.... could be a divine indication that we should buy 4D tomorrow! Stacy, u have the number with u? Me cough till all the numbers drop out of my head liao.... hahaha

Li Ann, hope u are in a better state than me

Hi ah mais!!

Thank you all for your birthday wishes!!

Did you gals have fun last night?

Yesterday was a very busy day...hehs. FH had his 2nd fitting, went to settle my bouquet for PS, do a bit of treatment for hair (before it gets hit by the tons of hairspray), and before we know it, it's evening time liaoz...and that was how I spent my last birthday as a single lady...hahaha. (next year will be married woman liao) :p

Wahaha, Stacy, we great minds think alike! Yes, I shall really go buy 4D with the auspicious numbers later ;-P

Talking about building nests, that day got one pigeon committed kamikaze suicide in my dad's MB loo. It flew in through the vents (my dad removed some panes for better ventilation), hit the wall, died and fell into the corner and rotted there. We thought the smell came from the faulty sewer pipe and even called in the town council folks to check but couldn't find anything wrong. In the end the officer found that the smell came from the rotting creature in the corner! Yiccckss!

Good morning ah mais!
wow, this thread is getting longer and longer.
It was a fun gathering last night. Nice meeting all the ah mais.
So when is our next one ah? Hope to see the rest of the ah mais too. Let me see: Priscilla, Diana, bohty, Misty, CSI..

Hey Nellie, thanks for the ride. And what a great shock u had this morning. What a way to start your day. hee...

And Stacy, hmm.. the numbers looks auspicious. Ok, I shall go try my luck. Hope to have good news tomorrow.

Hi hi CSI. This must be the busiest birthday that u ever had. But it looks fulfilling as u had accomplished so many stuff in one day.

Misty, I was browsing thru Her World (Jun-Aug06) and saw quite a number of pic on hand bouquets. Perhaps you can have some ref there?

hey gals, so all of u are watching healing hands. did anyone catch "I love Samsoon"? I'm glueing to the tv these few days because of this Samsoon lady. She attacts me!

Huiz, take care. don't take half day lar, just take the whole day to rest well and recover completely. Come to think about it, your coarse voice does not sound so bad...

janf, thanks for the info on Carlton. I may ask u more when my date is nearer. hee..

to the gals who had attended the gathering last night, I shall PM u the pic. Wait for it orr...

oh I forgot, Li Ann, u take care too. I hope I don't have to recognise u by your cough the next time round.

Oh gals, I could not send the pic over via PM. Perhaps u can give me your email address and I shall send it to you?

Hi hi Ivy,

Me at work already leh, so no choice have to take half day off (my place here allows half day MC). Ehhh, but I thought my voice was sooo nasal and soo funny.... sounds like some croaking toad... haha!

I am really losing my mind. Forgot to bring my thumbdrive in which I stored the pic so can only send to u gals tonight horrr...

Janf, after talking to your boh lao last night I really gotta hide my face when it comes to speaking Hainanese man. He really no fight! Mine sounds so so plain (no twang) like not a Hainanese speaking the language liddat.... kekeke

ivied - wats ur email addy? so tat i email u my ofc email coz cant access yahoo in ofc.. dumb..

jialat.. huiz's voice muz be more sexy now..! go home rest lah, stay in ofc, brain oso cant work ya.. co dun pay u tat much to slog like mad (tats my analogy)!

juz realised tat nellie's wedding to be held at ACM? its a lovely place.. good for reception style.. nellie not doing traditional sit-down dinner?

stacy - tom u post the hot numbers here again so tat we will rem to buy.. keke.

haha huiz!, told yall b4 his hainanese power one.. but i tink nellie mite got fight wif him.. coz he stayed wif his gran when young and my ILs speaks hainanese+england at home since young so he catch up fast.. he can speak good cantonese too! wat a shame i am..

juz go home rest ya.. ur colls will oso be scared to get affected by u so its a good reason to go home! janf's stoopid analogy again.. =P

ya huiz, janf is right. they will not say thank you to u for staying on to work inspite of your cough. btw janf, my email is [email protected].

nellie's wedding is at ACM? that's cool. That was what I wanted too but my given date was a Fri and ACM does not wish to entertain me. hee...

Haha, janf, ya, me really lao kui in front of him ah.... kekeke. One thing I noticed hor, did he put on a lot of weight after marriage? I remembered seeing him in your wedding pics like not as tua chiak leh.... heehee

haha huiz, PS pics wear black coat mah, tats why dun look tat fatz.. but yup, he did put on abit of weight aft wedding.. now losing weight.. yday he went swimming b4 coming to pick us.. keke.

but hes the big boned kind.. high bone density..