Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Hi Nami/tannabee,

My march-in was the L-shaped one. I think I had 4 pairs of swordbearers in total, so 4 sabos. The first pair was right at the beginning of the L-curve, so they are not exactly in straight line. Then the next three spread out all the way till the stage.

Rose-petal throwing: that happened before we reached the swordbearers. The guests at the part where the SBs are will be entertained enough by the sabos!

tannabee, maybe can tell your hubby my points and try to explain to him that visually it'd look a bit weird lor. Alternatively you can have the kids walk in with you at 2nd march-in instead.

Guestbook: I used the hotel one. You can actually ask your coordinator to let you have a look at a sample. Found it quite nice actually, and of better quality than some other hotels' guestbooks. We did not bother spending more buying another guestbook, because we reasoned that no one was going to care about it anyway and it'd be buried underneath a lot of stuff in your drawer before long (true enough, I dun really think I know where my guestbook is now!) But remember that if you want guests to sign you muist put the guestbook in a prominent place and ideally have someone watching over it, so that he/she can invite people over to sign it. otherwise most people will not bother.

Anyway, in summary the sequence of SB march-ins:

1) SBs march in to march-in music first.
2) Door opens, smoke effect, etc. Couple marches in. (remember to do this SLOWLY!) Guests stationed at aisle to throw rose petals.
3) Couple stops at first pair of SBs. Sabo begins. First sabo ends. Couple moves on.
4) Couple stops at second pair of SBs. And so on, till the last pair. I think it's nice if the last sabo is for the groom to carry the bride up the stage (happened to me, and to a couple of other military weddings I've been to as well).
5) Cake-cutting. Then dinner begins.

Other notes of caution: Do advise your SBs if there is anything that you strictly would not do. It would be embarassing if your SBs suggest something that is too outrageous to do, or something that would make your FH sick (e.g. if your FH cannot stand durian and they force your FH to eat it and he pukes on the spot). This is meant to be fun and memorable, not traumatizing.
Don't underestimate what your SBs could come up with!

Halo mgt & ice,

Me planning for my wedding in 2007. Can send me your photos too? And how many months before shld i go for my PS?

hihi...i m new in this forum. Just check anyone had their wedding at the smaller ballroom??? Any pic??? As my table are btw 25 to 30, i cant go for the grand ballroom.
Pls do let me know....Thanks!

hi sherl,
thanks for the information! It is very useful. The rose petals are provided by the hotel or do you source it yourself? When was your wedding actually? Just ended?

Nami,

You can ask whichever florist you chose to provide some rose petals for you (should not be extra charge unless you ask for too much, e.g. 5 packets of rose petals is too much). We picked June Florist and were very satisfied with their services.

My wedding was in March 06.

Sherl,

Wat if Im having solemnization aft 1st march in? Do i cut the cake after the solemnization??

The dummy cake from the hotel looks good anot? Im thinking of getting a real wedding cake, and can serve as dessert, but we have to get the actual dessert to go along with the cake, i.e Ice cream??

HOw much of rose petals can we get from June Florist??

tannabee,

Not sure leh... think so bah.... But actually there is no real schedule to it, you do whatever you think would fit.

There are a number of dummy cakes available - I got the white one, thought that one looked best. You can ask your coordinator to show you the pictures of the dummy cakes. That's what I did.

Rose petals, you can ask for about two packets, should be enough bah. I didn't see how big the packets were myself, but my guests had enough to use even for the 2nd march in.

hi sherl,
thanks for sharing so much with me!

My co ordinator jus called me and asked me to arrange to meet up with the florists and printers. When did you meet up with the florists? I havent called them yet. Decided to go view the cards first. My wedding is in Nov.

Nami,

My coordinator sounded the bell in Dec. That was when we first went down to the florist (we narrowed down to June from the beginning coz we heard that they provided very good service, so we didn't bother shopping). We met up with Peggy herself, and made our choices there and then. One thing that can be good or bad about GCW is that they dun have any specific themes, so you mix and match everything yourself - can be quite a headache! But Peggy helped us out with suggestions.

We also went down to the card printers around that time to select cards and settle the printing.

For you it might be time to go down liao, esp if you are pantang about not doing anything during the two 7th months coming up. My preps, even though I started early, were sort of disrupted with CNY, and we had hell of a time catching up again during the last weeks. My advice is to do whatever you can earlier so that you have time to rest during the last month. It may not seem like you have a lot to do, but trust me, the last month you'll start to feel that time is not enough. And beware the guest and seating list! Definitely the biggest headache of all!

Hi Sherl,
thanks for your advice and help! Planning to go down next week to view the cards...and maybe following week to the florists.
Can i ask you for the dinner, did you bring in duty paid hard liquor? Wines and liquor is another headache thing for me man. I think you are right...there seems to be so many thgs on the list..i have another 4 mths to go before my AD.

harlow gals....

long time never log in to this thread...seems pretty quiet recently...how is everyone doing???

Nami...my wedding early dec but co-ordinator nv call me yet....still haf 4 mths to go....but still very nua...

haf u taken ur wedding PS? i just did mine on friday was real tired but fun....

which date is ur wedding?

Dear Nami,
think u sign up with GCW. Can share about the perk they offering??? oh ya...which ballroom u took up? iszit the one with garden view??

Nami,

Yup, I brought duty-paid hard liquor in. The hotel is pretty strict on that.
On your AD, you should appoint a capable helper on your side to deal with the hotel on liquor and wine issues, don't worry over it yourself ok? Must enjoy your wedding day!

hi gals!! me long time no log in too

juz finished my PS too!!! hehe really had loads of fun

sherl.. hw hav u been?? started proj BB yet???

has any1 visited d florist or card printer yet?? me tinkin of visitin them soon to take a look.. mayb in sept

Nami.. my weddin oso in nov.. i tot to visit d card printers n florists nxt mth or so.. but nw tink abt kinda worried.. scare nt enough time..

sherl.. if weddin in nov hw early shld i print my cards ah???

hi stefy,
my AD is 25 nov. I have taken my PS and i agree, was tiring but fun and memorable! Now waiting for the bridal to give me the layout for the album

hi sherl,
Hmm, yah that was what the co ordinator told me too, that they were quite strict. Coz I know of certain hotels not that strict hee. Yup, will assign someone to take care of that. But you know, now cant help but worry about whether the wines enuff, whether I will make minimal loss etc...sigh...

hi serene,
i took up the grand ballroom, the one with the garden view. are you thinking of signing up with GWC? if yes, i think the package will be different coz i signed up mine in oct 05 actually
if you wan, i can email you the details.

hi dorami,
like u, im abit scared wait not enuff time. plus coz of my job scope, oct 1st 2-3 weeks is my peak period...so that leaves even lesser time for me. So I think we better hurry up hee...when is your AD?

Nami.. mine is a few days b4 yours.. on 22nd nov.. so when u plannin to start printin ur cards?? i'm gettin worried i'm late in doin tt liao

Dorami, how was your PS?

My wedding is in Oct and I still havent done the cards and flowers :P But i did visit ask Steffi to email me samples of their decor and looks quite sad.. so will be taking a look at June maybe next week.

ice.. PS was so fun!!!! me n my hubby totally enjoyed d process.. though at d end of d day we were both pretty exhausted

but didnt managed to take any pics cos our stupid camera spoil leh.. so disappointed.. my SIL came along to help me out.. lucky hav her ard to help me w my gowns n all

EH says our pics shld b ready tis week.. lookin fwd to view them.. wil share w u then.. i hope they turn out nice

Dorami,

My bb due in Jan.

Eh, the other day I was smsing Yukie and she ask whether want to org outing or not leh. I told her everyone like disappear like that liao leh. You interested?

If your wedding is in Nov and you dun want to do anything during the 2 7th months you should start now I think, coz by the time the 2nd 7th month end hor, already Oct leh, that leaves you with very little time. Not sure what you wanna do, print inserts or hotstamp the card, but hotstamping takes longer, insert think take about 1 week... But hor, tomorrow start of 7th month liao...

Nami,

Yeah, I understand. Before the wedding hubby and I always quarrel about money because I underprepare and he tend to overcompensate. After the wedding we realised that actually quite stupid lor, we would have had a lot more fun if we had been more relaxed.
So while being mentally prepared for emergency situations, you must also kan kai yi dian ok?
Where are you getting your wine from? Most wine suppliers have a formula for calculating the amount of wine you need, which is almost foolproof. And some suppliers, like mine, pledged to send over emergency supplies at one hour's notice if really needed.

ice.. they can email u samples wan ah??? so did June email pics to u

so far fr d comments of d other GCW brides.. seems like June is a better choice

i'm worried abt cards.. cos tmr 7th mth liao.. cant do anythin.. n i'm worried tt i'm late in printin cards.. when u gg to start printin yours???

Sherl!!!!!! wow wow!!! congrats !!! gg to b a mummy!!!!!!! so glad to hear tis wonderful news!!!!!

of cos i'm interested in havin a gathering!!! v shld hav 1!!!!! so nice to keep every1 updated!!!!

yah.. jialat.. i only start worryin abt cards cos juz finished my PS.. damn.. me plannin to print inserts.. tink i wont do anythin abt it durin d 7th mth. but gotta start by d 2nd 7th mth liao then.. no choice.. pengz..

Dorami
yah.. we went to visit and asked them to email us the pics. and we can only choose roses or gerberas. Think will be going for June also.. I think most of the brides here have good comments about them.

Hee.. you pics out soon! must be very exciting!! I still waiting for new about my album...

Sherl, congrats!!!!

kekeke.... then gotta start smsing everyone lo. Let me see if I can get up the energy to do it one of these days.

Bugbear, you still around??? *nudge nudge Bugbear* So far we still haven't see you leh!

halo gers, my weddin is in early oct.i hv juz visited the printers to choose my invites but hv nt done anything abt the florist yet. Tot of doing it oni next month cos tmr start is 7th mth, so can relax a bit. Any one did ur food-tasting already?? When shd we start to choose d table linen n stuff liddat??

hi sherl...congrates....u must be very excited abt ur BB now....noe the sex already??

gathering.....can i join too...havent met any of you gals before...would b fun...

dorami...my wedding abt 20days after urs leh... dunno when must start printing the cards or seeing the florist...will probably start calling early sept....hope to get my cards by early oct so can slowly plan n write invites....

maybe we shld all go tog....

u source for wine liow? i haven leh....haiz like so many things to do hor...

stefy.. tink v shld go together.. can bargain better w t-dragon.. guess v can only go aft d 7th mth.. which is end aug

ice.. m excited.. really hope they turn out nice..

ah-ren.. tink for food tastin n table linen n stuff.. ur coordinator wil contact u.. my coordinator has emailed me a rough time frame of when to do wat.. wil chk it out n let u noe tmr

sherl.. ok.. hee.. hope to hav our gatherin soon.. need lots of tips fr u gals!!!

Hi Dorami,
i am planning to view the cards this weekend....go down look at the design and choose. Hmm, i scared not enuff time too. But, i am not that particular with the 7th mth, so if everythg is ok then i guess i will ask them to start printing hee. Maybe in august then i will go down to the florist and have a look.

Hi Sherl,
Yah i know, must kan kai dian right? hee. after all, it's once in a lifetime....no point brooding over it i guess. shld enjoy the day instead
I havent source for wine yet. hopefully can find cheaper yet nice wines haha...any recommendations?
Oh yah, congrats on your baby!!! You must be excited man hee...

hi ah ren,
for the food tasting, i think need to inform them 2 weeks before. Hmm, my AD is in Nov, so i was thinking of going down in oct. Coz too early wait they forget my comments hee.

Hi Stef,

Nope, dr says it's still too early to tell. Maybe one more month or so, if baby cooperates.

Sure sure, can come join gathering, but wait for me to organise first ah. kekekekekekeke....

Nami,
I got my wines from St*r Cellar at Stamford Court. Cannot recommend them enough - look for Alan, the manager/boss... Very good service... kekekekekekkekeke.... Another place you can try is Winebos, they carry Amesbury, but are a bit pricier...

ah ren.. followin is wat my coordinator informed me:

1) Print your invitation cards (3 months before)
2) Floral Decorations (from now on to before finalisation)
3) Food Tasting (2 months before, ie, September)
4) Finalisation (1 month before)

Nami.. i gotta wait til aft d 7th mth.. no choice me ma.. family pantang .. keep us posted on ur progress

dorami...after 7th mths is 22nd Sept liow leh...i intend to do it after the 1st 7th mth...if not scared too late hee hee hee...

sherl...okok...u organise i wait...hee hee hee...

hi sherl,
i'm planning to drop by the wine place this weekend hee. heard about it too. Shall look for ALan hee. but do i have to call to book an apptm or can i jus walk in?

hi dorami,
i will keep you all posted!dun worry, i think if you plan well when to do what, you will have sufficient time too. maybe you can start looking at the guest list and planning the tables esp for those you know confirm coming...then at least sep you wont be so rush with everythg?

nami,

best to book an appt first if you want to see Alan because I think he's no longer there all the time.
They also prefer appts so that they can serve you better (they will arrange for about 10 different wine tastings leh).

hi sherl,
thanks! then i think i better call and check hee. what wine did you choose and do they allow consignment?

hi dormai,
yes, same here. guest list is the most headache part...i guess its the same for everyone...

nami, I took the winfield red blend. Yup they allow one-third consignment (but only for pre-ordered wines; for the emergency supplies ordered on the day itself all non-refundable)

hi dorami, thanks for the checklist.. Agree. guest list MAJOR HEADACHE!!! i hv juz confirmed my food tasting session in aug. nw oni waitin to collect my cards fm T-dragon. Find tat they charge quite X for printing. Will try to get quotes fm outside- shd b cheaper..

Hi Ice, read tat u actually met up w both florists. any feedback abt them?

Gers, juz to let u gers koe, T-dragon staff slightly aggressive in pushin u to use their printin svs but d lady boss, ms koh is nice..

dorami...maybe we shld go dwn tog then can bargain better hahaha...

guest list also my biggest headache.... haiz....especially my dad's frens hahaha....

ah_ren i heard from the previous brides tt June is better n more generous n flowers prettier...but I've yet check them out coz still a long way to go...hee hee hee...

Stefy.. i dun mind.. hee
.. tt's wat my hubby suggested too.. we'll hav bigger bargainin power then.. hopefully can get a better deal.. hw abt gg end of aug???

Hi Sherl,
Good coz I am looking for consignment. Hoping to find wines below $15 per bottle...coz I have 48 tables. Gotta cut costs sob sob.

Hi ah ren,
so who do you recommend i look for if i go down besides the boss if she is busy? in the end did you took their service?

Any expereriences to share about T Dragon? Like how much can we bargain etc?

dorami,

remember to share share hor. kekekekekeke

Nami,
The winfield red blend cost $14.50 per bottle, one of the cheaper wines around. Bottles and Bottles has one wine at $13.50 but I heard it was almost undrinkable so I didn't bother.

T-dragon: Yes gals, T-dragon are bargainable!!! Hubby managed to bargain quite a good deal with them (cannot remember the exact details liao, coz so long ago) but I remember we got a good discount. Try to push them with quotes from other printers, see how low they will go. If you want, can also bargain for free icons ($10 an icon).

Nami, me nw geting a quote fm another printer. if much cheaper den will go ahead with it instead of Tdragon. i don koe if lady boss is usually there or not cos when i met her at the recent wedding show, she say she's seldom at the shop. in fact, i was attended to by another lady when i went to choose my invites on sat. Saw her oni much later. If u nt pantang, can pop by during this mth cos she say she's quite free tis mth..

Sherl, har??? din koe T-dragon can bargain one.. yarh, they quote me $10 per icon too. very X HOR??

ah ren,

Yeah lor, T-dragon is quite ex. But sure can bargain one, you must act like ai mai ai mai like that, be prepared to go to another printer. Then they may panic and accede. Less profitable business better than no business right. :P

hi sherl,
thanks! i will go down and take a look at the wines...hopefully can find a good bargain!

Thanks for your advice on T Dragon. I will bargain with them haha....and see if I can get a good deal. Probably will look around for outside printers too to compare...