Goodwood Park Hotel

hi veeve,

sorry to hear about that. ur wedding date must be a hot date, because i understand there are 2 terraces by the main pool that can be used, tudor terrace, which is in front of the hi-tea buffet place, and min terrace, which is in front of the restaurant. both are facing the main pool. or perhaps the other party has booked both terraces.

could they arrange for some other room for u? i saw pictures of the rose marie suite, and it looks pretty nice too. perhaps your coordinator can suggest alternative venues?

Hi jued,

have changed my date.. o well..no choice lar..cant have then best of both worlds..
abit dissapointed..but now we push it earlier.. so have less time 2 prepare! heh
so where are u holding ure banquet?

hi veeve,

oh well, at least u get to have both the venues u want then! glad that things turned out well for u in the end.

my banquet is going to be at four seasons in sept next year.

Hi veeve,
I just sign up with GWP as well, planning to do my holy matrimony at the min. pavilion then proceed to dinner.
Guess should be similar to yours?
You working with Mei Fung?

Hi Hazel,

Yup, we did our ROM (church service) at the poolside and then proceeded with the Dinner at Tudor.

Well, we got more chairs as the guest was crowding the pool area. As for freebies, I cannot type it here cos the GWP staff reads this forum. Hahahaha... so not too nice to say.

Rest assured that everything will be fine. Maybe you can request the manager for your wedding to be Coleen (forgot how to spell his name). He is very nice and ver accomodating on the AD.

Hi Veeve,

My wife and I did our Marriage Blessings at Mayfair Pool. If the main pool is taken then it is ok. Jasmine was our co-ordinator then, she told us that the main pool has a lot of people watching so it is not too private. Unless it rains, then you have no choice but to do it in the main pool cos there is shelter.

Mayfair Pool cannot have too many guests but during our service, it was pretty packed. Our banquet manager was nice enough to throw in some freebies like more chairs for our guests.

My wife and I had such a great afternoon and evening at GWP. Hope your experience will be the same as ours. The food is really good.

Hi Adrian,
Do you have any pics to share?
Is Mayfair pool the one with the Coffee Lounge?
I will also be doing my Holy Matrimony there cum dinner at the ballroom.

I'm a very new member to this forum. My bf and I are very keen about GWP because we really like the colonial and victorian look of the hotel. However, after readng all the negative comments and horror stories about GWP, I'm really worried and apprehensive.

Does anyone have any good experience to share? The windsor ballroom looks quite big when we viewed it last week, will 25 tables look a bit 'empty' in Windsor Ballroom? I also thought that pictures of their wedding theme looked quite simple and not very nice. When I asked about their theme, they didn't seem very keen to answer my questions (in fact a bit evasive) and said that we can work that out closer to AD. Has anyone held any wedding there and have any pictures to share of the ballroom and the setup?

Any one have pictures of the actual setup in Windsor Ballroom to share? My bf and I met the sales manager last week and thought that pictures of their wedding theme looked very plain and not very nice. We had imagine that it would be very dreamy and romantic looking given that the hotel looks very victorian.

Also, we are now very worried now that we have read so many negative comments and horror stories in the forum about GWP. We are very attracted to the hotel yet very apprehensive at the same time.

Would appreciate if anyone out that have any information to share.

Hi Lucy,

Actually GWP are only particular with rooms. GWP will not give additional nite stays besides your package. They will also not give helpers room. The rest, you can talk to the sales or even on the actual day, they are fine with some changes. Basically, they will try to accomodate to your request as it is your wedding. Of cos, do not go overboard to ask for too much.

My wife and I recognised that we should not take advantage of the situation. So we are fine if they turn us down for certain request that might costly. We felt that it is a happy day so dun spoil it by asking so much and then feel unhappy when other are unable to provide you with what you requested.

We have 1 bottle of wine per table and got corkages waived. Then we had our food delivered to our room. hahahaha... you can ask for more also lah... like 2 bowls of dessert. Their mango with pamelo is SUPERB. Their sharks fins also yummy....

They are nice folks so I dunno why pple here condemn the service.

Hi Adrian,

thanks for the reply, met up with Meifung for the second time again yesterday and she's pretty firm with the perks, and still have to pay for the usage of the mayfair pool to do our solemnization just before the dinner.

As we just missed the wedding show, we do feel pinch, and there's no room of negotiation at all, if not we'd have signed alrdy. somehow she gave me a "take it of leave it, you don't take, others will" and "don't waste my time, i have plenty of other richer couples to attend to other than you" attitude. She tried to sound friendly and smiley but i think she speaks with a lot of intimidation, (btw, i'm not a grumpy nor negative person, generally a happy gal with a happy life) sounded as if doubting our ability in terms of finance. Thus i understand why some couples are turned off.

As both my FH and i felt uncomfortable, we didn't confrim then. i really like the place and FH alrdy said as long as i'm happy, nothing matters but it has drew us back if i were to work with staffs like this, strict rules with no flexiblity.

i'm really not trying to spoil GWP's image but why do they impose such snoorbish attitude towards potential couples? we are not asking much, just hoping not to top up extra to the "alrdy not cheap price per table". we are just trying to fulfill our dream wedding with our dream hotel.

in the end, i may still take GWP, but with some doubts on their services, just my 2-cent worth.

Hi Lucy,

My coordinator is MF also and I am quite unhappy with her too. The first time i met her, when i asked her about wedding themes and floral decoration, she skirted the questions and was not very forthcoming in her answers and there were times when she answered my questions as if they were stupid questions. While she may be fielded these questions a 100 times by a 100 couples, in my opinion, there are no stupid questions, simply because every bride is concerned about their wedding and wants it to be perfect.

In my second email to her, she took 2 to 3 days to reply, it was a simple email with a few simple questions. Her reply was incomplete, and when I called her after reading her email to clarify, she told me that she "didnt have time to answer all queries for non-confirm couples". This is despite the fact that I have indicated that I am very keen to sign-up except that I need to know more details.

She gave me some inaccurate information (both on email and later confirmed on phone) and when I verified with her, she told me that she forgot telling me that (this is in black and white in the email!)I'm losing faith in a coordinator who always cannot remember who I am and always cannot remember what she told me. We spoke to confirm our booking and when I called her the next day, she can't remember who I am.

This is making my whole planning experience so unpleasant.

So Lucy, I absolutely understand how you feel.

Well i've confirmed with GWP for my AD 09 and my coordinator is Jasmine.. So far its all been good. She is going away on maternalty leave..soon..if not, you guys can try looking for her.

Agree with adrain they are quite firm on perks... but once again me and the boy are not tat particular.. the Windsor ballroom gave us a pretty good feel. So we went with it.

But at the end of the day, you have to be comfy with the hotel and the pple you have to work with.

Hi tinker bell and friends,

thanks for the messages, at least i know i'm not alone, we are thinking of changing the coordinator before signing, to avoid anymore unpleasantness...i feel that as a 5 star hotel they should really revise their services, when i called her yesterday to verbally confirm, she sounded nicer but once again reminded me that she won't grant any perks requested earlier on on wed. ( remind me of the bad experience again, only money speaks.) i'd expect very good service from them then.

i feel its ironic that other 4 stars hotels that we recce offer much better experiences compared to GWP. i take GWP simply bec i love the whiteness of the place and ambience, which other hotels missed. i think the staffs are exploiting the beauty of the hotel.

Hi bubb and kalmen,

Thank you for sharing these info. Where are you gals holding your wedding?

Hi Lucy,

We still signed up with GWP in the end cos we really like the look and the feel of the hotel. Anyway, just to share a piece of good news with all GWP brides-to-be, they are renovating the windsor ballroom to a darker grain wood colour and to add in mirrors in the room this aug, I believe it will look even grander after that!

Hi hulaar,

you can call them up to enquire, there's 2 types of i think, either rent the poolside at $500++ then proceed to either one of the restaurants for meals, or a buffet charging at min. $55++ depending on the timing you want, and the no. of ppl you have.(lunch, high-tea or dinner spread)

hope it helps.

hi tinker_bell, i signed up with MF in the end as didn't want to get more troubled further going through all the explaination and passing over...anyway still happy as i really like the place, when is you banquet?

hi hi.. i also booked GWP for my AD on 26th Dec 2009. My coordinator is Jasmine and we will be taking the Tudor ballroom. We love the cosy feeling and private reception area!

We did attend their wedding show but was not eligible for the perks due to the date of our wedding..but we still went ahead because the service we received were good..hb n myself felt that the colonial setting will be nice for photo taking on AD..hehe

Hi to all,

If you are unhappy with MF, look for Jasmine. Clock it as a new appointment. Jasmine was my co-ordinator. She is very polite and responsible. I remember she was pregnant when we booked our AD. Then when she was on maternity leave, she called us regarding our food tasting. Then on the eve of my AD at 10pm, my JP (being a Gynea), could not make it on the actual time of the ROM, so he wanted to do it earlier in my room. I called Jasmine at 10 pm and she was still very polite.

I guess if you are unhappy with the sales staff, change it. If all the sales staff are so attitude then of cos look for somewhere else. Main thing is you must be happy cos it is YOUR DAY and NOT THE HOTEL'S DAY.

Some sales staff like the one we met at Grand Hyatt told us that our tables were too few and we better make a friend a day so that we can get the ballroom. hahaha... stupid salesmanship... she just lost her customer forever. Anyway, Grand Hyatt was not that new and nice...

Therefore, remember.... BE HAPPY!!!

Oh one last thing.... insist on getting Coleen. He is super nice, super professional and super accomodating if hiccups occur... he will help out in the best way he can.

Hi Apple_Juice,

Nope. Mayfair Pool is the one that you have to walk all the way in. Mayfair Pool is surrounded by hotel rooms. It is not the pool that you see once you enter the main lobby.

However, you have to pay to use it. I think you will love the pool area. My wife fell in love with it once Jasmin showed us the place to hold our wedding blessings.

Hi adrian,
thanks for that!
glad to hear you had a great evening.
btw hw was the decor done up for the pool? was it nice?
how abt the decor for the ballroom? im not too impressed by some of the decor pics of the ballroom. which ballroom did u hold it can? care to share pics?

Hi veeve,

We did not decor the pool. We only had a table flower arranged. I think the natural look of the Mayfair pool is already very nice.

We held our dinner at Tudor Ballroom. My warning is if you have more than 18 tables, than you might want to consider inviting more frens and family to make up the numbers to get the Windsor. Cos we had 21 tables and a few tables were quite squeezed to the back against the projector screen. So the view not too good.

However, the decor in the ballroom is acceptable to me. Pop into one of the dinners and check is my advice. My decor might be outdated already. Cos the hotel changes it yearly I think.

IF you are daring, then try the red and black. I think it is nice but we considered the elderly might think that is is not auspicious. So didn't go ahead with it.

Look for Jasmin and get her to co-ordinate. I see some complaints about other sales manager but I think as a client, you have the right to choose who you want to work with. If Jasmin is not around, look for another lady (forgot her name). She usually picks up the phone when you contact banquet sales from the main hotel no. She is very friendly over the phone.

Anyway, main thing is you must be happy. BIG BIG day you know....

hi adrian,

many thanks for your advice. have already booked the windsor.. but dun quite like the decor of the stage.. have toked 2 my coordinator, she said i can liase w the florists if i want to change or anything.but migt have to top up some money.
so did u take into consideration a colour them for your wedding? and ask the florists to coordinate w it?
yea main thing is must be happy.. totally agree..

Hi veeve,

We selected the stage decor as shown by Jasmin. We did not make additional payments as we felt good with what they had.

I am not sure if GWP can work with other florist. You can ask them. I think Justin Koh from Fleurlicious is quite good. A little temperamental but he knows his stuff and care for his flowers. He hired his services for bouquet flowers. He does flowers for celebrities like Xiao Zhu, Sun Yanzi and many more during their celebrations over a successful concert or awards nite. Contact : 67360036.

If you use the hotel florist then you definitely have to topup.

i booked my banquet during the wedding show.
my table is abt 1100 nett for sunday night
i got 25 tables so i booked the windsor ballroom. We bargained for 4 projectors. The package includes free flow wine n beer and 2 nights stay in a poolside suite. there is also a free day room for helpers.
Lotsa perks if u book at the wedding show so I think its a better deal if u can wait for the next wedding show.
Overall I am quite happy with their service so far.

Me and my fiancee really like the Windsor Ballroom at Goodwood Park Hotel.
However, we see 1 potential problem.
As there are now mirrors on all the walls, we are worried that the wedding photos would not turn out nice since the wedding photographer would have to use flash and this will get reflected in the mirrors.

Anybody recently held their dinner there and can share if this is a problem?

HI there,

I am new to this forum.. just wondering is anyone able to share how is the bridalsuite at GWP. My coordinator is Mei Fung and she shown me this horrible room at the corner.. look so creepy.. but i love tudor ballroom.

And is it possible to get a poolview suite room as the bridal suite..

OH.. they also charging me if i bringing my own wed cake at 180++ too. But it will be waived off if i getting their cake instead. Anyone gotten their wed cake.. was it good? and how much..

pls advices..

hi jollie,

I am also a GWP bride. Yah the bridal suite nothing fantasic, in fact quite old and worn out...Meifung say cos their hotel is those old colonial type, so like that.
I think you got to top up for the poolside suite, usually in the package only junior suite.

Hi eteo,

your coordinator is MF as well? I have to change my coordinator because.. heard that MF is on long MC.. and when i meet up with another coordinator last week... she said normally they will try to give a better room for wed couple.
so i will arrange with her agin to view the room.
(MF shown me the most horrible room at the corner and my new coordinator said that is the last room to give out)

is very hard to get them reply email.. so very frustrated.. when is your AD?

Hi Jollie,
so who is now ur coordinator? Yah she is on long MC, and a guy called Raman took over.

Mine is in july 09. hw abt urs?

heh im also a GWP bride whose AD is in Jul 09 too! =P
so did anyone of you manage to get a confirmed allocation of a poolview room for free next year?

havent spoken to MF for a long while. din know she is on long MC

HI eteo, zhiling and Mei Ting..

OMG.. I am also a GWP July Bride.. kakakka
My AD not fixed yet.. cause. need to chk with si fu for a date.. but \
i will do it a dinner on weekday.

Mei ting.. i don think GWP will ever give a free upg.. unless horrible thing screw up..

Eteo .. my coordinator is Ashley.. she quite nice

Oh.. does anyone wants a real wedding cake?

Hi5, we are all july bride bride!
Hey Zhiling, I also lunch too. Lunch package only deluxe room and no bridal suite leh...u also? Who is ur coordinator?

HI eteo,

I think they are very strict when it comes to room issue. They don allow for early check-in not to say upgrade of room. Everything have to pay.

read from the previous post.. esther sounds good. maybe you could try to contact her.

Have you signed the contract with them yet?

Jollibean: looks like Jul is jam packed for GWP...hahaaa

u gals know they renovated the Windsor ballroom during the chinese 7th mth? now very zen style.. dark brown wood..with new carpet instead of the old beige creamy color ... buahahaa thats wat i was told when i last spoke to MF when she was still at work.. which was like 3 mths ago.. LOL!

yes yes.. i saw the ballroom last month.. it looks good. Congrate to those GWP brides who going to held there.
MIne will be Tudor ballroom.. MF said they not planning to refurbish it.

Now iam headache.. with my AD..
Just found out that my AD is not a auspicious date.. so might have to change.. SIAN AR..

u went to a fortune teller?

we only referred to some online tong shu... but we realize different tong shu says different things for different dates... some say good, some say bad...
so 11 jul was one of the dates which all 3 said good, otherwise can also take it with a pinch of salt. the less u go find out, the better...hehe

I have finally signed the contract with GWP. And have fixed my AD on 28 July 09.

Mei Ting .. you were right.. Mine was 09 july but tong shu said it is a bad day for wed and some online tong shu said is good some said not good.. so very confusing..

We chose 28 at last.. which is a good day for wed..