Hainanese Brides, anyone???

CSI Fan... i'm attending the classes at Raffles Place...i injured my right wrist...so i am skipping all the hot yoga classes and now only going for Combat Yoga and Yogalates... hey...may have seen you during class wor...
At first i din think too highly of yogalates...until i started my first lesson last Sun... gosh... within 5 mins of doing the hip twist...i'm already perspiring like mad and my body is still aching from the workout yesterday...should have gone for the yoga combat this evening but my Da Yi Ma came and am giving me cramps now
so ended up surfing internet for ideas on wedding rings...my HTB assigned me the task of designing the rings... hng...take this opp to put in lots of stones!! heheh...

Nellie...maybe i share share what i eat ok? Initially when i first started...i also cannot quite accept not eating carbs at all...so i slowly do it to adjust my appetite... i first skip rice and white bread totally...if i really have to..i will eat Dang Hoon or Bee Hoon, no noodles as it is more starchy compared to the other two. Kway Teow is acceptable too...gradually...from Dang Hoon/Bee Hoon soup, i finish only half of the portion and then gradually skip totally. The key thing is NOT TO STARVE. By skipping carbs and sugar, it doesnt mean you cannot eat till you full. Hence, my diet for the new two weeks consist of:
1. Fish Ball Soup (with either Dang Hoon/Bee Hoon)
2. Fish Slice Soup (same as above)
3. Yong Tau Fu (my fav as there is variety and yet filling esp the tau fu stuff)
4. Steak without fries and without ketchup and all those sweet sweet sauce
4. Any other meat and veg
5. Caesar Salad with chicken, ham, smoked salmon (dressing put one side)
6. Any other stuff without carbs and sugar

Actually you can eat lots of stuff esp the western diet...asian diet tends to be more difficult cos we tend to accompany out meat with rice or noodles.

If you cook at home, you can try cooking chicken soup or veg and meat soup and eat it without rice..if really have to, add in a handful of Dang Hoon again...

It's really not so difficult.

And when you lose the bulks, then you can start to tone up and maintained by doing those exercises.

Actually my diet is a modified version of South Beach Diet...you can read up on it to get a better idea.

Mine i modify it to suit my own need and body. Subseuqently i maintained my weight by making sure that i eat light after each heavy meal... and only take one portion of carbs i.e. rice, noodle each day. i still cannot get use to brown rice ;P And i still try to take Dang Hoon or Bee Hoon more than noodles...

My friend tried my method and lost 10 kgs in 2 months... she is faster cos she exercised with personal trainer's help...she jogged daily for 30 mins... most importantly she did not get all unhealthy lor...she still maintained a good balanced diet of everything during her first two weeks...

wah. now I am also on diet, hopefully can cut more fats, now trying to play badminton daily for 1 hour with hubby and from tonight onward will start to jog like before. I was 72kgs 5 years back. Hope to be a princess on my big day...let's cross our fingers!!

Thanks for all compliments oh, my hubby was a model for his ex company.

can anyone tell me how much is the yoga class? my flabby arms really cannot make it.

Yes, totally agree with Li Ann that bee hoon/tang hoon/yong tau foo are good diet foods. They keep u full minus the starchiness.

From a diabetic point of view, this is something that will keep your blood sugar down as well. I had not been eating mee pok/mee kia/yellow hokkien mee in great quantities for almost 14 years (I'm not kidding. Mee pok I really hadn't eaten for ages. Mee kia sometimes I still take with wanton mee if the stall doesn't offer wanton hor fun. Yellow mee still have la, in small amounts when I eat fried prawn mee.)

Being a diabetic has taught me much about eating, the right kind of food and the right amount. At the very least I have sorta kept my weight in check for now (later I dunno la, with childbirth and all). And my ah lao has been most helpful in giving me the right advise on eating.... thanks to him too!

ya, when I was 17/18years old, then poly that time was about 67kgs. after knowing my hubby, then determine to lose weight cos paiseh to go out with him.

don't have printer, got chance I'll post it up, hoping so much that Marie France will take me as their model, then help me in the drumstick arms and thunder thighs.

Li Ann,
yah, maybe we've seen each other in class leh....hehs.

Wow, the diet is...I've never tried something like that before! Okie. will try the bee hoon / dang hoon diet.

For me ah, I've put on weight since I've started going out with FH (that's 8 years liaoz!) coz he always eat 1.5 portions and I used to eat 1 portion. So usually got to buy 3 bowls of stuff(eg. 1 Hor Fun, 1 fishball noodle and 1 fried rice). Then got 0.5 portion wasted right? So dun want to waste it (sa-yang lah), we will share that remaining portion. End up I eat 1.25 portion and he'll eat 1.75 portion...& I get heavier. BUT he never become heavier!!....

keke....so funny...ya....i used to finish up everything cos dun want to waste...but end up growing fat lor...so now i insist that i stop eating once i feel 70% full. But there's the occassional hi-tea of course.. ;)

all ah mais... Add oil! Add oil! Not just to look pretty pretty on your wedding day but for health reason too!

Ah mais,

Li Ann - Thanks for the menu. Think I'll stick to Stepford's idea, carbs in the day and nothing in the nite. I had fainted on the street b4, simply can't do without carbs.

Huiz, my FH is same as you, an insulin-dependent diabetic. Was detected only few weeks ago. I'm quite pissesd off with him lately. Told him in the 1st place to take less of the sugary stuff and he never listen. Then he starts to lose a lot of weight and always feel tired... Men, they just never listen.

Now I look much more fatter than him. Sian!!! Thanks to him for giving so much stress!

Met 2 contractors today. Again, I'm pissed off by my FH. 1st contractor was introduced by his sis and the 2nd one by my colleague. He showed interest in the discussion with his sis' contractor and not the 2nd one. Since he already made up his mind wanting to use his sis', why bother to tell me to arrange mine? I was so embarrassed just now.

Sometimes, I wonder if i should cancel the whole wedding and break up with him? I can't take it anymore of his 'damned' temper. Felt that he's making use of his 'sickness' to throw all these stupid tantrums.

Haizzz.... men, talk about them really kek tim sometimes. Mine don't pay attention to what I say. That day asked him to buy lean pork, he bought minced pork. Asked him to buy salted black beans he bought black beans. Asked him to buy button mushroom he said I didn't mention!

Yah, losing weight and always feeling tired is a classical symptom of diabetes. Well, he was just diagnosed recently, so perhaps he is still learning to grapple with the new situation. Give time sometime to get used to the new lifestyle that he is "supposed" to follow and hopefully things will be better la.... don't worry la, the light is at the end of the tunnel yah?

Heh gals -- its oni a couple o days tt i din log in n gosh....i cant keep up with e posts man! i c u gals r tokin abt losing weight...m sure gonna take LiAnn's tips....n put my boyfren through it...he needs to lose alot o weight...he more den double my weight n we kinda look strange when we stand side-by-side....sigh....

<font color="0000ff">heh stepford -- my 1st fittin in sep oni....hows ur fittin at Kai? How ur gown looks like? i bet u love it..</font>

Hey ah mais!

Sorry I've been MIA these past few days... real busy. Had my photoshoot yesterday
Thank goodness the weather was great... altho we requested not to go to places that are too hot... i cant bear the heat :P. It was fun fun fun. Cant wait to see the photos... can view the proofs this afternoon!!!

Misty,where did u go for your outdoor? Glad u enjoyed yourself. Your pics will surely turn out very well when u have so much joy in u!

Me headache thinking of where are the good places to go. I love the Tudor style houses at Tudor Court @ Tanglin, but thought the place a bit crampy. Then thought of the Raffles Marina at Tuas but seem to be too far. Then had this siao idea to go to Seletar Airbase for the colonial style houses but I heard they are vacating the tenants to re-develop the place?

Headache headache coz I wanna find some really special place leh....

Men, like women, will have their fair share of tantrums as well and most of the time more scary and stronger reaction than women!

CSIFan...my hips still feeling the sore from the yogalates leh...walking with difficulties now...but my collys thought it was great cos it proved that the exercise is focused at the hips area and want me to demonstrate in office! :S

Misty...must show show your pics once ready!

Huiz...how about Laborador Park? Rochester Park? Villa Bali? I like colonial houses too... have you thought of taking some pics in Msia instead?

wah Li Ann, so powerful ah...yogalates? oohh...hmmm...maybe I shd try that too...but it's only weekends leh. 1 whole week in Raffles Place liao, weekend still come back here...aiyoh..hahaha.

Huiz, I went to Raffles Hotel, Grand Shanghai (need to pay $150 unless you hold banquet there) and the abandoned Asian Village in Sentosa (lots of mosquitos... never seen so many together in my whole life!!). We didnt really go for the greens and beach scene mainly cos I would not enjoy it in the heat
. Wanted to go to IndoChine but they wanted us to pay $500?1?!!? SIAO
kao_scared.gif

For my studio, I had some taken of me in a ballet dress with my pointe shoes... altho I was just posing and the PG didnt ask me to go on pointe. I did do a few pirouettes on tip toes.. kekeke. Then I had one glamorous look with a DIY birdcage veil (think similar to the look the chinese actress zhou xu had in the movie 'perhaps love'). I know not everybody will like it but if anyone of you wants to borrow the head piece for your PS...you just need to ask
. I dont hv photos of it yet.. but it's something like this:
388476.jpg

but with a big tulle flower as a feature instead of crystals

nice nice la. i must jia you for my Big Day too! I wanna go yoga, same la, whole week in the town are(outram), weekend still travel. How much is the course??? Is it expensive? Anyone go Amore for yoga class? like very expensive so I didn't go. Their aerobics classes don't help for flabby bendi la..*sob SoB*

yoga for once a week macam no help leh, i will make myself sweat in the evening then continue to play badminton with hubby for 1 hour.

hey Misty..is that girl you?

Nice! I love that veil idea...think it is so stylish...not many girls can pull it off well...
i thought of getting a dramatic headpiece as well but my HTB gave me such a horrified look i have to give up :D
I just thought it so common for brides to have flowers on their head...hat and veil actually are nice accessories... *Thumbs Up*

Me did think of Labrador also.... and hmm, Rochester and Villa Bali can consider also. Thanks ah mais for the suggestions!

Wa Misty, those ppl really siao ah... go in still muz charge $500. So hoh tann for them! I like Grand Shanghai though. Very retro Shanghainese feel. And I am sure your photos will turn out v unique man!

Thanks for comforting me, HuiZ!

Yeeks!!! I have breakouts!!! so stressed over the reno thingy! Now I don't feel like doing the reno liao cos the amt of money required.

Misty - must show us your pics when they are ready.

I have no idea where to go for my PS either. Wait till the time is nearer then I'll scratch my head. I can't stand heat too when my face is covered with thick makeup.

CSI - you're working in Raffles Place? Me too.

Hi Nellie,

Don't stress, don't stress....do deep slow breathing to relax. Close your eyes, relax the mind, breathe deeply in from the nose, and out slowly from the mouth (with little effort - just part lips to let air out). Then you'll feel less stressed. It worked for me lah. hehs...

Yap, I'm at Raffles Place...Ocean Towers...heehee...that's why I go True Yoga. Same building. Just downstairs only. hahaha.

Li Ann... nope nope.. that's not me hahaha.. i just stole the photo off a website to illustrate my headpiece :P. Actually my FH tot I was crazy too... like i was 'ding ah yi'... but the effect with gown and make up is very different from when i put it on at home hahaha. But hv to be careful not to over-accessorize lor... otherwise will really look like ding ah yi.

Nellie, dont stress dont stress. Tonight go home put clay mask on, lie down and destress. When are you having your PS? Actually I didnt plan in advance... we only decide to go to those places on the day itself :P

CSI - I'm at Singapore Land Tower

Misty - PS is in Oct.

Covering my colleague's evening duties for 2 weeks. He's on reservist. Can only do my mask on weekends but I doubt this weekend I got time. Arrghhh!!!

bendi...if you just want to tone up your arms...actually yoga helps alot cos it involves lots of stretching for the arms..can consider..think trueyoga having some kind of promo...$68 per month for unlimited access...but maybe they need you to sign up for 5 years?? keke..

Nelli...dun panic ah...other than beauty mask...drink plenty of fluids and then sleep early...cos most of the time you are "heaty" inside and thus your body "protesting" by having breakouts.

yep! Nellie...I like Hot Yoga...really worked the sweats out of you! It can get a little stuffy during the process cos of the room temp (but so far true yoga studios are quite well ventilated so wun feel giddy) but you will feel totally refreshed after the session.

The warmer than usual studio helped your muscles to relax and therefore easier to stretch your body. Plus it helps your body to work out faster and you start to perspire and purge the toxins out of your body.

Thats why i like hot yoga!

hi all...update from me! FS master gave us dates to hold our customary already!

AD: 29 July 2007
Venue: Holiday Inn Park View
as for the rest, still TBC...

priscilla is new hainam kid on the block??!

*welcome welcome!*

morning gals.. hv been on MC for the past 2days.. really jialat.. flu, throat pain, fever.. u name it i hv it.. haha.. nowadays really gotta take care of health coz weather's erratic..

TGIF!

Hi Janf....

Hope u r feeling much better now.... weekend is here! Time to enjoy!... but not for me... Sat still have to work.... Siannnn

Hi all ah mais,

I have a question.... but some background first....

My hubby is a Malaysian. He's now staying in our new flat already (me still staying with my folks).
So on our AD, his folks will be coming down to our place. I will also be leaving my parents' place for my own house then (that means using my house as the "in-laws" house).

So now, problem. Makan - buffet. I know most people call for 2x buffet. One at the in-laws and 2nd time is when the bride goes back to her parents' home for tea ceremony and then all eat after that.

My problem is, I don't think there will be many people at my own house. A bit wasted to call for buffet. Of course I will call for one at my parents' place, but then hor, my in-laws how? They will be left out wouldn't they? Is it right to invite them over to my parents' place to eat?? *headache*

hi huiz
this was what happened to my husband's family.. when his sister got married.. not enough relatives.. cuz they didnt come over to the house. so after the bride left for the groom's side, my husband's immediate family; father, mother, my husband, and i .. we just went to some chinese restaurant at the nearby shopping centre and had a nice lunch.

Hi Huiz,

You have the same case as my cousin. Her husband is Malaysian, and only his parents came over. And their home was like the "in-laws home". So after she left her mum's place and went to the "in-laws home", did the necessary customary stuff...and the in-laws followed them back to her mum's place for makan. So I think it's ok...as long as your parents are ok with it too...

Hi kRaZy,

Thanks for sharing
Hmm, but did your sis-in-law return to her parents' place for the tea ceremony? Or did all of u go to eat b4 she returned for the ceremony?

Hey CSI Fan,

I am so glad to hear this from u. My parents ok wan.... chin chye people. So guess now is to ask the oldies and if they are fine, then my headache solved. Heehee....

Thanks again!

Finally its the end of Fri!! Just need to slog for a morning more tomorrow and off I go town to look see wedding shoes. Any good places to recommend? Seen some people getting from Hue. My BS designer said Far East Plaza has a good selection too.

I'm also looking for wedding shoes! I got my white shoes for my WG when I was in HK...but now I need shoes to go with my EG...haiz...and the sale ends this weekend worh....plus FH also needs shoes! we went shopping last Sat for his shoes, but cannot find any nice ones...a lot of "pointy" shaped shoes for men nowadays...

Hue ah...hmmm...Far East Plaza. Okie, will look ard those areas too. heehee...Tangs, Robinsons, Taka &amp; Metro (Paragon) also has lots of shoes. Not sure if the same range or not...hahaha.

By the way ah mais, speaking of shoes, are u gals gonna wear them a few times before e PS to "break the shoe" first?

If wear it for the first time on PS I am afraid it'll "cut the feet" and end up having a miserable time! What more I am planning to buy 3 pairs, one for WG, one for EG and one for CS. And if they are all well seasoned by the time the AD comes, at least there is one less headache.

But then of course, must make sure it don't get too dirty!

huiz
my sis in law did her tea ceremony before she left the house to go to the groom's. so after she left... there was nothing to do except wait for time to pass and for the banquet.

Dear ah mais....

wow, the past 2 weeks just flew by. I'm leaving again on friday.. didnt even get the chance to meet my friends
kao_cry.gif

some updates on me:
as you ladies know, I had my PS.. in general quite please with the results... a lot of mood shots (arty farty type) which we had requested. But we had a lot of shots of me alone compared to couple shots... and my FH's quite peeved at that... hahaha. Think we'll manage to get a good album tho, so happy bout that *grin* (sorry havent uploaded the photos yet... will show you ladies once i've done that)

Our parents met and gone through the list of stuff for GDL. CSI, confirmed I'm not getting si dian jing... only getting 2 gold bangles from my FMIL... according to her, the 2 bangles is hokkien tradition. We're requesting from groom: those traditional face rouge powder for bride, 2 roll of red thread, can pig trotters, 'xi bing', oranges, 2 bottles of wine, ?belnut ('pin1 lang2), red packets for grandmothers and cake to distribute to relatives. Also mentioned pin jin.. but that one is yi si yi si, up to them to pack whatever amt they deem fits.

Also went for lasik for my myopia yesterday... now my vision is around 80% *grin*. I was not allowed to wear contact lens for ard 1 week prior to the procedure.. so have been walking around looking ugly and geeky... but now i can throw the glasses away FOREVER *hooray*!!!!

Huiz, I didnt break in my shoes before the PS and they were fine. However, I do think it's a good idea especially if your shoes are very new and the straps are stiff. Maybe wear them and walk around the house for a bit before the PS

Also, if you ladies are thinking of getting cake to distribute to relatives with the cards after GDL, can check out this shop... i think i'm just going to get my cakes from them. Warning tho.. the cakes are smaller than what they look on the website:

http://www.savouryfare.com/wedding.php

Hey Misty, that's good! almost perfect vision...that's nice...my degree is v high...abt 900...

Well, good that you settled the GDL stuff. Our parents met up too...and FMIL said, they dun follow tradition. Period. Anything my parents want, just tell FH and he'll decide from there. Huh? Where got such things one? Like that how my parents bear to ask for anything? So far, my parents haven't said anything yet lah, but can guess they a bit sad abt the whole thing.

CSI, my degree was very high too... 700 on left, 800 on right. My whole family has thick glasses.. kekeke.

OH.. kinda of difficult for your parents to ask for things hor like that. Did you FMIL mean for your FH to settle everything?

Wa, I think we all can start a geeky thick lenses gal gang too! I just went to get my eyes checked last night and omigosh! It's 600+. But I am not too keen on lasik la.... scared spoil my eyes coz I already had some laser surgery done last time

I also dunno how my GDL talk will turn out. My FMIL are quite akward in front of my dad. Think they a bit scared of him. My dad is the old kinda hainam kor tt don't talk much in front of people. Kinda anti social. Mum still ok.... but these kinda things also need both parents to talk mah.... dunno la.... just hope things turn out well. but then again, these things r not so impt to me la. As long as I enjoy my PS and AD can liao.

And I am soo happy now! Finished making the teddies that I plan to decorate my ang pow box with!