Grand Hyatt Singapore

seafaith

Hi jlwc,

U meantioned that rose ball is $70 each, but my co-ordinator told me is $80 nett each... mean they are increase the price?

Is anyone here just recently check with them? Shall we share here?

I am seriously consider the rose ball at VIP table.

bookan

hi emily
gene is genesisgalaxy

supagal

is anyone having ailin as their co-ordinator? any feedback? she seems really bz all the time.

i m quite keen in the black / red theme but am concern as it may limit my choice of EG. may i know if anyone hv e same prob?

shiro_ger

Emily,

Gene seldom pop by the thread as her AD was over. She has drop the link to her experience in one of her posting above.

Just my 3 cents' worth. In service line, there tends to be both positive and negative comments coz we all have different expectations. Over here, there are both happy and unhappy brides sharing. I thought the bottom line should be whether you are comfortable working with your coordinator and whether you want to place your trust on them. Whichever venue you choose, there is bound to be complaints. Coz we want the once-in-a-lifetime event to be a perfect one.

You have to experience for yourself whether they are good or not.

The reason why i chose Hyatt is of course because of the theme. But i find Zona, my coordinator, a very professional one. Before i signed up with Hyatt, i asked her outrightly about the probs that Gene faced. She did not side with hotel, but said that was a "one-time" off incident. She also counter-proposed ways to avoid such hiccups.

Well, maybe you should just drop by again and share with them your concerns.

bel_vodka

Hi Shirley

Fyi the one who met up with me is a guy, Sam. Will he be my coordinator? Coz i don realli feel comfortable with him. Is it possible to change coordinator to Zona ?

shiro_ger

Emily,

I dun think it is problem changing coordinator. Hee... anyway all of them works in a team.

Why dun you contact Zona directly? If you are comfortable with her, maybe can let Sam knows that you would like a change of coordinator. If he asked for reason, maybe say a fren recommended Zona to you lor.

I PM you her contacts and email, k?

jlwc1974

guess price of roseball vary from time to time ... not sure of the current price ... but anyway, trust me , grand hyatt is a really good choice for wedding banquet... well , at least that's how i feel ... glitches do happen to ALL hotels time to time ... one single sad customer compared to hundreds of happy customers , u judge for yourself ...

genesisgalaxy

I'd like to state that the technical problems I had encountered was definitely not a "one-off" affair. If you read through the archives (yes, it's a lot to plough through), you will come across similar situations whereby the sound system failed to work. The rooms and dates chosen by the affected brides are different, spanning across months (perhaps years), so one cannot really tell when the phantom of silence will strike.

Please note that throughout my expositions, I had made it clear that my wedding coordinator from Hyatt was fantastic. She averted part of the night's events from disaster.

I think it is reasonable to expect that the sound system should work. That is after all, a hotel's basic infrastructure within a ballroom and no excuses should nullify the failure of such a major glitch. Which bride would want to put a hefty price tag on her day of bliss and can truly say "oh, the sound system doesn't work? Never mind." ?

My compensation came in the form of a waiver of beer charges and a box of chocolates from the Mezza9. Monetary terms are of the least concern to me. What enraged me was how the sequence of events occurred and the only person who seemed genuinely concerned was the wedding coordinator. The person who had to speak to me on the following day to offer a proper explanation weakly sent my wedding coordinator to placate me instead. I did not see him again after the wedding night. What a lack of sincerity! Wasn't this evidence of how quick he'd wanted to dismiss the matter?

I suppose only brides who have been affected by such a turnout of events will truly understand what the fuss is about.

And I, do not stand alone.

summerscent

Hi genesisgalaxy, had a few unhappy encounters too. My coordinator didnt even bother to follow up the issues. At least u got fee waiver of beer charges and choco. Come to think of it, I shd have pursue the matter

bel_vodka

Hi Shirley..
Didnt noe my PM setting is not activate.
so sorrie..
my email: [email protected]
Thanks alot

Hi genesisgalaxy:
I ve noted the encounter tt u n some of the brides met. I bought this matter up when i was at hyatt for my first meeting last week if im not wrong. The person who received me was Mr Sam Aju. He claims tt now the sound system have been changed. Even the wires is changed.

I suggest all BTBs to raise this matter up with ur coordinator and check if they all say the same thing..

Hi Summerscent: care to share with us who is ur coordinator?

bel_vodka

Thanks for tellin me summerscent.

nw im abit upset with my coordinator.
Last week when i met up with him. he mentioned tt there will be a wedding dinner going on this evening. And ask me n BF to go dwn n have a look. But after tt, my BF mixed up and insisted is on Friday not Thursday. But i remember clearly tt is a Thursday but to play safe i called the Sam up and ask him again. To my bewilderment, He told me it is on FRi and hang up the phone in a hurry manner. I alredi abit bu shuang liao. Den 20mins ago, he called my BF and ask why he nvr come dwn hyatt today.
Aiyo.. why he gif pple wrong information. After this time i feel tt i seriously need to change a coordinator. I need one who is there to help out. Not to mix up my schedules. so angry.. hurrrr goin to waste my Fri tml all bcoz of this.
kao_dizzy.gif

seafaith

Hi Emily,

My coordinator is Mandy Wan, she is very experience and helpful. Always response to us once she is available. Maybe u also can look for her. I always not trust Indian... but of course some is good but again, is minority.

vhappy

Just want to share that I went to a fren's wedding dinner at Hyatt's Grand Ballroom abt 2 weeks back. The sound system still does not work - we can barely hear the emcees and the video playings. You might want to check with your coordinator again.

But I must say that the guests still thoroughly enjoyed the wedding, despite the less than perfect sound system. For all brides who might have had similar experiences, pls don't get unduly upset. I'm sure your friends present were there for YOU and to share the joy of the UNION
do not lose focus of what's truly important. Have a blessed marriage!

emily,
In terms of wedding favours and choices of wedding cards, Regent is much better as it has a lot more choices. But I chose Hyatt because of its location. I don't think guests are going to care very much about the wedding favours and the wedding cards. Well, at least I don't really care.. haha

chidori

hi gals, i'm thinking of taking the Magnolia/vanda room for my banquet in Nov07. Anyone has booked or had banquet in that ballroom? Any comments on the L shape march in and the big pillars at the back?

julie0870

I was just looking at the floor plans for Hyatt. Just a strange question, do you guys feel that the reception areas look rather "shared"? They seem quite close together, the last thing I want is to have a reception area where guests from different weddings are hanging out together. Like a wedding mart?

I'm thinking of Hyatt for my wedding dinner, cos I have heard good things about its food. But the recurring complains about its service and problems are quite off putting!!

bel_vodka

Thanks seafaith

I decided to change to Zona. Provided if i decide to tk up Hyatt
Still considering. I dun like the cold dish combination for wkdays. Find the food abit weird afraid my relatives donno how to appreciate its Uniqueness. I went to see the black n red theme last sat. But i don like coz iz too dim for me. And when i stepped in i started to feel dizzy. Will be gg dwn again tiz sat to peek at their other themes. But i realli cant tahan tt two rectangle shape pillars tt is in my ballroom.

lynntsh

it was love at first sight for me and hyatt untill i read the common failure of the sound systems.. im really worried .. is the problem resolved? anyone just had their wedding there and its ok? otheriwse i got to take my second choice hilton

supagal

oh dear. the sound system is very worrying. i jus rec the contract frm hyatt... actually i dun find their svc v personable. in fact i find it v tough to get hold of my coordinator. she did not reply to my phone msg and email. they did say that dec is a extremely bz period for them so am hoping that she can devote more time to me after that.

fatal

Our wedding is in SSR in Jan and we're now having a headache as we have to let our cordinator know which colour theme/flowers we want.

Due to parents objections we are not permitted to have black theme. I personally prefer strong/bold/dark colours as opposed to light/pastel shades, so was leaning towards red/white or maroon/white. However if we choose red - then does this mean we can't have red flowers as it will be too 'red'?

This is from the email sent to me by the coordinator:

"Kindly revert with the following preferred choices:-

(a) Menu Choice (choose from the Weekend, Menu 1 or Menu 2)
(b) Colour of Table Linen (Overlay/VIP Tables-Gold, Maroon, Platinum, Lime Green, Bright Red and Guest Tables-Off White or Black)
(c) Floral selection (Roses and Orchids of various colours as well as Baby's Breathe) "

So for guest tables - we only get a choice of black and white?

And for VIP tables, we just pick another colour for the ribbon/tablecloth to put over the black/white?

Is my understanding correct?

fatal

Another quick question:

We have the choice of the following desserts:

- Double boiled Almond Cream withy Papaya and Glutinous Rice Ball
- Chilled Mango Cream with Aloe Vera and Pomelo
- Sweet Yam Paste with Gingko Nut in Coconut Pumpkin Sauce
- Green Tea Pudding with Red bean

First 2 are from weekday menu and last 2 are from weekend menu. Has anyone tasted any of these desserts before and can provide some feedback?

miffy80

- Double boiled Almond Cream withy Papaya and Glutinous Rice Ball

Hi fatal ... i had this for my dessert! wAs special and superb... :D

as for the themes, u may wish to go down to hyatt to look at actual wedding set-up to have a better feel on how they look like. ;) Happy preparation :D

I've just had my wedding at the SSR. All's great.. sound system work fine too :D overall, very pleased with hyatt.. :D

shiro_ger

Fatal,

Hyatt is well known for the glutinuos rice balls. Many of my friends recommended that dessert.

Agree with Blur Gal that you have to take a look at the theme again before you confirmed your selection. If not, quite hard to visualise.

Have fun in your wedding preps !

lladro

remember somewhere in the thread, mentioned that we can confirmed 23 tables with 2 as reservation . can anybody advise if we still have to pay for the reserved tables?

xinxi

Anyone has Karina Wong as the coordinator for Grand Hyatt? I am about to pay the deposit/sign contract but felt that she is not very enthusiastic about selling the package and was very quiet during our visit to the hotel. She only answer to what was asked. Anyone has the same problem with her?

lladro

hi Seafaith,

not quite true.. met up with Karina this sat.. she said the min. tables must be based on confirmed tables. in this case, 25 tables for weekend..

seafaith

Hi Ildro,

My coordinator told us that we can cfm on min table and meanwhile can be reserve for additional if for standby.

Anyway, we had cfm min 23 table for weekday banquet and another 2 table on standby.

But actualy the co-ordinator can accept min 23 table for weekend too, it's depend on your negotiation.

shiro_ger

Hi IIdro,

Mine is 23 confirmed tables and 2 reserved on a sunday. It was a different scenerio coz i changed my wedding date from a weekday to a weekend.

My coordinator changed the agreement for me with the updated pricing, but left the # of tables unchanged (as 23 confirmed tables). You might 12 negotiate with karina on this.

Anyone has any idea whether i can changed the food tasting to something else?

nikkilime

Me too, have confirmed with Hyatt! Cheers! Hopefully they improve on the sound system, kinda worried.. Just not sure about the black theme though it's rather special, will check w photographer if it will affect the quality of photos.

limay

Hi ladies, We had the black theme wedding in SSR some time back, have photos of the set up if anyone is interested.
Its actually really classy and not sedate at all, our guests loved it!