Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

lizzy_bride

I also booked mine at waterfront. My bf wanted riverfront. I find it too cramp to squeeze 20 tables. Although they reassure that they will rearrange the tables so that it won't be block by the pillars, i still think it will still be affect somehow lor. The march in, you can do a L-shaped as wat the coordinator told me. Depends of how you want to do it lor.
The food is really good. Tempted to get the dessert buffet...but think not that worth it. As what Shynn said....not many guests will have the space for dessert buffet.
I have one qns, is the food halal? Will the hotel accomodate my request if I get them to serve for one guest??...

jv33c

Hi Evon, ve went thr w Alvin to Waterfront Ballrm b4, he tld me no matter hw u placed e tables, 30% or less of e guests will b blocked by e pillars.

Nevertheless, my suggestion is decorate e pillar like what Nana has posted on e link below on 20 Jul, your guests wil nt felt affected much
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/510099.html?1184598285 (this pict s e best tt i ve seen for waterfrnt balrm-u may cnsider-ribbon ard pillar-click on e link to view)

Or you can ve live video screening on 2 sides so that guests no need to stretch or turn
514503.jpg

1 of e earlier theme @ waterfront balrm(pict)

jv33c

Hi Lizzy, yes, your contract will indicate as a note : *Indivdual set Chinese Vegetarian or Muslim Dinner can b arranged @ S$79.90 per person(6-Course)*
If you are taking weekday will be abv priced, if weekend will be $99.90 per pax
but bear in mind, this s on top of e per table pricing tt u ve paid
514526.jpg

closeup view of 1 of e table setting

deannen

hi lizzybride

the hotel is not halal certified as they served alcohol. i asked tis questn b4 cos i might have 1 Malay frenz coming for my wedding.

The ans - u will have to top up for that 1 guest.
i.e. If ur package is the $999 package and ur table sit 9 chinese + 1 malay, u will have to top up 999/10pax = 99.90 for 1 malay guest = u are paying 999 + 99.90 for that table.

My coordinator advise me to sit 10 chinese guest + 1 malay guest = we are still paying 999 + 99.90 but you will have 11 pple @ the same table.

Got it? and u need to inform ur malay guest that all the food etc is from hala certified supplier & the food is alos prepared by malay chefs BUT the utensils are all wash in the 'malay way' - i dunno how to explain the 'malay way' to u but my coordinator mentioned that the malays have a 'way' of washing their utensils etc cos some malays might mind.

huffie

I have booked the waterfront ballroom for the 21 June 2008 too! I intend to have 20 - 22 tables.

Actually, does it really matter if the vision of the guests is blocked by the pillars? Hehehe.. it does not really matter to me and my fiance, as long as the food and service is good.

jv33c

Huffie is right
as long as e guests enjoy themselves + u couples r hapy w e plc ha;p 1 of e nites that i went, i actually saw their settg = havg rectangular space in e middle of ballrm surrounded by tables;
514539.jpg
without cakecutg/stage/champagne, was guessg they might b doing some dancing ;p quite an unique idea bt mus b acceptable by elders i gues

1 of e flower stand(pict)

scavenger

I have to agree with Huffie too. What matters most importantly is the food and service that i wish my guests to enjoy for the big day!

I love the chic theme, although its main color theme is black. But it looks real pretty! Hope i can get the permission from the elders side to have that theme for my wedding.

shice

seems like alot of pple signed up with GCW recently.. heh..

I signed up with them b4 the wedding show.. but missed the date to go down to see the themes and all.. my date is 3 Jan 09..

Why not compile a list of all the pple who signed up with GCW? heh..

Nick:
AD Date:
Ballroom:
Coordinator:

musjan

i also signed up before the wedding show.

nick:musjan
AD date:15 jan 08
Ballroom:grand ballroom
Coordinator: jeremy lok

shice

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>musjan</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy Lok </TD></TR><TR><TD>shice</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy Lok </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

luvben

Hi Jv,&amp; All.

thanks 4 ur advices &amp; comments,really appreciated.

nick:luvben
AD date:23 nov 08
Ballroom:waterfront ballroom
Coordinator:sabrina

treegirl

Hi Huffie!
My AD on 21Jun08 as well.. bt me at grand ballroom.

Btw, did anyone pay with citibank card?have u all gotten e steamboat cooker?

parmida

Hi Atiyah, Jv
I duno..he looks like he wants other place, club chinois if im not wrong...
Perhaps its just that he is lazy to see more, he said all hotels the same...true to a certain extent, but then since he dun like and he's the finance minister, I gotta respect him

Hi Jennifer, I wanted tat day initially! hehe...I had to give up that date and place SOB

atiyah_cheryl

Hi Parmida,

Club Chinois is nice! Too bad, it's too chn for my husb. My Husb-to-be is also my finance minister! Haha..

To Deannen &amp; Lizzy, abt the extra for $79.90 for Muslim/vegetarian menu, issit really like wat you said?
Mine is mix marriage, therefore this banquet is for the chinese side. But my muslim in-laws will be invited... Hmm but I hv 2 full tables of Muslim menu.. Tt makes it the same, i.e. $79.90 x 10 pax = sunday package, rite? It's the mixing muslim/vegetarian frens among chn part that I forgot to clarify w Jeremy! Yikes...

deannen

Hi Ayiyah

if u have 2 full tables of Muslim then okie - they can make exception for that 2 tables, meaning u pay $799 (if urs is the weekday package) for a 6 course Muslim menu.

BUT, if ur in-law is sitting with u guys @ the VIP table then u will have to top up...im not sure if they can make an exception anot BUT u can try to talk to ur coordinator =)
nick:deannen
AD date:28 06 08
Ballroom:waterfront ballroom

Coordinator:jennifer

atiyah_cheryl

Yup, jeremy my co-ord knows abt this... the 2 muslim tables arrangement. In fact, I'll convert too so I'll be in the muslim menu ;) My parents will take the chn food..

Now Im worried abt my husb's colleague. She may be the only one requiring muslim menu amg the chn menu.. I shall ask Jeremy. Hope he won't find me troublesome. Thanx Deannen

jv33c

I signed up b4 wedding show so that can attend e wedding shw for free
ha ;p
515115.jpg
it was quite worth w e fashion show &amp; food, those who ve went , Divine Couture Gowns are simply gorgeous, look @ e pict , e gown design from behind s enuf to mesmerize ha;p take it as a guide in your own Bridal shop!

Hi TreeGirl, ve signed up for the citibank perks, got e form, but ve nt redeem e steamboat thingy

alysgal

ello girls, me new here, i wanna join in too!

jojo: 6-Jan-08 Riverfront ballroom Jeremy
musjan: 15-Jan-08 Grand ballroom Jeremy Lok
Jv: 11-May-08 Grand ballroom Sheena
Atiyah: 15-Jun-08 Riverfront ballroom Jeremy Lok
Treegirl: 21-Jun-08 Grand ballroom
deannen: 28-Jun-08 Waterfront ballroom Jennifer
luvben: 23-nov-08 Waterfront ballroom Sabrina
Alys: 15-Dec-08 Riverfront ballroom Theresa
shice: 3-Jan-09 Grand ballroom Jeremy Lok

blissful_barbie

ahhh.. i booked mine... but not yet fix the date... cos no more sundays left from July 08 to Jan 09.. sad sad................

waiting to see if gt anyone changes their date or else wait till feb 09 onwards lorrrr

shice

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo</TD><TD>6-Jan-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>musjan</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>jv</TD><TD>11-May-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Sheena </TD></TR><TR><TD>Atiyah</TD><TD>15-Jun-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>treegirl</TD><TD>21-Jun-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>deannen</TD><TD>28-Jun-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jennifer </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvben</TD><TD>23-Nov-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Sabrina </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alys</TD><TD>15-Dec-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Theresa </TD></TR><TR><TD>shice</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

fion15

me too!

nick: fion15
AD: 18 May 08
Ballroom: Grand ballroom
Coordinator: Eddie

We didn't get any form for the citibank leh.. Is the steamboat cooker redeemable on 1st come 1st served basis?

Is it Alvin Koh who has resigned?

deannen

hi fion

the form will only given IF u pay ur deposit by a Citibank CC..not sure when the promo starts/ ends but i got the letter...i wasnt able to attend the wedding show so my coordinator mailed it to me &amp; i gave the seats to my frenz )

troco

iaso booked with GCW....anyone collected the steamboat cooker??

nick:coco
AD:28 may 08
Ballrm:Grand
Coordinator:theresa

pinkcupcake

i've booked with GCW before the wedding show. I was very surprised at the point of my booking that many weekends in nov and dec already booked. I didn't get my first choice of date too!
anyway:

AD: 16 Nov 08
coordinator: sabrina

jv33c

Hi Fion,
yes it is Alvin Koh.
515542.jpg
1 of the setting @ foyer

The Steamboat is claimable from citibank until Dec. but they keep saying this promotion is until certain period w GCW only.

Hi Mei, actually towards the end of e year realised there are many good dates esp nov &amp; dec esp weekends, almost all gd, thats explain y

atiyah_cheryl

Hi Janet!

Wow, great to find someone I can identify with! So are you also doing 1 day chn, 1 day muslim banquet? Erm, Im assuming you are chn ;) No offence ya!

treegirl

hi all...my coordinator is eddie..he said he will email me a voucher for the steamboat cooker..till nw oso havent email..so checking with you all..
eddie tends to be a little forgettful
btw, did anyone of you negotiated for special room rates for yr guests?? hw much does it cost?

musjan

Hi Atiyah,

Yap, we are doing nikah and sanding on a Sat (HTB's bday :p) and then the chinese dinner on a Tue. Yap, I am a chinese but yet to convert.

What about u? Having the sanding as well? How's preps?

momo23

hi all,,
guess mine is the 'earliest' liao
Dinner: 18th Nov 07
coordinator: Jeremy
I didnt go for the wedding show, as i already signed up end of last year enjoying uob card promotion... but this wedding show perks are really GOOD!
glad to see the pics u guys have uploaded! Quite nice themes we have there...have yet to go down to florist tho... hehe

strawberrysusu

Just to add to the list, mine qte early too...
Dinner: 29 Dec 07
Ballroom: Riverfront
Coordinator: Jennifer

We loved the wedding show esp the food and the perks

atiyah_cheryl

Hiho Janet,

Woah.. it's double happiness for yr nikah. Congrats ya!

Same as you, we're doing the nikah on saturday too! But it's 14 June 08. Erm, wat's sanding? For me, it's Sat solemnisation followed by Mly banquet either @ cc or under his blk, then next day Sunday @ gcw for chn.

The mly wedding we booked the decor and food pple already. Then last wk settled this one (phew!), maybe we will start bridal shop searching next mth... How abt you? How's yr prep coming along?

To the rest of the girls,

It's great to see many happy and excited bride to-bes. Hope all our weddings will be a bash! :D

jv33c

Hi Treegirl, I have asked for the special room rates for guests, unfortunately no previlleges
suggest tt u utilise 1 of e nite free for helpers rm for your guest.they only have special rate for weekend @ 200plus per nite (very ex!)
516126.jpg
if u do manage to negotiate for better rates do let me know, as i tried very hard but they jus refuse to ve discount for rooms ;p

troco

hi treegirl and all,
other than the perks that they offered on the wedding show, did u all get any more previleges?? like waiver for the wine or get anniversary rm other than helpers' rm??

can u all share the perks that u all enjoy??

thanks..

deannen

Hi Tro &amp; Co

i tink what we are getting are all std..dun tink they will neg for anything more..unless someone here says otherwise..cos after much comparison wif other hotels, their perks is by far one of the best, considering their decor &amp; gd svc/ food reviews from many who have attended the wed dinner @ GCW. All the misc stuff that we want to bargain for i.e. 2 projector screens, parking yp to 30% etc etc is all being given to us FOC as perks liao so in tink dat is it =)

anyone ve went down to June florist..care to share the experience &amp; also, any idea roughly hw much it cost to do a top-up?

shice

i manage to get 1 free wine per table and free waiver of corkage for wine and liqour.. free flow beer.. 2 nights stay plus 1 helper room.. changed my coach transport to buffet dinner for 2 at thier hotel on our 2nd night stay.. but mine is book in late june, under ocbc or uob promo (cant remember)

think the perks u can neg for is based on the number of tables u confirmed with them.. the more tables, the more perks they give.. mine is 45 tables confirmed, on Sat dinner..

i personally feel that i got all the stuffs i wanted that i dun have to pay any additional stuffs for that night anymore.. (maybe just another 1 dozen of wine that's all)

vel

i also book with GCW but b4 wedding show.. sobz... lost out on all the perks

nick:Vel
AD date:30 Dec 07
Ballroom:Riverfront ballroom
Coordinator:Alvin now Eddie

deannen

Hi shice

u managed to get 2 nights' stay @ the bridal suite? dat is a very gd deal..cos i neg with them but they refused to give in...in the end i use my helper's room for the 2nd night stay there..... cos my helpers won't be staying..even if they do, they will want to book separate rm wif their bfs...
i chk wif them rdg the corkage..we have to pay 15 per bottle of wine..urs free also???
i conf min 40 tables and on sat but didnt managed to get all the perks u got..thought mine is quite gd liao..urs even better =)

and Velynn, when did u book? i booked before the wed show but i got the perks....

momo23

i think it all depends on the promotion they were having at that time, diff promos diff types of perks...but so far, i think the wedding show perks are the best!
I dun have much complains abt my perks obtained, except for the food tasting which is NOT FOC, but others we managed to bargain to suit our needs..
But if wait till weddin show, we wont get the dates we want liao... hehe so give and take a little

shice

Deannen.. think the free night stay is because of the cc promo...

smiles, i got my 10 pax food tasting free also.. but maybe becoz i confirmed 45 tables bah..

we did not wait for wedding show.. coz we were quite satisfied with our perks le..

shice

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>smiles</TD><TD>18-Nov-07</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Susu</TD><TD>29-Dec-07</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jennifer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vel</TD><TD>30-Dec-07</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Eddie </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo</TD><TD>6-Jan-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>musjan</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>jv</TD><TD>11-May-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Sheena </TD></TR><TR><TD>fion15</TD><TD>18-May-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Eddie </TD></TR><TR><TD>troco</TD><TD>28-May-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Theresa </TD></TR><TR><TD>Atiyah</TD><TD>15-Jun-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>treegirl</TD><TD>21-Jun-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>deannen</TD><TD>28-Jun-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jennifer </TD></TR><TR><TD>ohoh</TD><TD>6-Jul-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jasmine </TD></TR><TR><TD>miyublurz</TD><TD>9-Oct-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Eddie </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>16-Nov-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Sabrina </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvben</TD><TD>23-Nov-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Sabrina </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alys</TD><TD>15-Dec-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Theresa </TD></TR><TR><TD>shice</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>