Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

heheh..... yeah lo yeah lo.... All the houses burning hot liao... hahaha....

Where are the other peeps ah? Bugbear, odiey, milo... all missing!

mgt, here u go...
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/2/36214.html?1148061701
ya... guestlist is every wedding couple nightmare!!! Frends n col still okie. Worse is the relatives... i nag n nag at my parents to call up every relatives to cfm their attendance! :p

Hi sherl, dorami... mayb i can check out wif my SIL whom u guys met up during Ashley bb shower whether can hv gathering at her hse...
she lives at sengkang... n luvs to c wedding photos...

Yukie, yeah lor yeah lor, my hubby fell out with his mum quite a few times because of the guest list... My MIL always got very defensive when we ask her to RSVP and kept thinking that we were against her, trying to make her look bad in front of her relatives, etc. etc. Luckily all turn out well in the end.

Wah, brings back memories....

Oh, that one is your SIL ah? heheheh... we had a fun time chatting with her but didn't ask who she was... wahhahahahahhahahahahhahahaha

hee... yap. Tats my SIL... my hubby's sis...

Ya lor... my mum oso say y so troublesome... than i tel her if lose money she goin to tiap har...? :p Told them tat we need the money collected fm the angbao to pay for the banquet, so cannot afford to hv lots of empty seat.

gals.. agree w all of u on d guest list.. i'm havin trouble gettin my parents n in-laws to do their guest list.. hai.. gif up.. even my hubby tink i'm bein KS..

Hi gals....guest list jia lat ah.....cham liow i also got 50tables....i keep asking my dad to let his frens know but he keep saying its still early....haiz....thk for must draw out table for him to fill in liow hee hee hee....

Am here! just very busy to log in nowdays...
think this thread has more xbrides than new ones... hehee....

talking abt RSVP, i also forced my mum to do that and we cut down almost 4 tables which she wanted to increase just 5 days b4! else i lugi big time...

Yukie, enjoying your 2nd mth of maternity? going to travel? how's BB ashley?

sheri, tks for the advice... can't meet their requirement for min 45tables on weekend, den the next biggest rm oni max 28tables which is nt enough... i supposed gotta look for somewhere else

morning gals...

Dorami/Stefy, that time hubby and I told our parents that we were going to print cards liao, so they needed to prepare their guest list and tell us how many cards they need, then we can go and bargain with the hotel for more cards if necessary. Point out to them that going for a reprint is unnecessary extra cost lor, coz for reprints no matter how many pieces they will still charge you the setting up fee...
After that we managed to get a number, but our parents did not actually release their guest names 'till about 2-3 months before the wedding.
We also told our parents that we needed to know a rough estimate of the number of guests so that we could activate our back-up guest list if necessary...
So maybe instead of pushing them for a guest list you can try to persuade them that you need to know your number of guests to carry out a number of tasks. Can also point out to them that you are losing a lot of preparation time due to the 2 seventh months....

No problem Bluberi, hope you can find your dream location soon!

sherl.. thks for d advice.. my mum says she'll chk w my relatives nxt mth when she goes to malaysia (most of my relatives r there).. thereafter she'll chk w her frens n our neighbours.. hopefully by Jul i can get a rouge gauge

odiey.. yo!! *waves*

Dorami,
Time will fly by in no time lo... then suddenly no matter how well you prepared in advance hor, also got not enough time... heeheehee... Then the next thing you know, you're checking out of the hotel liao... sigh...

I'm thinking of asking Alvin if I can get a prefential room rate if next year I wanna go back for anniversary stay, but hubby say it's a waste of $$ leh...

Shers, for me 3 months before my wedding my coordinator sent us an email to remind us to start our preps, so that's when we went down to T-dragon to select our cards...
if you are printing at T-dragon once you have confirmed your template they are very fast, inserts a few days can collect liao, but we spent almost two weeks making amendments to the template lor, sent back about 7-8 times. Must check very carefully each time they send the template to you.

hi odiey... it's no fun hving a bb lor... n Ashley crys alot. Yr mood is very important when u r pregnant. I'm a cry bb myself so my bb oso turns out the same... :p so must b happy happy when u gals get preg huh...
Travel ah... don tink will b able too tis year... haiz...

wah... sherl... how come amend so many times...???

Yukie, then die ah, any bb i have sure turn out crybaby and tempermental to boot... hahahahha... Can you bear to leave Ashley behind when you go travel? Or do you intend to bring her along? heehee...

Yeah lo... cannot remember exactly liao, but think we got amend font, amend wordings, amend alignment, etc.... Sometimes when we amend something, then the amendment causes another amendment that needs to be made, e.g. when we change the font, then the spacing/alignment needs to be readjusted... Thought that the T-dragon designer quite wooden-head lo, will only amend what you point out to him, but dun bother to make other amendments that is so obviously needed. Heheh... Maybe hubby and I too fussy also la...
Then parents also at first say ok, then last minute say how can like that, this must change, that must change... haiz, very big headache ah, the final preps...

hi gals....wah printing the cards also so many things to check ah.....xiao liow...my wedding in dec...maybe i will print the card end sep....be a bit kiasu give pple the invite earlier in mid oct can reserve them 1st...hee hee hee..

Dorami,

Actually also we changed some things like the font for a couple of wordings, think the font size as well... so that's why lo... but you know my hubby and I very perfectionist one la.. hahahha...

Stefy, when you print the card hor, remember to let your parents view and approve the template first, even if they say "never mind, leave it up to you" you should also show them... otherwise later the cards print out then they got comments...
Heh, actually I feel that doesn't matter how early you 'book' your guests... if they are truly sincere about coming to your wedding they will surely make time for it (unless they got another wedding on the same day lo)... Those who are not so eager to come hor, no matter how early you give them the invite they will still tell you that they must wait and confirm with you again at later stage, and then end up will still tell you like one/two weeks before that they cannot make it...

Sherl.. hehe.. icic.. ok.. wil worry abt tt n get more advice fr u when it's time to print my cards hehe

nw more excited to c my gowns.. stil nt ready yet.. shld b ard 1st week of Jun.. wil share pics w u gals then

hi sherl...

thanx for the advise...will definitely show to our parents before we ok the design lah....

problem with my wedding is the date is a super hot date lor so afraid alot of our frens have other wedding to go to on tt day...better to give them the invite early...the closer ones we've already informed verbally liow lah so those r ok...

can anyone advise on which dessert to choose, yam paste or almond cream with ginko nut?? i tried the almond cream and its nice but have not tried the yam paste so dun if it taste nice...

anyone can advise on which menu to choose??? any link??

thks!

Steph... oh yeah hor, your wedding super hot date this year... heheh... Are all the four ballrooms occupied on that day? If yes must ask your guests come early, else no parking lot... Can also suggest Zouk valet parking, 2 dollars only... hiaks hiaks

Dorami... okok, must show us your pics ok!!!

Hi 06bride, I had mango pudding for my dessert so can't really advise you on your two choices. For menu selection the menus should be attached to your contract. If not you can ask your coordinator to email you the choices.

hi sherl...thanx for the tip....i thk when i booked with them already 3 ballrooms r occupied liow....dunno abt now...

hope their food quality is still as good even though there's a huge crowd...

Hi hi gals!! Quite a few days never come in...so many posts liao.

I agree with Sherl...when comes to printing of the cards, must remember to show both side paretns to make sure they are ok with the design and wordings...else after printing then the comments starts coming, too late liao.

06bride, i had the yam paste. Was very good. Very unique lor...cos it is not the usual coconut milk kind...it comes with the 'gui hua syrup' which is a very light pink syrup...my guests all loved the dessert. I did not go for the almond cream, cos some ppl cannot take the almond taste. Even for the yam paste, the original came with almond flakes...the moment my MIL saw the almond flakes during food tasting, she first one to object liao...cos she for one is scared of the almond taste...so end day we changed to the usual ginko nuts.

Stefy, don worry about the food. During my AD, also 3 ballrooms taken and the food quality is still very good. My guests all enjoyed the food even till today...they still talk about the food

wow seems like the food really nice... hv ask my co-ordinator arrange 1 food tasting for me next week b4 i pay the balance deposit... hope it turns up good...

need help... which is nicer for Appetiser?
1. Prawn Cocktail with Assorted Fruits in Honeydew Melon Cup
Accompanied with California Maki
2. Deluxe Chinese & Japanese Combination Platter

Hi Sherl n BugBear,

thanks for the advise.

during my foodtasting, i tried almond cream wif ginko nut and we like it. but it seems that yam paste is common in most wedding dinner so dun know which to choose. i have a frd that attended a dinner at GCW recently and commented that the yam paste not nice.... hai...

Hi Sherl,
i tried the jap combi, not bad, unique lor... not common in wedding dinner... but dun know abt the prawn cocktail... maybe it taste nice as well....

Hi Shers, i had the deluxe chinese and jap combi. Not too bad..unique. Reason why i took this cos in the menu there is already the fresh herbal prawn (or something like that), so if appetizer also prawn, may be a little too much prawn...

06bride, sad to hear that your friend did nto enjoy the yam paste. Is it the same one with the gui hua syrup or the traditional kind with the coconut milk? For my food tasting and banquet, i had the yam paste and my guests loved it...say that the gui hua syrup is ver unique and makes the whole presentation of the dessert very nice...in fact, most of my friends/relatives are all waiting for the dessert to be served...we are the yam paste fans :p

Hi BugBear,

yes. its the same. hmmm... maybe can consider to change almond cream to yam paste....
btw, is the herbal prawn nice??? can u elaborate more on ur wedding menu?? like which dish u choose for ur wedding and hows their rating??
me need to confirm the dish soon... so need helps....

thks!

06bride...what i have given is just my opnion as well as feedback based on my guests...decision still lies on you

Herbal prawn is pretty good. the herb taste is very fragrant..yet not overwhelming. From the feedback i got from my relatives whom joined in my food tasting feedback that the prawn served during food tasting is better than the actual banquet. Cos they feel that during actual banquet the prawns are a little too cooked...but the taste is still there...however, the rest of the guests liked the prawns.

The fish with miso sauce is also another well-liked dish. They like the sauce and the fish is cooked very nicely...not too cooked...just nice.

The scallop with pine nuts (or something like that) is also very interesting and well-liked. The scallops are actually quite sizeable and the quantity is not too small...i think each guests get to have like 4 scallops at least and the veg that goes with the dish is also very colourful...makes the whole dish very lively.

I reckon the sharksfin and the abalone veg dish is the norm...no complains about them.

During food tasting i had the fried rice with tomato sauce or something like that...but end day changed to ee fu noodles, but i topped up the dish to be served with seafood instead of the normal chives and mushroom. The fried rice is actually quite nice...but my food tasting feedback was that the previous dishes are very big in portion...so by the time the rice arrived, my guests are all very full liao...

Eer...can't really rememeber what else i have...but in general, the feedback on the banquet food is good...i haven't heard any negative complains from my guests regarding the food.

The only complain i get from guests is that the wine/beer was served to them very slowly...and the waiters had to be reminded...so what a couple of my friends did was to ask the waiter for 2 glasses each time...heheh. Maybe there was a short of staff or wot...i have no idea...cos other ballrooms are also occupied on my AD.

Hope the above helps...

Oh yeah, now that Bugbear mentioned it, I also had complaints that drinks were served very slowly.... But from some tables only. Other tables said service was very good...

hi sherl/bugbear...

i've also heard similar comments from my fren who had her D&D there....at 1st i tot was coz their dinner cheaper so waiter lesser...but now that you guys mention, thk i got to feedback to my coordinator liow....just in case lah...

Yeah, i think better to feedback...in fact i was a little disappointed this happens...but looking at the brighter side, guess my beer and wine consumption is lower? heheheh...

Stefy...yah lor...guests well served is the best...but for me, not choice since the event is over liao...so got to look at the brighter side lor.
Anyway, my wine/beer consumption also not say very low :p

Juz heard fr my coordinator over d weekend tt there'll b a aftnn seminar which wil end abt 5-5.30pm on d day of my baquet.. my hubby was so upset w d news.. really hope tt they can make sure everything gets ready in time for the pre-din cocktail..

especially since it's a muz to chk n make sure d florist do a gd job.. hai.. sianzz...

initially wana a band .. nw i tink better nt

hi dorami....dun worry lah thk they will do a good job...its their reputation at stake also mah....
do not stress okies
must be a mei mei bride...

Dorami,

Think you should emphasize to them that you dun want any delays to happen lo... that time my hubby had very bad idea, he say our contract states we have the ballroom from 7 to 11, so if 7pm they cannot give us the ballroom then ask them to compensate... hahaha... but luckily in the end think there was no event on my AD...

Dorami...u have to stress to your coord about this. At least ur coord notify u...

The same thing happened to me...i only get to know about the co function on the AD itself! and the co function over run...my florists can only start working on the ballroom at about 6.45pm!! By then, my guests had already arrvied cos i had my solemnization at 6.30pm. Supposedly, our invites state that cocktail starts at 7pm and dinner starts at 7.30pm...but my guests were not allowed into the ballroom until close to 8pm! Luckily my appointed flr mgr is very good...kept chasing the hotel ppl & florists to work, then i managed to let guests in at 8pm.

I don mean to make you worried, but there are a couple of things that the hotel/florists did wrongly for my setup...i was EXTREMELY disappointed. i made official complain to the hotel. but well, what can they do...the co function delayed, nothing much they can do
very sad... but it's over...

Stefy.. my hubby called my coordinator to ask abt d possibility of havin a band tt nite then she informed him.. he blew his top .. actually surprised me.. haha.. cos usually he's d "nvm lah" kind of guy.. but tis time round he said he cant accept d fact

he actually called d director n he assured us tt everythin wil b ready by 7pm.. even told my hubby he'll b there personally on d nite of our weddin (dunno hw true) haha..

sherl.. u n ur hubby nv fails to impress me.. haha.. can tink of all d worse scenarios n prevent it fr happening.. hehe..after hearin so many stories abt d florist.. i juz wana hav ample time to make sure tt no mistakes is done.. else wld b too late.. guess since nw time so tight.. can only leave to my hubby n our helpers

bugbear.. my hubby upset w my coordinator.. n ur story does worries me.. tt's y i tink it's gg to b rush.. i juz hope they deliver as they promise

Hihi ladies.. I MIA very long from this thread.. My co-ordinator just emailed me a list of things to do.. hai.. got to start doing things already..

yah.. stress man... I very nuah so far about the banquet.. focusing on the photoshoot at the moment!

Only left the 2 of us not 'married' off yet issit?

ice.. when's ur PS?? me stil waitin to c my gown.. shld b these 2 weeks .. my PS is on jul 4th hee.. lookin fwd to it too

no lah.. it's gg to b mgt's turn nxt.. then there's oso stefy..

Dorami,

To be fair to the hotel, we can't expect them to keep the entire day free for us lor, but must MUST emphasize that they promised you can get the place ready by 7, so they MUST have it ready by 7, otherwise, go ahead and demand compensation lor. I think it's only fair as this is your agreement with them.