Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date

I am not a FR Bride but the groom, just signed up. Haha! Dun mind I check something with all if you know on the ballroom and entrance area deco? I have been to view two separate dinners at held few weeks back both using crystal theme. If I am not mistaken, one has small crystal decorations on every table with candle holders and the foyer area decoration looks extremely well decorated with bottles filled with different coloured water and flowers decorations on top, table wth layered table cloths for the guest, rose petals on the table etc,looks grand but the other which is just one week before looks totally different, no crystal deco on every table and the entrance area looks bare with just a skimpy cloth over the table and thats it?! So I was wondering if the the couple paid extra for additional deco or the decos are based on couples request or dependent on the coordinator? Thanks.

Hi Han. The crystal theme usually has a small crystal table piece. Dont remember it having any flowers. If want flowers, must top up.
Usually, the crystal theme, only VIP table got flowers and has chair decor with crystals also, but every other table has a gold cloth and crystal centre piece, which they will remove before dinner. maybe when u went, they had removed the centre piece already?

oh dear ribbons,
seems like the turnout not very good hor? but they didn't even advertise it on magazines or newspapers, ppl wouldn't know abt it..
sorry that u n your mum didn't enjoy yourselves..
but i suppose they got no choice also la..i've hosted some events n sometiems due to turnout have to push things back...like most wedding dinners also, if not enough ppl turn up also have to start later..
the may show also didn't have chairs for us to sit...sounds like the same set up...my hubby n my friends just stood at a table n kept eating the nuts..haha..

u mean the ang pow box we cannot use ah?
bt at least the invitations are no longer the ugly ones...these look much nicer..!
the invites are square ones izzit?
what're the new favours they're offering?

Hi ribbons

Oic, maybe but I was there abt 45 minutes before the dinner starts although the guest have moved in, more or less,
Is the small crystal piece with lights also? Actually, the reception area before the guest move in for cocktail reception part I am quite concern, because one has lots of nice deco(see my previous description above) but the the previous week one looks really bare, thats y I dun noe of the couple actually paid for the extra deco,
I think the reception area also makes a great difference to the ambience.

Hi Magical,

I think they are a pair shaker for pepper and salt, i tink got two kind, one is heart shape and the other i tink two cute figures (symbolises the couple I tink) hugging each other, quite cute,

I'm so glad they have nicer invitation cards now. The new wedding favours sound pretty interesting too. I hope they still have that on my AD in Sept.

The ang bao box looks elegant too. I wonder if I can ask them for it...hee hee...I have 50 tables so not sure how many boxes I need.

Hi Janis..

Okie..thanks. WIll wait for ur email =)

I think ask to see the new cards and favours. the photos posted above seems nice...ya..much better than the previous one..

Hi Han/precious moments, Any other favours except the pepper tand salt?

Han: I think u just have to check with ur coordinator about the decor.. From what i understand, the first example u gave should be the typical set up, dunno why the second one dont have..
Magical: We didnt even eat the nuts. The waitresses were carrying them on their trays. Either they stadn with me till i eat the nuts till happy happy or i walk around with them as they serve drinks..

I also saw the shakers. I like that very much.. Much better than chocolate and bear. hee..But i think i heard them say that it will be for next year, stock not in yet.

Precious: Dont think they will give the box. I have 50 plus tables too.. they wouldnt give.. I signed just before they came with new prices.. I tried to ask for the photo montage that they are offering in ne package.. also cannot..

Hi ribbons,

Thanks, I will check it out with my coordinator, but not so soon because mines still a long way to go, haha!! Hmm, if you ask me, I would prefer the savings for your 50 tables to all the perks for the new package pricing,
I tink you have much more than that, I wonder why I didnt check FR earlier, hoo! missed the boat! Dun worry, be happy!

hello han!
wow the shakers wound really cute! maybe will ask for that...
yeah, any other new favours?

hm..my AD in may 06,hopefully all the new favours are in stock!

ribbons,
yeah actually han is right...we've saved quite a sum already...thikn their increase is abt 50 bucks per table right? that means u saved abt 2500 for your 50 tables already!

i wanted an extra room they also wouldn't gimme, n that was even before i signed up with them! thought they would have given in to secure my sale, but no ley...

Hi Magical,

Hmm, I think should be thats all, actually I did not take much notice about the favours, haha!! Maybe the other ppl who went can comment?
Yah, hopefully all the favours are in stock, you may want to check with your coordinator when or if there are any other favours coming?

Yah, must always think on the bright side,
the hotel will not succumb usually if they think that their pricing is competitive and the demand is there. The situation is even worse if you have already signed the contract, but I must say that the service of FR is definitely good. I can see that they are actually putting a lot of efforts on the service, even from the way the wedding show is organised.
I must say that my coordinator Albert has been very accomodating to our requests, me and my FW are quite at ease and comfortable to have him as our coordinator.

A lot of prices are increasing, like AD photography and videography, must really source around fast, haha!! Any one have good and affordable reccomendations?

Yeah.. thats why i'm not hung up about not getting the perks.. So called perks are paid for by me cos i will have to pay the increased price... ANg Bao box= NVM (I can do my own), Photo Montage= NVM also (can do mine on power point/ flash)
I saw the new prices, and i saw one that matched my own package. THe price difference is more than $50..

I saw the favours.. its really nice lah.. One is pink, the other is white, both made of ceramic, wrapped in a little white lacy bag.

Destineey, if i am not wrong, i think its sort of like a little video.. i think so ah. dont quote me.

hey usually how much do need to pay the printers to print the inserts for us? i'm thinking of buying those transcluscent papers..then print it out on my own printer..dunno if i'll save much $$ anot..

now that they changed the invitations, i don't need to make my own anymore! woohoo!
the salt n pepper shakers sound cute enough..! =) maybe'll just take those..

Hi Han,
I viewed the actual wedding setup last week. It was indeed the nicer deco u have seen for the first time.. nice crystal centre piece... foyer area nicely decorated with crystal stands, rose petals etc... it was not bare so no worries k.. Was told by my co-ordinater that it will be the actual setup (no additional costs)

Hi ribbons,

yah, the photo montage can get at a fraction of the actual price(I think cost $350 from the price list) if you have a AD photographer or videographer who can do it. Hee, if you know how to do better, can save some money and it will definitely be what you want,

Hi racing queen,

Hmm, glad to hear that! Thanks for the info! But just wondering why the previous couple got such a treatment, hoo!

Hi Destineey,

I think the montage should have certain standard as Academy as been around for i tink more than 20 years, no worries,

Hihi dear gals, all pretty FRF brides to be

Its been a long time since i last logged in to read. Had been busy with qt a few things and also tryg to breathe in between the prep.

Janis, can i view ur photos too? my email: [email protected]

I received different feedback from different ppl abt e hotel. anyway, feedback is qt subjective. however, i do agree that any hotel must have a certain standard in order to grow. else they won't mk it in e long run. each time they do a banquet, they are at the same time advertising to the few hundred guests at e dinner. word of mouth spreads stronger than anythg else.

as promised, i hv engaged a photographer but not the videographer yet. will view another 2 more works over e next 2 wkends then decide. :D

Hi Janis and wheel,

you can send PM by clicking on the user ID. The profile will appear and at the end, you can click on icon to send private mail.

However, not everyone allows that. You have to change your profile.

Planning to have my banquet held at FRF.

Anybody tried the Eternity package in Jupiter room?

Can share with me your experience?

Hi ribbons,
So sorry to hear that you do not have a good time during the wedding show. For me, I'm quite happy to attend coz I get to see the new wedding card and wedding favor, which I find it so..so..so much nicer than the previous one.

I get to see the honeymoon suite on that day too and to taste some of the dishes there. Find the roasted crispy chicken the best..the meat is very tender. As for the sharkfin, I find there's still room for improvement.
Thanks to Albert, I get to meet up with the banquet chef, Albert Lee on that day as well. He seems like a nice guy..hope he's able to maintain his top performance on my wedding day. ;)

i'm new here as I have just signed up for a wedding dinner package at FRF for oct 2006.

I am thinking of signing up for the ROM solemization as well but feels that it is a bit expensive. 35+++ per person for a buffet lunch at THE SQUARE. I am thinking of inviting about 50pax

Anyone got any good deals from them?

hi bleu,,,welcome
kao_welcome2.gif

Didnt sign with them for my ROM but i feel the ambience is good... i limit myself to 30 pax so if i know earlier i would hold it there.... =)
but if 50 pax, it may come out to be quite a huge sum...

Hi bleu,

Which package did you sign up with them? how much per table? did u ask for more perks?

if convenient can share with me the details? [email protected]

me intending to go down FRF next week to place deposit liao, had no idea what should we ask for?

hi delphine,

my bf was actually the one who signed for the package. He went by himself and happily signed the contract without negotiating and asking for extra perks.

Mine is the destiny package which costs 488+++.
It will be held in the jupiter room which can take maximum 25 tables.

All the freebies given as exactly what the FRF websites states. No extra

Anyone have any ideas whether the jupiter room will be very crammed if i put the maximun 25 table in it?

Thaks

I believe it will be crammed. But if you cannot meet 30 tables i don think they will let you take the venus ballroom.
In addition 25 is without spare table.
So do is it you have exact 25 tables of guest

Hi bleu,

Had view the juipter room. actually can be quite small for 25 tables. My FH prefers the Venus ballroom. more grand and high ceiling.

Moreover the grand ballroom is more nearer to the escalator. Jupiter ballroom give me a feeling of hidden in a corner.

Personally also had around 25++ tables.
Well maybe will negoiate with them for the grand ballroom. later if need extra table, then jupiter might be too crammed.

Well, u may try to go back to them & say u might have more than 25 tbles & see what do they have to say?

yeah personally i prefer the venus BR, grander...but then if like the cosy atmosphere for a close gathering n celebration then jupiter is much more suitable...it really depends on what each person wants la..

but if u signed on the dotted line already, chances are they are not obliged to give you anything extra...however, can be negotiated i guess, as a gesture of goodwill..

in fact, i think most hotel packages are not open to giving anything extra coz after all it a corporate organization..restaurants are easier to negotiate with somewhat coz they are on a smaller scale..but hotels most likely have to stick to the contacted package..

i mean, that is my personal view la...

Hi bleu

I'll be having 25tables in jupiter room for my upcoming wedding.

If u dun have abit more than 30tables for venus ballroom, the grand ballroom may be too big with many empty spaces here and there.

I've seen the jupiter rm with 25tables fully set up - crystal theme.

For me, I dun feel its cramped but juz nice - a kind of cosy feeling. No unsightly empty spaces - enuff spaces between tables for my very fluffy evening gown. The ceiling compared to certain hotels are actually higher, so me & hubby really dun feel that we are trapped or the space too cramped. There's actually a lift immed next to jupiter rm.

Maybe u could go view the jupiter rm with its full set up asap & then chk with the hotel if u wan 2 change yr room.

They shld be willing to help if they could. Coz I actually was afraid of the jupiter rm being too cramped initially & asked for change of rm. But after seeing the fully set up jupiter rm (25tables) & the venus rm (30tables), I feel that venus gave me a 'hollow' feeling whereas jupiter gave me a warm & cosy feel.

So it really boils down to your personal preference

hi icywave,
did they show you pictures for the fully set up jupiter and venus room?

i gathered that the crystal theme is the nicest setup?

All I know of FRF is only from the brochures they sent. I haven't seen anything yet. hope everything will turn out right.

Hi Bleu:

How abt asking ur BF/FH to callthe coordinator for a viewing session on the actual setup in jupiter during the wedding day. At the same time, u can even look at the actual couple room layout to convince yourself.

Till now I am very happy with FRF service, i sincerely hope that you can enjoy the good service I have received.

Hi Star Tortoise, your username very cute hor..hee.

I have not seen any of the actual wedding setup too. If anybody has a pic to show for venus ballroom regardless of any theme, do share here ok?

I will be going down next sun to view the setting of the ballroom cos was told by Halim that there is a wedding held there.

Maybe i will take some shot & share it with you gals.

We had our Perfect Wedding on 22 October 2005. It was handled by Mr Albert Liew, Dir of Catering, a True Hotelier with service from his Heart. Albert was so patient in dealing all our requests and we appreciate him of his experience in the traditional culture and believes. He went the xtra miles serving tea during our Tea Ceremony, co-ordinated the entire event till the end. The operation team was Sam, those who are getting married, I strongly recommend taking Albert & Sam team as they were excellent in all areas. Albert's accommodating gesture extended till the 11th hr of confirming our final attendance and that helped us saved a alot, advising us and giving us his Best, never had he made any suggestions to his advantage, all to ours which I strongly recommend all wedding couples to look for him. Sam had a "Can-Do" attitude that will take him very far in the service line. He was superb in leading his team. We had a very fanciful food presentation. For someone looking for creative arrangement, look for this team at Furama. FYI, Albert's HP no: 98425849

Miror Creation, Mr Ernest Chua was a very creative guy, our Video Montage received great applaused, all our audience commented that it were excellently edited and very lively. I personally enjoyed working with him, strongly and highly recommended. His hp: 97496621. To all brides, do not worry, leave it to him. His rates is very reasonable too.

Hi gals:

Anybody of you here ever custom made shoes for ur AD? May I know where I can bring my wife to custom made shoes for AD as she needs abt 4 inch in height. May I know how much does it cost?

Halo bleu

I actually saw the actual set up of the rooms, not juz the brochures.

My coordinator inform me when there will be actual weddings so I could go view the real tin and I did.

At present, the crystal theme's the nicest. U go to FRF to have a look ba.. Then u won't feel so wori after seeing the real set up?