Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Yar lor, Huiz.. my mum's side height still ok.. but then suay suay i take after father's side
kao_frustrated.gif
. My younger brother and younger sis both taller than me. Me oldest 'mei2 bian4 zi3'

huiz - sent..

lucky my ma is tall and my hub's family all tall except my MIL is short (i got pure hainam ILs)..

Hey ah mais,

Show u something I had done....

390786.jpg

Planning to deco my angpow box with it.... heh, hopefully it turns out well.

Errmmm, about 1.5 to 2 weeks? I have more pics at the 2007 Mar bride thread.... can go n see if u r interested la

ah mais...where to get those men shoes with hidden height?

*hope flickers*

I also want to wear heels...to look nicer in gowns.

The two of us like kids... short short de... like the precious moments cartoon...

Huiz - you're really talented!

Li Ann - there's a shop in OUB Centre (can't remember which floor but near the escalator) selling shoes with hidden heels for men.

ah mais...i feeling very happy today!
Closed a deal yesterday and today for shortlisted for the regional project that i was working hard on few weeks back. But that means more to come...will be traveling to 10 countries with client...woo hoo!

Hey janf!

Your bo lao very cute looking leh.... heehee. And u have a ver nice smile!

Li Ann, congrats to u.... eh share your joy leh, buy us dinner la.... just joking la ;-P

Hey all, thanks for the very sweet comments

I love to do craft work so this is a good time for me to keep myself busy making things I like for the big day. It surely brings lotsa joy to see something coming out of nothing, right from scratch. Try it, and I am sure u'll feel very very happy and satisfied too

wah, just 1 morning, and so many posts! hahaha...

I'm also a shortie leh (1.6m only). Both parents also hainam-nangs. My maternal side all short short and plump plump one. Paternal side all tall and slim. Me? I follow my maternal side. haiz...my younger sister & brother take after paternal side. Both taller than me! shucks manz...hahahaha.

hey Misty, where did you buy your shoes from? I need those high heel shoes coz FH is 1.84m....

Hey Huiz, cute bears! You are so talented...

Li Ann, congrats to you! 10 countries! wow...My busy season is just approaching. Going to enjoy and rest as much as I can this weekend...coz next week onwards till mid-Aug will be super super busy....

Li Ann, congrats! happy for you.. all the hard work paid off

CSI, my shoes are actually quite ugly ah... paiseh to even think about it. It's 4/5 inch with thick platform in the front. But my designer suggested that and under the gown cannot tell
. These kind cannot find in classy boutiques hahaha. I bought one pair in lucky plaza and one in city plaza (near paya lebar).

Li Ann, I've also seen another store in international plaza that sells 'hidden elevated' men's shoes (not leaping lizard)... but i cant rem the name le. sorry.

csi - u not short lah. 1.6m is avg sporean ladies height. juz when i tot i at 1.66m oredi tall enuff, my younger sis taller than me! shes 1.72m tall and lanky and my mum is 1.68m! im the shortest at home.. faintz..

huiz - my hub got the typical hainanese look lah.. he speaks like a hainam bei-dei.. the twang very strong.. ha.

misty - when u going back? tom? hv a safe and good trip ya. we will 'see' u again soon..

janf, me flying off later..

all ah mais, take care! i'm moving to new place, so may not hv access to internet for a while. will come back and chat to you ladies as soon as i can

Mistyyy,

Sorry ah, I missed leaving u a farewell message here yesterday coz I left early to attend a briefing. U should still be in the plane at the moment? Have a safe trip and we'll "see" ya here soon!

To all ah mais,

Have a great weekend! I think I am the only one working at the moment!

Hey Misty,
How was your trip back and your moving to the new place?

Btw, did I mention? I like your bird cage veil...how do you make that?

Hey Li Ann,
I went for Yogalates on Sat...oh my gosh! My waist and hips are still aching so much!! Hope I managed to shave off at least 1 cm there...hahaha.

Hullo ah mais,

Anyone who wants to buy ribbons can go to this wholesaler at Arab Street! I chanced upon this heaven yesterday when I went down to get cloth for my angpow box. The ribbons are beautiful and best of all, they are so cheap. I usually buy a meter of satin ribbon (1/4 inch) at 30 - 40 cents a meter. But this place is selling it at a roll of 25 yards for only $1.95! I have the namecard with me. Anyone interested I can email u the info

I am so happy now. I had finished making my first bridesmaid crochet rose wrist corsage (with the ribbon I got from the wholesaler)

Huiz...can email me the ribbon wholesaler contact? I'm going shopping at Arab Street and Chinatown People's Park this Sunday!! Finally...i can start making my own ring pillow and ang bao box! Can't wait! :D

CSI Fan...hey...i was there too on Sat! If you see someone struggling with the poses and messy hair all over her face...thats me! heheh...the ache gets better each time... the first time i had difficulty striding...had to take small pace each time i walked...but after Sat's session...my body is more conditioned le...

And oh, i forgot about the Hibernation Diet thingy..will check it out tonight ya?

Ah mais...have a nice week ahead!

Good morning ah mais!

It's so nice to "see" all of u here in the morning!

Ok here's a pic of my crochet corsage....

391453.jpg

Li Ann and CSI, me sent u the info liao.

Hey Janf,

Your bo lao so young already talk with a hainam twang ah? Does he speak a lot of it at home? Me only speak it with my granny.

Hee, hopefully my crafts are still presentable

huiz - ur crafts are really good lor.. no bluff.. i posted ur link abv so tat the other gals can hv a good look at all the rest of the crafts!

yup, my hub and ILs all speak hainanese at home.. i only understand but cant speak.. of coz wif english as well in between.. ChaPaLang lah!

Hi janf,

Thanks for your compliments

I am try to teach my old man hainanese, but he thinks that it's sooo tough.

Ok, time for me to go chiah bui liao.. enjoy your lunch too gals!

wah Huiz!!! It's soooo nice!! How you do one? Got instruction manual? heehee...it's something different from the usual fabric corsages...really good! u are one talented woman manz...

Hey Li Ann, I thought I was the one who was struggling and messy hair all over...hahaha. esp after the 100+ hip twisting...I found myself a bit off from my original starting position...hahaha...

Good morning ah mais,

Hey does anyone think it is a crazy idea to take my outdoor pics at a condo?? My bo lao's colleague is staying at this The Gardens @ Bishan and we fell in love with the grand European facade. It has this grand grand stairs with a fountain in the middle....

I can't find any good pics la, this is all I can manage to dig out....

http://www.expatchoice.com/property_for_rent/district_19&20/the_gardens@bishan_bldg.jpg
(U'll need to copy and paste the URL to your browser)

I very gian to ask his colleague get approval from the management to allow us in ah.... u think they'll agree?

Hi Huiz,

Thanks for the link to the crochet!

Hmm, i don't think it's a crazy idea...why shd it be?
Condos can be a nice background too...is there a need to get approval from the mgmt of the condo? As long as ur FH's colleague is ok with it, shd be fine right? I mean, if a resident wants to take pics there, they shd allow...I think as long as there's someone who can be liable (the resident) and who can indemnify the condo mgmt of anything...shd be ok right?

Ask the colleague and see what he says lorh...

Kekeke, I am just afraid we might appear to seem like some suaku country bumpkin who hasnt seen a condo b4.... but my hubby has a good suggestion though. Asked me to print out the pic to show the photog for his expert opinion when we meet up with him next week to discuss the package in detail....

oh...no, you won't look sua ku...coz my PG has done shots of couples at their Condo before (he showed me the pics, quite nice lorh, coz it's a different perspective...).
But your FH has a good idea...yap, should print it out and show the PG. Who's ur PS PG btw?

My PG is this guy called Andrew Tay from The Edge. Signed up with him through my BS Silver Lining. Had also just decided to engage him for the AD.... lazy to look around la ;-P.... but he's darn exp man. I will just have to dish out my aunty aunty bargaining skills to slash the price when we meet up!

huiz...i second CSI Fan...not a crazy idea at all..in fact it can be unique and something different from the norm
Also heard that Andrew is a very friendly guy...two of my gal frens had loads of fun with him then

I'm a hainanese BTB. Jst confirmed my wedding in Mar, venue @ M hotel and bridal with Flamingo.

Hui- My studio n outdoor photographer also Andrew...haven't meet up with him for discussion yet thou

welcome stacy to this thread! u pure hainam-mai?! whens ur AD? mayb u wana leave ur details so tat CSI can update into the chart?

AD:
Solemnisation:
Banquet venue:
BS:
AD PG:
AD VG:

let me self-intro. im the old-bird in this thread.. haha. coz my AD was in jan06.. =)

Hi Janf,

Tks! Can seek advise fm you liao..hehee

My updated info

AD: 24 Mar 07
Banquet venue: M Hotel
BS: Flamingo
AD PG: Yew Kwang
AD VG: Not getting

Hi Stacy, good to see you back here again.

<font face="vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>Update on Stacy

Janf - Yes..m pure hainanese...only can understand the language but can't speak well. Went to Hainan island last year, all the relatives speak to me in hainan, I replied in broken hainan (with mixture of mandrain).

Li Ann &amp; CSI - tks for warm welcome...and update of my info...

Hainanese brides, happi with wed preparation

HULLO STACY!!!

We meet here again! I went to the Mar 07 bride thread before coming here and I only get to know that u r a hainam mai now... good good.... we have so many things in common now, even PG is the same.... heee... Me also like u a pure hainanese. Can speak the language coz had been staying with granny since I was born.

I met Andrew before in Aug/Sept last year. Really nice, chatty and friendly guy. Had also engaged him to be my AD PG. Gonna meet him again on 30 Aug to finalise the package.

I MIA-ed today coz was on course la. Another boring one that repeats everything we had known so many times liao

Hi Huiz,

I tried the link u gave on the crochet...wah, so cheem ah...hahaha. Dun understand the instructions worh...hehs...guess I need to refresh my crochet skills manz...

Hi CSI,

Me still working on the roses. Making the 12th one at the moment. U need help at any part just let me know yah? I'll see how I can help u loh

Hi Huiz,

Good loh...can discuss abt hainan custom here. I've yet met up with Andrew..jst saw my gf AD photograph taken by him ...thumbs up! So when we went to our BS, they've gave us a few PS to choose...we see the style and tot we like andrew's style. So prob going for andrew for Indoor n outdoor shoot..will go meet him to finalise on the pkg on of the days.

Wow, u gals really into handicrafts... I tot of using clay to make tiny flowers for wrist crosage for my jie mei..

*huiz - u having so many jie meis*??

Hi Stacy,

Me ah, at the moment I have my own sis and 3 - 4 friends for the day time event. So that means I need about 5 corsages liao (2 flowers for each corsage). Then my mum might want to ask her cousin's daughters to join in the fun too, so I have to make a few more to standby lor. Think need at least 10 sets.

Clay flowers are a great idea too! I am not too sure of this kinda craft, but I suppose it will need a layer of varnish so that it does not break easily or turn soft when it touches water?

Yah, Andrew's works not bad. Saw some pics where he bought a couple to an MRT station and into the train for pics!

Oic...forgot need extra's to stand by...tks!

For my clay, I'm using Jap clay, so no need vanish. It will not soften when touch water.

Hi Stacy,

Hee, ya lor, better to have stand bys. And it'll also be nice if all the gals manning the angpow and signing in counter can wear too. But then these gals might be the same jie meis from the day event

U learnt clay modelling before? Me very lousy at crafts that need to use water, paint and glue one.... me'll make a mess.... haha

Hello Ah Mais!!!

Finally got the date for 2nd appt at HDB!!! Yeah!!!

Check with you all, anyone of you bought a resale flat?