Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi hakida,
I'll pm you the info cos this thread is meant for hyatt, k?

Hi Beezusgal,

a coordinator from Hyatt juz email me that she heard some news that there might be a wedding showcase, presenting the wedding setup. But it is not confirm yet... so need to double check.

Jamie

Hi seval,

will if hyatt coordinator confirm with me again. Was told might be next mth. Can call Hyatt to check too trippedchokeever.

jamie

Hi Beezusgal,

yea the "Black Theme" is very nice
I like it too but I think the elders might not... so might have to give up the idea.

hi beezbride,
the free beer (1 barrel) is a standard for Hyatt i think.

btw - i will be holding a Black Theme wedding if any of u girls are interested in taking a look. My AD is on the 18 Dec, SSR. If u want to have a peek, pls come by before 7pm!

Hi Jamie, thanks! Yah, going for honeymoon the week after, on Boxing day. Gona go to NZ for a free & easy trip for 17 days

Hi gals..

I was wondering if anyone attend their banquet lunch before.. i will be having my banquet lunch on 13 march.. any one got any comments on their lunch?

Hi Marilyn

Did you ask for the extra sash on every tables(alternate chairs)? I have booked mine at Hibicus rm for next yr. But the coordinator wanted to charge me for the extra sash at $2/4(I don't remember exactly how much) per chair. So I'm still deciding. I would love to have them or the room will look quite dull and bare. Which colour did u use and which room is it? I'm only holding abt 22 tables.

Can I know which coordinator you work with? I don't really like mine, very blur! A few wks after paying the deposit, he got the cheek to ring me up to say I haven't pay any. Very unhappy with the fella, don't feel safe with him handling my wedding and he's not very negotiable at alot of things.

Hi Bigtoes,

You know Ivy right? I think she might have told you that her friend wants to take a look at your wedding. The person is me!

Hey Beezusgal - yah, i know Ivy - ex colleague of mine
Small world! hehe...ok, u are more than welcome to come take alook at my wedding. U will most probably bump into Ivy there too! When are u planning to hold yours?

Cyn here - just out of curiousity, do u know how many wedding coordinators there are in Hyatt? To my knowledge there are only 2, one guy and another girl...mine is the guy & no complaints on my end.

hi jamie.

you've got mail.

you planning to have a wedding banquet lunch? mine is on weekend lo.. dun think ppl can make it on weekday.

hi bigtoes,

think there are more than 2 coords. hv walked into their wedding show before... quite a few i think.
not sure..

hi janey!!!
*waves*
hvn't 'chatted' with u for sometime!

hi oraia!!

how are you doing??!! when is your AD again? i forgot alr.. should be soon rite? ermm or over alr? oops.. hehe sorry for forgetting..

got any nice pic to share?

hi cyn,
yes, i did. sash on alternate chairs on all 19 guests tables and all sash for the 2 VIP tables. I use gold over vanilla chair and table cover. I think there's not many choices lor, so i just choose this one. I got mine FOC. My coordinator is no longer with hyatt. Sometimes, i wonder if she's giving me all this free because she's going to leave hyatt anyway..heheh.. i asked for wine glasses on all the tables and ribbons to tie to all the napkins and got it for free too...think i'm just super lucky lah..

Hi Janey,
Yea am considering Hyatt. But it seem that their coordinators r always busy. Until now I stil can't get Andy even my hubby leave a voice message...

Hi Marilyn,
Yea I think u r lucky
read a lot tht Hyatt strictly no FOC on anything.

Hi Jamie, I think Andy was on leave the past week or so and just came back to work today. I sent him an email last week and he replied to my email only today. So, give him some time, I'm sure he'll contact you.;O)

Hi skybebe,

thanks for the info... yea he did call my hubby late afternoon
BTW, is ur coordinator Andy? So how is it? Good?

Jamie

Can still try your luck on the freebies. I also got free sashes for VIP tables,and free alternate sashes for the other tables. Free upgrade of VIP centerpiece flowers, and got a free projector rental. Got some other stuff as well, but better not divulge so much, wait kena scolding by my coordinator

Hi Jamie

Its been great having Andy as my coordinator! I was concerned I may be neglected after I pay my deposit but no such thing. Andy is still the great person he is and so far its been very good! I can't wait for my wedding! =O)

Hi Skybebe,

yea... I am worry abt coordinator aft read so much... Hope Andy wil be the rite choice
BTW, when is ur AD? I'm planning for mid next yr but worry that there might not be anymore slot... so I need to meet up with Andy as soon.

Jamie

Hi Jamie, my AD is on a thursday, 30 June 2005. =O)

Don't worry. If you personally like Grand Hyatt, then go for it. Actually I only went to take a look at 2 places and chose Grand Hyatt. Think I biased cos I've always had a good impression of Grand Hyatt in terms of its service and quality of food (most impt to me for the dinner). I've had an event hosted in Grand Hyatt few years ago for work and that was when I was impressed..... =O)

Hi Jamie,
My coordinator is Andy as well. Am glad we got him (by luck) cos I have spoken to another one, and she's not as friendly or as flexible on alot of things.

Hi Bigtoes,

can you let me know who's the she you'd spoken to prior to Andy?

Been hearing many good comments about him and thinking whether should I change mine.

But then again, I'd always been speaking to a lady as well. However, she doesn't seem to be flexible in things. Wonder if it's the same person.

Think there's more than 2 coordinators, cos mine is not Andy but Lewis. Wonder any of you heard about him.. Guess those of you who got ANdy must be really lucky since there's so many good comments on him. I met another lady once after I sign-up, forgot her name, petite and bubbly, she sound like a very nice and sweet lady. Wanted to change to her initially but felt its not very nice since we have already engaged Lewis. He's really not flexible, he want to charge me almost for everything (eg. extra sash for guest chairs, upgrade of flowers centrepiece) and he told me to get projector by myself, they don't provide. He doesn't even allow me to change the flower centrepieces to my own design/choices not avail to Grand Hyatt.

Marilyn.. think you are one lucky gal! Or is it me who is unlucky? sigh!

Btw, any idea will the coordinators be around throughout the wedding dinner event? I do know 4 Seasons provide such service but Lewis said he won't be around.. How abt yours?

Hi Skybebe,

your AD is on thur rite! My hubby wanted weekday also. We realised tht there is a great diff compare to weekend price. Do you think there is any problems abt attendance?

Thks
Jamie

Hi Shir,
We got Andy right from the start, but on one of the meetings, he couldnt make it at the last minute and someone else (a woman, abit stern looking) met us instead. Sorry, I cant remember her name :oP Paiseh

Hi Jamie

Yup, my AD is on Thurs. Our reasons were that we don't have that many tables (about 16-18 now) and wanted it at Hibiscus Room so we have to pay surcharge. And we wanted a bossa nova/ blues band at our wedding, etc... so calculating all the extras we wanted for our wedding dinner, we thought a weekday dinner will fit our budget better. In the end, our total cost is almost similar to a weekend dinner (without the extras) with those extras we wanted.

Personally, I'm not worried about attendance cos I know my colleagues will go straight there from work so they'll be there punctually at 7pm (still deciding to start cocktail from 6.30pm or 7pm). Our office is quite close to Orchard Road. And most of my older relatives are retired and my close relatives are taking leave so I don't think attendance will be affected at all.

Actually, I think the tide has somewhat shifted in the sense that weekday wedding dinners are not shunned but in fact welcomed. Personally if I had a choice, I'll rather attend a weekday wedding dinner so that my weekends can be kept for my family. =P

Hi Skybebe,

thanks so much for the advice. What you had mention is quite true about spending weekend with family. I juz worry that it will be troublesome for helpers. They probably have to take leave...

What you said did make me change my mind about having a weekday wedding

Jamie

No problems, Jamie.

For my case, I only need helpers for my dinner. I know my colleagues will be able to leave the office earlier to help me. Earlier in the day, its tea ceremony and solemnisation and I think its quite straightforward so I don't need helpers. I don't have any "jie-meis", etc so no worries about anyone having to take leave. Then again, I worry that there's no overall coordinator but I'll ask my parents and brother to help me oversee. I'll be preparing a detailed programme for the day and distribute to my family, my HTB, my parents-in-law, my helpers and that should be sufficient for them to know what should happen when. =P

p.s. Jamie, how to put smileys in the message ah? I blur......

Hi Skybebe,

juz key in : ) but without spacing in between the colon & rite bracket.

Thanks for the advice

Jamie

hi lovyaa2,

i just got the cards from hyatt.. ermm.. sad to say only 2 design to choose from.. a pink one and a cream one.. ermm.. i took the pink one coz i love it a lot.. it has wedding bells hehe..

Hi luckystar,

I think u can call Hyatt directly to contact the banquet co-ordinator. Abt the 4th dec, I dunno if it is confirm or not. U can call them as well to check.