Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

deannen

hi parmida

ya lor..i tink so too! cos if they tell ujs everything then no susprise liao..& the turnout for the wed show won't be as good also mah! U pay for the wed show definitely they will give u some perks lah & the unveiling of new themes (if they are really gg to have that..im so excited!!! heehee) + new wed favours will be 1st hand news liao mah! =)

atiyah_cheryl

my fhb and I were recmded to look for a particular co-ordinator but just like as mentioned somewhere, we have 0 chemistry. We also found him not very open to negotiation.

Even when i wrote him an email trying to estb an open and honest working relationship, he only replied w "Kindly see attached wedding contact for your kind persual". (yes, spelling error included).

We dunnoe how to improve the situation. Perhaps change co-ordinator? But how we can go abt changing co-ordinator? Shld we tell it to him direct or approach a new one, then tell him tt we have found someone else? Or just keep to him afterall?

Sighz.. in 2 minds now... Pls help!

atiyah_cheryl

Hi Parmida,

Hehe, you mean to act blur? ;)

Last nite after posting the questions here, we decided to email him again abt how we feel. Afterall if it all goes well, we will be under his wing until our big day. Really dun wish to spoil our potential relationship. Just tt we thot, b4 we sign anything, shld we quickly do something like changing co-ordinator?

We'll be going to the show on Sunday and we'll hv to sign and pay deposit that very day already...

ladycraft

ilobechoc, sorry for the late reply. Mine is on the 8th June 2008 (sunday). Any BTB having theirs on the same day?
My coordinator is Jasmine (senior Biz Dev Manager). So far so good
Am going down tomor for the show and sign. Anyone here exchange the helper's rm for some other things except the 1 yr anniversary stay?

jyiah

hi everyone i have also booked mine nxt year which is in may but unable to attend the show tmr...anyone going for the show tmr take some pics and post so that we can see the new themes?

ladycraft

Hi! Just came back from the show. Took some pics.
Have booked mine. but thinking of changing it to the Riverfront, really v cosy after the setting.
These r some pics I've taken. Think the new theme includes: Black & Gold theme etc Not sure the rest is it new or not.
513003.jpg
513004.jpg
513005.jpg
513006.jpg
513007.jpg

ladycraft

Anyone knows whether Riverfront Ballroom is taken on 8 June 2008?
BTW, congrates to those who won the lucky draw. Was hoping to win the $3000 banquet but...heehee..no luck!

klcc

so far the theme at river front is the best. Nice and Zen look! i had booked next yr march. the sampling food was good especially the abalone..hehehe.. the glutinous rice was not so great though..Any comments for those attended this show??

cheekychick

I like the theme at Galleria ballroom best...the ones at Riverfront & Waterfront not to my liking....but mine is definitely after April 2009 so i didnt do any booking...still considering as not sure if its reali worth to spend $900+ per table for a 3hr dinner...hai...but hubby likes the hotel very much
Anyone took 799nett sunday? Dats the best deal liao...

cheekychick

Hi Smiles, tink no1 took pics of the Grandballroom cos it wasen set up with themes...the grand ballroom was used for the wedding show today
But grandballroom is nice...big & high ceilings, no pillar at all...

cheekychick

Nana, find Riverfront abit small...max is 20 tables rite? But Riverfront no pillar. Dats the good thing...March-in is rather short rite? How to overcome that huh? Die die must march in from the front entrance isit?

eniroc

hi all...i juz confirm the $999 nett banquet package for the grand ballroom today at the wedding show.. hehe...too bad all the sundays are booked up liao..n the dates from our geomancer doesnt have any sundays..so we go for Fri lo..i do have some shots of the wedding show today..i've uploaded it to my multiply.. http://seraphina.multiply.com. Feel free to browse thru =)

deannen

i booked my package with GCW last week but didnt managed to go to the wed show today to see the new themes....the black & gold theme seems nice but i tink we will have to top uo to add sashes to the seats else very 'black' leh...pity that they dun ve red & black theme else perfect!!!
glad to hear dat the food is good..heard fr my coordinator dat the banquet chef have been wif them for the last 7 yrs so pray hard he won't leave....

Nana - i used the helper's room for my 2nd night stay there...1st nite in the suite then 2nd nite i will move to the deluxe room (helper's room) cos after my banquet, i will still have post party @ velvet so i tink i cannot chk out @ 12pm...& we plan to go for our honeymoon on Monday nite (my dinner is on Sat) so can nua 1 more day in the hotel....my 'sisters' most prob will book their own hotel rooms with their bf etc so that part i dun need to worry =)

atiyah_cheryl

Hi Girls!

Galleria can hold min 12, max 16.

Went to the show tdy and the food was great! And the happiest thing is my co-ordinator is much much nicer now! And he is sincere and tries his best to accomodate to our requests... maybe the emails work! So we paid for the sunday package happily! :D

I thot the themes were a lacking a lil overall... maybe becoz i was so impressed w Intercontinental's and Oriental's... But Im hoping for the best when I go meet June's Florist!

jv33c

Actually Nana got most of the themes

Hi Rinez, cant find e photos on your link , hee??

Pict from Fashion shw, kep clickg until they say stop;p
513298.jpg

jv33c

those who went if you notice , even their "table hankerchief" also folded in many ways. Flowers setup also many ways.

can sm1 teach me how to shrink e sizes to the correct upload sizes ? hee
Nana how d u do it ?

blissful_barbie

i went to the wedding show as well .. .and booked with theresa.. she is v nice.. and frenly.. intending to book the Sun $799nett package.. bt its fully booked from July 08 onwards !! No more Sundays left !! Think the package offered is very attractive so far.. Last Dec we went to enquire with Alvin and the package is abt $1043+++ ,,,.... heng din book tat time.

zookeeper

does anyone know if the black theme can we use gold tablecloth instead? cuz if everything black black i scare my relatives will nag (my evening gown is oso midnight blue =.=")

atiyah_cheryl

Yup yup, the handkerchief got so many "pattern". But somehow I like the one rolled up like a cert the best!

Like to ask those to tried the food during the show, did you all take note of wat you ate? I took a brief note and found all the food tasty, but I cant rmb if they were from the Sunday $799 package tt I booked. I think I ate alot of tasty ones NOT from my package. Haha. Can anyone comment?

Hi Zookeeper, I suppose covers can be negotiated... Coz when I asked my Co-ord abt the Chic theme (contract says ivory seat covers, but we like chic theme's blk), he said they only hv a few blk pieces now! He needs to check. So maybe you can mix n match afterall. Better to cfm w yr co-ord. ;)

lizzy_bride

I also signed up with GCW during the wedding show as well. The package they offered is really good. I actually went down to talk to them ard Feb. The perks offered were not so good and they are not reluctant to add in.
I find the food was good...or maybe could it be good only during that day? haahaa. this is what i am afraid of. I have to comment the shark's fin. A bit gluey. The desserts...the cakes are really nice. The taro dessert so-so. Not that fantastic. Did anyone sign up for the dessert buffet??

jv33c

Hi Atiyah,
me & my FH do take note of some, what have u noted ? he simply luv e garlic chicken, its their signature dish. actually you can change dish from the weekend menu on certain veg . poultry . dessert . seafood - but no abalone etc
513687.jpg

Yap Lizzy, their sharkfin s quite not to standard, perhps we can voice out to them together

Hi Rinez, tks.

Gals, any1 can guide me minimise or resize my photos ? will luv to share w u all , but sm photos sizes are just to big (>50kb)

blissful_barbie

lizzy, i dun think anyone will sign up for the dessert buffet baa.. usually the guests will be so full aft the dinner... who wil go for a BUFFET... and desserts somemore... esp the ladies.. dun think worthwhile to spend money for that....................:p jus my 2 cents worth of thoughts.. hehehe

jv33c

Shynn is right
unless u really ve a bunch of friends who really wanted to stay & chat & drink w u couples, otherwise i will say, ard >95% of the guests will be rushing home most of e time.
513703.jpg
Pict @ Main Entrance of GrandBalrm

atiyah_cheryl

Hey there Jv,

We liked the stewed Ee-fu noodles, garoupa w blk fungus and jap raddish (I think) and the abalone with vege.. cant rmb wat vege. We thot the shark's fin was tasty, but ya, now tt you mentioned, a lil bit gooey. But i think acceptable. There's this roasted chicken that's really nice too.. the skin's crispy. Issit the garlic one you talked abt?

Ooh and the cakes! Agree with Lizzy Bride tt they are yummy.

Jv, you mentioned we can change dishes ah? Any idea up to how many? And when shld I indicate my interest to change, at the food tasting or email my co-ord now? But I sign liao leh... still can change? :p

parmida

Hi Atiyah, food all would taste nice during the show...must impress mah... i had to give up gcw, hubs not tat keen
sob!

atiyah_cheryl

Hello Parmida, haha you're rite! And I am impressed! :D But i do hope the std is consistent... or else it can be disastrous.. when relatives complain.

Oh you gave up gcw? what's your next choice then?

deannen

Hi atiyah

i tink the food std will be consistent cos as i mentioned abv, the chef have been with them for the last 7 yrs & so far thumbs up from the previous GCW brides on their food so no worries, they shld not differ much unless the chef resign lah

wesniff

hi hi, could you ladies share with me the package which you got from the wedding show? i wasnt able to make it.
I'm planning to have my banquet dinner around late feb08. will be a smaller do of abt 16 - 20 tables so i guess it'll be the riverfront or galleria. wat do u ladies think of the smaller room?

jv33c

Hi Atiyah,
I find tt e rice s quite special as cmpare to Ee-Fu Noodle. Abalone w Veg was not included in e wkday package, but they can substitute smthing similar to Abalone.

Nmly can be changed, dun worry . it was like poultry to poultry , fish to fish , just different way of cooking, as long as no additional expensive ingredients
ha;p
513801.jpg
Closeup Pict of Gazebo @ Grandbalrm
I ask my mgr to put in the clause in contract to play safe only. only certain dishes can b changed though ;p btw who s yr coordinator?

fion15

i signed up with them as well. I also wonder if the food on the actual day will taste as good as the wedding show.. hehehe. i think food selection is only 2-3mths before the AD?

we can change dishes that are not in our menu? i thought we only supposed to select from the menu we are given.. the fish that we ate was garoupa ah? that was really nice but i cannot rem what that fish was.. i agree the sharksfin is a little lacking and in fact taste abit weird to me.. kind of plastic smell..

jv33c

Oh Parmida, anything yr hubs dun like ?
I duno, of all e ballrm, i saw & luv it @ 1st sight , very diff fr other balrms tt i ve bn to ; like swissotel, furama, mandarin , oriental, new continental

513806.jpg
Pict fr 1 of e flower settg
Atiyah, u r rite , relatives' comments s e most worry ;p we will b changin 1 dish out fr cold dish =>suckling pig +30bucks
as requested by mum & there mite a need to add 1 more dish @ 80 bucks too ! ^%^

fion15

Hi jV,

i signed up the weekday package as well. The abalone dish can be substituted with something else? like what? i didn't know abt this.. could you advise?

jv33c

Hi Fion, sorry if I ve cnfused u

its Braised Giant Top shell that is oredi included in the Weekday pckg , it's similar but of cuz quality diff

513809.jpg
1 of e coldish pict tt I ve got fr website , look delicious? hee

atiyah_cheryl

Hey Jv, thanks for your info.. so it's like poultry to poultry, seafood to seafood... and top up if you want more ex ingredients... I hope it's not too late to talk to my co-ord abt this if I want to change anything. He is Jeremy.

Hi Deannen, yup, I hope the chef dun resign. ;)

jv33c

No prob;p we should help each other
no prob, m sure they can; my coordinator tld me when i asked them without indicatg on e contract. further more we can choose dish up till 3 mths b4 our AD banquet
513820.jpg

pict of how they serve e cold dish for VIp table

orh i didnt kn e chef has been w them since they set up ? wow just like Alvin I guess, but m surprised he s leavg

blissful_barbie

Oh Alvin is leaving?? I din noe tat.. but its a pity... cos he have been so helpful.. wonder the new in charge will be as helpful anot.. sekali eveything oso "No. No . No." hahaha,...

Oh yah, i forgot to ask them when i signed up the package, do they do individual serving of the food to each person per table? or just serve the whole plate on the table and the guests take themselves?? anyone had got any idea?? and oso the number of waitress per table.. sekali its 3 tables to 1 waitress then our guests will be forever waiting to get their drinks/requests done.. cos they too busy. hmmm... *wondering*

fion15

Hi JV, thanks for the info. Sorry for the confusion as well.

the coordinator told me they do not serve 1 waitress to 1 table cos it will take forever and the dinner will stretch till v late. Think it would be 2 waitresses to 3 tables? correct me if i'm wrong.

jv33c

Hi all, servg ratio will be 2 to 3 tables.
the individual serving is oni for VIP table

514120.jpg
Lilac Theme@Waterfront Balrm

well, Alvin is leaving on 31 Jul 07, which s today
he mentioned i was the last customer that he served tts y he remember ha;p

ladycraft

Hi all, to resize pic, I simply open Picture with "Paint application" Stretch it equally under the Horizontal vs Vertical etc 80% by 80%

jv33c

oh Nana,i use e same method, but i ve to resize &amp; resize until <100% b4 i got e correct size to update (<50kb) perhps my resolution s too high;p ha;p tks

514139.jpg
Garden Theme during wedg show@foyer

luvben

I'm newbie here...
btb for Nov08. I've sign up w GCW during wedding show, I jus simple like e place. As i onli have 20 tables, it'll b hold in e waterfront balrm.

however i've a few thing in concern, pls advice
-e 2 pillars (does it affect my guest version?)
-short march in
-e stage stage crampy (can accomodate e relatives 4 "yum sen")

Any 1 have theirs @ e Waterfront?
pls share comments.