Grand Hyatt Singapore

baby_fluff

Hi Yunxi,

icic..there are really a lot of little things to do for a wedding isn't it? wow...u r taking ur pics real soon gal!! so exciting! how much extra did u have to fork out for taking pictures in JB? Which is ur BS?

My bf & I were thinking of gg to Msia to take some pics as well cos Sg too boringz...but we're not sure of the cost...worst come to worst, go Sentosa to take lor...also considered as overseas mah...hehehe

eveuloveme

hi babyfluff,
the wedding invites are on the multiply as well. u have to look at all the albums to look for it.

hi yunxi,
it is s$40 for the inserts... RM80 for 200

yunxi

Hi babyfluff,
my BS is actually Elegance in JB itself so no extra needed as their outdoor shoot is typically Desaru (like in SG is Sentosa). only paid abt RM3388 for the entire package

yunxi

Hi Babyfluff, btw I called hyatt to check on the bridal showcase, a lady said the offers are only for new sign ups...did you hear otherwise?

baby_fluff

Hi eveuloveme, okies will check it on Multiply..i saw the fortune cookies...very interesting leh..aiyah..i must have missed the cards again..me very "shoot bird" one..*sigh*

Hi Yunxi, I think the showcase offers are for new sign-ups but 2006 couples only...not applicable to existing 2006 couples nor new 2007 couples...but it'll be a good chance to go down and view their decor & obtain a better idea of what to expect on our ADs itself. U have signed up wif them already meh?

Wah...your PS is very cheap leh...wat does it consist of? OTR gowns or MTM? How many pics r they giving u? Whatever it is, it's a really good deal...just ensure they dun have a lot of hidden costs...be more cautious yah? =)

yunxi

Hi babyfluff,
ya, i signed up since nov05. at dat time they even said they dun do any bridal shows like other hotels, all customers r by word of mouth..haiz, only till i read this forum then realise they have a showcase in Dec! thankfully, the only freebie i din get is the $100 restaurant voucher.
The JB wedding package is generally more comprehensive,8 OTR for photo shoot, 3 OTR for AD, MTM suit for my hubby (cos the suits there all quite small),13-page (the horizontal one piece type..dunno how to describe it)...etc. but not inclg car and AD MU, so source on my own....got a MUA but trying to find car now... A JB fren went with us to do the 1st scouting so shd be ok with local advice ;p

sphire80

Wow.. Yunxi, Babyfluff,

Looks like Hyatt has shows more often than any other hotels. I'm presuming the next one will be in July or Aug.

jaslyn~00

Hi eve
Do u still remember the procedure for the final count down? Example: when will we organise for the food testing...do we call them up to set the date ourself?when do we finalise the design of the place?what time do we need to check in on AD?Do the march in music provided?or do we need to provide our own music CD?

eveuloveme

hi jaslyn,

1.3 mths before AD collect Cards and you can print inserts,
2. 1 mtn before AD can have the food tasting. you should have confirmed the theme by then becos u can see the actual set up during the food tasting itself.
3. check in on AD: preferable as early as possible... i checked in at 3pm and it was very rush....
4. march in music: they have, but u can provide your own if u want. i used my own music.. just burn them into a CD.

not to worry, the hyatt people are very good. they will call u or ur hubby to remind u.... but if u have special arrangement u can call them... no worries they are quite flexible and nice!!

usually a few days before the AD u got to confirm the no. of tables and the wine or beer u want to order... that's abt it!

baby_fluff

Hi Yunxi,

Oic..wah...thanks for your timely advice..I had half a mind to sign up with them before they even entitle me to the promotional package..cos I was worried abt other ppl booking my date..

I think u have gotten a great deal for ur BS package, just tat for me I would feel that it's a little inconvenient (no offense), having to travel to JB for the alterations here and there (esp now tat they have implemented the $20 levy on all SG cars entering Msia)..but if u live near woodlands, think it should be fine lah...Nevertheless, I still maintain tat u guys have gotten a great deal and it's a good package for the amount paid. My goodness...8 OTR gowns for PS...U r spoiled for choices gal!! hee

Eve, thanks for the pic!! Now I finally get to see how the Invitation cards of Grand Hyatt looks like!! lolx! =)

yunxi

Hi BabyFluff,
ya, I do agree wif u, the only problem is the travelling but my FH travels into JB occasionally so pretty familiar, so to save $$, we decided on it...on average, my fren told me there will be 8 to and fro trips, not too bad la...:p...btw, i think the $20 levy is a plan but implementation date not confirmed yet...we tot it's going to start 1 May but it didn't...

baby_fluff

Hi Yunxi, oh the $20 levy is not up yet ah?? Good good...heehee...then can go JB shopping liaoz..*happy* Btw, r u interested to do cartoon animation on the re-enactment of ur love story?

sspl

hi baby fluff, been busy, so dint come into this thread for a while.. abt the camelia room capacity.. tks for the update.. the prices are nett are? quite ok leh,, but does anyone has the pics to see the camelia ballroom.. and u know the menu?

yunxi

Hi babyfluff, i ve seen the cartoon re-enactment on tv..u doing it..how much is it? it's v cute and not as boring as photos but we are on tight budget..

baby_fluff

Hi Yunxi, yup me thinking of doing the cartoon animation..so cute...but it's $600...however, I was thinking if more of us wants to do this animation thingy, we'll probably have a greater bargaining power in getting a better deal if all of us were to book it tog. U wanna consider? We r gg down one of these days...let me know again?

baby_fluff

hi SSPL,

Yes the prices are nett but there are sure to be top ups and all depending on wat u want..ie. more beer etc. I only have the menu in hard copy so u might like to email Hyatt directly for the menu.

yunxi

Hi babyfluff,
Thanks for the offer..discussed with my hubby and we decide just make do with the usual montage...save $$ for our honeymoon....

baby_fluff

HI Yunxi,

We were thinking of gg to the Greek Islands, Rome, Prague, Nice in France, Spain maybe...heehee..=) If u can, do try the Greek Islands...they are so beautiful. The perfect honeymoon destination.. =)

baby_fluff

Eve, u have been quiet..these days it seems to be only me and Yunxi talking in this thread..right Yunxi?? haha...more like a PM session between u and me..lolx

baby_fluff

Hi Seafaith, my AD is on 21st of April 07. When's urs? Which room r u taking?

Hi Yunxi, ask u ah..my gd fren getting married in march 07, one mth b4 me..I'm supposed to be her Jie Mei...but I've heard some frenz telling me tt I cannot be her JM nor even to attend her wedding leh..u know anything abt it?

seafaith

Hi Yunxi and Baby_fluff,

My AD on March 2007 and i had booked Sir Stamford Room. I like this room, very grand and class.

Yunxi, Have u booked Hyatt already? Which rom u choose? How abt u babyfluff?

Regarding your case babyfluff, some of ppl will very pantang this lor, cause they said will "cong" for both bride and family loh. But for me i not so believe loh cause my sister last time also attend her friends wedding 3days after hers. and her fren also attend my sister wedding. Now they still ok wat, nothing have wrong. It's all depend on individual and whether u believe it or not. Ask your fren, if she mind then better don't.

eveuloveme

hi babyfluff,
my AD over lioa mah.. so nothing much to contribute. hahahahha but hyatt is a good choice.
no worries.....

the service is good... the deco is good...the food is good.

baby_fluff

Thanks for your advice Seafaith..I told my fren to ask her folks abt the pan tang thingy & she'll let me know again..but accordingly, she mentioned her folks are not the pan tang type so should be ok...

For me, I have yet to book Hyatt but I will be gg down this Sat to see the coordinator for the first time...hopefully we'll be eligible to go for the promotional packages tat they will be offering during the bridal showcase...see wat my coordinator says lor..But I will be most probably taking the Magnolia room due to my table number size. =)

Hi Eve, u always have a lot of contribute...u r like e "Big Sis" in this forum...always offering great advices...heehee...

Yunxi, I'm in a dilemma right now...I've just watched my fren's wedding MTV & I liked it a lot...but my bf says we should only have 1 video...either the cartoon animation or the MTV...*sigh* The MTV is included in the package tat Amanda Lee has quoted me..*stressed* *sigh* I want both!! *sob*

Eve?? Any inputs?

twinstarz

babyfluff! hey..its me! meet u in this thread again! wah, tell u ah...its all becoz u all keep mentioning grand hyatt in the TWP thread that ive decided to find out more abt them again, even though i actually eliminated them initially coz im afraid the place is too "indian". coz when i pass by the hotel on wkends, always seem to see many indians guests, staff etc. no offence..not that im a racist or anything..but just that i noticed lah!

hey all, anybody has pics of the sir stanmford rm? also, r the ballrooms all located on the same level?

baby_fluff

haha Twinstarz, it's u again...lolx...nice bumoing into u again...lolx...I think all the rooms are located on the same level (heard from my fren) but then again, I haven't been there myself...gg there this Sat cos got bridal show..u wanna go also? lolx

yunxi

Hi Seafaith, ya, i already booked Magnolia rm since last Nov. my AD is 17Oct06

Hi babyfluff, agree will "xin yang yang" but on practical side...based on what those married friends, dun spend too much on photos/video stuff as we prob will chuck it in the drawer in future...

seafaith

For your information, all the ballroom at same level except Sir Stamford Room which located same level with mezanine level. This room more exclusive which i like it much. But apposite the SSR is Sir Henry Room (very small room) which normally for the meeting and it's mostly will not have any function at night time which my co-ordinator adv.

Tell u what, the SSR with black theme is very nice and elegant but too bad i can't have it.

I agree with Yunxi, don't spend too much on the photo and video on our wedding cause most of my friend which had married also adv me that after married and when u got child, all this will be under the store room. So wasted.

baby_fluff

Hi Yunxi & Seafaith,

Thanks for ur advices. Ok lah..I will just take one only...probably go for the MTV cos if I were to take AL as my BS, it'll be included in the package...The cartoon animation no doubt is cute but I guess the MTV will be much more meaningful to pay for since u and ur FH will be starring in it and spending the whole day to act it out..hehe..

btw Seafaith, how many tables r u looking at? Wat is the date of ur AD? My fren also getting married in March.

baby_fluff

btw, really got a lot of Indians at GH ah? Jia Lat...I went to Rasa Sentosa and I was quite turned off by the level of svc there...had a lot of p/t Indian waiters who weren't familiar wif Chinese dinner etiquette...

seafaith

Hi babyfluff,

My AD on 22nd March 2007, have booked min 23 table for SSR and will recfm when date nearer.

For me if the Indian service ok, it's fine for me.

eveuloveme

hi babyfluff,
there are not a lot of indians lah. haaha the waitress / waiter are a mix of different races. my banquet managers got chinese and indian.
service is superb. VERY good..
no worries

as for shld u have the mtv.. hhaaha i think it all depends on wat u want, and u like to have.

i find it useful to think abt the memory that i want the guests to have, and the memory that me and my hubby would like to take away from that day. that helps alot! haaha

do something u like and something that is special for the both of u...

twinstarz

hey babyfluff! dun worri lah, im sure the indians i saw were just guests and not the staff. i think the banquet staff shld be mostly chinese since its gonna be a chinese banquet.

hey seafaith, thanx for the info on the location of the ballrm. was worried that if its more than 1 ballrm, then the recept would be too crowded n v confusing...

hey ladies, anybody has pics of the black theme to show me? v interested now coz my bf n i want black n pink theme....=)

shiro_ger

Hi Yunxi,

The black and red theme is actually one of the standard theme that they have. I think Eve has posted some pictures of the black and red theme in her earlier post. You might want to refer to earlier threads.

Shirley

haywiregirl

This theme not bad. we may be(chances is quite high) having our banquet by the end of this year, my dad fall sick and I am so afraid that he may not be able to attend my wedding in 2007. Need to discuss with Dang if she could make my gown ready by aug, then I can go AUS for ps and banquet in Dec.

twinstarz

hey seafaith, my email addy : [email protected] thanx in advance! =)

hey yunxi, no lah, not that hyatt has a black n pink theme..just that my FH n i always wanted to try to hv a black n pink theme (he likes black, i like pink) that's y. actually the black n red pics that shirley posted r quite nice too. quite similar to 1 of marriot's theme as well.

hey shirley! thanx so the sir stamford rm looks like this huh! looks quite big leh. i was expecting sth smaller coz the min requirment was only 20 tables. thanx for sharing! =)

baby_fluff

Hi gals, wow pretty pretty pretty...this is a lovely theme...I'm impressed..Thanks for the pics Shirley.

Eve, thanks for your inputs & valuable insights. Think I should be settling for the MTV. =)

Twinstarz, I'm keeping my fingers crossed on the Staff deployment issue...hopefully there will be more Chinese staff ard..As I've said, I really am not racists, but it's just tt I feel it to be better if I were to have Chinese waiters at a Chinese dinner cos they will be more familiar wif the Chinese etiquette.

shiro_ger

Hey Twin,
I have the impression that SSR is gonna be quite cramped for 25 tables (Even tho i have been to the room). Max cacpacity for this room is 30 tables and the aisle is L-shaped. I was thinking that if i were to have my wedding in this room, it must not be more than 25 tables. If not, some of my guest would be seating right to the end, which i thought, is quite far from the stage. But Zona assured me that it will not be cramped, though. Maybe you gals might want to drop by (maybe during their bridal show) to judge for yourselves.

twinstarz

hey, yunxi, i just showed the photos to my mum too! but surprisingly, she quite like it! haha..she finds the red too red though. ironically, she thinks the red is too chi-na n kept harping on it!

hey shirley! realli? oh no..i was thinking of squeezing 30 tables somemore should i take the grand hyatt stamford ballroom. any other ballrm with this theme? can it be done say for eg, i take grand ballroom but request for the black theme?

babyfluff, i noe exactly wat u mean. nt that we r racist..but reali, its our wedding n we would just rather hv ppl that wld be more familiar with chinese guests n our lingo. at least no language barrier should the older folks need to speak in madarine to request for things too.