Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hi Priscilla,

Hey, I realised we dun have your details on the table. Maybe you posted before, but I missed it...sorry...dun mind, can let us have it again?

AD:
Solemnisation Venue:
Reception Venue:
BS:
PG:
VG:

Hey ah mais, I was just looking through the archives to the 1st posting...started by Nellie. heehee...it's been 4 mths liao...and look at the amount of archives we have! In 4 months!! hahaha...we've been so active...and we've known each other for 4 mths liaoz.

Okie on ah! I shall eat less during lunch on Mon and save my tummy for a feast in the evening. Yum yum, I love soupy stuff, esp when it is our own Hainanese food

Ah Mais,

I'll see you at the restaurant on Mon!

Huiz and Li Ann should be able to recognise me.

Have a nice weekend!

Huiz / Ivied - Pls keep me posted thru sms if there's any changes. Thanks

Hey ah mais,
Can I ask for your opinions...are Orchids and Calla Lilies considered exotic flowers?

Coz I went to meet the florist just now to decide on the flowers for my hand bouquet for PS...she says no Callas at the moment (coz not season). She suggested I use roses. But I didn't want just roses alone, so she suggested I use orchids as well (normal orchids. Not cymbidium orchids).

So it'll be roses and normal orchids. Then the florist asked me to top up. I was a bit surprised...coz I clarified with BS before that any flower also can. Ok, Cymbidium orchids u ask me to top up, I can understand. But normal orchids? Calla lilies? Then I checked with a fren who's also getting married. She had calla lilies for her PS (different BS), and no need to top up.

So just wanted to be sure if these flowers are considered exotic...

Hey CSI,

Doesn't your BS bao the hand bouquet?

I think Calla should be more exotic than orchids. Orchids rather easy to buy wan leh.

Did the florist show u any pics of roses mixed with orchids? I haven't seen this combi before so really can't imagine how it'll look like.

Hi Huiz,
Yap, the BS bao the hand bouquet...that's why I was surprised when the florist (one of the few that's tied to the BS) asked me to top up...ok, the amt is not much lah, $15. But still...it's the whole "principle" behind it mah...

So anyway, will call BS to clarify again...probably BS doesn't even realise this...

morning all.. so huiz, liann and nellie seen each other b4?!

pris - do come along if u log into this thread again ya..

Thanks for the phone number given on this thread earlier on. I manage to order the two golden ball. Looking up n low for it. Thanks.

Hi bohty,

U new here? U referring to the big ball hainanese pastry? Can share the number and location please?

Wow! Is there going to be a hainanese brides party soon?

Can i join this forum too? I'm kinda new around the forum. My ROM in nov and wedding in 2008. Have started making early preparations.

hi mosburger - we are having a gathering at 7th storey hotel hainanese steamboat next mon, 4sep 730pm. wait at 715pm at bugis mrt empty guardian pharmacy. u leave us details here if u joining us ok?!

ah-mais : pris will be joining us next mon! hv emailed her and she ok-ed..

hihi janf,

thanks for the invitation.

but i'm sorry that i'm not free e coming week due to work committments.
i hope there'll be a round 2 gathering!

anyway, some of my info here:

AD: 2008 date unconfirmed
Solemnisation Venue: ROM office on Nov 22, 3.30pm
Reception Venue: unconfirmed
BS: Z Wedding D'sign
PG: unconfirmed
VG: getting my friends to do the shooting, do my own editing

i like my ROM date though... 11, 22, 33 hee.

started my prep early coz i'm trying to do my own pre-wedding video. not keen to do photo collages. making it mtv style. wat d'ya think of the idea?

Janf - Ok
Crystalz
Stepford
CSI_Fan - No
Li Ann - Ok
LambZzz - No
Misty - she will help us eat at her home!
iViED - Ok
Huiz - Ok
Stacy - Ok
Nellie - Ok
Bendi
Violetcrystal
Diana
Priscilla - Ok

Woohoo, the list is getting longer. We have 7 people now. I will try to reserve places for 10 people. But I am sure the place can accomodate even more of us. So those who wish to join, just come along! The more the merrier

Ok, booking done!

Hi mosburger,

Oh yes, hope to see ya on our next round of gathering
I love your ROM numbers too. So easy to remember and very unique
U must be the only bride with this number

hi everyone...

i remembered to log in! Hee...i'll definitely come for the gathering. It'll be fun to trade tips and share stories! Can add me to your MSN if you want -- [email protected].

Btw, here are my details again --
AD: 29 July 2007
Solemnisation Venue: TBC
Hotel: Holiday Inn Park View
BS: Bridal Concept
PG: TBC
VG: TBC

Yoyo Huiz,

U can call them at 63333550. purvis street. shop number 16. $50 for 2. at least 10 days advance booking.

hey ladies, take some photos during the gathering to share with me ah.

Got a lot of things on my mind lately.... mainly cos i'm so indecisive on everything for the wedding. Things I need to do/decide:

1) Sort out guestlist and get cards printed - Mum's job
2) Decide on flowers/deco for reception - my theme colors are ivory/gold/sage green. Flowers i'm thinking of having are roses/hydrangeas/lilies of valley (dun think that's possible cos they're expensive and not available). However, i've still yet to find photos to pass to the florist cos I'm not actually going to be meeting him face-to-face.
3) Decide on hand bouquets x2 (one for each day). I've already decided on orchids for 2nd day but not sure what i shld use for first day.
4) Hairstyles for morning and night x 2 days = 4 styles!! Again, I know what i want but practically impossible to find photos.
5) Miscellaneous stuff like angbao boxes, corsages, favors etc

Thank goodness i'm dont hv to deal with my own GDL.. hehehe... my mummy and his siblings are sorting it out. phew

Wah Misty, u are really having lots to handle! Your AD is in Dec right? Ok la, it's only Sept now, so there's still time. Btw, is your hubby a Msian such that u are having 2 ADs? One right after the other?

What kind of music are u looking for? I had just come up with a list of 50 or so timeless/oldies songs to play throughout the who dinner with hubby last night. Can share some with u if u need

Wah, Misty...so much things ah...actually, me too!! hahaha...and my AD is in Nov. Shitz, now you really got me panicking...(erm, I think Misty is M'sian...but I may have remembered her earlier posts wrongly lah...

Wow Misty...you sure have a lot on your hands right now! *hugs* Don't fret ok?

What kinda music do you want to play during your dinner? I have some song suggestions as well.

I'm looking forward to the dinner...thanks to Huiz for booking!

Hey, Misty, don't worry. I am sure that with the help of your family and friends, things will fall beautifully into place

Yeah yeah, me also looking forward to the dinner too! I can expect myself to have no mood for work later ;-P

*hyperventilating*... YARRR LOHH... so many things rite?!?!? hehehehe

My FH's the m'sian, I'm s'porean.. but yar.. that's why we're hving 2 receptions.

Huiz! Your song list will be so helpful! Thanks.. *MUUAAARK* I'm thinking of jazzy/oldies. So far, I've shortlisted like 5-6... mainly michael buble's songs. We're doing our first dance to 'save the last dance'.. kekeke... a bit cheeky. My problem is choosing chinese songs... cos 1/3 of my guests are my gran's friends and relatives... so cannot understand english. My knowledge of chinese songs is practically zilch.

For our m'sian dinner, I'm thinking of having songs for the march-ins and then just instrumental music throughout the event while pple are eating... what do you guys think? Will that be ok or too boring? Cos I suspect that pple will be eating and talking among themselves and not paying much attention to the music anyway.

Oh.. and after my post yesterday... I came across this website which has quite a lot of photos for hairstyles: www.hairpedia.com Hope it's helpful

Hi Misty,

Same here! Me hubby is Msian too. So I'm gonna have another dinner in Malacca one week after the one in Sg. Actually I don't care la. I am planning to recycle the songs I used in Sg there, eventhough most of my relatives in Msia (my mum was Msian too) can't understand English. Just listen to the beautiful melody can liao la.... heehee

Okie, later me PM u some of the songs I have alright?

morning gals, lookin fwd to steamboat tonite tho i ate steamboat last nite liao! keke. my songs tat hub compiled for our wedding then..

Songs 1-20 are played thruout the dinner

1) The Look of Love - Diana Krall
2) Dream a Little Dream - Laura Fygi
3) Samba De Verao - Lisa Ono
4) Pretty World - Lisa Ono
5) L-O-V-E - Natalie Cole
6) Glory Of Love - Peter Cetera
7) When I Fall In Love - Nat & Natalie Cole
8) Tonight I Celebrate My Love - Peabo Bryson & Roberta Flack
9) I Love You - Martina McBride
10) I Need You - LeAnn Rimes
11) Breathe - Faith Hill
12) You're The Inspiration - Chicago
13) The Best Of Me - Bryan Adams
14) (Everything I Do) I Do It For You - Bryan Adams
15) Truly Madly Deeply - Savage Garden
16) When You Say Nothing At All - Ronan Keating
17) Endless Love - Lionel Ritchie & Diana Ross
18) The Best Of Me - David Foster & Olivia Newton John
19) Lover's Concerto - Kelly Chan
20) A Long And Lasting Love - Crystal Gayle

Garden Party - Millenium Mix - Mezzoforte (1st dish)
From This Moment - Shania Twain (1st march-in)
I finally found someone - Bryan Adams & Barbara Streisand (2nd march-in)

huiz - u going home aft steamboat?? if yes then can go home tog coz my bo-lao most likely come pick me.. keke.

hi ah mais...morning!

Thanks for all your concerns...am feeling much better...though still got a bit of cough :D

I'm feeling so excited about the dinner this evening.... my hubby teased me if i am going to bring a red rose...keke

Misty - my AD is quite close to yours actually...i'm also fretting over the things that i'm supposed to do but have not. Getting so worried...the to-do-list just gets longer...

Huiz - can share share the music list that you've got too? Quite clueless about this...we had wanted to get a live jazz band but PPR hotel ballroom is too small for that la...so we dropped the idea le.

And oh ya...whats the two golden ball for??

Good morning All ah Mais!

Welcome to the new ah mais!

I'm looking forward to tonight's dinner.... So excited now!!!

Hi Bothy,

Wow, u managed to the big hainanese ball huh? How big huh? Cos' I know Pinz also selling, but not very big. Tot its interesting, cos many of my cousins have not seen it...only saw the pic when i took it when I was @ Hainan island last yr

Mosburger - welcome to the thread...interesting ROM date n time...u muz have queue at the pc to select that timing..hehee...join us for gathering next round.

Misty - your mum must be of great help. Think my mum would be too busy to help me by then...cos she is bz taking care of my nephew :P..

I've got pic of lilies of valley..but don't think its available locally leh...u want pic? I can email you...you've got to check with your florist. About songs, think guest would be too bz with the food and talking among themselves. Sometimes, the wedding is just like a marketplace...can't hear the music...so don't think they are much bothered abt music :P. Esp ours all hainan folks, talk so loud...:P

Pris/Janf/LiAnn/Ivied/Huiz/Nellie - M looking fwd to tonite gathering...but ladies, I just pre-empt 1st hor...my stomach still not well, kena food poisoning last weekend..so will not take much food later.

Hi hi ah mais,

Yah, me like Li Ann is still nursing a cough ah. So u will hear my very off key voice later. Haha.

Oh Li Ann,

The 2 balls (could be even bigger than soccer balls) are these Hainanese pastry that are often used during the traditional wedding. But hor, later tonight I tell u gals what I saw on TV some time ago and that might put u off man....

Hi Janf,

That's a great list u have there! Thanks for sharing! Ya me, going home after the dinner. Eh, so I buay paiseh tompang your car hor? Heehee

huiz - u know wats the price of taking Hep B booster at polyclinic??

aiyah, no need paiseh lah.. we literally are neighbours mah.. keke.

Hi janf,

The screening for Hep B is about $20. The the 3 Hep B doses cost $55. $50 can come from Medisave while the other $5 can be paid in cash. As for booster, it costs about $25 a dose

Heehee, we are indeed siu1 kee2 (neighbours) man!

huiz - i taken Hep B when young but i juz had my medical screening last wk and results showed REACTIVE 11 (ref range > 10)which means my antibody is running out. so juz need to take a single booster jab rite?

thks huiz! theres ready supply of booster at polyclinics or i need to make appt? i dread the tot of q-ing up.. tinking if shd go GP jab anot..

Hi ah mais,
wow, this thread is moving on fast man. I'm very excited about tonight too. My FH is commenting that the whole place will be very rowdy with all the hainan mais chatting so loudly.

The balls that you all are mentioning, is it part of Hainan tradition? what do u do about it? is it necessary and what does it represent? I asked my mum and she replied: "got such thing meh?" *faint*

Hi bohty, do u want to join us tonight?

CSI, *HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO U* (^_^)

ivied - if wana hv the balls (JianDui) is very stressful.. coz gotta ensure tat it stays PongPong when it gets delivered.. tat time i married, hub's side oso wanted and my ma start to sweat liao.. heng hub's gran said replace wif angpow pkt can liao.. if not i wonder how in the world to make sure it stays full of air..

Janf - the ball is for the bride side to give to the groom side?...think nowadays, parents replaced many things wif AB liao...to save the effort..

But then again...tot its quite interesting to capture that in the photo, cos its our hainan tradition n hardly see it nowadays. :P...

yup stacy, its for bride to give to groom if ur groom is hainanese.. if hes not hainanese, then no need to adhere to this law..

we oso modern liao.. for cantonese, supposed to hv live running chicken for GDL one, oso replaced by AP liao.. tell me lah, nowadays where to find running chicken in HDB?! if i ever saw one, tink i will freak out and run away instead coz chicken can run fast than me ah! haha.

btw, hub said tonite we MUZ order chicken rice hor.. cannot miss this out..

Orh...its for the bride to give to groom if groom side is hainanese huh....no wonder mum said during her wedding...they've got the jiandui! Then my one no need lah..cos HB is teochew...

Ya...i also can't imagine running chicken in my hse..not to say running...even life one..i also scared it comes after me!!

Chicken rice huh...ok..I take a bit..cos its oily. Think muz try the chili also

Me trying to find a pic of the Jian Dui but can't find leh. I was talking to my dad about it last night and he too said it has to be kept fresh if not it'll deflate and lose its crispiness. Haha, talking about the air inside, this is what I am gonna tell u gals tonight.... kekekeke...

Huh live chicken ah? Aiyo, scary man. I see their eerie claws and then clucking away I wanna freak out liao.... hehee

Yum yum chicken rice! Ok, I am gonna eat less during lunch later!

CSI, enjoy our day! Happy teh1 jit (birthday)!

wahlau, huiz's hainanese really goodddd!! my hub said he wana see huiz tonite and hear her lingo! haha.

Oh yah Janf,

I am not sure how many booster is needed leh. But can check with the nurses in the poly lor.