Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Dorami.. my PS in mid june.. this week going for trial make-up! getting quite excited! You MTM or OTR? Yeah.. gets exciting when you can finally see your gown.

How come so many problems?? Alamak.. feeling scared already..

sherl.. yup.. since they've given me their word i juz hope they can deliver as promised

ice.. mine is MTM.. so nw crossin my fingers.. hope it turns out as i pictured hee

Hi ice, nice to have you back!!

How come you two got the list so early ah? I only got it three months before my AD leh... Anyway, for now just concentrate and enjoy your PS first ok... have fun with it...

Sherl.. dunno why, but my guess is because of the 2 seven month.. cos if you're pantang then have to finish everything by last week of july!

Dorami, dun worry.. sure mei mei wan.. but if you don't like anything MUST tell them leh.. cos wait till last minute sometimes diff to make changes.

oh yeah... keep forgetting that leh... i keep thinking still a long time till you gals... heheheh.... Time passes very fast hor....

WAH Ice, so long never see you here leh.

Dorami, just remind ur coord again and again lor...and best it to get ur own appted flr mgr to have checklist of the deco items...cos some of my deco items went missing...maybe u can brief ur flr mgr on what to look out for should the item be missing, get the hotel/florists to do it.

Don worry too much...mine was also partly bcos i had solemnization before banquet...so my guests will arrive early...but for your case, guests will not arrive as early as 6+pm lor...so don worry don worry...

ice,

check with your coord whether there is any event going on at the hotel before your dinner...

Oh, and gals, very important to appoint someone from your own side (as opposed to hotel side) to deal with the hotel on that day, so that you and hubby can relax and enjoy the day... Best to give that person a copy of the event order so he can check and see if everything is as it should be.

hi bugbear/sherl...yupz u gals really give good advise....

me has also been very nuah n super busy with work din do much will haf my PS on 21st july...like veli soon liow hor....aiyo...

going to choose OTR gown for my PS...wan to save some $$ for HM...

ice/dorami...who are your co-ordinators...

Just arranged my food tasting for next week.. Now busy choosing the menu.. Did anybody taste the "stewed chicken with burgudy sauce"?? Just wondering what it tastes like!

Hi Stefy, Zephyr is my co-ordinator..

Ice, i intially wanted to try that too...but my parents scared the dish will turn out red red like that and some old folks may not like the wine...heheh...

Anyway, i think u can try the burgundy chicken...and can always revert back to the cripsy garlic chicken (or something like that) if u don like that burgundy chicken...cos u need not worry about the garlic chicken...it's nice!

hi gals...mine's sheena...

dorami...wah good idea hor try the not so famous dish n if no good revert back to their famous one....will need to keep tt in mind...wah seems like many things to remember....

hi hi... long time no seee... m,e at work now and its lie 3 weeks more to my wedding!!! amd i think i am freaking out... sorry fr\or MIAing for so long...
really busy and no time to come in...

I choose june florist.. better and more trustworthy... hehehe... i totally forgot about the florist until 2 weeks ago, sheena arranged for June to come down to GCW to meet me... phew...

food tasting was good... the chicken with garlic thing was nice... most of the food was good...

Dorami, u still want the wine? i collecting my wine on the 21st... if u want, can come to my room on my AD to get a bottle lor... anyway, its 13.50 per bottle lor.. i will open a bottle in the room for us to drink
pre dinner thing..
hehehe...

Sherl,
how much u bao for ur jie meis ah???

ladies,
wat is a reasonable price to bao for jie meis?

mgt,

I think I bao $188 for 6 jiemeis.... Then our parents also bao separately for the jiemeis as well, add up should be about $50 at least?

Hi yiffie,
the name of the wine is Cornerstone... the contact's actually from my friend..her dad's doing it... so i think it not that nice for me to give you her number.. so sorry... but if u want to try the wine, can actually arrange with dorami or who ever is coming over lor

Dorami,
ya ya.. June 24th
3weeks time.. my heart beat fast liao!
haahahahaha...

Sherl, that is about 30 per jiemei lor... hmmm.. okie..thanks...

went to hv food tasting last wk... dun really like e japanese & chinese platter... but e salmon roll taste gd... am thinking of changing some items in e platter, any recommendations?

shers.... I remember I took the prawn combi... but cannot remember if there was anything particularly good on it...

But I had no complaints regarding the food... maybe you want to consider switching?

hi bendi...as most of us sign up for the package some time back might not be the same now... you should contact the hotel direct they will be happy to provide you with the package n their response is quite fast...

Hi hazel,

ur appetizer looks gd... e chef did recommend us prawn salad & ma ti roll... we dun like e mini octopus so he suggest squid instead...

hihi!!! I;m going for my food tasting today!!! Slurp!

Menu today is:
1. deluxe chinese and Jap combination platter
2. sharks fin with crabmeat and harsma
3. stewed chicken flavoured with red burgudy sauce
4. steamed crab claw coated with minced prawn "teochew" style
5. stir-fried scallops with black pepper sauce in taro ring
6. braised baby abalone, sea cucumber and conpoy with green seasonal vege
7. steamed fresh garoupa in japan shiro miso sauce
8. stewed e-fu noodles with straw mushrooms amd yellow chives
9. yam pudding with almond seeds in kuei hua syrup

Haha.. we trying all the strange exotic things.. and i think my MIL is a yam freak! Will post comments tomorrow

Hai.. abit disappointed last night. Cos I've attended a dinner there b4 and found it very nice.. maybe expections too high liao :

1. deluxe chinese and Jap combination platter: ok, the octopus and the ngoh hiang thing was nice. But the old folks found the clams abit tough. Might change some of the items
2. sharks fin with crabmeat and harsma: this was nice. Can see alot of crab meat and fin.
3. stewed chicken flavoured with red burgudy sauce: not bad, tastes like herbal chicken

ok at this point we thought that every dish looks BROWN. everything BROWN.. will ask them to add some garnishing or something

4. steamed crab claw coated with minced prawn "teochew" style: ok, but the 'meat' on the claw stuck to the cartilage, cos it's actually frozen claw. might need extra garnishing or deco, cos the gravy is BROWN
5. stir-fried scallops with black pepper sauce in taro ring: abit oily, and too little yam. but it's probably cos it has to stand and be crispy. Will be changing this dish cos it's BROWN again..
6. braised baby abalone, sea cucumber and conpoy with green seasonal vege: ok, finally saw some other colour besides BROWN
7. steamed fresh garoupa in japan shiro miso sauce: think the fish was a little overcooked, very tough, but the miso sauce was interesting
8. stewed e-fu noodles with straw mushrooms amd yellow chives: changing this to the glutinous rice wrapped with the bean curd skin cos it's BROWN again, taste-wise, normal, needs more garnishing
9. yam pudding with almond seeds in kuei hua syrup: nice, not to sweet

Heheh...Ice, ur dishes all brown! :p

Just a little suggestion...if you want something colourful, u can take the stir-fry scallop with pine nuts or something like that...this dish is VERY colourful. The scallops are whitish and it it accompanied by veg such as yellow & red capsicum as well as the japanese green cucumber...so very colourful.

Also, u can take the herbal prawn. They served the prawn in a rattan container thingy like those serving tim sum those kind and the steamed prawns are red...so colour is nice.

The yam pudding with the kuei hua syrup looks very nice right? The light pink colour is so sweet.

I try to find see if i can find the photo on the scallop dish...if have, i send to u...then u can take a look.

Ice, i sent the photos to ur email already.

Gals, i have the photos for the following dishes:
1) Abalone
2) Fish w miso sauce
3) Fried rice with tomato sauce
4) Garlic chicken
5) Herbal prawn
6) Scallop
7) Yam pudding w kuei hua syrup

I do not have the combi platter and the sharkfin...forgot abt taking photos till the 3rd dish :p
Anyone of u interested to take a look, can let me know

haha... ice you very cute leh... but isn't the glutinous rice brown also????

Can ask your coordinator to let you see the folder of photos of the dishes...

haha.. we also didn't realise we choose all the BROWn dishes!!! hai.. have to change some lor. The glutinous looks white cos wrapped in the bean curd skin leh (at least that's what the TV showed)

Think have to make appt to really discuss the dishes again!

ice,

If I'm not wrong the glutinous rice is wrapped in the beancurd skin and then DEEPFRIED leh... so end product still comes out brown.... hahahaha

hi gals...

anyone got a good pte driving instructor to recommend? me thinking of doing a refresher course as we thinking of getting a car but i've forgotten how to drive...hee hee hee...

Been quite some time i hv nt been here. How's everyone?

Ya, can anyone guide me on the preparation? Can send me the task list if any?

Also, has anyone start the invitation card printing? Wic company? Is it T-dragon?

Regards to Florist, wats the cost for decoration? Is it free?

heehee...care to share with me?

thx

Hi, does anyone have 2007 wedding package to share, ive email GCW but they no reply me leh.. i need to chk out the price and all.. Cos i got only 20 tables, anyone got so little table,can share pics or so? can PM me or send to my email @ [email protected]
really appreciated ur help!

hi bugbear and iceglacier (iceglacier)

can share your package and picture of the foods...
my AD in mar 07, so still looking for a place....seem like got good comments ...

Hi May.. my package and bugbear's package are very old already and not updated. Best if you get the latest one from the hotel as rates would have changed.