Goodwood Park Hotel

hihi...me intend to sign up wit GWP too....
but seems like their coordinator real busy & my appt has to set 2 weeks later...

Wonder how's their food & service...taste good?

tried contacting GWP for appointment, really quite hard to reach them. Either engaged or no answer.
Will there be any difficulty in coordinating?

they are really busy at the moment because there are lots of events at yr end. Heard that std of food is still good,service wise, ok. It's good that they are busy attending to their customers as you would expect them to put you at top priority when you book with them and your wedding day comes...

Hi Junjun,
Maybe you try to call in the morning ard 8.30-9am, I normally manage to get them

Agree with wee_wei, there are a lot of weddings these past few months so they have been really busy. Of course the priority will be to the couples who are getting married soon.
There's a new co-ordinator, Sarah(I think), she seems nice and approachable

Moo,
How's your prep? Hope everything goes well

I'm still undecided with the florist, I'm leaning towards June Florist because of the backdrop but heard Florabell gives flowers more generously. Have you seen the actual setup?

Managed to speak to a coordinator...my AD is 1st week of Jan 08...to my surprise...I can't book the date...cos reason given to me was the dates are not open...Most hotel dates for Yr 08 are open...& she told me to wait till end Dec'06...they can't do anything either...
she claims they are not using computerised system & they are manually recording the dates in a log book...Good grief!!! I can't imagine GWP is still outdated...
Really had 2nd thots abt having wedd at GWP!!!

Cheryl: Maybe you should tell her to remind you when the dates are open. Provided that you are really keen in holding your wedding in GWP and not book just to "secure" a place first. I think their menu for 2008 is not out yet. That's why you can't book yet...
About recording dates.. no comments... since it does not affect my wedding even if they really recorded in a log book =)

Anyway, I have already booked my wedding at GWP next yr =)

Weewei, I m more or less confirm holding wedding at GWP...not just "secure". cos i oni have approx 20 tables. Not many hotels cater for this small capacity. I've been searching like mad...real frustrating lor...
Yet...the coordinators told me to call them back when dates are open. How would i know....what is my dates are taken...etc...they oso not willing to extend the 07 package to me...even if i willing to confirm & sign the contract now...& they don't even allow me to book the date 1st....hai...really vey disappointing....now i truly have 2nd thots if i should hold my wedd ther...or search for other venues.....

hi, i'm really new to this forum but since i am already planning my wedding in bits and pieces - I'm getting married in 2009 - i think it's not too early to ask.

i'm open to outdoor and indoor dinners, and one of my shortlisted locations for indoor is GWP. does anyone know if the prices are different if you have your dinner on a weekday? i'm having about 20 tables.

please feel free to send me your packages, really appreciate it!

Lydz ([email protected])

Hello Lydia,

It's good to start your planning early. Congratulations!

Yes, prices will differ for weekday and weekend packages. GWP considers Fri a weekday!
As far as pricing goes, it's anyone's guess since hotels do from time to time make adjustments to their banquet packages. It's best to go check out the hotel for yourself and meet the coordinator.

We had our daytime solemnisation ceremony by the Main Pool. Lunch thereafter at the coffee house and dinner that very evening in the Tudor Ballroom. We too had about 20 tables.

Best of luck preparing for your big day!!

hey there L.S.!

thanks so much for the information and enthusiasm! it's only gonna be held in 2009 but already i'm shifting from foot to foot. hoho.

lydia,
That's the anticipation!! The best part of wedding preparations. Have you started scouting for your perfect wedding gown? That too is a wonderful experience! I loved every moment of my wedding preparations. I remember visiting hotel after hotel one Saturday afternoon with my then fiance. Going from one bridal boutique to another. It was only after I had narrowed down the boutique hunt to 3 establishments did my other half join me. Figured I would spare him the male-boredom associated with bridal boutiques. When it came time to make our final decision, he came along. Perfect. For us, of course. I wish you all the best in your wedding preparations!!

Cheryl: guess you just have to tell them to call you when the dates are opened... Another way is to maybe call weekly to check on the progress... I think the dates might be out soon... It's already dec... =)

Hi all, i also have very bad experiences with GWP coordinator, Sarah.

Actually have decided to sign up for their wedding dinner package for next year. Got a very difficult time getting the coordinator to contact me, when she finally does, she claims that her appt are all booked till dunno when.. hmmm... promise to call me the following monday to make an appt... waited fer one whole week.. no reply. try calling her ytd to ask her to call back, NO REPLY. Try emailing her, got her reply, she claims that she is so busy this dec and all her appts are prebooked. (MY FAULT?) promise will call this evening... guess what???? no call again..
I seriously wonder ... am i the customer or she is the customer... seems that i need to hunt her down to get a call back..
I have made a tentative block off for the ballroom which will be due this fri.. n if she cant get an appt for me this week, i think the least she can do is to call me and keep me inform of the date, n to extend the block off cut off date.

Well i guess they do not need this sales ba...
i seriously suggesting you guys not to pay fer such bad svc... its as if they do not need our sales....

Hi Velynn

I'm a prev GWP bride. I think their mgt may be gg through a transition stage in terms of the movement of staff and prob trying to adapt to that so the staff might be very busy trying to cater to every customers but please dont give up. I think every hotel go through this phase every now and then....

I had a fantastic ROM and AD Dinner at GWP. I am very grateful to my coordinator, Jeanie at that time. I'm not sure whether she is still around.

Hope everything goes well with yours.

Hi Moo,

Have you had your wedding yet? If I remember correctly, your wedding is in Mid Dec, right?

Yes, Benedicte has left.
However this time around I feel there's a proper handover and our new coordinator has been following up closely since our wedding is approaching. So I actually felt quite confident that everything will go smoothly (*fingers crossed*).

Hi Cookie Bunny

Yes, mine is on 15 Dec 06.

It was a disappointment. The contract clearly stated my choice of the flower colours but it was not done at all. The VIP flower style was wrong as well. If my hubby didn't go and check the wedding setup and etc, everything would be diastrous.

Food presentation was not 100% correct as well...

Of cos, no one except my hubby and myself knew about all these mistakes that the hotel made...everything looked okay and perfect to the guests luckily.

Overall, we do not feel like it is a 5* hotel as it was an unpleasant experience. I won't recommend this hotel to any wedding couple unfortunately.

hi cookie bunny

i suggest you use florabell as june florist disappointed us greatly. the fishbowl looked so miserable as it was v tiny,opposed to what was shown in the pic.

moo,
So sorry you didn't experience the true GWP service standard. My husband and I had a wonderful wedding there last year when Jeanie Tan was still working as banquet sales coordinator. It's such a pity that a hotel with the rich heritage as GWP cannot seem to keep their banquet sales personnel. As far as floral matters go, I think June Florist is fairly new to GWP. When we were planning our wedding last year, GWP only engaged one floral company to handle their floral needs... Florabell.

Hi Moo,

Thanks for sharing. Sorry to hear about the mishaps but I hope you and your husband still had a wonderful wedding day.

We have chosen June Florist coz of the backdrop looks better than Florabell.
We chose the fishbowl only for the reception table, for the rest of the table we chose the flowers with candle.

Hi LS,
You were so fortunate to have experience Jeanie's service, we did our ROM early this year and she took care everything perfectly.

Our new coordinator has been following up closely so I'm trying to keep positive note that everything will go well *fingers crossed*

cookie bunny,
Yes, we count ourselves really fortunate to have had Jeanie coordinate our wedding. I supposed it must be quite unnerving to go through unhappiness on your wedding day! Maybe a good suggestion is to keep yourselves updated all during the preparations so as to minimize possible misunderstandings that may crop up on the big day itself. Best wishes to all GWP brides and grooms to be!

hi L.S and cookie bunny

i can only say that gwp didn't have a consistent quality delivery of service, even in room service as both guest rooms that I had booked encountered varous level of service.

it will not be a hotel that i can trust to hold any functions anymore.

nevertheless, life is a learning journey and we are always learning new things every minute and second

*never judge a book by its cover*

Hi moo,

sorry to hear about your less than perfect experience. Attracted by GWP by its unique structure too. Now I'm also quite hestitant in wanting to hold my wedding at GWP.... but of course mine still quite far in 2008...maybe things will be different then...
but since now they haven open the 2008 dates for booking yet, guess I can still source around b4 I confirm with them...

hi junjun

i wasnt really bothered that my wedding isn't perfect. is the attitude of the mgmt that disappoints me.

u can source ar now, or even hold yr big day outside spore

Hi gals... just want to share my experience. GWP was one of my top choice when I first started sourcing for a venue. But I find that the standard of service from the sales manager who attended to us really falls below expectation. She was late for half an hour for our second meeting, and when we share our ideas with her on our wedding day like booking the pool venue for solemnisation, additional night for suite, she kept telling us these are waste of money and seem not very interested to provide additional service even when we are willing to pay for it. Then she was supposed to get back to us on the prices of some additional dishes after our meetings but we never heard from her at all!!! So we have decided to drop GWP. Quite a pity as I really like the hotel lots!!

Hi Ben & tulip, i am considering Goodwood as one of the venues to hold my wedding. Just wondering who was the coordinator you all met? So I can request for someone else.

Hi Ben abd Tulip,
is the coordinator sarah? i had same bad experiences with her as well... also fail to call when she promise. n when u try contacting her, she will say she is so freaking busy as her appts are all pre book like so darn long ago. then making me wait more than a week for a confirmation on an appt to pay the deposit! After i write in a complaint letter which apparently went straight to her, then i got a reply from her.. no apologies was given... sux rite? i decided to drop GWP too.. now meeting up with Grand copthrone's coordinator. i've tried like 4 other hotels, i got their reply within a day and got an appt with them within the same day.. think GWP shld review their service standard...

Jia Min.. tried to PM you but you have not activated it. Don't want to mention names here but the lady i met is the sales manager..very young lady.

just quite sad that a 5* hotel doesn't really have 5* service standard...*shakes my head in disbelief and utter disappointment*

Hello Hello,
anyone had their weddding at GWP recently? I've been browsing through the previous threads and yes, it is indeed worrying. I'm not sure whether to go on with GWP? I met up with their coordinator Sarah and I must say that her service...left much more to be desired. Anyone else had better service from anyone else?

ya man....still can tell me if I dun take there are plenty waiting out there...at that moment I was so pissed...........and many many other incidents that make me feel so .......

have been reading the postings. I have been trying to find a place for sat dinner in late 2007, it's really an impossible mission!

One of the places I have been considering is Goodwood. But the messages are quite scary!! Not sure if i now dare to choose Goodwood, don't want to have to deal with difficult wedding co-ordinators or have to trouble shoot on my wedding day.

Anyway, I have just requested for a proposal from them...let's see if they get back.

Hey Tulip thanks for your info . . . how to activate the PM? *scratch head*

gosh ... ben can't believe the sales person said that. just wondering who is your sales person? isn't there any good one around?

Recently, we held our D & D in GWP, and our coordinator is Sarah. The service that she had provided is not bad. She handle our file one week before our event and she manage to organize everything nicely. We had changed two coordinators before her. The first one sucks, second one resigned. Sarah worked overnight just to get our event organized.

From what I had heard, there are now only two coordinators in GWP running the show. So maybe that's one of the reasons that the response time is slow.

if your wedding is late next year, you will never know whether the coordinators(good or no good) will still be there... You might leave your job as well, right? =) So, i think the most impt thing is that you must like the ballroom and the hotel... Actually, I think a lot depends on luck ba... =)) Good Luck ladies! I booked mine at GWP... Anyway the lady handling mine was ok ba... So far, no complains from me yet except that she gave priority for couples having wedding this year during my appointment with her...

We just had our wedding at GWP last week. We had a wonderful time, all our guests are still raving about the great food. The sound system and the 4 projectors were working really well.

Sarah handled our wedding professionally despite of just taking over less than 1 month before the wedding. She followed closely with us prior to the wedding.
All the banquet teams work well despite of last minutes changes etc.
No regrets holding my wedding at GWP

Hi Cookie bunny..

Thanks for the assurance.. Sarah's also my coordinator- just keeping my fingers crossed that she doesn't leave any time soon.

Can i find out who's your florist? cos Sarah seems to prefer June Florist cos the stage will get roman pillars but florabell doesn't really provide nice decor for the stage although they are generous in the flowers.

Hi BlurBTB,

No worries, just want to share with all the GWP BTB. Like you, I was worried but everything went well.

The guests are there to share your joy so just relax and enjoy yourself!

I used June Florist, the stage and ballroom decor are ok, if you like more flowers at the reception table you can ask for the normal flower arrangement (the long & low) instead of the floating candles.

One more tip, most of my guests seem to like the silver bell very much. I chose the silver bell and the heart shape memo holder but most of the prefer the bell.

Thanks for the tips cookie bunny!

actually getting the florist to concentrate on the ballroom cos i'm bringing down some of my floral decor from church for the reception area.. i just hope that the florist are not a pain to work with.

Hi cookie bunny,

congrats and glad that everything went well on your big day. Think your good comments help set a slightly more positive tone for this forum too.

Just for 2008 BTB'info, 2008 dates still not ready for booking... so not to say 2009 le...
Maybe a few more weeks bah.