Goodwood Park Hotel

Hi Xiao Hui,

Tentatively having 25 tables in windsor room as well, mine is a lunch coz dinner all fully take up. still planning the seating arrangement, might add on tables if need be. my wedding planner is felicia...no corkage waiver and 30L of beer, guess becoz of my min. table ?hmmm..and their red wine is at $25+++. wonder hw much i have to pay extra for the wine + beer coz mine only 20L. hmmm.....

Hi Sher,

No corkage waiver?? which mean she don't allow you to bring in any wines at all despite you having 25 tables? For mine, every confirmed table i get a bottle of waiver. Maybe you can try asking her for the waiver.

Hi Xiao Hui, yr bridal whitelink too? when's your AD? me going for my food tasting nx week..i requested for 10 person instead of wat was offered to us earlier, i.e 6 and we were give 2 projectors instead of 4. act...it was so coincidence that everytime we make a trip to Gdwdpk, windsor rm was always partitioned up for function. din get to look at the entire room...so we tot 2 projectors are gd enuff aldy.

Sher,

My BS is white link. We want 4 projectors and screens as we feel it will make the ballroom look grand. Haha it depend on individual lor.

yah, xiao hui, come to think of it, 4 projectors will be grand for the big ballroom...hee..anyway, maybe mine is lunch lor, so i guess interms of negotiation, won't get better perks ba. ;) why dun u join the whitelink thread?

Must bargain hard. I managed to get the Windsor ballroom even though I had only 20 tables and I also got 40L of beer, 1 bottle of red wine per confirmed table in addition to 12 bottles of red wine and full wavier for wine and liquor.

I think it is not so good to mention my AD here incase someone from GWP is in here. Anyway, it is within this year and it is a weekday.

Wah seems like all gt gd deal. we did bargain, but in the end i only gt 2 bottles of red wine. sigh...so sad. feel cheated coz i heard the co-ord. saying mine its lunch..lunch also banquet mah, rite? dinner all fully taken up, its nt tat i dun wan.

Weekday, I think they are able to give 20 tables for Windsor ballroom as for weekend, it is very comparative.

Anyway, I hope everyone would be happy with this package.

JL, your AD also this year? btw, when did u sign up with GWP? did u manage to get the "former" menu? coz i heard new package dishes are standard ones..i.e. nt as many choices as before and i was told that instead of bridal room, new package comes with only deluxe room. nt sure if its true...

Hi Ho Xiao Hui, my planner should be the person who close the deal with me? He sucks! After we signed the contract, I never heard from him, never take any initiative to check on things with us, seems like everything we had to ask and push them.

Hi Sher, you should have been firmed and demand for more. For me, I'm very straight forward, I told the guy I had shortlisted which hotels and what they had offered me, even show him the other hotels brochures. I told him if GWP can match or come close, I will close the deal. Initially, he didnt give in so I told him to reconsider and give me a call if he wants the deal. The rest is history.

Sher, I signed in either June or July, forgotten liao. What do you mean by former menu? Mine is the one that can choose from a few options for each course and I get the new wedding cards, favours and bridal suite.
Actually, I wanted 17th Nov and apparently you got it before me. hehe.

Hi girls, just to update you that I too will be signing up with GWP. I did do some give and take with the hotel and this is what I came up with:

1) extra 5 bottles of wine
2) free flow of beer
3) Corkage waiver
4) Extra delux room for one nite
5) 4 projectors (which is standard isnt it?)
6) 10% more wedding cards

But take note! We did compromise with them for the exchange. We gave up

1) 1 nite of our bridal suite (we are kinda sick of staying in hotel rooms already hahaha)
2) errr... thats it i think.

I dont know if thats a good package. Anyway, deals done so I wont want to sweat over it anymore. Time to get the Bridal package( $$igh)

FYI, it was for a weekend dinner next year.
Lets keep sharing the info yah. Thanks

Hi Kelvin,

You are really a lucky guy, you manage to get the free flow beer. haha so jealous

Jl,

Don't be angry, is your big day you should be happy. Some planner is abit bo chap, why not you tell your planner about your displeasure so that you can be happier. haha i very kay poh hor. Be happy

thanks xiaohui! But I still think I didnt bargain hard enough. hahaha. Ah ya... guys will be guys. Always squeezing out till we get the last drop of blood.

I forgot to mention that i also got
7) 10persons for food tasting instead of 8
8) was given the option of adding the dessert buffet for a cost of 3++ for exchange of surrendering a prawn/scallop dish. But I love prawns too much to give up for desserts!

I guess its a matter of give and take. We offered to give up several things in return but after awhile, they seemed to know that we were trying to work with them, not against them so I guess they were more accomodating. Good luck to all those gg to sign up there.

Oh ya xiao hui, got any good lobang for the wedding photographer? Recommendations?

Hi all, wah so envy u all gt good deal leh. xiao hui, mine worse =( 20L of beer. JL, i signed ard Apr tis yr, u gt the new wedding cards?? i was given the old ones, wedding flavours also. so sad... =(
can share with me hw your new wedding card looks like? my email [email protected]

jl, i was told there's a change in the menu and my co-ordinator so called retained the old menu for us...i.e. able to choose the style for sharkfins / choose the fish frm quite a few selections. new menu - one and only sharkfins to choose from and also one choice of fish, i.e. sea bass. any idea is its true? hw abt the flower arrangement? have u chosen yours?

Hi Kelvin, so happy for u that u managed to squeeze for the perks. me quite sad that there's no one to share info earlier in the thread... looks like more complaints than gd points..but glad that at least we are sharing the info nw so that these can benefit those who've yet to sign up. =)

Thanks sher! Lets keep the good info coming yah. I dont know... is the the thread to put up itty bitty details on the wedding or is there another?

JL, thks for sharing...basically i have everything u have, except for the 40L of beer, 3 trays of assortment of canapes,new ranges of invitation cards, new wedding favours. Oh so the printer is the one who's supplying the favours as well? hmmm...seems like there're still quite alot who's providing bad service. dun angry, after wedding then see hw k. =)
Kelvin, no worries, we are here to share...hee..there's even discussion threads on bridal boutique, gd to read them so that you know the "market". =)

Hi JL,
Thanks for the details u've shared.
I'm holding my wedding at the end of the yr. We took up the package last year.
Just met up my coordinator and she didn't offer the new wedding cards and favours for selection. May I check what are the new selections?
Have you chosen your wedding theme, ie the table cloths and the floral arrangement? I'm kinda disappointed of what they can offer, i.e plain red/ gold table cloths for the VIP tables and just plain white for the guest tables. Sigh.. Worse is that the maroon sashes for the chairs does not match with the redness of the VIP table cloths.
Urghh.. upset upset

Boo, i totally agree with u. i tried asking my co-ordinator as well on the new wedding favours & cards, she gave me a very firm answer, there's no new items...when's your big day? in Dec? care to share your package?

Thinking through my package, I dun think I have any additional perks except the standard. We took up the Georgian package. Went for food tasting..disappointing again.. No veg, no carbo(rice,noodle dish), 2 dessert dishes, poor presentation. Not worth the price we are going to pay..
Gonna feedback and see what we can do to salvage the situation.. Sigh.. unneccessary stress!!

Hi Boo,

How come you have the georgian package, how come i never see this package before when i sign up, when you sign up ah??

Sher, me too have no new wedding favours checked with Jasmine about it, she told me new favours are only for those signed up at their wedding show lor. Haiz too bad. As for myself, i am getting in my own favours on topped off what goodwood offered.

Boo, i see. We went for our food tasting too...some of the signature dishes quite nice, the vege presentation nt so nice..yours no rice/noodle ah? we tried the rice with roastmeat, very blend..no fragrance..kind of disapointed too...maybe change another dish ba.
Yours come with poolside bridal suite? shld be very romantic leh.
xiao hui, u too no new wedding favours ah? hmmm...guess JL signed up during roadshow ba..

Hey all. Have been reading the past few posts these few days and seems like that quite a few of us are already disappointed by the deco or food presentation.

I'm not trying to be a wet blanket or anything, but when I compared the $$/table during the selection of the hotels, I found that the GWP had the most competitive rates. Perhaps if we were to look at it from that perspective, we can realise ourselves that the cost should equate somewhat to the quality of what we are getting.

If I am wrong in saying that,I apologise. But I think it would make me feel less stressed and more understanding if several expectations are not met. Perhaps if we are starting to get disappointed with GWP with whatever reason it may be, we should look back and ask ourselves why did we sign up with the package in the first place. And As long as the reasons are still intact, i think some compromise in other areas can be afforded.

I'm not a promoter of GWP but preps of a wedding is already as stressful as it is. Just hope that we can enjoy the process with our partners by taking a more easy-going approach instead of trying to maximise our dollar.

Nevertheless, lets keep sharing (but not necessarily comparing! :P)

Hi Kelvin, I'm sorry, but I think I gotta defend of what you think. I dun think most of us are stretching the dollar here( On my part, if I was doing it, I would be asking for additional perks in the contract. Basically, we took up what they have to offer. Stretching the dollar would mean demanding new table clothes or set-ups at o increased cost, additional night stay, upgrade of suite, additional free flow of alcohol, more carpark coupons, etc . Please kindly read through the previous threads that have been posted. This is what you mean by maximising the dollar.)
But right here, we are talking about the standards that should and be expected to be delivered by a 5-star hotel. Looking at the rate, there are other 5-star hotels out there that can deliver more stuff and at a more satisfactory level. (perhaps you haven't came across any)
I'm pretty sure that most of us took up the package cos of the grand ballroom. So, if the ballroom looks so magnificent, isn't that normal that we expect the other areas to match up the standards, in terms of presentation?
And as for the new selections of favours and wedding that are offered during the roadshow, the coordinators have a duty to inform the exisiting clients that the new selections are avalaible but they are offered exclusively for the customers that signed up there and then, and not platently denied that there are no new selections. If they do so, they are not being fair to the customers who are paying the same or even at a higher rate. Customers have a choice to upgrade their selction as long as they pay.
I apologise if I sound offensive, but I dun think I soung illogical here.

Hi Boo,
You have several valid points I would say. But no offence was taken.
Perhaps there would have been other several hotels that offered attractive rates as compared to GWP. But I havent come across any when I did my comparison. (purely out of curiosity, what other hotels gave attractive rates. What had you looked at? I narrowed mine down to hilton, conrad, the hotel oppo zouk and traders)

You are perfectly fine in disgreeing with me. That's what opinions are for. I dont know what transpired between your co-ordinator and you. Miscommunication is my guess on the issue of wedding favours. Maybe he didnt think that customers would be willing to pay for a change in the favours and did not suggest. I'm just guessing of course. (maybe i shouldnt! :P)

In any case, fight for what you think you should be getting. If it was the ballroom that you wanted, then presentation is what you should get. As mentioned before, as long as the reason as to why you took up the package remains intact, I believe that compromises can be made if it doesnt stray off too far from the big picture. (especially if its in the contract!!)

Boo, so hows your selection of the menu coming along now. I noted that you are unhappy with the food presentation, tasting and choices. Was the menu selection of carbo,vege available to you before you signed the contract? Any luck in getting what you want? And the wedding chair covers and sashes? Were they very off from what they presented to you when you signed up?

Just remember to talk to your wedding co-ordinator about your ideas. They too are employees of the hotel. And as with all employees, there are motivated and company-oriented ones, and then there are those who arent. Commuication is always vital.

Cheers and have a good weekend everyone!

Hi Boo, in my opinion, the new cards wasn't that spectcular at all, not impressive. The favours are not so bad, got honey in a small bottle, bookmark, letter opener, keychain and stirrer. I choose the keychain and stirrer.
For the banquet deco, I have not chosen at all. My planner didnt even tell me when I must choose and what I shld start preparing and stuff. Even food tasting never tell me when I should get it done. No followup from him at all and he is a Manager in GWP!

sher, I didnt book during the wedding fair but GWP extend the new favours and cards and some perks to me as I was able to confirm my book before 31st July.

Booked the hotel for my wedding.
Love the Victorian architectural of the hotel.
Its a beautiful place.
Price is not a problem when we people here
have decided to choose GWP. Dont need any attractive rates. Marriage is for life.
However i must agree with you JL.
The hotel customer services sucks...
Customer service, attitude and coordination works have to improve.
Kelvin wrote as if he is working in GWP.
If he is not, hope he can help us feedback to the hotel to improve the standards...
The kind of service we getting is not even 3 star... =(
Anyway no need to do any reasoning, as
action speak louder than words, improving the customer service and attitude will prevent complaints like these to appear again.
Hope the GWP people are reading these...
Please... do improve...
(A helpful thread to improve the standard of
a hotel where i like to have my tim sum...)

JL, i think quite alot of us booked b4 31st jul too...i'm 1 of them..so its nt true that u gt the new wedding favours thru' roadshow..hmm...speechless...then i guess it depends on your co-ordinator but overall, really disappointed with the service we received..no follow up calls, but you have to call them up to arrange..sad..

Ok Ms wong and everybody else, will try to feedback to my wedding co-ordinator about your complaints. I dont work there but seems like the wedding co-ordinator seems to be rather helpful with me. Lets hope it gets better for everyone then.

Hi Ms Wong, I'm actually thinking of changing my planner who is actually the sales manager cause he dont seems to care a bit at all. In fact, when I send him email and copy his assistant director of catering, his director replied and not him. I just send him another email on 21st abt my date for food tasting and still no reply.

Sher, I didnt get the new favours thru roadshow or fair, In fact, I missed the bridal fair. I simply called GWP after the show n make appointment to view the ballroom, the new cards n favours were automatically offered to me but on condition that I confirmed before 31st July.
Their service really sucks big time compared to what other hotels' planner did.

Hi everybody,

A few day never logged into the forum since like the forum is having a mini war with one and another. Hope everyone is cool down liao. Feeling so excited as my big day is approaching in a few date time. Will keep everyone posted on the service on the actual day. Hopefully i never missed out anything, as my planner has go through so many times with me on details, only i can only wait for the day to come. Cheer up and relax.

xiao hui,

could you share who yuor coordinator is?
i'd like to bring my in laws (not singaporeans) to view the hotel first, before deciding...
so good service would impress them too..

if not convenient to post, you could pm me.

JL...i've seen the ballroom once but it was all partitioned up coz of function so act. i din get to see the entire ballroom so far.

Xiao Hui, glad tat u are receiving updatings frm your planner. Have u went for food tasting?