Grand Hyatt Singapore

Hi Neko, vegetarian food per person is $55nett on top of the per table price. Which means if u have 1 veg pax, u need to pay $648nett(wkday price) + $55nett for that table. I heard that Hotel M is charging even more at $75nett per pax.

I havn't seen the guest book yet. Will request to see one this Sat when im at GH.

Hi SLK, are you feeling better now? What happened to you? Maybe u want to ask whether they be changing the guest book soon?

hi delannie,

thanks for your concern, i was down with severe food poisoning.

ok, will ask abt the guest book

btw, how many veg guests do you have? i also have a few veg guests.

Hi SLK, i think i have abt 3 veg guests. Don't know can get wavier or not! R u trying to get a waiver too? If u suceeded, let me know ok?

hi delannie,

no prob, i will ask abt the veg guest tonite.

btw, do you happen to be a piano teacher? i know of a delannie who is a piano teacher

Heehee SLK, i wish i know how to play piano
Sorry, i not that Delannie. BTW, have u sign the contract?

To all gals, do u consider a kid(1mth -3yrs) as 1 pax? If so, do that mean u only place 9 adults + 1 kid per table?

delannie : can answer your question cos i checked that out. babies like those who cannot feed on banquet food such as a few months old will be free of charge but for kids who can and if you don't have many, what GH can do is to let you have a few tables with 11 sitting ie the kid sits free. of course that is if you don't have many such tables lah. the last time i attended the wedding the couple had about 6 such tables out of a total of 48 so i guess they manage to obtain a waive. let us know when you see the guest book. by the way, grand ballroom has 2 pillars, but not too big ones so not too bad. also i agree with for little things like wedding favours, GH is a bit more flexible. you get to choose when it is nearer to the wedding date. don't worry too much. i sign my contract without all these in but as my friend did mention, wedding is a happy event. i am sure it the request is not too much, the hotel will be a bit more flex. if not it would be very bad publicity for them. my wedding is on a weekend and yes, at grand ballroom, same as you! cheers!

SLK, sorry to hear about your food poisoning. must have been a terrible period for you. do take care. let us know if you manage to get the wavier. tried to do so but failed. also, the veg menu is only 5 course and yes at $55 nett.

hey neko,och and cookiecorgi, how are things on your side? any updates on bridal shops?

Hi Miho, thks for your info. BTW, when there are 10 adults and 1 kid at the table, it is very cramp? The GH tables dun look big like those that i saw at Grand Corpthrone.

hi delannie,

so you are not that delannie i know.... but the delannie from SB

paid up my deposit last nite but we didn't sign the contract cos our dates are not firmed yet. my MIL needs to check with the temple.

anyway, nope, they are not changing the guest book.

hi miho,

i'm ok now, thanks for your concern

nah, didn't manage to get the waiver. agree with you that the veg food is very steep..... not worth it. but no choice lah, cannot ask the veg people to eat meat right :P

to all,

saw the potpurri thingy yest. very nice but i was thinking, if i have this for all the guests, then the whole ballroom will smell of the potpurri. not sure if the smell will be too strong, anyone thought of this point?

my coordinator told me yest that hyatt is doing something to the wedding themes. they are changing them later this year but have not confirmed the changes. she said when they have decided, we can go down and choose again.

and she also mentioned that the deals at this oct's show will not be as good as last year.

hope we all won't lose out to the people signing up at the show

SLK, GH changing themes? good to hear that except don't think it will help much on my side because i will be sticking to standard. $15 per person for theme is just beyond my budget. sigh. not changing the guest book heh, sigh, they should lah, it doesn't look good and in line with their image. who have you been assigned to? mine's lynn, she is nice except i wish she is more flexible. yah, got your point on the smell part. may be too strong. and not many people like it espcially the older folks. they prefer more "solid" stuff like cake. younger generation would prefer the potpurri. good that you got to see the potpurri. me didn't get to see it at all when i sign up. have not decided what to take up for the wedding favours yet. maybe nearer to the date i will.

delainnie, table not big like those at sheraton meant for 12 but it was ok with 11, not too cramp. so need not worry. just that you wouldn't want to have too many such tables because it wouldn't look good i guess. got to balance it out.

wonder why is their bridal show so late. oct! wonder who they will be getting this year. i cannot wait to oct to sign up for my bridal packages. any one of you have good recommendations for bridal shops. my budget is about $4000 to $4500 for full package ie with the car and photography etc all in. do share with me. feel abit alone because my fiance is away overseas and will only be back in the later half of the year so have to search myself. sigh. lucky for you gals, at least i have someone to talk to and to share views etc. cheers!

hi delannie,

actually, my ex-coordinator said that it's ok to put up to 12 pple per table, cos their tables r 6 ft, not 5 ft like normal tables. n if u add pple to each table without increasing the food portion (e.g. if u add 2 kids to a table of 10 adults), they wun charge extra. else it's $55 per additional person.

slk

may i know what is the color of the pot pourri pounch? isit satin with ribbon? how big is it? nice? sorry for so many questions as i booked my wedding banquet last year and they did not come up with the pot pourri wedding favor yet.

i dun think the pot pourri smell will be very strong. i'm thrilled that they come up with other alternatives than the usual chocolates.

hi miho,

$15 per person? I didn't know we have to pay extra for the theme?? The coordinator did not mention abt the charge. Her name is Georgette. Very nice and friendly too. And she's very flexible as well. My future bro-in-law works there, so I am not sure if things I get are becos of him or her flexibility.

Hi Jes,

the color is beige I think. yes, satin with a ribbon (and a flower I think)

SLK, i think the pot purri is pink satin similiar to the one Shangrila is giving. Don't worry abt the smell, not that strong lah! My cousin gave that as a gift too during her wedding. Very lovely gift! I didn't even see anyone leaving their pot purri behind when they left the banquet. For my cousin's pot purri, she actually had their names & wedding date printed on the ribbon. Until now, i am still keeping that pot purri in my FH's car.

hi delannie,

i think it's pinkish beige.... quite a dull pink kinda color right?

hmmm... maybe i'm wrong, didn't really take a good look. sorry.

but i agree with you, it's very nice

I'm back. I have been quite busy with work recently...

SLK, Delannie,Jes,
I think the potpurri is beige, not so much of pink (or do you think they have different color?). Don't worry, I and my FH also think that it is very nice and it smells nice too. I think I smell is acceptable and will not disturb the guests.

SLK,
I think miho is right, my coordinator has mentioned that we need to pay $15 per person (not per table hor) for the theme wedding. I'll stick with the standard one as it is too expensive for me to have extra $150 per table.

I still haven't look at the bridal package. Actually what is the normal rate for package that includes MTM gowns, photography and car rental service?

slk, my info is like the rest of the gals, hyatt's themes r $15 per pax. unless u r toking abt the themes that were offered during last yr's bridal fair when hyatt offered simple themes for free.

delannie, gh's food is prepared by their banquet chef.

neko, packages with mtm gowns, photography n car rental were abt $5k when i was hunting for my gowns.

Hi Och, i heard from my friend that GH actually cater food from outside then bring it into the banquet, i wonder is this true? They said there is no banquet kitchen. Anyway, i chk with my co-ordinator later. Anyone going to GH today?

Hi Neko, mine wedding package is $3+K incl MTM and car renatl too. But mine package is not from those branded shop. It is from Paris De Brides. BTW, i heard alot of negative remark abt that bridal shop after i signed up
My friend's sis also signed up from them but she said that they are really helpful and good. Guess all bridal shops got happy & unhappy customer.

Hi Delannie,
Actually I'm looking for a package that costs about $3K too. Don't worry too much on the bad comment. Since your friend's sis has signed up with them and having good comment on them, I think you should have confidence in what you have chosen too

Hi Och,
Thanks for your info. I think $5K is a bit expensive for me. Maybe I got to look for those not so branded shop already.

Hi gals, i went to see Grand ballroom yest. I really like the setting(std setting + sash on alt seats + framed table no + ribbon to tie the hand towel- im refering to the cloth that u place on the lap).

By the way, anyone is a June 2003 brides?

Hi Neko, i heard that Golden Horse Award Bridal is pretty good and i think it is within your budget too. Maybe, u might want to check it out.

hi Delannie,

i also had a package from Paris de Brides which cost about $3988. Went to process the package in April and also had my gown fitting too. The service is good and they do have imported gowns if you ask.

Would like to compare my package with yours becos i noticed that a lady in another thread is offered a similar package @ $3288, $700 chaeper than mine yesterday....my husband and i are a little upset.

you could compare yours with the following that i copied from that thread a lady by the nick Starfish. it's taken from this section.....SingaporeBrides.com - Discussion Forum For The Singapore Wedding Couples: Marketplace & Exchange Corner: $1,000 Paris Bridal Package Deposit for Transfer @ Discount

I've a very comprehensive $3,288 Bridal Package from Paris Brides for sale. My heart is set on Ted Wu and would like to sell off this package to convince my other half to commit the $5,700 for Ted Wu.

Have put a deposit of $1,000 at Paris and prepared to give a discount (negotiable) for the transfer. If interested, plse e-mail me at [email protected]

Got a good package for $3,288 with lots of extras. Details as follows:

1. MTM Wedding Gown (Rental)*
2. Brand New Evening Gown (Rental)*
*Choice of Paris' French Gowns at no extra
cost
3. Extra Evening Gown/Tea Dress (Rental)
4. MTM Bridal Shoes (To keep)
5. Brand New Groom Suit (2 Pcs)
6. MTM Groom's Pants (To keep)
7. Bridal Make-up (Trial, Studio, Day & Night)
- Trial Make-up can be converted for ROM use
8. Studio Hair Styling (7 different styles)
9. Actual Day Hair Styling (Day & Night)
10. Flowers for Actual Day Hair Styling
11. Hand Bouquets (Studio & Actual Day)
12. Corsages (6 sets)
13. Wedding Car for Actual Day (chauffer driven
& choice of Mercedes E200) & discount of
$200 off package price if car is excluded
14. Wedding Car Decoration & following car
ribbons included
15. Free Usage of 7 costumes/gowns on Studio
Shooting (choice includes traditional gowns
like kimono, kwa, victorian etc. with
styling included see pt 8.)
16. Use of Bridal Veil, Gloves, Jewellery etc.
included
17. 15R Photos x 20pcs in album (choice of 2 pcs
with metallic special effects)
18. Indoor & Outdoor Photography included
19. 5R (20pcs) Duplicated Mini-Album
20. Free 3R Photographs (6 poses X 36 pcs)
21. Table Top with Frame (1 pc)
22. 20"x24" Canvas Potrait with Frame (choice of
special pearl or leather finish)
23. Free rental of Suits (x2) for parents
24. Free rental of gown and suit for ROM (see
pt 7 for make-up)

Package valid till 30 Jun 2006

I've also book a banquet with Grand Hyatt at the Grand Ballroom. Any comments about this room?

My coordinator was eileen until she informed me that she's leaving for further studies. Have not met up with Lavinia the coordinator who will be babysitting our files.... is she nice and flexible?

Thanks for the info about the pot purri, will check it out.

And have anyone seen the basic package done up in the grand Ballroom? am still considering to upgrade to the themes.

Thank You

hi Delannie,
I think the setting that you have described is the theme wedding setting (i.e. $15 per pax). Yes, I agree that it is very nice. Too bad it is out of my budget. So will you be upgrading to theme wedding? By the way, where is Paris de Brides? Thanks for your recommendation.

Hi Bluechin,
Your package is attractive. However, I can't make any decision now (think a bit early for me) also, my FH is out of town.. so don't dare to anyhow commit anything
Hope that you can get a good buyer

Hi Neko & Bluechin,

What i have mentioned just now abt the sash on alt seat etc. . is not the theme wedding setiing. It is just an additional. I managed to neg for a flat rate of $500 to get all the 3 things - sash on alt seat, ribbon on the cloth & famed numbers. Maybe u gals might want to do it. I have a very tight budget too
But i think for $500nett to get all those, seems quite reaonable. Neko, maybe u want to chk it out w your co-ordinator? At least for this additional, u need not pay up to $15/pax, yet it sort of look like a theme...heehee...quite nice leh! Neko, i told my co-ordinator to put the $500nett in my ctt as an option, then i will only decide when the day is near.

Paris bridal is along Tanjong Pagar, underneath a HDB flat. Very near to Amara hotel. Abt the size of 2 shops. Quite big lah. But if you want to book the package, must neg hard and try to get more freebies.

Bluechin, fyi, mine is also a grandballroom. I dun know who is Lavinia, never seen her name before in this tread. Maybe she is new. A few of the gals' co-ordinator is Cythnia. One of the common name u see in this thread. Nice & gentle lady. Quite professional and helpful...hmm..one things abt them is inflexible...not very willing to give more freebies...guess this the GH culture. Is your a wkday or wkend?

BTW, my package is the same as the one u stated above. $3288- most of the things u stated i have it in my package except 15R X 21pcs instead
or 18R x 19pcs. Only 6 costume for studio instead. I think your is a investment package whereby they deduct $100k per year if u delay your wedding. Plus u got a actual day photographer which i dun have. Actually for my case, i am tie to 2 packages($3288 or $3988) whereby i can choose which one i want when i go for my first appointment. I think they allow me to do so b'cos the promotor is very desperate to close my deal as it was a wkday when i sign up at the exhibition. Not much biz for them and i think she wants to meet her sale target so no choice....heeheee.. so easily i get what i requested

Hi gals, anyone heard of Photo langauge photographery? I think the photographer name is Ray. Is he good?

Hi Delannie & Neko,

I think you misunderstood.The package that i mentioned with the details come from a lady by the nick Starfish in another thread. She was charged $3288.

I was upset becos i paid for the package at $3988 and she got it at $3288 despite similar items given. And i'll not be using them for actual day photography.

My banquet at GH is on 20th Nov 2002 (Wed)... we managed to get free sashes on all seats as well. *SMiLeS*

I'm really glad i found this thread and met all of ya here who are discussing about Grand Hyatt Singapore....

As least i'll have an idea how this hotel operates and latest updates as well....Happiness!

Thanks All *SMiLeS*

Hi Delannie,

just noticed the latest letter from Ellen (the executive who's leaving for her studies) that Lavina is the associate director of Catering Sales.....sounds tough to handle...laughs* how to get more deals?

I've not really confirm the other items with them yet as i'll need to meet up with my new coordinator. I'll not be taking up their cards as my FH and i found them too plain.

We also want to change the stage decor etc....will let you know when we have confirmed the details...btw, when is your wedding?

Hi Och,

Was your coordinator elleen too? Is Lavinia assigned to you now? If yes, you met her yet?

How did you managed to get all those beer? sounds like you are an expert....teach me...*SMiLeS

Hi Bluechin, have u signed your contract already? If yes, i think i will be difficult for u to get more freebies. Is sash the only thing u manage to get from GH? How many table u holding? BTW, GH changing card by end if the year. MAybe u want to chk it out? If u dun want the card, remember to ask for something else...heehee then u dun lose out

Who is your co-ordintor at Paris? Have u taken your photo shooting?

I've already signed my contract with Grand Hyatt.... was told by Elleen that i could negotiate for other things when i meet up with Lavinia.

In fact regarding the number frame and the others, i was given the options to have em.... but my FH and i decided to discuss this when the date drawns nearer as we were wondering whether to take up the Themes....

I will probably be having at least 45 tables....could be more.... how about u? and wat did u manage to bargain for?

will probably not be taking up the cards as we have our other ideas.

My coordinator is Carmen....she's very friendly.... will be having my photo shoot in July....Studio fitting in June and had already confirm my actual day gowns (imported from States).... Was very satisfied with everything until i read about Starfish's package, priced lower but seems so similiar. I feel that they are generally good so far.

Have you gone down to process your package yet?

Hi Bluechin and Delannie,
So envy that you all can asked for the saches (+ribbon and frames)(especially bluechin, you can get all saches for free!) I have actually asked (for free saches) before I have signed up the contract, however, my co-ordinator refused to give us

How many tables are you having? Maybe you have more tables that's why you can bargain for more... (but think about it, if I pay $500 for alternate saches, they should be more than happy as the tables that I intend to hold is about 35, which is far less than what Delannie has...,so I'll use less saches mah.. sorry, talking to myself.. heehee)
Bluechin: when did you sign up with GH?
Delannie: Sorry, I have forgotten who is your co-ordinator?

Hmm.. one day I should go down to Paris to take a look at the gowns. Actually, if my FH is not around, can I go to look at it myself? Of course, I don't intend to buy at this moment. Do you think they'll allow me to look at the gown and the packages? I'm just too afraid that they'll force me to pay the deposit... have heard of a lot of scary experience from the forum about paying the deposit...not letting you leave the shop...

Just some crazy thought that comes into my mind. I wonder if our co-ordinators are looking at this thread too. And before we approach them with the questions (or even terms for negotiation) they actually knows that we are going to ask them such questions and prepared a good answer for that?
Hmm... just my crazy thought at night..

Hi Neko, the $500nett quoted for me is based on my 53 tables. U can ask for much lesser if u have 35 tables. Maybe try asking for $300nett for all 35 tables? Mine co-ordinator is Cynthia. Nice lady! U? R u the one that co-ordinator always change? Or Och?

Im not surprised if GH co-ordiantor read this thread...nevermind lah...i personally think they usually try to give what we wants as long as it within their limit. Actually for their service & location, i think GH package is reasonably priced. I think they might revised the package price as i was told that it has been a while since they change the price.

If u want to go Paris to look at grown, be firm ok? I think they hard sell! Maybe u can look for May who is one of the co-ordinator there that i was told is helpful and nice.

Neko, have u found your actual day wedding photographer? Have u heard of Ray Ong From Photolanguage?

Hi Neko,

I signed up with Grand Hyatt in late December i think. I'm having at least 45 tables though not finalised yet...

I also thought of your crazy idea of Grand Hyatt planning how to answer our questions

perhaps if u dun mind waiting, i'll be going for my studio fitting in June. You could come disgused as my friend which i believe you will be my friend then, then again, you are a friend now...Laughs....wat am i talking about? hee!
In this case, they will not promote their packages to you.

*SMiLeS

bluechin, i was temporarily assigned lavinia too. hv been trying v. hard to get her, but she's always busy.

neko, i originally signed up with a non-famous bridal boutique too, thinking it's cheaper. many of these boutiques will promise mtm if u cannot select ur gown. that boutique also has a large collection of imported gowns.
but after getting my rom gowns fr the boutique, i decided to keep only the photography parts. the gowns fr the boutique just dun look rite on me. maybe it's cos i'm bigger-sized than their normal clients, but their alterations just dun look flattering. din like their makeup n flower decor too.
even my hubby, whose the "why can't u just make do" kind of person, encouraged me to switch boutiques. giving up the package costs a lot, but at least i now hv a peace of mind.

delannie, i'm the one whose coordinators keep changing.

HI Bluechin, wow u so late haven't sleep. i thot i was the one who has difficulty sleeping last nite...so u 2 ya

I saw ur msg under another nick rite? Let see what they reply. I think u should be able to get a $200 or $300 deduction if u choose OTR from the local collection but if u choose the imported one i dun think they will deduct $$ as these imported ones are consider as their VIP collection which is more expensive.. BTW, do u have the actual day photographer included in your package? If u dun want, u can deduct abt $100+. Car rental can deduct $200. I have been asking around abt actual day photographer.. heard that Ray Ong is gd....do u know anything abt him?

good morning all,

wow, just missing from the weekend threads and i am missing so much! ;P

anyway, i'm going to ask abt the charging of the themes again cos i was not told.

delannie,

i am either a may or june 2003 bride. not confirmed yet but tentatively, i am a May 08 bride.

my ROM is 1 June 2002 (less than a month away!!). anyway coincidentally meeting me on that day?

och,

i haven't called Lavinia up yet. Pls do let me know when u meet up with her about what kind of a person she is.

Delannie,

was having bad flu...kept tossing around the bed can't sleep so i got up and went online.

I chose the gown under the imported section. It's really sweet and nice. Didn't expect Paris to have such a nice gown....was told it just arrived from the States. It looks really brand new. They even took the time to add on new flowers on the gown for my second fitting.

Will not be using them for my actual day photography. Hope i will be able to get other good deals or deduction.

I've never heard of Ray Ong. Sorrie!

SLK,

Good Morning to ya too!

Hi bluechin,

i hd spoken to Lavinia before when i was complaining about the relatively much higher increase in rate for sat in 2003, as compared to fri/sun/eve of PH. Well she didn't sound very friendly but she is professional.

HI bluechin, i saw it. Let me go home & chk my package, i remeber that they quote me the deduction for actual phtography if i dun want. Will let u know in the evening.

U very luckily that ur timing is so good, can see their new collection
Can u chk for me when u have new imported collection? I would love to see it and select them if possible.

Bluechin,

very likely.. n she sounded like either she's a caucasian, or an indian. i mean she speaks with an accent.

Delannie,

Yah, agree that i was lucky..that gown arrive that morning....and i was there in the afternoon....

It's also good to go earlier at least u have more choices.

Btw, could i switch my ROM gown to an extra evening gown as i didn't utilize their ROM gown?

Thanks for checking it out for me regarding the actual day photography matter.

Delannie,

Just called Paris.... The amt to be deducted for no actual day photography is $120.

Hope you will be able to let me know wat they quote u so i would bargain with em when i see them again.

HI Bluechin, does your package include tea dress- as mine include a tea dress?

Im not sure whether can change to evening dress for your ROM dress.

Hi Ram & Bluechin, do u think u can request for a change of co-ordinator if u don't feel comfortable with the Lavinia?