Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Huiz - Yes..into clay stuffs...can't post my pic here..got to resize

Nellie - where's ur lovenest? I bot a resale...in Simei

Oh yes, that one have to buy ah. Don't buy then they don't release the house to u. But u have to see how long more of coverage the previous owner have remaining (if they have bought one)and u can just top it up to make it a full year of coverage. Mine was something like this. If they didn't buy then u have to get it for a full year. The coverage is under this AIG....

Hey Stacy,

Share with us your pics when ready okie? Me into my ang pow box now. Hopefully can be done very soon.

Fire insurance muz buy...think must show them cert then HDB give u the flat...

I'm thinkin if I should get the home insurance from AIG.

Huiz - u've got urs?

Stacy - Mine is at Yishun.

Huiz - When did you buy it, during the 1st appt?

I can't remember what I paid for during my 1st appt.

If I didn't buy, then I have to get it within this few days. Argghhh... How long does AIG take to process if I send them a cheque thru mail?

Nellie - I think I bot mine on the day of my 2nd appt...they've got counters at HDB..

Huiz - I'm having a 4rm flat. Should u get any info on hse insurance, keep me informed ya.

Nellie,

I bought mine on the second appointment I think. If I don't remember wrongly I bought it right before seeing the housing officer and everything was done immediately leh...

that's great! I can buy it on that day, no need to make a special trip down to HDB to purchase.

House insurance? What's the difference?

Yes, it surely saves a lot of hassle when u can buy it on the same day. Just get it done before seeing the officer lor. If not he/she will chase you out to get it first. Could be a bit frustrating like that coz we will already so blur then ;-P

Basically fire insurance only cover damages when there is fire and house insurance has a wider coverage to perhaps cover things like break ins etc etc... my hubby was reading it aloud to me that day but I forgot the details liao. I go ask him if he remember and will update u again

Hi Huiz,

wah, u are very fast leh...your AD is in Mar 07, and you're doing ur corsages already, and moving on to AP box next! I must be super slow lorh...hehs. I only completed my cross-stitch ring pillow. hahaha...

The rose ah...I'm not sure if I understand the instructions right...
Row 1: 55ch. <font color="0000ff">(means to do 55 chains, right?)</font> Into 4th ch from hook work 1dc. <font color="0000ff">(erm, what's this? how is a double chain different from 2 normal chains? sorry ah, sounds like a stupid question...hehs)</font> *1ch, miss 2ch, (1dc, 2ch, 1dc) in next st. Repeat from * to the end. Turn. <font color="0000ff">(don't understand this part)</font>...hahaha...so basically, seems like I only understand the 55ch...hahaha.

oops Huiz-lao3 shi1,
realised I made a mistake. Meant to ask "how is a double crochet different from 2 chains". Ok...maybe I should ask the very basics...hahaha. what's a chain?

Hi Corsage,

Hmm, ok chain is the most basic stitch of crochet. This forms the foundation chain. http://www.crochet.org/lessons/lessonr/rd272830.html

DC is referring to double crochet rather than double chain. Here is a link to demo how to make a DC: http://www.crochet.org/lessons/lessonr/rstdc.html

After u have done the 55 chains (chs) u insert the needle into the 4th chain from the needle (the chain on the hook doesn't count) and work your 1st dc. After this dc, *work a ch. Then skip 2 chains on the foundation. On the next chain, work 1 dc, 2 chs, 1 dc all in the same chain*. Repeat the process I have put in between ** all the way to the end.

Heh, hopefully it's clearer for u now.

I think I am could be a bit too ambitious for my ang pow box. I need to go and sketch out my design later. Got chance I show u okie?

ah mais...

Did anyone of you custom-made your wedding band?

I'm totally at a loss now...i'm tasked to design the wedding bands but till now i still haven't come up with nice designs. Anyone know any websites that showcase nice wedding bands?

Can share share?

Li Ann,

Well, I personally feel that crochet is easier compared to knitting. One needle is afterall easier to control than two

If I don't remember wrongly, BenDi had hers custom made? Don't see her here lately. She could provide some good advice

Hi Huiz,

Thanks for explaining!

Hey Li Ann, I also feel that crochet is much easier than knitting. I used to crochet scarf, little pouches...but that was many years back liao (when I was 12?). heehee... When I picked it up last time, it was from observing how others crochet...so now, to the instructions in "words", I find it cheem...hahaha.

Where do you gals go to custom make wedding bands? I still haven't gotten mine, and my AD is in Nov...cham...

Hi CSI,

U r welcome!

I think there is this place called Fairie Inc somewhere in town that custom make wedding bands of a certain theme?

by the way Huiz, where do u usually buy your crochet stuff from? I bought from this place in Tiong Bahru Plaza before, but I'm wondering if there are other places...coz Tiong Bahru a bit out of the way for me...Thanks!

Ok, this weekend I'll try...heehee...

Me ah, me big Spotlight fan ohhh... get most of my stuff there. The other places I very frequently patronise are these neighbourhood craft shops at AMK, Hougang (think the bosses can recognise me liao) and also this Golden Dragon at People's Park Center (opposite Chinatown point)

Tiong Bahru Plaza.... hmm, think I had been there before. Is it this little shop near an escalator and opposite Sakae? I like the balls of DMC threads they sell, but ouch, they are so exp!

Happy crocheting!

yah, yah...that's the Tiong Bahru one...and yes...quite ex...but the DMC ones are so colourful! heehee...tat's why I need to ask if there's other places. haha...

Okie, thanks!

CSI, the thread available in Sg are really rather limited. There's soo much more variety in the West. Can see till eyes go gaga

Weekend's round the corner. U gals have any plans? I am gonna attend my sec sch alumni concert.... woo, haven't seen my teachers for so many years
Just kaypoh, anyone from an all girls' school here?

Am heading to Arab St and Chinatown this Sun to get my materials...

I stole some ideas from the websites and craft books for ring pillow and ang bao box and so going to these places to source for the materials...so excited! I've stopped making hand crafts quite some time ago and so this would be the first time in many years to get my hand dirty again!

CSIFan...keke..today lazy to go for yogalates...
Fairy's Inc is one nice place for custom made wedding bands...the two pretty lady owners are friendly and approachable. It is located in Delphi Orchard...think 4th or 5th floor. Remember to make appt before you head down so that they can attend to you better.

I'm thinking of a design so that i can go back to them to custom make...the lead time is about 2 mths...so i need to give them the designs latest end Sep.

Hi Li Ann,

Happy shopping! I hope to start my ang pow box tomorrow too. Do keep us updated of your progress

Hey Li Ann,
me too! Today lazy to go for yogalates...heehee...instead, I went Chinatown to shop for materials to complete my ring pillow (I completed my cross stitch! yeah!!) and to start on the crocheting. heehee...

Hmm...thanks for the name of the shop ladies.
Just a thought, any idea what's their price range like? Compared to shops like Poh Heng, Lee Hwa...So I dun get a "heart attack" when I visit them. heehee...

Hi Ah Mais,

I had my 1st fitting on sat. Very disappointing cos I didn't lose weight at the correct places.

will be having my wedding bands custom-made at Fairy's Inc too

Wow Nellie, your first fitting is so early. Don't worry ya, there is still some time to go. I am sure things will improve by then. With the preparation stress building up as the time draws near, high chance we all will lose a bit of weight

I hope so... 2nd fitting is in Sept and then PS in Oct.

I've been exercising for more than 2 months, didn't lose any weight on my lower body. The most obvious part which lost weight is my face.

I don't think I could have my dream wedding gown. Have to take the flare bottom type. Sigh

i thought shopping for materials would be easier than the actual making it...but no leh...i walked round and round chinatown people's park center for hours and still quite clueless of what to get...think i am ill-prepared...too many ideas and therefore not knowing what to get in the end...but well...i still manage to get some off-white satin cloth, lace and one whole big bag of sponge...

Now crash-course on the different hand stiches...so that i can get started...actually thinking of embriodery on the satin cloth...but...it seems far more difficult than what i can imagine...sigh...

Went to get some potpourri during lunch earlier...thinking of putting some potpourri inside the ring pillow too...

About Fairy's Inc...think the price is quite reasonable..not the super ex type. Depending on the design and how many diamonds used, price varies from 400 to 1200...

I think i will stick to something more timeless and classic...and definitely not those with diamonds sticking out...i also chor lor...sure gonna knock my stones against everything else...

Nelli...dun lose heart...add oil! add oil! Maybe can try the honey thingie...i'm taking royal jelly honey...jeans got loosen a bit...you try and see how... maybe can also try the yogalates (think the hip twisting exercise really work out your hip and bottom areas)

And coming to that...CSI Fan..paiseh...still owe you a question on Hibernation Diet right? What did you ask huh? oh ok...the way to eat the honey right? For me hor, the honey is already part of some juice so i take it that it still works with adding water...

I'm signing up for pilates tonight with my mum.

Hopefully, more exercise will help cos I think dieting will only help me to lose weight on my upper part. The fats on my lower part are too stubborn!!!

Nellie, it's one cool mum u have

I was not very keen on getting wedding bands with diamonds coz I also feel that I will scratch them in no time. Furthermore, most of the diamonds are so tiny. I don't think it is worth to pay so many hundred bucks more for them. So in the end, being pragmatic, we opted for a simple one from Soo Kee. I like the 3D design of my ring

Li Ann,

I also greedy last time when I was surfing around for ring pillow patterns. Everything also want ;-P. But really lor, need to decide on a patter before u buy the materials then u wouldn't end up buying too much and also things that u ultimately don't need....

I also pulled my mum in for one of my yoga classes. Ha Ha Ha... she needs exercise too...

I like my best friend's wedding bands. She got them from Georg Jensen. It's so expensive to buy there. So, I plan to custom-made at Fairy's Inc with some changes done.

Nellie...very supporting mum you have! It's important to have someone to motivate you in your exercise regime... have fun!

CSIFan...confirmed le. I read the Her World last night and it says that we can vary the way we want to eat the honey...with herbal tea, mix in a smoothie, spread on a toast, etc. But personally i think just eating it in its original form is the best...

Me kinda bored at work today. Holiday mood la. Haha. So I did something "wu liao".

I had gathered all the gown pics I had collected from the net and posted them on Shutterfly. (www.huiz.shutterfly.com). For those who are looking for designs, hopefully this will help.

But u may also realise that the gowns are very similar, with lotsa bows and ribbons. Haha, coz I am a big sucker of these things!

Pilates class will be delayed due to insufficient no. of ppl registered so it'll only commence on 21st Aug. Guess what? My mum joined the choir singing instead... ha ha ha.. now I have to attend the class alone

did I miss out anything? long time never come here and chat.

Oh yah, I got those beautiful photos, so so so so nice, very depress la, i so fat, fat arms!I think my post comes too late..hehee

Halow all,

Hope u gals enjoy the PH...hehee

Just back fm my trip....thread is going fast.

Nellie - I've got the same prob as you...can't seems to loose weight at the bottom..onli makes my face looks slimmer
I'm doing mat exercise to tone on lower pt of body...hopefully can slim down on butts and tights!

Huiz - thanks for gown design. I'm going down to meet Andrew this Sun...update u again

Hi Stacy,

I am also going to meet Andrew on 31 Aug to finalise the package details as well as the AD arrangements. I have some potential location for outdoor shots for his advice too

Huiz,

That's fast...already shortlisted potential venues for outdoor shots....
I'm leaving the outdoor venue for my guy to decide...give him some work to do :P

Hi Stacy,

I chanced upon these venus by chance and thinking that they could be rather unique, quickly made a mental note to bring them up to Andrew for his expert advice

CSIFan... you do yoga right?

My friend tried it out for two weeks and swore by the results! She lost one inch in just two weeks...

What she did was to attend at least three yoga classes...a mixture of combat yoga + hot yoga + yogalates each week....plus sensible eating (no diet wor...just eat enough and avoid too oily stuff)

Very motivated! Am going to start this regime soon...i have 9 days to my gown fitting!

Dear ah mais,

I'm told by my colleague to change my PS date again. This is so frustrating. I had changed once and now again....

I've already planned what I'll do during my block leave and also told my M'sia friend to come during that period. Now I have to 're-schedule' everything.

Hi Nellie,

What happened?? Cool down..

How come your colleague can ask u to change PS date? Just tell ur colleague that photographer fully booked liao...cannot accept changes...hehee...

I felt that as long as u give ur opic ample notice when u are going on leave...they shouldn't be asking you to reschedule things over n over again.