"Guo Da Li (过大礼)" ??

hI cheezz,

so GDL day, you need to bring wat to your new house ?

Our "Mei Po" tell us the bath tub and 'tum pui' bring to new house on Actual day. We r so suprise as most of all frs have their things - bath tub, 'tum pui' etc bring over on GDL day.

Hi. My FH and I are both Christians but think that the Chinese tradition thing is really quite cute and want to follow. He's teochew/cantonese and I am hokkien/cantonese. Am at a loss as to what to do...

hi A lim,

u can actually refer to the posting by Dapimon on the above. Just visit any of the shop she listed. at the shop, the person will be able to tel u wat are the necessary stuff to get for ur GDL.

drop me ur email here. i try to go bk dig the list of items tt is require during the GDL as well as for actual day, n send it to u, ok?

hi kittyhelo
according to my mum is that all things must bring to new hse on the day of GDL..incl tam pui, pail, spitton..except for needle, scissors.

Hi Jasermine

Actually wat we need to do for the Guo Da Li?? need to get relatives come to my hse or juz onli my in-laws?? i'll b having my GDL next month... Need to plan the event & get the stuff soon...

just a qn. On the day of Guo Da Li, the things that we have to bring over to the groom's house like basin, tam pui etc, do we put them into a luggage bag together with the new clothes and bedsheets or separately in another bag?

me & my hubby r ori ROM for a yr & we hv ori stay in our new flat since then. We decide to hv our customary next yr but w/o dinner, so do we still need to hv An chuang? Also, how much pin jin my hubby need to give? can he decide the amt or my parents request? Overall, wat is the estimated amt required for the whole customary? pls advice..thank all!

hi daphne
on the day of GDL, my mum will put all my new set of clothing in a 'toyogo' plastic box and bring over to our new hse.

hi kitty,
as for anchuang and guodali is up to individual belief, so of my frens aso dun hv it.

Hi chezz,

mind to share where u order u wine & the pricing?? or more detail above it. u may email the details to me at [email protected]

I heard tat some place allow u to return those unopen wine back to them... itz true???

hi rachel,
the link is wrong, pls add 's' behind.somehow i was not allow to post the actual link. u search thru, if u need then i can aso give you the toa payoh shop contact

Thanks Chezz,

I'll show my hb & discuss wif him. Didn't u order any red wine?? U mean the shop tat u ordered is diff fr the link?? Which pricing is lower?? I need to cut down on costing..

hi rachel,
yes, i order from toa payoh store, it's at tpy lor 4, each bottle $15..i heard tat starcellar has wine range below $10..when is ur AD?

Anyone here gals side is malaysian? I need help with GDL? At the moment, the both mum has some misunderstanding. I feel so bad.

hi cheezz,
my AD is 30 Sept 06. Like who is involved in the GDL & coordinate it, what's my FH supposed to do or what I'm supposed to do? I'm just confused abt the whole tradition. Not even sure how to go about doing it...our parents have not met.

hi lady
guo da li involve both sides..u look thru previous thread..there are so customs mention..ur parents will know wat to do..bcos that's when they ask for things from your FH. Or is officially ur FH ask for ur hand

Hi, can someone advise me on d customs. im cantonese n my FH is hokkien. but hor his side got no mei po so he coming on his own.. can tat be done?

hi cheezz, cos his relatives all in malaysia lor.. so we also dun know who to find lor.. i sound off to her liao but she never say anything leh... how

hi pooky
as long as ur mum dun mind then shd be ok lor.
actually some ppl aso do w/o meipo..meipo can be anyone..sister, fren aso can..

some questions, we are preparing our AD in 2007, we have some dates in mind already, one is sept and one is in nov.

However for the sept's date, it's actually abt 10days of the lunar 8th month. but from some posting, seems that GDL is about 2 weeks before AD. Hence, if our AD is in sept, our GDL would be during the 7th month... is it ok? if not, if we GDL before the 7th month, which is like one month plus before AD, is it too early?

And also read from other threads that invitation cards can't be send during the 7th month.. Oh my god.. then from the start of the lunar 8th month to AD, we only left 10days to do all these things!!!???

Advices needed!!!
Thanks a million,
taRea

my MIL make me blur, during the ti-qin she told my mother to just request watever we want for our dialect and they will give us..but she say she dunno their own family dialect(hokkein) need wat. so she say they all groom side dun need anything?? got such thing? tot must give groom pants, clothes (in ang pow) and other things?

GDL time, groom bring things to bride house then bride mother pass the groom things to bring back is it? cannot be the bride must bring to groom place wat..nv heard of such thing

Hi schnauzie, what happened at my GDL was that my hubby brought over the stuff. After that, I went back with him together with the stuff I was supposed to bring over, such as the lamps, bedsheets, some of my new clothes etc. Symbolic lah.

hi tarae,

ur GDL can be 3days b4 AD, preferably is 2weeks b4 AD so that u can send out invitation cards at the same time. since u bump into lunar 7th mth, then u hv to send out ur invitation cards real early. . . b4 7th mth..but do u know there are 2x 7th mth tis yr bcos of leap mth?

any idea who we can get advise what we need to prepare for the GDL? think my both side parents not too sure abt all this things....

Hi Cheezz,

Thanks...I know that Jurong west there's a shop selling wedding item - mainly the prayer and if im not wrong,they can give advise too...so maybe will go there too to take a look...

Hi cheezz,

So which shop in chinatown did you go? Im not too sure which area and shop...

So for GDL, other than buying those items, we have to get mattress, angbao, wedding cakes, invitation ready and a little boy to roll on the bed. anything else? no need to invite relative to to our home rite?

<font color="119911">hi jhoo,
u know behind Chinatown CK there is a market? walk around the market or the shophouse there..there are at leat 4~5 stalls selling GDL stuff..er, i thk u still hv sewing kit, tampui,mug,toothbrush,toothpaste,pillows, bolster, bedsheet, paper fan, wooden clogs, si dian jin, pin jin,pajamas, new set of clothing for bride..tat's all i can rem..oh yeah, plus 2 bottles of martell</font>

<font color="119911"> if u incl pinjin &amp; sdj..then is not enuff..but if it is just GDL barang from chinatown..definately enuff and incl wedding cakes</font>

hehe, my MIL will be buying SDJ for me..so no need fork out any cash and can choose diamond and any design i like..as for Pin jin, my mummy wont request that much from hubby..and MIL told my hubby its his responsibility to take care of pin jin, is that true?

<font color="119911">hi jhoo,
i m not sure who shd pays..but my MIL pays for SDL and pinjin..we nvr discuss abt pin jin, my mum keep half of watever my MIL gives lor, as a 'yisi'</font>

maybe out of topic here...sorry if that is so..
Would like to know is it okay if we do not have chinese tea customary, BS phototaking &amp; dinner? Have been ROM since yr 2004, in fact planning for tea customary next yr but now thinking that is troublesome &amp; waste of $ too..rather save the $ for future family planning. Both our parents are alright with this...maybe hb just need give my mum a sum of pin jin. I just wondering anyone of u just ROM w/o all these? any regrets? thks

<font color="119911">hi kitty,
if your parents are ok, then will be ok lor..there is no standard saying must hv dinner, tea ceremony..as for regrets..i belive you definately will wenu grow old..bcos u hv to memories to recap on your wedding</font>

yah, it shd be fine if both ur parents and PIL dun mind..but most impt will both of you regret not going thru the customary as what cheezz said -memory...why not just have a simple one...take ala carte BS, buffet lunch/dinner etc...Bridal car can use own one or friends...think u wont have to spend so much like others or us..haha

<font color="119911">i will say the whole preparation for wedding is a pain, but the actual day event is such a joyous event..my hb aso says so, we both enjoyed our AD so much</font>

Huh, pain? why?

Mi and hubby still fine leh..as he's now studying for his final yr, most of the research will be on me like finding out more &amp; shortlisting the videographer, photographer, hotel, BS, car &amp; even home issue etc etc. and what he do is make a final decision together with me, take some time out to meet those people and of coz i appreciate that alot..overall, its fun for me
...maybe the only pain i can think of is when there's disagreement between the couple, PIL and also hubby bochap?? and thanks god i haven meet that yet and pray i wont..

hi Cheezz &amp; Jhoo,
thank for ur advices...in fact at first we thking of having only BS taking &amp; tea customary with juz buffet. But, now thk of planning to start a family so rather save the $ (ori estimate to be $9K) up for that purpose since our parents dun mind, also me &amp; my hubby dun like taking photo as we do nt great faces or figure..hee..also thking of whether there is a need to buy car..tat y hope to hv more cash in hand...sigh!