Grand Hyatt Singapore

I had orchids thrown around the turn table! A lovely idea from my coordinator.

219920.jpg

Hi Karen

Thanks for comforting me somewhat abt why I prob had to pay the surcharge. Actually my HTB was like "tsking-tsking" me for even attempting to bargain with Grand Hyatt abt reducing the surcharge. He thot they were really nice and we should just pay whatever cost they want us to....he's not from a bargaining culture (Australia) lah, as compared to Singapore..... =P

Andy was really nice. There were 2 different menus but he said we could choose some items from the more expensive weekend menus to replace the items from the weekday items at no extra cost which I thot was flexible and great! However, the weekday menu had like 8 items and weekend had 9 items so if we want 9 items, we gotta pay extra, which I thot was fair enuf.

Hi skybebe,

It all boils down to dollars and cents, every hotel's aim is to make money. But even so if we pay, we must get the service and quality back. I think Hyatt is quite OK so far.

hi girls!

marilyn~ you've got great pictures!
very very nice! just want to ask you - did you sprinkle the orchids rd the turntable for all the tables or just the VIP table?

i have to agree with everyone about hyatt's flexibility in their pkg. so far, they've been great! *thumbs up!*

You're right, Karen. In that respect, I have no worries or fears. I think even if a couple had to pay a higher surcharge, Hyatt will "compensate" in other matters. So, there's no loss. And with what I said earlier, I'll rather pay for the cost so that as you said, quality would not be affected. ;O)

Marilyn, love your pics!!! =O)

thanks thanks for the nice compliments!
all the credits go to my seamstress, my MUA and photographers!

oraia,
yep, got my coordinator to sprinkle the orchids on all the tables.

thanks thanks for the nice compliments!
all the credits go to my seamstress, my MUA and photographers!

oraia,
yep, got my coordinator to sprinkle the orchids on all the tables.

Hi marilyn,

agree. the tall flower arrangement is not so attractive. the glass bowl still acceptable.

wonder what other floral arrangment package they hv besides all these. I recall there one red roses in a square container. i think can only hv one colour for all.

Hey Casy,
Yes - there is the red roses one too (2 containers, one taller). The VIP tables wld have more elaborate roses, think you have to discuss with ur coordinator on the options there.

hi beezusgal,

i think it's 2k, if they haven't changed their policy.

do u think if i scatter rose petals on all the tables if i chosee the roses containers table decor - will if be too messy?

Hi veezusgal,
Hubby paid $2K for the deposit. Not sure if this is standard for hyatt.

Hi casy,
Don't really remember the centrepiece choices. Just remember that most of the centrepiece are not very elaborate and quite small so that they won't take up a lot of space for the turn-table. I think should not be a proble having assorted colored roses for the square container. Try discuss it with your coordinator

Hi casy,

my coord. told me that for the square container, there are 2 sizes (different set up). The one with about 10-12 of rose stalks inside, have to top up for it, cos a lot of roses used...expensive. Anyway for the guest tables, the centrepiece is removed before serving the first dish so no point paying more for those.

Hi Marilyn

Juz curious.. how many tables u have?? was it squeezy???... me oso got hibiscus rm, abit worried..

any feedbk fr any guest that they cant see the projector screen from the back???..

thanks ah..

hi fong,
i've got 21 tables. So, it's not squeezy at all. What abt you?
Yes! I chose the tall flower for the VIP and it blocked some of my guests and then there's this waiter stood along the carpet and block my collegues view..hehe.. I think if you don't choose the tall vase, should be ok since hibiscus ballroom is not very big mah..

Hi Marilyn

thks..
mine is abt 25-26 tables. Hope its okie... will take note of the vase-thingy...

Enjoy ur day!!!

anyone want to recommend their coordinator to me? I don't quite like the coordinator that we have met up with. Thanks

hakida,
u've got mail!

seval,
someone recommended andy in this thread. may be u want to try him?

jamie,
why don't u call hyatt and ask if there's any event coming up? b

hallo hyatt brides!
sorry to intrude, but just to make a quick compliment on hyatt! recently attended a wedding at hyatt's hibiscus room, it was very nice and cosy, and the food was good! particularly the prawns which were very fresh - even my mom (who's usually quite blur.. hee) noted that!

cant remember the rest of the dishes, but all in all we felt rather satisfied with the food served, and we felt the ambience was lovely... so thumbs up for hyatt!

Hi Oraia,
When is ur wedding? Mine is in SRR in a months time! Have u met up with ur coordinator for a final discussion yet?
I am still quite free, and wondering if i shd be more busy! hehe

hi girls!

swatch~ hahahaha.... ya loh... but recently the comments abt the food has been not bad. heard fr a few of my friends as well. so yay! keep it up, hyatt!

preps ah.... sheesh... alot of appts, but not overwhelmingly busy yet. now trying to hint and solicit rsvps.

bigtoes~ think my wedding's 1 wk before urs.yup, hv met my cood to go thru' details etc. what final discussion do u mean?

hi jamie,
well, i asked for alternate sash on the chairs and ribbons to tie ard the napkins. Also flowers to be thrown around the turn-table.. U might want to try bargaining for these??

Marilyn,

I haven't finish viewing ur photos leh.....Cos after accessing the first two links,when i want to proceed to the 3rd link,i can't access anymore.So i wait to wait awhile logout from the hotmail and try to access again....After.i have finish seeing all,then i update u again.BTW,I manage to see the CS,very daring huh you!!!!!At least,u can still bring out and where in future lor....

Hi Marilyn,

need to check with u another thing.
I understand that that Hyatt has a 9 cos menu. If I am to change to 10, I have to top up. But wat if I am to change to 8, wil the price be reduce?

Jamie

hi hakida,
take your time
Don't think i can just wear the CS out like that lah...too short! May be I'll ask my seamstres to open 2 slits by the side to turn the CS into a top so that i can wear with my jeans.. see how..

jamie,
don't mention.

hi jamie,
err not sure abt this leh...but then i really doubth so they'll let you do this. If i'm not wrong, i think the weekday menu is 8 course. Yours is weekend? Nonetheless no harm in trying.

Hi shellzzz,
When is your AD? Which room did you get?

Hi Marilyn,
Think you managed to get lots of freebies cos yours was a last minute booking. I don't think we will be able to get extra sashes easily esp if our no of tables not a lot. But maybe I will try to get extra sash for the chairs at the aisle only... no harm to ask and see what they say...

Gals who have had their weddings at Hibiscus, did you all use the dry ice march in? Are there any other alternatives to that. I always find it stupid to have waiters stand there to pour water into the dry ice just before you walk by and then immediately remove the whole bucket after you pass it. I saw a video sample by a videographer once and the banquet manager who was there coordinating the dry ice effect ended up blocking the videographer instead. Any comments on this?

hi karen,
actually, i cannot remember whether i had the dry ice effect..heheh, I'd put party-poppers and sprays on all the tables along the aisle. so, i busy "siam" here and there...my guests were having lots of fun and the pop-pop and zzz sounds of the spray made the march in so lively and fun!
it really lightened up the whole affair!

so, may be u can replace the dry ice effect with the party-poppers??

I just had my dinner at Hyatt on Nov 15.... Food was great... ambience rocked... everything was simply swell!!!!

For those of you who have yet to have your wedding dinner.... dont fret!!! It will all turn out fine!

=D

Hi PinkCoral,
Congrats! So your dinner was on Monday nite? Mine will be on a Monday too. Did you have any problems with latecomers or no-shows? Did your dinner start on time??
Which room did you use? Any pics to share??

Hi Natgene

Yeap mine was on a Monday nite.... but it was a Public Hol... so guests were all on time.

I used the Hisbiscus Room... used all 28 tables with no reserves.

Pics not out yet... show u as soon as i get them ok?

Which rm are u using?

Hi PinkCoral!
Oh yah! Forgot it was a holiday!
I'll be using the Sir Stamford Rm. Love the Hibiscus Rm actually but it may be a little too small cos we may have up to 30 tables.
Looking forward to see your pics!

Hi Marilyn,

How come I didn't see u wearing ur EG???You only wear ur WG and CS for the dinner.I like the back of ur WG....Very beautiful and ur day time hairdo too.....Yah,it's a good idea to change the CS into a blouse instead,otherwise so SAYANG......

What are the flowers u use for ur bridal car????Very exotic leh...are they fresh flowers????
BTW,which BS are u with???