Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

jan

Hi Meimei,
I'm d Jan tt started this topic. But I guess d other jan replied u instead. Mine is with d Capital 'J'. Anyway, me too also never sign up w GP Pk Royal.
probably, u may wan to look at thread under 'Views on HIPV' then u will understand y i didn't.
Happy venue sourcing!

adeline

Hi Meimei,
I had mine on a Friday. Requirement was also 25 tables but we told them we dun have so many guests to invite so they allowed us to cut down to only 23 tables.

Actually it wasn't really a minor hiccups, quite serious - we had some muslim guests, but the food they catered was very lousy so we complained to the banquest manager whom apologised with the chinese chef whom had no fault in it. we were quite impressed with their sincerity. Next day, before we checked out, we complained again to the sales manager and he didn't charge us for the muslim food loh - abt 12 pax.

Ballroom decor was okay to me. I didnt have much chance/time to feel the ambience then - chosed my decor based on their photos anyway..based on almost a yr ago - i thot the decor was pretty 'in'...floating candles, fresh flowers along aisle - me okay with it loh
Have u checked with them what are their current decor like?
I felt mine was pretty romantic untill the yam sengs ...hahaha

Yah, the ang baos are a major concern.
If you have no confidence that u r able to recover, then don't choose GP - not worth it .
How much is your package ? 700 odd?
Actualy b4 my dinner, my collegues did ask me how much was my dinner pkg, so i told them it's ard $700/table. Guess what - they gave me a $60 ang bao even thou they 'promised' me that they wont' make me 'lu-gi'.

Hope above info can help u more.
Have fun

meimei

Hi adeline,
Thanks for your useful info. I will be choosing the gold package which is $728 per table on Sundays if I select GP. How much was yours ? Will be going down to take a look at a wedding next week.

adeline

Hi Meimei,
the pleasure is all mine!!

glad i can help in one way or another

I had mine @ $688 - with free 30litres beer + the usual and chose seat covers as the extra options .

lancer

Me just visited GP Pk Royal yesterday. Ambience was good and I find the service staff were all courteous and service-oriented. Did not manage to see their Ballroom deco. Went at a wrong timing

My hubby feels that the ballroom looks small too but I like the place because of the flexibility that the Sales Executive was able to exercise and discussed with. On top of that, GP Pk Royal seems to have more innovative new ideas upcoming for next year.....

Anyone has tasted their food before? I need some other comments from anyone who has had experiences with GP coz they are one of my short-listed hotels in mind temporary....

liz

hi lancer,

check with you who is the sales executive that serve you..
Btw, i also like the place a lot, the food there very nice so you actually can decide to have it there.

siew hong

hi lancer, who was the executive with you? i was there on Sat too

But find that they are quite rigid in their package as she is not willing to negotiate.
She's also quite distracted by the event going on in the courtyard too.

xuerkai

Anyone has used Grand Plaza Parkroyal from Nov 2001 till todate. Kind to give some comment about their sales personnel, service, ballroom and food?

claire

Hi Xuerkai,

Just a few comments....
I had attended a wedding there in Dec last year. Overall, i would say it was good. I personally think the food is tasty and in a big portion.
Service wise, overall, is ok, except i do encounter a waiter who is quite rude though but probably just my luck on that day. i wouldn't rule out the fact that the hotel does not provide good service. know what i mean?

hope this little info helps.

xuerkai

Thanks Claire,

How many tables on that day? Do you find it cramp? Is it on a weekday or weekend?

Mine will be on a weekday. Tentative booking. How do you find the ballroom?

Anyone else have your wedding at this hotel?

claire

Xuerkai,

The wedding was held on a weekend. ballroom wise, i think is is alright, it has a nice oriental touch to it, if you have seen the ballroom, they had those calligraphy paintings on the walls. i guess they had about 35 tables. It is a little cramp though but if you have lesser tables, i think it would be better.

when is your wedding?

claire

xuerkai

My wedding is in January 2003. I hope to limit to 25 tables. I like the candles decor... I have yet to speak to the Sales person.

Y are u in this forum? R u going to be a bride as well? me a bit kpo type :p

lpj

i've met with the salesperson and seen the package. just wondering, any of u managed to squeeze a good bargain out from them, eg. more free beer, better suite, etc?

lpj

Hi xuerkai,

I have yet to confirm with grand plaza. The salesperson that i've met is david. He did not offer me anything more than what's stated in the package.

xuerkai

Ipj, i went down to the ballroom and met up with someone from the operations department.

I asked as to whether i can put 12 in a table if more kids. He told me that they are flexible. But i have not meet up with David, not sure how flexible he is. If you are going for the gold package, they have one experience. I think you can request for two.

I think we have more bargaining power in the year of horse. Lesser wedding, i guess.

siewhong

Hi lpj/xuerkai,
Grand Plaza will be a cosy and nice place to have wedding for abt 25. If you are thinking abt 30 or more, will be quite cramped.

Heard from friend that their bridal suite has got a jacuzzi....so you may find it a plus pt for consideration

Try bargaining for more...think David did give us quite a good deal other than what is stated down.

Best of luck for your hunting

xuerkai

Hi Siew Hong,
Can you tell me what David gave you? I asked for waiver of wine and stout corkage but was rejected. :<

siewhong

Hi Cheer,

Sorry for not replying fast....was busy for the past 2 weeks.
You can email me at [email protected]

xuerkai,
hm....cant remember what he gave me now. but can check. do you mind if i email you the details instead? Me not taking GP, cos i'm looking at more than 30 tables.

asf

I am also a GP taker. Wedding coming on in Dec02. Package wise, guess i had a good squeeze out from them. And a minor correction, there is an outdoor jacuzzi in the Governor Suite and i think indoor jacuzzi in the Presidential Suite. AS for Bridal suite, i think errr....not jacuzzi except for normal bathtub.....

David, spoken to him before, he's the Banquet Sales Manager, squeezed him as much as you can. Earlier person who attended to me was Yvnonne, whom is a Sales Exec, i think, very nice person to talk to.

Sorry, i am using this "ASF" initial in place of "Lancer" because the last password, forgotten already....so for simplicity sake, use ......

liz

Hi ASF,

your wedding is on a wkday or wkend?

wat other extra have you squeeze from David, is he a person that is flexible?

wat package have you taken up?

sorry to ask you so much..

asf

Hi Liz,

My wedding is on weekday,package signed up, i think is Gold. David, over the phone sounded a very friendly and nice person to talk to. Have not met him personally before as what i told you, he is not the actual person that is supposed to co-ordinate for mine wedding. Mine was Yvonne,it just so happened that when i called, he picked up the call.....so i spoke to him directly lor. Furthermore, he is the Banquet sales manager leh....easier for us to negotiate mah!

Extras.....i got from my coordinator are like free white seat covers, (though its one of the experience offered), 6pax food tasting and 30litres of beer. Also, i exchanged my experience that they gave to me for something else too. If you would like to know, probably email me at [email protected]. Easier for us to share....

By the way, how about yours? Have you signed up with them?

cactus

Hi asf,
Just want to check whether u booked yours during a bridal fair or promotion? I've also signed up with Grand Plaza but didnt manage to get any freebies. It was a standard pkg. Between food tasting or 30 litres beer, I chose the latter. As for the experience, it was the white seat covers. Wanted to bargain for an extra nite but she didnt agree to it. In the end, signed up quite reluntantly coz our 1st choice hotel was already taken up. Kind of regretted after signing up with them.

asf

HI cactus,

Mine package was signed up as a walk-in customer. I thot packages signed up could have got you even more freebies? How many tables are you having? I dont really consider mine as freebies? Which package did you sign up for? Honestly, i think for wedding banquets are really standard, not much that we can bargain for.

Dont have to regret lah, i think GP's staff are rather nice lot of people. Imagine, though my "contract" with them already signed, they still allow me to change one of the experience which i originally decided on?? That's nice, isnt it?

By the way, when's your wedding?

cactus

Hi asf,

Like you, I was a walk-in customer &amp; signed up for the Gold Package, minimum 25 tables, somemore a weekend so I'm paying $728 per table. However, coz I chose the 30 litres beer, as a result I'm not entitled to the food tasting. Yvonne wanted me to pay for the food tasting at $72.80 per person! I got very angry after hearing that she offer you both. So I called her up &amp; she denied, claiming that she never offer both beer &amp; food tasting unless the couple signed up during promotion/bridal fair. That's why I wanted to verify with you. Correct me if I am wrong, but it appears to be that you have 2 experiences instead of one, am I rite? Mind sharing with me what they are?
Btw, my wedding is in end May and my 1st choice hotel was actually Marina Mandarin. They offered me a better package with 2N stay &amp; free flow of beer at similar price to Grand Plaza. Unfortunately, the date that I wanted was taken by another couple. My regret is that I didnt book earlier with MM.

asf

Hi cactus,

Not sure whether is it because your package is on a weekend, probably that's why in terms of those exchanges and negotiation, they are rather "tight" towards it??Did you just sign up with GP? Not sure could it be that they have changed their package deal? For my case, though i may have both the beer and food tasting, that's because i did not get the full 10pax food tasting.

Experience that i was given is white seat covers, which i "die-die" fought for it. The other experience i had was for the video montage. Some clarification because she did not allow me to choose all from the listed, she listed 2/3 out of the 5/6 items provided.

There are certain items that i have gave up too, so its not that i am having all the goodies that they can provide. Hope this helps you.

neko

Hi Castus,

I went to the Grand Plaza Bridal Show yesterday. The env is good. Never joined the food tasting part, so no comment on that. BTW, I think the food will taste better during the bridal show as they need to attract their customers. It's just my personal opinion. Anyway, I have talked to Yvonne too. She's nice. She has mentioned to me that I can have 6 pax food tasting free plus 20L beer (the original pkg is either 10 pax food tasting or 30L beer, right?) You can try asking her too. It's attractive.
However, I have discovered that MM's pkg is attractive too. Why didn't you take up MM? I will go down today to see the place. At first I wanted to seriously consider GP, after I has read abt the MM pkg, I want to choose MM too :p
Just want to understand from you, why you didn't choose MM but instead you choose GP?

Neko

cactus

Hi Neko,
My first choice will definitely be MM, however, the date that I wanted was already taken by another couple. So, had no choice but to book with Gland Plaza. May I know when you intend to hold your dinner, my advice to you is to book as early as you can esp if it is a popular date.

neko

Hi Cactus,

I still haven't get the date yet. Still waiting for my mum to ask the date for us. We intend to have the wedding in Sep 2003 (weekday). Will it be popular if it is on a Sep weekday? Heard that Sep is a hot month, but don't know about weekday.

I went to MM bridal show today. No bad. However, the promotion package is valid up to March 2003. The personel told me that if I book Sep2003 now, I won't enjoy any promotion (the incentive is that I'll definitely get the date I want when I book now... err... to me it's not consider as a kind of incentive even though what he said is true.)
I'm still looking for other hotels. The list that I have in mind are Grand Plaza, Merchant Count, MM, Holiday Inn, or maybe Hilton... A long list... very indecisive!
So when's your wedding?
Happy planning!

Neko

doublehappiness

Hi Liz,
Just like to comment on the question you posted on 21 Mar about David. He is my wedding coordinator. So far, I feel that he is a good listener who listens to the needs of the customer. Also, he has been quite flexible in certain perks of the standard packages.

ironmaiden

Hi Cactus,

I know 4 couples who held their wedding dinners at GP and they are all very happy with the entire event. Personally I had attended 2 such weddings there and I like it very much myself.

As for myself, I am choosing between hotel inter-continental and GP. However, based on a few phone call with sales mgr of hotel intercon, it was not very satisfactory. The impression I have was a take-it or leave-it kinda of attitude. On the contrary, David Lim, the sales mgr of GP was very friendly and professional. My hubby and I met up with him to have a initial discussion of the package and we find him to be attentive and flexible. We told him our additional requests and he told us frankly where are the areas he can accommodate and where are the limits, which I find to be fair and reasonable.

So right now, I am quite firm in booking with them,. Just waiting for the date right now...

cactus

Hi Neko,
My wedding is next month. Surprised? I booked Gland Plaza sometime in June last year. That's why I'm advising you to book as early as you can in order to get your first choice hotel. Merchant Court served good food if you can the minimum number of tables required. But the location pales compared to MM &amp; GP. As for Holiday Inn, there are some pillars in the ballroom if you dun mind. Well, happy hunting, I was like you a year before. Once you confirm the venue, it is like a big relief.

Hi Ironmaiden,
I guess the person serving me is different. The impression that I have of Gland Plaza is the take-it or leave-it attitude that you experienced with Hotel Inter-Continental. My coordinator was not flexible at all, she keep on saying that everything is a package. She can't offer me the 2nd nite stay, she can't offer food testing since I chose 30 litres of beer, even the cakes can't be changed to chocolates. So what I had is the standard package there is absolutely nothing to negotiate about. That's why I'm hopping mad when I realised others have two experences while I only have one in my deal. So do be thick-skinned &amp; ask, dun end up like me!

neko

Hi Cactus,

Thanks for your valuable comment. Yes, I'm still at the start of my hunt. But getting a bit tired already since there are some many hotels to choose from. My head is getting bigger and bigger... Haha.
Wow, I thought that you have just booked the package. Can't imagine that you are having your wedding next month. Must be very excited, right? Hey, got to keep pretty for this month. Don't take too much oily food... (sounds like a mum... sorry :p).
Since everything has been fixed for you. I think you should forget about the package issue already. Too late to negotiate. Don't let it affect your mood. Must stay happy!

Wish you have a memorable and joyful wedding!

My Best Regards,
Neko

ironmaiden

Hi Cactus,

I guess that each person's experience will be different. However, as long as the actual day of the banquet runs smoothly, all else is not as impt rite??

So now it is the final countdown. Bet you must be getting more and more excited each day.

Here's wishing you to a very blissful marriage!

Sincerely,
The IronMaiden

cactus

Hi Neko and Ironmaiden,
Thanks for all the well wishes. Excited, I dun feel it at all, rather stressed at this moment trying to finalise the guestlist &amp; sending out the invitation cards. When it is your turn, do start early esp getting the contacts of your friends.
Well Neko, do enjoy the hunting process, i think i went to many many hotel before I settled for GP too. Now I'm going ard hunting for contractors, have not renovate my house yet, just got my keys last month.

asf

Hi Cactus,

Where was your new flat? Your wedding in Jun and you just got your flat? Would you or your new house be in time for your wedding? Not forgetting, after renovation, you still ought to do some touch-up here &amp; there and also packing all your barang-barang.....which would be a lot.,dun underestimate those time that you ought to spend there.....

Share with us your experience with GP once your affair is over. Mine coming up end Nov too! By the way, where did you take your photos? Heehee,kpo lah....

cactus

Hi asf,
My new flat will be in P21. We applied last Sept, so collected out keys in March is considered very fast already. All in all, the whole process only took us 6 months. Of course it won't be ready in time for the wedding. We intend to renovate after the wedding coz both of us very busy now. Anyway, decided to move in at the end of the year when the North East line is up, or else very inconvenient.
My photos are taken at Montage and yours? Should be taking quite soon rite? Will definitely keep you updated after the event.

neko

Hi Cactus,

I have booked my banquet today. I didn't choose GP. I booked with Grand Hyatt. Actually it is not in my list previously, just happened to pop by and find that the ballroom is nice and the price is within our budget

Really relieve that we have settle the major part of the preparation.
I'll take a break first and continue my wedding gown hunting later

Do update us on your wedding. I feel excited for you. Though a bit stressful for you at the moment, it will be a sweet memory for you in the future.

deanee

Has anyone attended a wedding at Grand Plaza Parkroyal ? How did you find the deco and the ballroom ? I am planning 29 tables for my wedding and considering this hotel together with Holiday Inn Park View.

Appreciate any advice from anyone on the above hotels. Did anyone lose a lot of $ from holding a wedding at Grand Plaza ? I find that the price for next year (weekends - $768 nett) is very expensive for a 4 star hotel. Furthermore, it faces the back of Peninsula Plaza (very ugly).

sp

Hi deanee

since you have narrowed down to these 2 hotels, why not see the thread of these 2 hotels and judge for yourself.
Both have their pros and cons, follow your heart and i guess you'll have a decision soon lah. Good wishes.

SP

leetoo

Heard from frens the food and ambience are good. Personally came down to the banquet room to take a look. Quite elegant and grand.

Have personally reserved a slot for next year Nov. But still have not formally booked it yet as still looking around.

starlight

Allo!

I am planning to sign up with GP for Nov03. Did anyone signed or is planning to sign up with them? Can share with us on the package &amp; extras that were given?

starlight

Hi leetoo

I'm planning to sign up with GP for Nov03 too.

Can share what was the package and extras that they had given to you.

Thks in advance

comment

lee

i've attended a wedding in Grand Plaza some time back, if i am not wrong they only hv one ballroom. Grand Ballroom? my comments: the aisle is too short, before the guest could admire the wedding couple, they've reach the stage. food rather big portion but taste so so only. jazz music throughout the dinner but i thought the jazz pace was too fast for the dinner, seems like rushing me to finish the dinner.

starlight

For those who had not seen GP ballroom, both my HTB &amp; myself find it quite nice.

1) High ceiling
2) No pillars
3) Stage will be placed at the centre (everyone can see clearly although i agree that the aisle is shorter compared with others
4) Nice foyer for pre dinner drinks

As for the food, we had not been to any wedding there before, so can't comment.

leetoo

Hi StarLight,

Managed to sign up with Grand Plaza Park loyal for Nov 03 too. It would be quite comprehensive to list down the package offers.

Maybe, should I just ask a question, hv you gotten the Her World magazine promotion as claimed by them?

Rgds,
LeeToo