Goodwood Park Hotel

littlebride, as promised.
293217.jpg

hi cookiencream,
thats looks really cute and sweet! very demure!

i'm contemplating doin my own corsages for my helpers as well...gota learn how-to!hahahah

hi haru, i collecting my gowns this sat. heehee, got few days to admire at home.
there will be a briefing b4 the dinner where ur hubby, his bros n the ops mgr will meetup to discuss.
i bought cheap boxes from the gift shop at bugis 4th level, onli $2.90 each! but the design is those colorful n full of patterns one, so i bought gold n red wrapping papers near my new hse at $1 each to wrap up. spent $7.80 in total. the boxes comes w grey ribbons but i tink not v nice so will look out for nice ribbons. tink will costs me $10+ in total bah. ready-made boxes costs $15 each!

hi cookiencream, v nice! how u do?? teach! teach! how u stick the roses to the ribbons? how long u takes to finish them?

hi little bride,
think i'll also be lookin out for nice wrapping paper then use those empty boxes and wrap it up and top it off with nice ribbon,etc...=P

oops! sorli! amendments!
the msg is meant for noscon! :pp
noscon, i saw ur fotos! v nice!! i like ur lalang fotos n the one outside the church. u looked gorgeous.

little bride, the fotos are not from me!!!
I will send to u later... me still havent upload.

Abt the corsages, actually not v difficult to do lah but it did took me quite a while to figure the way to hold them for the very first corsage. Subsequently, u will be able to do the rest of corsages v fast. I bought all the materials at spotlight. Basically there are two types of rosebud. One is fabric (soft) and the other is superficial flower (harder) that come with wire. I took the latter. U can arrange two or three rosebud together then fold the wire together with the butterfly ribbon (organza), and sew onto the satin ribbon. The only difficulty lies wif tying the beaded trim, quite difficult to hold the trim but it is optional if u find it troublesome. Do take note the length of the ribbon if u wan to tie onto the wrist. Make sure it's long enuff.

U can research on the website for some design first b4 buying the material. Else u be facing so many things at spotlight and u didnt know wat to choose.

And yes, haru, i'll be making my ang bao box. Still thinking how to design. Me will go to spotlight again to get some laces & ribbons there. I love their ivory satin! But quite ex lor- $1.55 per meter.

HI all...

I visited our coordinator at GWP recently. Spoke about flowers, table linen, music, etc. We wish to get all the details ready sooner than the usual timeline of 1mth before the wedding. It's actually quite a lot of details! The major one being the colour of flowers. Since we're going to have our solemnisation there in the late morning as well, we also have to iron out those details. And that was our purpose of vistiting GWP so early. Our wedding isn't till late Nov. But I think with work commitments, etc, its going to be quite difficult to squeeze time out to handle such details and we really do not want to be stressed. SO... trying to get as much done now.

I must say this... The image and ambience of GWP have changed since I last stepped onto their premises last Dec. The reception area and lobby have gone through a face-lift and what a difference! It now resembles most other 5-star hotels! Decor is minimalist (almost zen-like) as compared to being "old English"/English country. I have yet to decide whether or not I like this new image. In any case, my wedding will still take place at GWP. No change there! The service is still top notch.

Oh! I'll be heading to Florabell to discuss all matters floral this Monday! Will see what kind of magic they are able to put together for our decor needs. I'm thinking of cream-coloured and lilac roses together with some dark purple sprays of a particular flower that I can't for the life of me recall the name of at this time. Or, Cream-coloured roses and those purple flowers (the roses being the main flower, or course). White table linen, most definitely. Did not fancy the others. And I do believe we're either gonna get the honey or tea leaves or both (have GWP placed them alternately on the table settings)as wedding favours. We were told that the most important detail to settle is the floral component. Everything else will usually fall into place after that. I actually left GWP with a slight headache! So many tiny details that we have to think about.

hi LS,

are you talking about hyacinths? i'd like to have a purple and cream theme too... let me know how it turns out ok? GWP is tying up with Florabell?

Gosh, I must go down to GWP soon.. what I like about it is the ambience. my wedding will be end Sept, so I should be panicking right about now. Nothing is done yet (except PS) argh!!!

Shymz,

Take a deep cleansing breath. Then panic slowly. Hahahah... Relax a little! My fiance and I are probably being a little kiasu. But truly, we don't want to have to think about these tiny details too close to our wedding. We anticipate having a difficult time with seating arrangements and would rather spend more time focusing on that closer to our big day.

No, the purple flowers aren't hyacinths. And yes, looks like GWP does have ties with Florabell. At least that was what we were told. I should probably look through mags and internet websites for ideas. The purple flowers have a name that's very unusual. I had to ask our coordinator to repeat it twice (or was it 3 times?) during our visit with her.

About the ambience: Walk throught he lobby/reception area. It's so different now! And I'm being serious. It's been spruced up, but somehow, the old English atmosphere is no longer there!!! They have yet to receive the new furniture, and hence are still using the old ones. I do hope the new furniture they have chosen will bring back some of that English charm that GWP is supposed to exude!

hi LS,

hmm... i've asked a friend who is very good with such details to help with the wedding planning (i'm not very good with such stuff) do let me know when you've decided on the theme (flowers and stuff) ok?

think i'll make a trip down to GWP tomorrow... it'll be such a pity if they decide to change the deco. the main reason why i picked this hotel is the cozy ambience

nice to know that GWP did a lil face lift. the internal decor wont change that much though coz its a historical monument, i think! looking forward to seeing the new look when i go for the food tasting in a few weeks!

gosh, i am sooo beat after a long day at our new place fixing up the stuff..we were also up til 2am the nite before....its been a tiring weekend. gona go over again tom after church to fix up some of our other furnitures....yawn!!!

I have been thru a super busy weekend. Ydaz (Sunday) we did a simple Guo Da Li- basically sending dowry and cakes to my family and distributing to relatives... We were going round Spore sending cards & cakes, it's really tiring but at least it's done on one-day!

The day before, we were still shopping for the customary items at beauty world. We also went to spotlights again to get the ribbons & deco stuff for my ang bao box and orange basket. Finally, i bought the pair of Forever Friends wedding bears at Preciousthots. I think quite ex leh, a little heart-pain at 1st. But hubby said nvm, coz once a lifetime and can be kept for memories.

hi little bride,
24 more hours to go!!!! may you have a blissful marriage!have a wonderful time, and remember to have fun. keep smiling!!!!!
kao_wedding.gif

Hi little bride,

I'm new here but i've read so much about this thread that i feel i know u all quite abit.
Wishing you great happiness & lots of bliss on your marriage!

HI Shymz,

I visited Florabell yday. Everything floral is settled! At least for our solemnisation and banquet. Our colour scheme: Purple and cream. More cream, actually. Thinking of having a large red bouquet. Do you think it'll be a nice contrast to the purple and cream?? The light purple flowers are called caspea. They'll be used as fillers. The ones that was shown to me by our coordinator at GWP are hycinthus, I think. So, you are right! But the hycinthus in the picture were not used as fillers. They were used as the "secondary" flower. I'll be having purple eustomas as my secondary flower. Cream roses being my main flower. Will be using 4 flower stands from the banquet at our solemnisation ceremony in the morning, so I won't have to buy additional flowers after all!

littlebride,
Congratulations and good luck!!!

Cookie,
You're NEXT!!

hi shymz & elegance, when is yr AD?

Hi L.S., YES! 1-mth to go! Quite excited now! I'm at d stage of sending out invitation cards now. After tat, the remaining major issue is to confirm my HM travel package. My AD schedule and emcee speech & d rest r more or less done or in-progress. Guess overall, the most headache is the invitation part & seat arrangement part. It will juz keep changing till the last mins.

Btw, there will be 2 floral stands at the doorway into the ballrm. Anyone add them into the aisle instead?

cookiencream

i got my customary stuff at beauty world too....
so qiao... they have like 3 or 4 small shops there selling

i bought the bears too... later on I sold it cos I only used it for a while and I have 2 pairs of bears liao....

so exciting for you...
I saw photos from GW where the stands are added to the isle.... maybe you can request to see them from your coord...

cookie,

I think I'll leave the 2 flower stands at the doorway. It greets the guests and sort of preps them for the sight inside the ballroom proper.

Where will you and your fiance be heading for your honeymoon??

LS, we'd like to go Europe in 1st wk of Aug, but the prob is currently, there isnt any confirm departure grp yet since it's non-peak season. The no. of pple who confirm are juz a handful. We didnt want to make deposit as in case of refund can be pretty hassle wif some agencies. We will be looking to NZ in case Europe one fails. Worst come to worst, we will go Brisbane on F&E, but will hv more planning work at last mins which we hope to avoid. Headache...

hi cookieNcream,
my AD will be 30 Sept
Although it's off peak here, people in Europe will be taking their summer vacations in Aug, so it'll be crowded everywhere. Have you considered going F&E there? which part of Europe do you intend to go?

hi LS,
ah... eustomas are quite dramatic
i like hycinthus
wanted them with purple calla lillies for my bouquet, but i think purple calla is out of season in Sept... does the coordinator have the pics? maybe i can ask jeannie when i go down

HI shymz,

Finally getting ready for bed...
Our coordinator showed as some pics from her digital camera. Not hardcopy photographs. So it was a little difficult to make out some of the flowers. But I remember the cream and purple combination!

Was thinking of getting a large red bouquet of roses for my big day! Drama queen, eh?! It'll just scream for attention. Been looking thru the net for ideas. Found some BEAUTIFUL bouquets of crimson and black roses together with those pretty little red berries... Hand-tied with a ribbon (white perhaps??)wrapped over all green stalks. A far cry from the bouquet I used during my PS - nosegay of peach roses with baby's breath around the edges. Kinda want my AD bouquet to really stand out. Plus, since my wedding is in Nov, red will be appropriate. My EG is almost red. Fushia really. SO, I was thinking of having a large eustoma (don't know which colour to pick)and have it made into a wrist corsage. Because of the neckline of my EG, I will not be using a necklace or choker. Must accessorize in other areas!

wow, so looks like everyone preparing the decor and flowers now eh? we just handed our invitation cards to friend for printing, should be getting them next week so that we can write the names and give them all out within the next 2-3 weeks. also ordered the cakes which are for our relatives. i think i'll be gg spotlight tonite to look for some nice decorative stuff for angpow box,etc..gosh, really starting to feel it sinking in.

I did a lil of our own photo montage yesterday, its very time consuming but its soo fun doin ur own. i think i'll do raw edit and then pass to my brother in law who is better at this for final edit. i also prepared the music for march in with my dad, but i think still need to fine tune...(just in case u wondering, i was on leave yesterday, thats y have the time!!heheh!!)

hubby and i wish that we could both just take leave from now til wedding to prepare our hse and wedding. its crazy time at work for hubby, so he wld very much rather prepare for the wedding (at least that's fun and a joy to do) than go to work, he doesnt get home til aft midnite on some days, so thats how busy he is now. me so hard pain....=Z now we are just counting down to our wedding day!!!

Hi cookieNcream & friends,

Errm.... i'm not getting married anytime in near future. Just that 1 of my best friend got married few mths back & some others planning to b soon, i just got "overwhelmed" & started to "plan". Haha....

I wish i can participate cos' i really enjoy the excitement & contribution from so many of you. Hee..... hope you all dun mind me popping in sometimes?

hi LS,

i think the bouquet would have to go with your gown... if your gown is all sugary sweet, a wild bouquet would be kinda strange (in my opinion) your parents ok with black roses? if so, go ahead
you'll definitely stand out from the other brides. by the way, you'll only be carrying the bouquet in the day right?

what abt putting the flower in your hair? that way attention will be drawn to your face
just a suggestion... hehe... coz i'm thinking of weaving some flowers in my hair on my AD

hi haru,
when's your AD? you seem to be getting on pretty nicely... i've been too busy at work to get anything done. Nothing has been settled for my AD so far... except the date :P

hi shymz,
my AD in aug liao, very excited. I think i'll try to do my own corsages this weekend if i can find time. i'll be busy this sunday at church, so hope to do as much on sat if poss..gota get my ring pillow sorted too.. and wine...oh dear, the list keeps going!!!

dun worry, everything wil fall into place when the day comes. now i'm contemplating whether or not to splurge on AD photography by Chris Ling photographers. I have already spent a bomb on our outdoor PS with Chris, the man hiself and all the house furnishing etc......if i spend on AD photography as well, then we may not have "standby funds" for the banquet...hm..confused!!!

Hi everyone, juz managed to make a trip to florist ydaz. Luckily i did and i managed to clarify that mango-orange rose. It totally deviated from wat i imagine. It's neither yellow nor orange! The colour is closer to carrot. I also get to know wat's the floral arrangement from photos. Bee Tin is exactly wat the others describe her, a very nice & warm lady! In fact she even explain to us clearly why no need to add flowers due to the small size of the aisle. Unlike my coordinator, Irene, she only said no need w/o explanation. How cum she dont hv any photo to show me?

hi elegance, we are glad to hv u here. Our brides are pretty willing to share and the info do help in my preparation. I'm so glad to join this thread. Hope we can inspire you to turn yr "plan" into "reality" soon.

Shymz shymz, u hv exactly THREE more mths to go... got to start the ball somewhere... if u hv busy work schedule, better spread out yr preparation work... maybe drawing up an invitation lists or printing yr inserts 1st ???... if not u will find yrself panicky cramped up wif whole lotsa things to-do in Aug. :P

Hey ladies,
anyone feeling like u just wana take looong leave as your date approaches your big day??

my hubby and i super tempted to take loong leave so that we can concentrate on organizing wedding. also coz we have not gone for a holiday since last sep'04 as we have been busy with work/wedding/house. and also cause need to budget for wedding, heehhe..we used to go for holidays like once every 2-3 months...i think we having cold turkey from lack of holidayS!!!

hi cookieNcream,
hehe... ya, i should start soon... i'm always preparing at the last minute.
1) menu: should ask my hubby to organise a meeting with jeannie 1st week of july :P hubby has already ordered the wine
2) corsages: have enlisted the help of a friend
3) seating: my friend is acting as coordinator, and will help with the seating on the colleagues side. mum will arrange family, i only have 3 more tables for friends...
4) flowers: have yet to decide if i prefer something more romantic or grand.
5) AD photography: have signed up with moomedia already, will be having another meetup session for a briefing to star in our own MTV

6) cards: will probably decide when we meet the coordinator
7) cakes: dunno... any recommendations?
8) house: ID hopefully completed before mid-sept
9) PS: done, selection of photos also done. will see the layout mid-aug
anything i've missed out?

hi haru,
you will be having your solemnization together with your dinner? will you be making your own ring pillow? personally i wouldn't sting on the AD photography, coz there won't be any chance for retakes
the photos would serve as a momento of a milestone in your life

ah... leave... *hallucinating* i definitely need a break from work. actually just went for 2 short breaks in the past 2 mths, but still feel very tired. looking forward to my honeymoon... where will you be going?

hi shymz,
wow, you sound organized! not like me!hahaha...can i ask where your hubby got e wines from? i am only plannin to get 18 bottles.anything more than that, we plan to get directly from hotel.

cakes: are you serving cakes to your guests. not all guests will take the cake, but maybe u can arrange for cupcakes for individual guests if u have e budget. we decided to forgo cake as not all our guests have sweet tooth!=P
my PS only in about 2 weeks with Chris Ling. i will leave AD to a good photographer,a close relative of mine that happens to be a wedding photographer.=D now only left videography, maybe engage svc of hubby's friend that has his own company.
ring pillow: no lah, not gona make my own, i'm not that great with sewing!!haha, prob buy ready made.
corsages: i bot some materials, now just tryin to work out how to best put it all together..hmm..
ang pow box: def plan to do our own. will get box and do our own decoration.=P dunno how long i'll take to do tat!

as for our dinner, yup, our solemnization (actually its holy matrimony where our pastor will bless us and officially unite us as husband and wife, already did ROM. but holy matrimony is the official one for us.)will be done rite before dinner. e holy matrimony wil take about 45min, so we plan to start by 7pm latest.90% of guests are friends, so will politely explain to them to be on time. dun wana keep the Pastor waiting!

we hope to go to mauritius, but its not set yet. we actually plan to book our HM rite after wedding event. kinda fun coz then we can just pop by a travel agency and pick a place! hahaha..we had originally planned to just go to airport and book the flight that is next avail, but tooo risky, then duno what to pack (winter wear? summer wear?),hahahh...how bout u?wea u gg?

hi haru,

hehe, i'm not organized, got all the items from reading the threads
i'm not really sure, he just told me he got some lobang from a friend... will be getting both red and white wine (close to 30 bottles i think) i'll ask him ...

i meant the wedding cakes for our relatives. for the dinner i was thinking of getting some nice pastries from bakerzin.

wow, you have useful contacts! it's nice to have someone you know and trust taking photos, that way u know that you'll be getting the best

i got my ringpillow from weddingthoughts.com ... you might want to check it out

will your wedding be on a weekend? coz 7pm is a little early if it's during a weekday ... for mine i think i'll be lucky if it starts by 8pm, hehe

i'm thinking of going to greece... my friend was telling me abt santorini
but not sure if oct is a good time to go though...

hi shymz,
so you guys gona pay e corkage for bringin in ur own wine? i tot of getting 18 only...but one carton is 12 bottles rite? so maybe 24 bottles...me am totally clueless about wine...

oh!well, i got the traditional wedding cakes, coz only a few relatives. got it from some traditional bakery shop. coz hubby said relatives wld prefer it the old-fashioned style,not like the whole cakes from Bengawan...=D

yup,my wedding on sat. so should be no prob! =P

wow, i have a colleague who grew up in greece, its a lovely place!!!do check out travel websites to check out about climate and all though. are u gg in sep? summer may be over and autumn mite be setting in, but i may be wrong. do check out resources to be sure. (heard that greece has one of the most gorgeous sunsets!!! so romantic!)

i'll go check weddingthoughts.com out!thanks!

Ladies... Ladies...

How's everyone doing? SO bogged with work. Had to take a breather and escape to this forum!

Shymz,
Black roses aren't black as its name suggests. hehehe... Just a very dark shade of red. Combined with crimson red roses, perhaps a few stalks of purple hycinthus and those red berry things... Hmmm, could be something interesting! But will keep thinking of possibilities. No, our parents will not object to black roses. Both of us have families with broad minds... Thank goodness!

hi ladies, it's the weekend again! Precious time needed for my weddd stuff preparation! My plan is to finish my cards writing & mailed out by Sunday, & to decorate my ang bao box... wow, getting real exciting as today mark the month of my wedding! So i see u ladies next week! take care & hv fun!

hi haru,
we managed to get the corkage waived for 1 bottle per table... so if the guests drink more we'll need to pay for the extra bottles

i think my relatives wouldn't mind anything, as long as the cake is good

heard that it's really hot in greece during summer, so hopefully it's cooler closer to oct... still doing research though

hi LS,
oops... the bouquet sounds really beautiful
what's your gown like?

hi cookieNcream,
good luck with the preparations
see u back here soon