Grand Hyatt Singapore

tupiddog

HOilday inn very ulu ley .. somemore behind some cheap cheap hotel .. not soo nice ..

Crown Hotel .. oso not as highclass looking ... the guest who stay at the hotel oso .. errmmm .. better not comment .

Hyatt.. price is rite.. sounds good .. everyone sure hear b4 the name. right smack in the middle of orchard caters for 20 tables...

u decide

eveuloveme

hi autumns,
my school uses holiday inn park view for our PROM.. i have some pics of the crystal ballroom on my multiply site.. u can take a look if u want to, it is under my blog entries.

we used holiday inn last year for the prom as well.. the service is VERY GOOD.i feel they give really good and attentive service...

food wise.. my students commented not very good maybe we having buffet instead...

Hyatt is definitely mosh posh.. even my students know hahaha.... the lobby of hyatt is more impressive than HIPV... and the ballroom is NICER too.. HIPV ballroom is abit funny cos the height of the ceiling is not uniform...

and.. the reception area is not private. on the same level there is a restuarant.. reception area is also small...

but the good thing is there is only one ballroom available.. so won't have many weddings on the same day!
my multiply site..
http://eveuloveme.multiply.com

autumns07

thks for all your comments. dropped by HIPV and agree with eveuloveme on the uneven ceiling and the small reception area. even though i have been corresponding with hyatt for more than a week to fix an appointment, i have to wait till next sat before I get to see the ballroom (becoz I cannot drop by during office hrs). however my hubby will be travelling by then and will not be back until end nov =( guess becoz of the comprehensive package they are offering, their schedule is very tight.....

ixxy

can I check for those who held their wedding at mag/vanda room, are the 4 pillars a problem for your guests? I'm still worried after viewing the ballroom. I just need some assurance.

Hi autumn,
are you meeting Zona on this coming sat?

miffy80

i've juz had my wedding last week at sir stamford room. Food & service was excellent!!! all went on smoothly & had a beautiful wedding & a great time. 3 big cheers for hyatt,esp to audrey & zona : ) they're fantabulous!!! ;)

seafaith

Congratulation Blur Gal!

I will having my wedding at sir stamford room too. Your is on weekend or weekday? How the sound system? all ok?

wishxtreme

I need a favour for all those bride to be in 2006 or early 2007.

I need about 5 empty bottles of duty paid Martell VSOP. I believe that hotel will return you the empty bottles after the dinner so i guess you will throw away those bottles right?

So can you sell those empty bottles to me at $5 per bottles?

the duty paid one will be the 750ml bottles and not the duty free on which is 1 litre.

so anyone willing to sell the empty bottles, you can sms me at 91936911 or email me at [email protected]

went4 a wedding @ hyatt last wk & i must say it was impressve
they even hve small rm for children with kids finger food & smaller portions! i was v v impressed
just tott i'd share my thoughts

bunnypop

Good to hear recent positive feedback on Hyatt. Thanks Elin & Blur Gal.

I am planning to sign up with them - just received their draft contract. Can anyone please advise if request which is not in the standard package, eg : ribbons on napkins, which the co-ordinator said no problem - should be stated in the contract ?? Am I being kiasu ?

Anyone has pics of the Grand Suite to share ? Thanks

ixxy

Wow.. the bridal suite is nice! Thanks bbp for sharing.

Sorry if Im asking a silly question. I was just wondering what if there are a few weddings on that night, do they have a few bridal suites?

autumns07

Hi Ixxy, I have decided to sign with Hyatt. What about u? I have seen mag/vanda room. Have the same concern about pillars but I am not very bothered by them.

Anyone else who are using the same room? Any tips on how to improve 'look'?

eveuloveme

Hi lx,
there are many suites around! hehe the suites are located at the tower facing the orchard road..
the normal hotel rooms are located at the back of the hotel in another wing...

momo23

Hey BTB!
I am thinkin of signing up with Hyatt too. So its great to hear such good reviews about them. Any one has any recommendation what perks I can push for when negotiating with them? Or rather, what perks did you guys push for?

momo23

Btw is your coordinator the very first one who replied your email when you requested for details of packages? Cos it was sha***lyn who replied my mail, and i have read not soo good comments about her. Wondering if this arrangement is permanent or were you gals assigned another coordinator when you confirmed the sign up??

ixxy

Hi Autumn,
Same here. I have decided to sign up with Hyatt. I will be meeting Zona tomorrow to sign the contract. How about you? Yeah, how to improve the 'look'? hee...

Hi Eve,
I see.. sounds like the view of the suite is great! hehe...

bunnypop

Hi BBP
Thanks for the pic of the Bridal Suite. Wonder if it is spacious enough to have the tea ceremony there for 15 to 18 persons as the furniture seems pretty bulky ?? Does the bridal suite comes with couple jacuzzi ??

Hi Pamela
I will be taking the banquet lunch on a Sunday probably @ the Hibicus Room. Can you share your wedding pics of the Hibiscus Room & the Coporate Grand Suite please ? My email : [email protected]. Thanks

Hi Eve
Were there any other weddings going on when you had your wedding ? If so, was it confusing for the guests - for them to get to the correct ballroom as the Hibiscus Room is at the extreme end of the floor. Thanks

Anyone who had lunch banquet can advise weather the beer consumption is high ... if I should opt for the free barrel of beer or let them charge by number of glasses ordered.

eveuloveme

Hi HL,
On my wedding day there was another wedding i think... on the second level.

I personally feel it is more confusing take the escalator going to the hibiscus room.. it is easier taking the lift.

on my invite i printed an extra line.. asking the guests to take the lift at the lobby instead...
hehee dunno if that helps...

mine was a weekday night dinner.. we consume a barrel of beer... dunno if that helps in your planning hehe

Hi HL,
I haven't actually seen the bridal suite so I can't answer your questions. Sorry. I think you can ask the wedding coordinators if the suite is spacious enough for your tea ceremony, I'm sure they are able to answer your questions.

I will probably need another barrel of beer, in addition to the free barrel that I'm going to opt for. Too many people, too little beer

ixxy

Ya bbp, too little beer. It will be good if they provide another 20 litre barrel of beer. hee... wonder if we can negotiate for it? But I doubt so since they are quite strict with perks.

xiaopei

Great to see so many pple with inputs!

However, *sob* it seems that most pple are happy with their smaller rooms and not much pple choose their grandballroom.

As I'm looking at the Grand Ballroom for about 45 tables, can anyone share their perks and experience?

Many thanks!!!!

autumns07

Hi Ixxy, I have the contract being mailed to me. I will look through it before signing and returning to Hyatt.

As the package is quite comprehensive, I did not negotiate for more perks.

My coordinator is Zona. She is very nice.

Xiaopei,
We are in the same boat. I'm also looking at the Grand Ballroom for about 45 tables. You can try negotiating for more car park coupons and free use of a day room (normally 3pm - 8pm)

xiaopei

Hi bbp,
Many thanks for your information!
Have you seen their ball room? My friends commented that the furnishing looks abit old and worn out... What do you tink?

eveuloveme

Hi xiaopei,
i attended a wedding at the grandballroom last year.. the receiption area is VERY NICE... grand and regal in my opinion.

however there are a few pillars at the ballroom.. this blocked out some tables...

ixxy

Hi Autumn,

I have signed the contract yesterday. I did try asking for more perks but no luck. Hee..

Anyway, I am happy with the package and service.

Yup, Zona is a very nice person and she is my coordinator too.

autumns07

Hi Ixxy,
How many wishes are you entitled to? Besides the beer and wine, what else will you choose?

Can't make up my mind...luckily we can choose nearer to the banquet date

ixxy

Hi Autumn,

I'm given 4 wishes to choose from. I have not confirm the wishes yet. But most probably, I will choose the helpers room and usage of LCD.

Ya, you can take your time. No hurry to decide now.. Oh btw, when's your AD?

seafaith

Dear Ladies,

I am thinking to do a chart for all of us which having wedding banquet at Hyatt. So do let me know your wedding date, ballroom, theme and food tasting date for record.

Start from me.
Wedding/Banquet date: 22 Mar 2007
Ballroom: Sir Stamford
Theme: Red Rose with Ivory table cloth
Food tasting: TBC

Keep in touch!

Hi Seafaith,

The chart is a fantastic idea! Thanks for the efforts. Here are my details.

Wedding/Banquet date: 11 Aug 2007
Ballroom: Grand Ballroom
Theme: TBC

seafaith

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1"><center>Nick Name</center></font></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Wedding/Banquet Date</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Ballroom</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Theme</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Food tasting date</font></center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Seafaith</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">22/03/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Sir Stamford</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Red Rose &amp; Ivory</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">bbp</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">11/08/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></td></tr></table>

jen02

Hi Girl,
Can to add me in? Hehe.

WD: 22 Dec 2007
Ballroom: Sir Stamford
Theme: Black &amp; Red, flower still thinking
Food Tasting: TBC

ixxy

Hi Autumn,
Mine is on 27 Oct 2007, Sat. =)

Hi Seafaith,
Can add me too? Thanks alot for compiling it!

Wedding/Banquet date: 27 Oct 2007
Ballroom: Magnolia/Vanda

autumns07

2Half 2007 BTB,
Have you all start searching for a bridal shop?

Hi Seafaith,
Add me too.... =)
Wedding/Banquet date: 10 Dec 2007
Ballroom: Magnolia/Vanda

jen02

Autumns,
I have already sign with our BS. We getting one at JB name Venus. We sign a package only cost us S2k with almost everything.

shiro_ger

Seafaith, my details are as follows:

Banquet Date: 2 Dec 2007
Ballroom: Sir Stamford Rm
Theme: Red N Black Theme
Food Tasting: TBC

Thanks a million.

seafaith

<table border=1><tr><td><center><font size="-1">Nick Name</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Wedding/Banquet Date</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Ballroom</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Theme</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Food tasting date</font></center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Seafaith</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">22/03/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Sir Stamford</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Red Rose &amp; Ivory</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">bbp</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">11/08/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Ix</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">27/10/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Magnolia/Vanda</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Shirley</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">02/12/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Sir Stamford</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Black &amp; Red</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Autumns07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">10/12/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Magnolia/Vanda</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Haze</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">22/12/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Sir Stamford</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Black &amp; Red</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></td></tr></table>

autumns07

Thanks Seafaith for compiling =)

Ixxy, have you thought about which theme to use? I will be using the white theme but not sure about the flowers. Do you recall the colour of the walls?

ixxy

Hi Autumn,

I'm considering the black &amp; red theme. I fall in love with it after viewing it the other day. I have not seen the rest of the themes. Do you know what themes are available?

You like the white theme? Is it call french vanilla?

I think the colour of the walls is either beige or off-white.

Here is the pic of the ballroom.
428268.jpg

autumns07

Hi Ixxy,
Zona introduced me to the white and red theme. The red is unique but I feel that it is too strong for me. The white theme is what you have above. Other flowers like baby breath and roses are available too, besides orchids.Black and red theme is out for me....mum dun like...

seafaith

Hi Autumn,

I love Black and red theme too but can't accept by both of our parent, so have to give up in order to peace them. Then, everything can be more smooth. hahahh... u get what i mean rite?

I had seen Ixxy above photo theme, off white with red rose... quite nice and outstanding too. I think i will choose this.

ixxy

I think I will face the same problem. Maybe our parents will not like it. I suppose the elders are more traditional. hard to accept black.

Autumn, how did Zona intro you? Through pictures?

Seafaith, are you referring to the Red Rose &amp; Ivory theme stated in your chart?

jen02

Hi Autumn &amp; Seafaith,
I also face the problem with my parent too. They cant except black theme too, but i told them it not all black but red in it too. Then they say okay. Maybe u girl can ensure ur parent abt it too. Ya, it quite hard for older people to except black theme.

Seen those flower, dun really like their floists. I feel it quite simple compare to others. Hope next year they may change the florists. But i dun tink it possible. Hehe. Orchid is quite nice too.

How many themes are there in total? Zona was telling me that we can mix and match, so I'm quite confused as to what I should get. She told me that there are white and black seat covers; silver, gold and red sashes (for the VIP tables); and different types of flowers.
kao_dizzy.gif

Does anyone have pics of the wedding invites? Apparently, there are only 2 (black and white) to choose from.