Grand Hyatt Singapore

capricape

Btw, all ballrooms have the same colour theme for us to choose? the grand ballroom and Magnolia Vanda room can both have the black theme?

qing22

<table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>Banquet</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>co-ordinator</TD><TD>Theme</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>PS </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blueybubble</TD><TD>10-06-06</TD><TD>10-06-06</TD><TD>Magnolia/Vanda</TD><TD>Karina</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurBlur</TD><TD>30-11-06</TD><TD>30-11-06</TD><TD>Sir Stamford Rm</TD><TD>Audrey</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Capricape</TD><TD>24-06-06</TD><TD> 24-06-06</TD><TD> Magnolia/Vanda</TD><TD>Audrey</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dang Bridal</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Ron Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>Collin_Eileen</TD><TD>09-12-06</TD><TD> 09-12-06</TD><TD>Camilla</TD><TD>Merlissa</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genesisgalaxy</TD><TD>06-12-05</TD><TD>30-06-04</TD><TD>Sir Stamford Rm</TD><TD>Audrey</TD><TD>TBM</TD><TD>Ritz Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Chris Ling(John) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Iling</TD><TD>11-05-06</TD><TD>18-05-05</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Audrey/Mandy</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>15-11-05</TD><TD>15-01-04</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Milan Wedding</TD><TD>Mark Yang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kastine</TD><TD>05-10-06</TD><TD>05-10-06</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Julia Wedding</TD><TD>Fabian Lim</TD><TD>Derrick Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>07-10-06</TD><TD>07-10-06</TD><TD>Camilla</TD><TD>Karina</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Ron Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lourdes</TD><TD>28-10-06</TD><TD>28-10-06</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Andy</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Kelvin - Chris Ling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynette</TD><TD>20-11-05</TD><TD>11-03-04</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD> Audrey</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rene</TD><TD>27-03-06</TD><TD>11-05-05</TD><TD>Sir Stamford Rm</TD><TD>Andy</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Kelvin – Chris Ling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Springbride</TD><TD>08-03-06</TD><TD>15-05-05</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Ailin</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Daylight</td></tr></table>

eveuloveme

hi all GH brides and brides to be,

i went for the food tasting today! didn't expect it to be so personalised. they even put up a sign at the lobby and on the plasma screen.

the food is GGREATTTTTTT !!! esp the first dish. it is very unique cos different from most hotel!! but the jelly fish abit salty!

the serving is HUGE too! esp the sharksfin!!!

eve

kelly_pink

Hello Ladies!
I have a colleague who just went for a wedding dinner at Hyatt and she was commenting how tasty the dishes are, especially the yam paste!! Heeheee! She also says the service is GREAT!
So relieve to hear that!

xoxo

Hi Kelly,

tht is good
my wedding 3 more days... ha ha... hope everything smooth smooth. Was told by my coordinator tht my actual day got 3 weddings going on...

eveuloveme

hi jamie,
ur big come is nearing!! all the best and congrats to u!!!

it will be great at hyatt. have lots of confidence with them!

eve

eveuloveme

hi jamie,
u thinking of getting ur own people to usher the guests?

i m using the hibiscus room, which i think is hard to locate so i m getting my frens to help with the ushering at the lift lobby

eve

xoxo

hmmm.... i ever went to see people wedding at hyatt. As i am using grand ballroom, it is juz at the left when go up the escalator. And there is actually hotel usher standing there telling people this is grandballroom.

gelaine

I'm new to this thread. Thinking of holding my wedding at GH as my FH loves the concept eversince we last attended a friend's wedding. However, we're still quite lost on how to go about booking, food tasting and blah blah blah... anyone can guide us along? Also how much time before our AD should we do the booking and all? Quotation?

eveuloveme

hi gelanine,

u can give the banquet sales team a call and they will assign u a coordinator.

have u selected a date for ur AD yet? cos usually the first thing they ask is ur date, and if they are available. then how many tables u are looking at. hyatt has 5 ballrooms and they each have different min. table requirement.

after that u can go down and meet the coordinator, whom will u show u the ballroom, the suite, and talk to u abt the package and pricing. thats abt it. hehee

u will only go for food tasting, and finalise the details such as theme, colours, card, favour when it is nearing ur AD.

usually food tasting is done ard 1 mtn before the AD.

i have pics of the cards that hyatt give and the food tasting on my multiply site. u can visit http://eveuloveme.multiply.com

as hyatt is very popular with brides, i guess u shld go down once u have selected the dates u want. have a few dates in mind in case the one or two dates are not available.

i only booked after the CNY this year, and the sat dates are out, so i have to settle with a weekday. abit late. hehe my AD is this coming 8 dec.

hope u find this info useful
eve

blueybubble

Hi Eve,

Saw ur multiply page. So coincidental. I'm with Grand Hyatt and GHA (tampines) too! And, I'm a teacher too! Who is ur coordinator for GH? Just wanna congratulation on ur wedding! Have fun!!!

eveuloveme

hi blueybubble,
so i m not the only double "G" bride. GHA and GH.hehe i m from the yishun branch though.

my coordinator for GH is Zona and she is great! very nice lady to work with....

well u are a fellow teacher too? so getting married during the hols too?

what abt u? when is ur big day coming?

eve

garden_dreamz

hi Eve and blueybubble,
pardon me bumming into the conversation. me also a fellow teacher. how coincident!!! Eve, love your multiple site. v.impressed by the painstaking effort u took to build n design it. may u have a great wedding! mine's 3 days after yours.

eveuloveme

hi dreamz,
dun worry abt bumming in!! u are welcome! are u with hyatt?

thank u for ur compliment on the mutiply site, but is very easy to create cos everything is given, u just need to type in ur own stuff and upload the pics!

urs is on the 11th? hehee i m flying off that day! happy planning!

eve

blueybubble

Hey eve and dreamz,

Yup, I'm a fellow teacher.... only 4 months plus into my job. Haha! Ya, my AD is 10/06/06. Have to get it done during the holidays. If not everyone will be busy. Eve, was reading ur blog about knowing who ur true frens are. Now I'm getting abit worried cos I dunno all my colleagues, and I'm not sure whether to invite all. But most likely not. Plus, I think most of the teachers will be going overseas during the hoildays. So I guess they wun be cancelling their trip for a newbie like me. Haha! Wish both of u the best for ur AD!

gelaine

Hi eveuloveme... Thanks alot for your advice...
Nice site you have on multiply. We're thinking of having our AD next year end... so wondering if it is too early to do our booking.
So what are the perks you got for your AD? And also anyone else care to share some pics if possible and give more advice on how to go about with planning... i seriously is lost. So is my FH... LOL

eveuloveme

hi blueybubble,

by ur AD u would have served the sch for 1 year mah, hhahah not newbie anymore, me teaching for 1.5 years only. hmmm ur date is still alright, cos only abt 2nd week of hols? i guess from 3rd week onwards pple go for travel. so no worries!!!

hi gelaine,
i dun think it is too early, cos it is ard 1 year in advance? but i am not sure if the price list is out yet. maybe u can check with the coordinator. u can give them a call.

i think grand ballroom at least 35 tables? not sure cos i m using hibiscus room as i only have 20 tables.

hmmm hyatt package is very comprehensive.. so not much to bargain.... i only got discount for beer!!!!

u can try projector, but i guess have to exchange it with something? thats abt it... cos the package has got everything..

eve

lahlah

Hi Kastine, can you include me in the list as well ?? Thanks .

Bride : Lahlah

Banquet : 07/10/06

ROM : 07/10/06

Ballroom : Hibiscus room

Coordinator : Andy

Theme : TBC

BS : Amanda Lee

AD Photo : Kuang ( 39 East )

PS : NIL

kelly_pink

Gelaine, Hello!
It is definitely not too late to book your AD venue NOW!!
Understand that many hotels are a quite booked already, especially in the last quarter of 2006! In addition to Nov &amp; Dec being the "always" popular months for weddings..many couples are delaying their AD after Oct in 2006 due to the two 7th lunar month in 2006! Bcoz of that, the last few days of July06, the whole of Aug06 and 1st few days of Sept06 will be the 7th lunar months..

A suggestion..think it will be good if you quickly get our AD date confirm..have a few potential AD dates will be good for standby..then call your shortlisted hotels to ask if they have ballrooms available on those dates..then they can do a tentative booking for you over the phone.. Hope this is useful to you!

gelaine

Hey eveuloveme &amp; Kelly, Thanks lots for the advice. So may things to do but yet so little time... i'm so lost! *lol*

limay

Hey all, brides to be who booked the Garden for the solemnisation, try to negotiate for some freebies if you ended up having to pay for the Garden. We got to use the garden (+ set up for 20+ people) for free when we booked our WD with Hyatt (had the black theme in SSR last Dec). Good luck!

eveuloveme

hi bigtoes,
thanks for sharing ur pics with me last time!! u look great! i like the idea of wearing the kua to greet the guests! hehhee

hmmm ur hubby look familiar.. hehe

eve

faith_joe

i've yet to have my food tasting... but think i'll have 11 persons.. think they will allow 11 or 12?
Also, is their bridal suite standard, or can upgrade one meh?

eveuloveme

hi faith_joe,

i think they allow 11 person in one table, u check with ur coordinator first? cos they did mention to me that 12 pple abit squeezy.

eve

dusky

Is it true that GH does not take tentative bookings? I talked to one of the wedding coordinators and she told me only confirmed bookings (means must pay deposit first) before they will reserve the ballroom for you. All the other hotels that I have talked to allowed tentative bookings, so I found it unbelievable that GH doesn't. Anybody told the same thing?

dusky

Didn't catch the name of the lady I talked to on the phone. Not sure whether it's the coordinator I'm allocated to in the email sent to me. Never mind, at least now I know... thks very much Cat!

eveuloveme

hi blueybubble,

yup the sch hols are here!! i got to buck up with my prep cos my AD is coming soon!!

wat theme are u interested in for hyatt?

hi dusky,
i believed hyatt do allow tentative booking, but only for ard 3 days.

eve

xoxo

I juz had my AD 4 days ago at Hyatt
Grand Ballroom. Overall is satisfied. Only 2 things tht not so please 1)Music quite soft thru out even we request to increase volume. 2)dishes r serve quite slow tht night.

But the food, everyone commented tht it is good and abt the same as food tasting.... Also guests commented tht the flowers and theme very nice. Overall i am please and happy
kao_wedding.gif
And i want to thanks Andy my coordinator, he really helped us alot

dusky

Hi Cat,

I am looking at Raffles Hotel, Four Seasons, Pan Pac, Meritius Mandarin, Grand Hyatt, Grand Corpthorne. Think cost wise MM, Pan Pac, Grand Corpthorne are lower in the list. Raffles Hotel, Grand Hyatt and Four Seasons are comparable. Now quite interested in Grand Hyatt but think the loss fr relatives (budget 50 - 100% loss) and maybe fr friends (if $80 ang bows) as well will burn a big hole in our pockets.

blueybubble

Hey eve,

I'm also taking this holiday to prepare for everything. I think I will be taking the white theme. I have only seen the wedding set up at Mag Van once, which was yesterday. Hopefully I will be able to see the rest and compare before I make my final decision.

eveuloveme

hi bubble,
when is ur AD? it is good to settle the important stuff during the sch hols cos when sch reopen it is busy busy busy.

i m taking the white theme (french vanilla) with champange orchird. my hubby feels that the black theme is too dark for the hibiscus room. maybe next yr they will have more themes.

hi dusky,
would u be considering the weekday package at GH? maybe u can minimize ur loss if it is on a weekday?

eve

blueybubble

Hey eve,

My AD is 10/06/06. Ya, going back to school from Monday to Wednesday for review and course. Gotta prepare for SEED also.
Hopefully can clear my work soon and get most of the wedding stuff done.

patek

Hi BTB of Grand Hyatt,

Our AD is on 18 Nov 06, but most likely our dinner will be on a different date.

We are going into a neg. with out co-ordinator soon, but till now we are still kind of lost, not sure what can of perks we can ask for more from them. Also what are the important details which we need to look into if we shall go ahead with them.

Do share your experience with us on what are those additional perks we can request from them, other then their standard package...

Oh ya... just to check, the person whom is serving us now is Melisa, is she good?

Appreciate your sharing...

eveuloveme

hi bubble,

what is SEED? hehee what have u settle so far? ur AD ard 6 mtns away? hehe if u want to print insert, u can try T&amp;T in City Sq in JB. it is cheaper than S'pore.

hi Venise,
I find it tough to negotiate for extra stuff that is not in the package cos my coordinator refused to budge. but i guess the hyatt package is very comprehensive so there is little room for negotiation. are u going to book with hyatt? cos it will be better to negotiate if u are confirming with them. they will be more willing to give u perks.

ask for extra cards and car park coupons, they will give u. no problem.....

does ur package comes with free flow or beer? mine doesn't but i manage to get a discount for beer. u can ask for it also.

so far i dun think anyone has luck asking for the projector.. hehehe

u can also get special room rate for ur guests if want to book a room.

hmmm i guess thats abt all.

eve

garden_dreamz

hey eve, bubble,
so sorry, MIA 4 some time coz busy with house reno, big headache lah. also need to do SOW 2006. then plus, AD coming up v.soon, so like everyday got so many things 2 do.

eve, happy flying on the 11th. where u going to? i flying off on 15th, back on 26th, juz in time 4 staff meeting on 27th.

i tried to ask them for extra car park coupons, they didn't allow...lucky you!

blubble, juz 2 share abt inviting colleages. at 1st i tot only invite those whom i close to, then a fellow tr told me better to invite whole school, dun let the heads mark u if u didn't invite them,etc. damn terok, so i had 2 last min fire all my invites. but coincidentally, another of my col also same day wedding, so most of them go his side, v.few on my side. but it was really hell lah, when i tried to invite tat few n wonder if the rest would get insulted,etc....
gd 2 do most of ur wed prep now, coz when sch start, really no time man, esp. our job nature.

ok, gtg liaozzz....
catch up with all u GH brides again. cheers!

patek

hi eve,

thanks for your reply, mmm... I agree with you that their package is pretty good.

Seriously, I am not sure what do we need for the dinner itself... haha...

They mention to me that they are able to arrage for a plasma if we needed it in certain area of it. As for beer, not sure do we need the extra after all, not many of our friends drink beer, mostly wine and even hard liquor for our parents friends.

As for carpark coupon, yup sure will ask for more, other then this... not sure what else that need to look into.

patek

eveuloveme

hi dreamz,

heheh how is ur wedding prep? AD coming soon! i m going to the states on the 11th!

oh yah the inviting the staff thingy very thorny. hahah cos i invited almost everyone! but those really not close i didn't invite...

hi patek
well perhaps u can ask for free upgrade of flowers? hehe or maybe sash on alternative chairs?

u can also ask for extra invite. the 70% they give is not enough. i asked for quite a lot of extra since most of my guests are frens.

eve

garden_dreamz

hey eve,
everyday is like a mad rush coz of my house reno, curtains juz came in this evening, still have some works to be done here n there.

then there's those rounds of gown choosing/fitting (Which is quite fun lah!) ops!
will have to soon settle march in music n perhaps work out the programme 4 the dinner.

in short, a blur mess lah, all 4 the sake of 1 DAY!!!

how abt urs? have u settled ur gowns already?

venise, i also found it v.hard 2 negotiate 4 anythin more beyond the package they offered. if u wan any extras, have to pay. they r quite generous with the invitation cards though.

patek

Hi eve &amp; dreamz,

Thanks for the tips, but now I am having problem getting hold of the co-ordinator to sit down and talk to her in further details...

Feel kind of upset with her respond cos she is recommended by my friend who happen to be a VP with another dept.

Even when I left her a voice mail she wouldnt return my call... Now thinking of asking my friend to recommend someone else after all my contact is not sign yet, if not worse case... get another hotel

eveuloveme

hi dreamz,

do u need the AD and dinner programme? I can send mine to u... well actually it belong to my fren as i have yet to complete mine.

i have settled most of my stuff, now asking my helpers to get RSVP and hopefully i can plan the seating arrangement by the end of the mnth.

hi petek,
who is ur coordinator? could she be on leave?

eve