Grand Hyatt Singapore

I have signed up with Hyatt for my next year wedding, and shortly after I have signed, my friend who attended a Hyatt wedding last week, commented the service and the food were all rather disappointing.. My heart sank to the bottom immediately. Worse is that she told me her friend got quite a no. of freebies from Hyatt as well, and on the other hand, I have nothing rather than those listed on the package. Therefore need to come and share my experience with you girls. Are you all getting some freebies other than those stated on the package too?? Cos even a day room , they refuse to confirm for me... I am quite sad aftering hearing all that..

Hi Ribena

Dont worry... its quite common for them not to confirm the usage of the day room.
Will be having my wedding on Nov 15 04, they cant confirm the day room for me either.

You arent alone... heh

Hi guys - are any of you going for food tasting? If you are, appreciate any feedback. We are not going to, given that we have attended a number of weddings at Hyatt & have no complains about the food. But just wanted to make sure

hi bigtoes,

the food at hyatt is ok is it? i keep hearing mixed reviews until v confused already.

hi bugbear,

i tried really hard to bargain. no-can-do!

oraia...it's also quite sad that the chef does not cook at elsewhere...else we could have like go to that restaurant to check out the food or something...I find it kind of risky to wait till food tasting...but Hyatt food shouldn't be that bad right??

hi bugbear,

i heard mixed reviews lor. but mostly not bad reviews abt hyatt's food.

have u signed w hyatt already? or with regent? cos i see u sometimes at the regent thread? hehee.

hi oraia,
My friend who attended a wedding at Hyatt 3 weeks ago, she told me that some of the food is not as good as she expected. She ask me to take note of their chicken and the pawn... (she said that the crispy chicken is not crispy and the steam pawns are a bit too dry) however I guess sometimes it depends on individual liking. She also told me that the sound system is not that ideal, so you better check. She said that some tables cannot hear what is happening on the stage, very soft.
By the way, do you all have complimentary beer or food tasting? cos I saw another thread saying that they do enjoy that in Hyatt.. I am a Hyatt bride for next year, but I do not manage to bargain anything from them, so would like to ask you all for experience. thanks

hi ribena,

yes, mabbe it's all different expectations? will stress abt food to the coord. thanks for the feedback.

which ballroom did ur fren attend the wedding at, if u don't mind me asking?
complimentary beer i think so. food tasting nope.

hi oraia,
My friend attended the wedding at the ballroom, I think it is at ballroom I & II. which ballroom you using? Must ask your helper to go down and check their sound system, go around each corner to see whether can hear from the stage or not.
So can ask for complimentary beer?? I only have 20 tables, is that the reason why they don't give me complimentary beer even??

Oraia...i haven't signed yet...but still toggling between Hyatt and Regent.
hhmm...u managed to get free flow of beer for weekends or weekdays?

Ribena, i think it's real tough getting complimentary food tasting. So far, i have not heard ay couples got that.

Ribena & Bugbear - dont think can get food tasting FOC lah...its at 1/2 price. We did get free beer (not free flow thou, there is a limit before they start charging). Our wedding is in Dec at the Sir Stamford Room - hopefully the sound system there is better cos its smaller (max 28 tables).

We also went to check out the black linen theme on Wed - got my parents "approval" so we are going ahead with the same theme! Yeah!!

Hi, Im thinking of using hyatt due to sentimental reasons too. I've only abt 25-30 tables. So which ballroom shld i take? Raffles or Hibiscus? Any difference btwn this 2?
I notice that for Raffles, there is a larger cocktail area compared to Hibiscus. Im not too sure abt the difference in the ballroom itself tho.

ribena

i gotten mixed reviews on the food. my frd who attended a wedding @ GBR 3 weeks ago on a sunday, say tt oni the fish is nice. prawns also dry cos they pour away the sauce b4 serving...

however, i personally attended 2 weddings there. no complains abt the food. hubby and my best frd they each attended abt 5 weddings there and they loved the food. food wise i think is very individual and we cannot please everyone.

jus curious... so u got the hibiscus rm? who knows maybe our frd is a common frd...

Hi Bigtoes,

You are taking the new black theme! I am interested in taking that too but I have not seen that theme yet, my AD is next year end. You must share with me your photos!

For me I am really not bothered about the food. It is really hard for any kitchen to make sure all tables get the same standard of food, esp when the dish is suppose to come out at the same time. Some will be drier than others etc... kitchen facilities is always is the limiting factor no matter how dedicated the chefs are. So what you can do is that if you know there are certain tables with relatives that are going to make a big fuss about the food then tell the banquet people to make sure that those tables get serve straight out of the wok/oven.

Hey Karen - yah, the black theme is not common - my coordinator mentioned just 3 hotels in Spore offering it - and just 6 weddings in Hyatt using black linen so far this year - so it would be something that people will remember! There is quite abit of matt gold & red roses, so its not too dark. Luckily, my family is more the "banana" type & not pantang!

Hi cirucsbugs,
Yah, I have signed for their hisbicus room for next year. my FH says the Hyatt super stingy... not giving us anything extra at all. What to do, I like the hisbiscus room, so he no choice signed up liao. But I will bug bug bug the co-ordinator, at least give me complimentary beer mah.
I also thinking that maybe our fen is a common fen too... hahaha. who knows, the world is small.

this thread's been active for a long while now.

bugbear~ hehe, regent was one of my 1st 2 choices.... alas....

ribena~ am using sir stamford room - same as bigtoes. i didn't get free flow bear. i think it's 30L if i'm not mistaken.

bigtoes~ max is 28 tables meh? for SSR? i thot 30?? hmmm....
btw, the black theme sounds cool. will take a look when we meet coord in nov.

gingerleaf~ by "raffles" room - do u mean the sir stamford room? if u have about 25-30 tables u def can't take hibiscus, cos i think the max for hibiscus is 25 tables or thereabouts.

I have also attended a black theme wedding in January this year.. the setting is really romantic..

hi circusbugs

we might be attending the same wedding... since so few black theme wedding this year

oraia...then what made u chose Hyatt in the end?? Can share with me?? If not convenient, can PM me? thanks.

Bigtoes...u got any photos of the black theme to share? The last time i talked to the coord, he only showed me photos...I loved the black theme. It blends in real well with the ballroom...but i have not seen the actual setup. Is it for chinese menu or the western menu? The photos that i saw was setup for western menu...so it's square tables

saw the new black themed round table setting pics in one of the bridals mags.

Hi Bigtoes,
Yah, our parents not pan tang too and I may use the black theme but I have not really see the effects of a full set-up yet so still undecided. I don't care whatever those pan tang relatives will say at all. May even consider a black EG if not taking the black theme.

Hey girls,

On the black linen wedding - we went by on wed to have a look at the one in the Grand Ballroom - the place is 2X the SSR, so the overall effect was darker (more black table cloth) - also, the couple chose tea lamps along the isle (not yet lit up when we went to look-see), the Grand Ballroom also has dimmer lightings (pendant lights, SSR has chandeliers). Sorry, i didnt get to take any pix - was kinda rushed, cos we wanted to leave before security tightened (Lee Hsien Loong attended this wedding)...

Over all, we (more impt - my parents) am happy with it & will go ahead...basically looks like the pix they showed us, just that the tables are round, & chinese instead of western food will be served.

Wow - Karen - black EG? I personally think that maybe too much...mine is green, and the wedding is 1 week before Xmas - red flowers/gold chair sashes/green gown- v Chrismas-sy!

On the no. of tables that SSR can accomodate, yes, i think its a max of 30, but would be a tight fit. Ours will be only abt 25, cos we are getting the baby grand piano into the room.

ribena~ no lah, dun say u stupid lah
hehe! for PM just double click on circusbug's nick.

gingerleaf~ i think there's a vanda/ magnolia function room, but i understand that that's usually not v marketable cos there are pillars...

karen~ got pic in the newer bridal mags ah? i nv notice leh. do u know which mag it is? i wld love to use the black theme i think... see how it goes.. must see overall whether it looks very black hehe.

bugbear~ no lah, bascially my 1st 2 choices all booked lor. and there are a few hotels which i struck out of my list for various reasons... so hyatt was my natural choice loh
it's like a process of elimination hehe.

fong

maybe we really attended the same wedding! what a small world...

bugbear

Hyatt was my hubby's 1st choice all along... cos he like the food and service...

Hi oraia,

Can't remember which, but should be either Female Brides or HW Brides. It is just one advert page with a picture of one table. The table is dressed with black linen.

Hi bigtoes,
Always see black EG in foreign mags ley... think it looks great with big red flowers in the hair and lots of blink blink. I'm not silm what, black can hide my flaws better.... Anyway just thinking only, I like deep red or champange gold too.

Hey Karen,
Yah - i guess if the accessories & all are sufficient, would be nice to have a stylish, maybe kinda gothic lacy black EG also

Anyway, if any of u gals end up picking the black linen theme, let me know

Yes yes...if any of you know of any date where the couple is using the black theme, let me know, pls? Very interested to take a look at that.
Many thanks!

Thanks bigtoes!! If u don mind, i definitely would love to hop by
Maybe you can let me know a time more suitable to hop by...don want to disturb your guests.

Just went for our co's D&D at Hyatt last sat, service is lousy. Got raffia string in the fried rice and got something sticky stuck on the spoon. EE..... too much msg in the food esp prawns, portion is small. Just sharing my experience.

i kinda like the black theme. would the black theme look nicer in SSR or hibiscus? I understand that hibiscus room is richer in color(goldish), hence might prob go better with the black theme, but yet i kinda prefer SSR, but its a very white ballroom...and hence i think it might be more suitable for the dreamy white & gold setting..
anyone with pics to show???

big toe, have u seen the black theme set up in SSR?? issit nice???

Is SSR and Hibiscus on the same level? I can't seem to recall where these 2 ballrooms are. Have been to see 1 at level 2, with the gold theme. Very nicely done up.

Anyone seen the black theme in the grandballroom? Will it look too black?

circusbugs,
i like the black theme too. very classy like u said. but i was wondering, would it look weird when they turn up the lights during food serving?

bugbear,
SSR is on the mezza9 level. Hibiscus is on the 2nd/3rd level, the level above the grand ballroom.

ginerleaf

the black theme is as is really a 'wow' factor... together wif the lighting i think is perfect and not weird lor... tt's my 2 cents worth...

maybe u can drop by at black theme set up and take a look... jus ask ur coord to see whether got any up coming black theme wedding?

circusbugs, u reckon the black linen setting would look weird in SSR??
Somehow i feel it might look nicer in Hibiscus....

which room are u taking?

i like both room. in such a dilemma, dunno which shld i choose. =(

gingerleaf

me taking GBR. but i went to hisbiscus room for wedding b4. my frd choose the ivory gold theme (??) and i think it looks very very nice cos of the colour of the room compliment the setting very much.

actually we wanted tt room but it was too small for our wedding tt's why we forgo it...

SSPR got pillars riite? is tt one of ur concern?

hi circusbugs,

SSR has no pillars. i think magnolia/ vanda room has pillars.
i also want to see a black theme wedding setup... wonder if there are any coming up.

bigtoes, i think urs is after mine, so i can't peek at urs

Hi circusbugs,

Thot they told me difference between max in SSR and Hibiscus is that SSR can put in 2 more tables only? SSR max 30. Hibiscus max 28 (if no projector)

Hi gingerleaf,
You mean you did not have a free barrel of beer at all or no free-flow beer?

Hhmm...seems like the black theme is really hot. Most of you whom have seen it all loved it. I cant wait to see it myself. Have emailed the coord, but no reply from her yet

Bigtoe...me looking forward to your AD.