Grand Hyatt Singapore

Just emailed my coordinator... there is going to be a mini show on 4 dec. If you confm 2005 banquet on that day, there will be some perks ie beer/ fd tasting/ extra 1 nite....

Hi Fong,

thanks for the info. But I thought the wedding packages already include 2 nitz stay? I shld be going cos am considering Hyatt for my 2005 customary.

Jamie

Hi Jamie

i quote fr his email '1 x Night stay in our luxurious deluxe room'.. not very sure wat it means.. dunno if it means upgrade???... hyatt quite hot leh.. so fast fast bk...

Hi fong

I think the "Luxurious deluxe room" is a better room than their basic room and not the bridal suite that GH offers for 2 nights' stay as part of the banquet package.

Hi Skybebe,

so meaning to say that the bridal suite is still better? Do u know how the bridal suite look like & What does it comprises of?

jamie

Hi Jamie

Have you met your coordinator? Can ask them to show you the bridal suite at your next meeting.

The bridal suite is nice but smaller than other bridal suites like the one I've seen in Conrad. In Grand Hyatt's bridal suite, there's a separate dining room, a living room (both are rather small), a bedroom and a bathroom. What is unique is they have another toilet near to the door to the suite so that guests to your suite can use the toilet w/o entering your pte space, the bedroom. I thought that was really well though of! =O)

Hi Skybebe,

haven meet anyone yet... my hubby too busy
Anyway, will be attending sat mini wedding showcase and most likely book on that day if everything is good

Yea, I like the idea of 2 nitz stay

Jamie

Anyone had a garden wedding b4 ? How isit ?
Do anyone also noe does Hyatt provide projector & etc for montage ??

Hi Jamie

I've looked at it again and realised they are offering 2 nites for the imperial banquet on weekdays and their grand banquet on weekends but for the garden wedding, its only 1-nite stay - sorry abt the mistake. Don't know why the difference in garden and banquet wedding??

I don't think Hyatt will provide the projector. Tried to borrow from them but they said they don't have and need to rent it from AV company.

My general feedback is Hyatt can be quite stingy with certain thing. Food wise also headarche. Tried to change some of the food item but was told have to top up. Strange, sometime we choose a cheaper food they did not reduce the price. I wonder.

Hopefully my wedding will be ok.

am thinking of a venue with both garden/pool (for solemnization) and indoor (for lunch/dinner). Would Hyatt be a good venue?

Hey - GingerCoke - we did the wedding solemnisation one Sat evening in Dec 2003 at the Garden - private affair, with just the immediate family. Its quite romantic, plus it didnt rain *phew* thou it was really windy. You might want to consider the Garden, but weather permitting.
The AD is also this month in the SSR room. We are using the black linen theme

We are getting the projector rental FOC, so maybe u can just try your luck. Typical stay is 2 nites in the bridal suite, but we opted out from the wedding invites & got one more night extra.

Hi Jamie

Yup, garden wedding is buffet menu. But you could have buffets too indoors at any of the banquet halls.

Hi Lindy

I'm doing my solemnisation at the garden (with close family and friends) and then followed by dinner indoors. Wanted a garden wedding initially but not sure about the weather and whether it'll be cool enough and the seating is segmented into 4 areas, so in the end, chose indoors instead............ =P

Hi skybebe,

Did you have to book the garden? Me thought of doing like you too but did not want to spend too much $$ just to secure the garden venue.

Hi Karen

I don't need any set up for the garden so asking just to use the space and asking Grand Hyatt if I can have it for free. Can ask your coordinator. Usually they charge you cos there's set-up of chairs, deco, etc.

When's your AD? Mine is 30 June 2005.

Hi skybebe,
Mine's on 5th Dec way after yours...

Helping my auntie find people to participate in this, anybody interested?

LOOKING FOR FOCUS GROUP PARTICIPANTS
(for one evening next week 7th or 10th Dec)
Working females 25 -35 yrs old.
Buy Heinz or Ayam Brand Baked Beans at least twice a month.
Not in marketing/related food industry.
Dinner and token of appreciation provided.

Please PM me with contact number and particulars (name,age).

Hi Skybebe,
thanks for the info, i only hv about 120-150 guests. but made appt to see Andy tom anyway...i hope yours will be beautiful!

hi gingercoke,
the pillars will block the stage view of some guests, they put in video/TV monitors to compensate.

Hi gingercoke

I've peeped into the Camellia room wedding set-up before and thot it was really beautiful!! When I first saw Camellia room, it was bare and I didn't like it for my wedding dinner but when I saw the set-up, I thot it was really beautiful! However, I'm having my banquet at Hibiscus Room cos I hope to have some dancing at my dinner and need more space but if I didn't plan on dancing at my wedding, I'll have no regrets with Camellia room.

Hi Lindy

Have fun at the appointment with Andy. I found it useful to ask him when there are weddings at Grand Hyatt and I'll take a look at their set-ups cos it helps me visualise better and I can make a better decision.

Anyway, Grand Hyatt was only the 2nd venue I looked at and decided on it straightaway cos I organised an office function at Grand Hyatt several years ago and was impressed with their food and service. So I'm biased......

Hi Lindy

How was your appointment with Andy?

Hi Karen

If I remember to come back here after my wedding in June next year, I'll leave comments about my wedding at Grand Hyatt....

anyone heard of Lewis or has lewis as their co-ordinator? i went to hyatt mini wedding show today. Called Andy yesterday to fix appointment but he said he is alrdy fully booked today for the wedding show. However, he told us that it is ok that other coordinator serve us and we stil can have him as our coordinator.

We signed up with lewis. Is there any comments about him? We requested sash for alternate chairs for normal tables. But he told us that lately, hyatt had decided to stop using sashes for normal table and it dun look good with too many sashes. BTW, anyone here get a free barrel of beer? He seems inflexible about everything that we request even by changing the perks to other things... any comments? Shld I stil insist Andy as coordinator?

xoxo

hi everyone!
finally went to Grand Hyatt yesterday.although i made appt with Andy, he was tied up with another couple so Lewis attended to me, sweet guy as well, comes across to me as an honest direct guy. I wouldnt mind to work with him if i do decide on GH.
Honestly, my fiance and i didnt really like th camelia room,duno why leh,mayb coz of low ceiling? but we are definitely considerin the garden as long as the dinner buffet menu and is good and the food quality is thumbs up and of coz if our family is cool with it! coz i think the gardens really saves us lots of hassle in terms of decorations,etc...hahahah...

anyone tried their garden buffet dinner b4?

Oh, their bridal suite is really nice and chic. love the bed and bathroom! (i'm a sucker for nice bathroomS!)and Lynn who showed us the bridal suite was a really sweet and charming lady.

so GH is definitely worth considering!

Hi Lindy,

I was there yesterday too
Had signed up, am using Grand Ballroom. We simply love Grand Ballroom. The date that we wan is almost fully book and left the Grand Ballroom. Juz nice for us

Have u decided Lindy?

Jamie

Hey Jamie!
Congrats!who attended to you?You like e bridal suite too? quite nice and chic eh?
well, i only have about 15 tables (majority friends), so i was only given the option of camelia room n garden..i would def consider the garden if the buffet dinner menu is good and our parents are cool with it.

so you going for food tasting anytime soon? when's ur big day?

Hi Jamie and Lindy

The bridal suites you saw at Grand Hyatt, were they rather small rooms like the standard hotel room but about twice the size, or really spacious rooms like the bridal suite in Conrad Hotel?

Hi Lindy,

my AD is 15th sept. Signed up with lewis but we had spoken to Andy bef we went to the wedding show. And we wan Andy as coordinator mainly becos of all the good comments about him. I'm ok towards the bridal suite only. The living area & the meeting area seem more like office
. But the bedroom & the bedroom toilet is ok
The overall is ok loh with 2 nitz stay. So u haven sign up with them?

Hi Skybebe,

I haven seen conrad bridal suite. Can't comment much
But I think Hyatt bridal suite not romantic lei... hee hee. Was told Hyatt is a corporate hotel that is why they got so many ballrooms & meeting rooms. And probably that is the reason why their bridal suite not so romantic...

hi, honestly i think the bridal suite is more suited for corporate too. Four Seasons suite is more homely and cozy. But i've heard that Mandarin's suite is absolutely fantastic.

Hey Jamie, good for you! Wish you all e best with ur prep.

I have not signed up as I still want to view Goodwood Park and Ritz Carlton first.=P

I agree with you gals.....but its okay for me cos I wanted a 2 nites stay at the bridal suite and even though its small, its quite cosy (hahaha....self-consolation)....only thing is that the view from the bridal suite isn't that great.....
yawn.gif

yeah, i agree. e bridal suite at Four Seasons doesnt have a great view too, but the room is absolutely cosy! At least thats what i think! hahah..

Hi Lindy,

Goodwood also not bad lei. If I have lesser table, I'll consider
Quite cosy. As for Ritz Carlton, I dunno if they have smaller ballroom or not. Cos the one I went to is a very very big one. Maybe u wan to check with them
Happy searching Lindy

Hi Skybebe,

agree with u that am happy with the 2 nitzs stay
Grand Hyatt offer. Btw, I'm meeting Andy next week dunno wat I can bargain out of him

Jamie

Hi Jamie!

yeah,i've already made an appt to see Goodwood park.were u considering their ballroom? i think i have a bit of a prob as i only have 15 tables,so will hv to see what they can offer.=P

hey,dun wory too much about e suite,can always choose a super romantic honeymoon that would more than make up for it!

i went to the showcase also, couldn't get the chance to speak to Andy. spoke to someone esle and found that they are very inflexible. i am having my AD on Jan 2006 and they refuse to take my booking at 2005 price, keep asking me to wait till the 2006 package is out.

hi gals, jus postg here to share my opinion..
went to attend my cousin's wedding on 2nd dec...
it was an ausipicious date so thr was abt 4 wedding dinners then... some guests actually went to e wrong ballroom..
I rched thr at abt 530pm n was helping out at the receptn..guess wat, e lights went off twice!! it was said 2 b a short black-out...luckily, none of e guests rched yet...
Later, during cocktail reception, my niece approached me wif tis glass of soda...
it tasted real weird k...not like ice-cream soda as hyatt claimed...
the bar counter waiter said the gas thingy had ran out.... so we insisted tt they dun serve such weird taste drink to guests..

Later, during dinner, the projector was blur... so cldn't c the playing of AD video clearly... n 2 mk thgs worse, the bkgrd music was not smooth...thk e sound system got sm prob or wat.. n one of e songs sounded fr sm 'pirated' CD n wasn't smooth...

the service was quite slow so overall, e whole dinner process was rather draggy...
Im a Bride-to-be... my Fh n I was shocked to realise abt these incidents tt dae n Hyatt is definitely out of our list..

Im not trying to create any unhappiness or anythg... but would hope u gals will tk note of such small details n i believe guests ot yours will oso rem...try to minimise such small hiccups in ya Grand Evening...

Rgds, Carol

Hi Carol

Thanks for sharing.

Which ballroom in Grand Hyatt was your cousin's wedding held? Do you know who her coordinator is? And were there more than 1 type of drinks served or just one flavour which is the weird-tasting soda?

I hope your cousin complained cos such poor service and low standards are not acceptable, not in Grand Hyatt or any other hotels!

think Carol has put in a good reminder to make sure that someone (yr ah yees, brothers or coordiators) is there early to test out CDs, projectors, make sure that names/photos of couple are prominently displayed so that people don't go wrong place. If you want everything to go smoothly, don't rely everything on initiative of hotel staff in case the one serving you is inexperience or blur. Tell them to get it checked, then if they fail or it is not up to standard, then you have grounds to complain and/or be compensated.

Carol, you mean they did not serve soft drinks at all cos the soda water flat? Did they replace it in time for the dinner? I would not accept it if throughout whole dinner got no soft drinks.

Hi Lindy,

I did consider both Goodwood & Ritz Carlton. But I have 35 tables and Goodwood max only 23. Another thing about Ritz is that, u need to pay 80% deposite...
I worry wat if half way thru, I decided to change venue... my 80% is gone. I did consider Conrad too. But the ballroom is not as big as grand ballroom that both my hubby & me like
Was told last week by conrad that they having promotion if ur AD is between now till 2nd sept 2005 if I'm not wrong. They offering weekday promotion $667+++. 12 Pax per table. U may wan to check with them.

For me, I simply love Grand Ballroom. And now that we got it with 35 tables instead of 40, I am more then happy.

Hi Carol,

I would like to know who is the coordinator & which ballroom your cousin using... Such services is totally not acceptable.

Jamie

Hihi..not very sure which ballrm... is e 1 on e 2nd level... left of the escalator... was too bz to kn e name..heezz..
Hi gals, dun wori.. tt weird tasted soda isn't e only drink being served.. thr were oso orange, coke n plain water... one thg u guys shd note is..their service is definitely slow...be it during cocktail or dinner time...tis is e overall service of the banquet staff tt i've noticed. btw, e fire alarm tripped for abt a min during e dinner..prob when we were having e 3rd dish...

guess u gals shdnt be so concerned abt who's e coordinator... i noe thr's tis indian guy..din c wat's his name though...

dunne b so 'ke-qi' gals... i understand it's once in a lifetime thg.. i wun wan such thgs to happen on my nite..e same for u too yeah??

seriously hp u gals will note such small details too as a few small hiccups is considered alot alr..... n pt out to whoeva coordinator u haf engaged...

Smilez

Hi casy,

I was there at the mini showcase. Goodies Include:
1) Free food tasting.
2) Free 1 barrel of 30L beer.
3) Free 1 nitz stay Deluxe Room for helpers.

I can't remember all. I think there is 1 more perk. If u sign on that day, u can save about 1k + on food tasting & barrel of beer.

Jamie

hi!

my sister just attended a wedding at GH last nite at e ballroom. she said it was really nice (they had like 40 tables), but honestly, like what the hotel said, they are a 5 star corporate hotel, so the whole look of it is more corporate. but it really depends on what u are lookin for.

in the meantime, i am still lookin around.=)