Grand Hyatt Singapore

I was told by one of the wedding coordinators that this is just a showcase of their setup & it's not a promotion and there'll be no freebies at all! So, I didn't sign up for the show case.

Heard that the next Bridal Show will be sometime in July @005. Really like the Black Theme. Hope there is some perks then and hopefully i can get the date i want then

Hi Seval,

I signed up on the mini wedding showcase. And get those freebies. Not sure why the wedding coordinator told you no freebies

Hi Lindy,

The wedding that your sis attended at Hyatt is it at Grand Ballroom? Am looking forward to meet Andy to discuss more things with him next week

Jamie

Dear Jamie,

That's why I was quite displeased. I questioned her after I found out and she just said that she'll extend the perks offered to me as well. But why did she tell me there is no promotion in the first place?! Maybe she is not interested to do my business. Anyway, it's ok, I'm going to take another hotel.

Hi Seval,

maybe u wanna get another coordinator. I heard that Andy is very good. I'm having him as my coordinator as well.

If u seriously considering another hotel, maybe u wanna try conrad. Conrad having weekday promotion until 2nd sept 2005. $676+++ for pax of 12 per table. If u r interested, call conrad asap cos I heard many dates taken up.

I'm actually considering conrad but find the ballroom too small compare to hyatt Grand ballroom.

Jamie

No. Conrad is a hotel I condemn. I had very bad experience with them. Almost sign up with them but things turn rather ugly. It was so bad tt I lodged an official complaint. I'm glad that you didn't have them. Better off with Hyatt.

I'm looking at another hotel which I'm in the mist of nego on the details. I was just a bit unhappy tt the coordinator lied about the promotion.

I think the service standards in S'pore is generally still very poor, even in the top hotels, which is really sad.

Hi Seval,

sad to hear about all ur unpleasant experiences. If u r not in a rush, Juz spend more time in searching
I believe u can get one that is right for u

Jamie

I am considering Grant Hyatt for my wedding dinner in June 2005. Can any Ex- Hyatt Brides enlighten me if Magnolia Vanda is a bit too open concept for wedding dinner? Will my march in be so openly seen by the guests? There's basically no doors to the room.. Will it be suitable? Pls give me yr comments. Thanks so much

Dear Jamie,

I've put all the unhappy incidents behind me already. I'll be having my dream place, just spending more money. Thanks!

I'm not very sure about Magnolai Vanda is which ballroom... hee hee seems too many balrooms until confuse... hmmm... is it the venue for the mini wedding show on 4th dec?

Hi Seval,

Happy for u
So where is your AD venue?

Jamie

Michelle

Is the Magnolia Vanda room the one where its the only ballroom on that floor and its open concept? For privacy, curtains are let down to shelter the room from prying eyes outside?

When I saw the wedding set-up with the black theme at Grand Hyatt in Sept, I saw a huge room with such an open concept. Very nice!

Hi Skybebe,

if that is the ballroom venue for the mini wedding show on 4th Dec, then I think overall is nice except for the pillars

Jamie

Btw Skybebe,

wat are the perks u got from Andy? Any free barrel of beers? Sashes for alternate chairs? how many % for complimentary car passes & invitation cards? Free upgrade for VIP centre piece?

Jamie

Hi Jamie

I got the standard perks as stated in their normal package.

Did you manage to negotiate for any extras?
What could you upgrade your VIP centrepiece to? I didn't know.....

And alternate sashes is for your guests' tables or the VIP tables?

Hi LuckyStar

You could call the general line for wedding enquiries and look for Andy at 6416 7063. Hope this helps!
All the best with your preparations!

Hi skybebe,

I got extra perks like free food tasting, a barrel of beer, deluxe room for helpers. This is apllicable to couples who signed up on 4th Dec wedding show

Suppose to meet Andy today but he is on MC. Will meet him up next week
This will be our first meeting with him
Will see wat he can give me

Alternate sashes is for guest table. That is wat Marilyn got. She also mention she got free upgrade for centrepiece as well... hee hee.

Jamie

Hi Jamie

How many tables did you book with Grand Hyatt? I only have abt 16-18 tables.

I don't have those perks............

I wonder what kind of upgrade there are for the centrepiece?

Maybe I should ask Andy...........
But maybe its cos my no. of tables are not that many.

Which ballroom are you taking, Jamie?

Have fun meeting up with Andy next week!
Have you placed your deposit? I have paid my deposit already.

hi skybebe, for 16-18 tables, which room were you given?
is urs going to be on weekday or weekend?
do they only cater for 16-18 tables for weekday?
sorry for asking so many questions....

Hi LuckyStar

No probs. I wanted Hibiscus Room but gotta pay surcharge cos for the no. of tables, I only can use Camellia Room. I'm having a weekday dinner.

Hi Skybebe,

I'm using the Grand Ballroom and 35 tables. Hibiscus is nice too but too small for 35 tables. I think it is juz nice for the no. of tables u have. very cosy feel.

Jamie

Hi skybebe...
thks for the info...
additional qn.. can share how much surcharge to pay?? weekday also have surcharge? thought they might waive off that...

Yup, weekday also surcharge, as long as you don't make the min. tables for that room. Initially, the surcharge is $1000 but we managed to negotiate to $500.....but I heard someone post before that they didn't have to pay a surcharge....but my HTB said its only right we should pay. I guess its for the fact that the min. tables required for the Hibiscus Rm and our required tables is too big a difference so they won't be able to waive the surcharge?

HI Ladies.....

Im also a Hyatt bride....juz to chk if anyone can brief me more about the Hibiscus Rm? And anyone saw their "Black" theme? Got any pics of the room to share?

Hi ........

What would you like to know abt the Hibiscus Room? Have you seen the wedding set-up at that room? If not, perhaps you wanna arrange for a day to look at the set-ups when they have a wedding there.

All the best!

Hi Skybebe - Thanks! Ive not seen the wedding set up yet. The last time I went is the Her World Bridal Show but didnt get to see their "black" theme. Hmmm....guess I will chk with them any black theme wedding coming up. Will go down & chk. Btw, any idea if they have yam paste with ginko nuts for their desserts? Coz the menu they showed me dun have.

Hi.........

I've seen the Black theme wedding set-up before and its very unusual but I remember reading previous posts that it can make the room look v dark so it dpds on your room lighting level and the colour of the walls.

I'm not sure if they have yam paste (yum! yum!) with gingko nuts but can ask them. I get the feeling Grand Hyatt tries their best to acede to your requests.

I had seen the new black theme for next year with square table rather then the normal round one. Very unique. Seen it on 4th Dec mini wedding show case. Get your coordinator to inform in when there is wedding for black theme going on.

Jamie

My wedding is this Sat (18th Dec) and we will be having a black theme (+gold organza + bright red roses). It will be at the Sir Stamford Room (mezzanine level), not as dark as the other ballrooms - welcome to come take a look, but please be early, cos the wedding starts at 7pm. Cheers!

Got Yam Paste! Good....I will ask them again.

Bigtoes - I juz happen to call my coordiantor to ask when I can view the actual set up....he suggested me to go this Sat evening....I think it must be yours....but he told us to come only at 6.30pm coz in the afternoon they have another cooperate function at the same room.

Hey .....Fat,

Yah, i suppose it is my wedding! The black theme is still not too common, was told by my coordinator that mine will be the 7th one Hyatt is doing this year!
My guests will arrive from 7pm (reminding everyone to come on time), so 6.30-7pm should be fine!

I've seen the black theme wedding during my food tasting. Well, personally i find it very classy and very unique.

But then for some, they might find it a bit gothic, mysterious and solemn cos the whole place really look very dark. Also, because the whole place look so dark, it does not give people a wedding feeling.

It's definately a no-no if your parents/parents-in-law and relatives are those very conservative kind.

Bigtoes,
Congrats and may you have a wonderful ceremony and a blissful marriage!

Hey Karen, Jamie & Marilyn, thanks for ur well wishes!

Yah, was initially worried that the set up will be abit dark..brought my parents to look at one in Oct & they were ok with it (they are usually quite fussy)...would definitely be something unique, esp. for those attending so many weddings in Dec (my parents have 4 weddings - 17th, 18th (ours), 19th, 20th - in a row!)
Anyway, should turn out ok - the table flower display will stay on the entire night, plus we got some shimmery snow flake decorations to scatter on all the tables! Fingers crossed!

Help .. Help.. Anyone has any idea whether Hyatt wedding package is transferable?? Will the 2K deposit be forfeited if I will decide not to hold my wedding??

HI Jamie and SkyBebe,
thanks for yr comments. Magnolia Vanda is the one with huge thick pillars, with no doors at all... very open concept. Are there curtains let down to shelter the room? I am considering if wedding in Magnolia Vanda is suitable. Afraid no doors.. very strange to me..

Ribena,
what is yr initial wedding date? Which room is it that u book?

Hello Michelle,

Am not too sure but I think Magnolia Vanda has partitition walls. There will also be an entrance for the bride to march in but in a L-shape manner. Perhaps you can check with the coordinators there to confirm.

hi... i intend to hold my wedding dinner in hyatt after readin all the good comments. my mum recently attended a wd there & commented the food portion is big & good. howerver i'm onli holding my dinner prob at the end of 2006. may i know how early i shd book the place? & skybebe, can i hv the contact of yr bossa nova/ blues band at yr wedding?

Hi Zen,

I think u shld call the coordinator to check with them. I'm not sure if the 2006 package & price is out or not. Heard many good feedbacks about Andy as coordinator. He will be my coordinator too. Am meeting him next week. U might wan to call Hyatt direct line and ask for him or any coordinator to check.

Jamie

thanx jamie! btw, wat theme is yr wd jamie? i casually mention the black theme to my bf & he got freak out! ask me whether i noe wat black means & says its for funeral. to think tat he always agree wif me tat we want something not too common.

Hi Zen,

have not choose my theme yet. Juz book 2 weeks back. Actuali, black theme is very classy & unique but juz that some parents & relatives might not be able to accept. I will love to have the black theme too. But had given up the idea
Have u call Andy? Btw, he is always busy... hee hee

Jamie

ic Zen,

u stil shopping around for hotel or confirm is Grand Hyatt alrdy? For myself, Grand Hyatt is the first venue i consider. I simply love their Grand Ballroom

Jamie

jamie, i still considering lor... cos i've always wanted to hv a garden wedding. but if hv garden wedding, veri ex leh. rental of venue($2000-3000) for burkill hall plus catering, setup,..... & most prob make a loss one cos usually ppl will not give such a big ang pow.

Just to let you girls know, but I found out from a friend in the construction industry, that Scott SC will be pulled down next year to be rebuild, not sure if the noise factor can pose a problem. I had mine booked on the 8th Oct 05 at the Grand Ballroom.