Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date
Hi Janis and all the beautiful gals,
Sorry it took me donkey years to reply as I am new to this forum - can't find my posting n this page...haha...even my username i key in wrongly n got rejected umpteen times.

I was apprehensive about the food cos ...I tried sharks fin during the wedding show. To me, it was quite diluted. Thr's also some feedback in this thread tt the food is so bad tt guests hardly ate. I will try again during food tasting and see how it goes. but if its like wat was said earlier on in this thread; food tasting differs from actual day food, then it cdn't be helped.

Also, most of my friends has not been there and one of them told me tt e hotel is never reowned for anything compared to those popular hotels..

had wanted to change menus, explore different cooking styles but seems like the chef only does HK style dishes. whatever is stated in the menu seems to be the best option the hotel offers.

I guess its a personal thing that in the first place i didn't like traditional sit down chinese dinner. only doing this as parents wants it.

well, i shall think positive and go for the tasting. Lets see.

Janis,
I will be at the square at 7pm.
I chose menu B but changed 2-3 dishes.

oh my gosh icywave,
i think i met that person yvonne too...but she's changed hotels already..not in plaza park royal anymore ..erm, not really nice to say which one' she's at la..but i couldn't believe her talk man..

first, she showed us the ballroom of the place, then she said 'so how? like anot? if u don't like then i don't want to talk anymore already'. then, coz the carpet of the ballroom was SO ugly, my hubby asked if this is the carpet used on the AD (i thought itt was a silly question too la), n she said' oh no, we take this out n put another one in. of course this is the carpet on the days lah!' *faint* she talked with a smile lah, but hello? is that how you talk to your customers? we were totally stunned man..my hubby's in sales line too, so he was so shocked by this lady;s 'sales' ethics/..n also, she told us some negative things abt PPR too..we thought it was rather unethical of her to bad-mouth another hotel, plus it was her previous working place.. n u know what? she'sthe manager or asst director of that new hotel she's in..urgh!

none of the other hotels i went to had coordinators like that! n FRF was the best one...
yeah albert served us drinks too, n he chatted abt some other things..so we were very relaxed n comfortable with him..n even the service staff at the restaurant were very nice too(the square really yummy! =D)

i think they do have really good service..some of the 5 star hotel don't even have such good service staff..tsk tsk..

Hey Violet.. I agree with u thaat there were some bad comments abt the sharks fin (what i read in forum lah) but i think its a one off thing lah. Maybe cos it was a wedding show and they had to keep churning it out throughout the day,busy somemore, so maybe standard dropped a little?
I guess it all depends on ur luck that day, whether the ingredients are fresh, whether the chef is in a good mood, etc. U can have a horrible food tasting but AD food may be good and vice versa. This kind of thing cannot predict one lah, and its no body's fault.

Icywave, u told me not to worry cos the those coordinators are from PRR.. what do i have to worry about?
Anyway, i agree with u abt the desserts. I'm not a desserts person, but seeing the way my familiy and friends ate them, looks good..

I'm still pissed off with Re* Ear*h's manicure and pedicure. Within 4 days, the nail polish chip off liao. And i didnt do anything (remember, fingers swollen and bleeding from the mani, so too painful to touch wateer/ soap. so never do any form of washing) Horrible horrible service.

Kekeke... ribbons, coz I tout u misunderstood tat the bad coordinators we mentioned are from FRF, tats y...

Reg yr mani/pedi, its truly horrifying.. all that pain & suffering. It sounds very scary. I nvr had mani/pedi before.. is tat the way mani/pedi shld be? or perhaps u've got a new manicurist to serve u, tats y? Are yr fingers better?? Maybe u can write a feedback to that company?

Magical, u've muz have met tat Yvonne too! She sounded so alike! The way she talk I blieve its one of a kind. Hubby & I were lost for words when we had our meeting wif her too.

Ya, I believe FRF's service the best manz!

Hi Violet

I will be there at 7.30 p.m. I only changed the dessert. I am just worried that the shark fins will be too diluted.

Hi Sinfulchocolate

Violet and me shall be able to tell you the result after our food tasting on this coming Sunday.

Hi Magical

I agree with you that some 5 star hotel don't even have good services like Furama Riverfront.

Icywave: NO way should a manicure or pedicure be like that.. I so traumatized liao.. the day after the mani, i called re*ear*h. made complain. Then they just said they will talk to the person. and ask for my addy also , so that they can send something to me.
I still waiting.
not that i want the compensation, but i dont like this lor, no follow up one. should i send an email to them, asking about what action they have taken? Like told the girl etc?
If give me vouchers, i not sure if i dare to use it or not.

I have also signed up wif FRF-Jupiter rm!! My wedding coordinator is albert. I agree wif most of u, they have good service & professional attitude. Which is one of the reason why i sign up wif them so easily.

argh..i am so SAD!!
rem i talked abt buying my EG online? well they ran out of stock for my size..n only got smaller size, no larger one..n they dunno if more stocks will come it...=(!!!
now i don't want any other EGs...should i wait a few weeks? my PS only in Dec..but STILL! =(

*sorry ah..throw temper here abit..hehheh..*

Hi all:
My wedding is on 26 May 2006. One thing i sign up with them is because of Selest she is very professional. I still remember though she is having hoidays oversea when i call her to confirm date she even call back from oversea to ask her colleagues to book the date for me.

This made me feel very good

Aiyo ribbons.. so unfortunate of u to met such bad service for mani/pedi. Maybe u shld have complain on the spot. I tink its only rite that u ensure that sumtin is being done for your bad experience. But ya u r rite, even if they send u vouchers for free services or wat, U muz be really daring then can use it.

Magical, while waiting for yr dream EG, maybe u can still keep looking thru magazines & BS to c if they may have wat u want too. So at least kinda have a back-up if yr dream EG really not cming in yr size anymore.

Heheh.. seem like albert & seles very hot here

Hi ribbon,
Thx for the detail description of mani and pedi. I have made an appt this coming wed afternoon with Relax Nails and Spa but too bad Adek is on leave.

I'm shocked to hear your bad experience with red earth..it's really horrible! Hope your finger is fine now..

Hi magical,
Eh..that's the place the rock climber fell and died?! Hm..it really doesn't sound encouraging leh..have to reconsider liao.

You must be really disappointed after finally decided to buy the EG online and realised that they don't have your size. Don't fret ok..you will sure find a suitable EG nearer to your ps day. Actually, I haven't found mine yet though my ps is this coming thursday..hee.

Hi icywave,
Welcome back to singapore!

Hi Janis & violet,
Do let us know the outcome of the food tasting tomorrow ya.

Welcome Lin and Star Tortoise to FRF thread!

If any of you happen to attend the wedding show on 23/10, do update us on the new favor ok. Thx!

wah seabreaker,
this coming thurs n u have n chosen your EG yet? hm..maybe i should be less kan chiong..hehheh...
anywayz, found a contact that is able to make EGs..but the gown i wanted was two-toned, n she charges 400+ for 2 two-toned coz need to dye the fabric..but for single toned its abt 200..most likely will get her to do for me..she's quite experienced in copying n making designs from international designers, so i feel quite safe with her..now waiting for exact quote..
sigh..here's a lesson to learn, when u see something u like, just go for it..don't wait til it disappears then regret..how true!!

hi icywave!
supposed to go down this coming tues to look thru EGs from my BS, but hubby has to OT n i lazy to go myself..sigh...
today is sunday night, i got serious case of monday blues kick in already...urgh!

hi star tortoise!
welcome! hey your AD is just 3 days b4 mine! =)

Hi magical,

I'm glad to hear that you have found a seamstress to copy the exact design for you.
Alternatively, you can go to Allure Charix to see whether is there any chance you can find your dream EG there.

I happened to pass by Scotts SC yesterday and saw a black tube gown with layering at one of the window display..it's so pretty! I'll see whether my coordinator can get something similar for me to wear for the ps this thurs. *cross my finger*

Hi Magical:

Nice to hear from you. So how is ur preparation so far. For me my ROM has just completed on 9/9 . Very hard to get the ROM date.

My photo shoot will probably be in Dec / Jan

Hi dearies, all FRF brides to be...

I bring you glad tidings. :D

Over the weekend, I have tried FRF's Kintamani Restaurant and done food tasting.

Kintamani Restaurant
I have totally no complaints but thumbs up for Kintamani Restaurant. Fish was v fresh, tahu telor was fabulous. Except for the chicken which is a little on the dry side, the remaining dishes are good and the variety is wide. Value for $$$. $24.90+++ for dinner buffet, adds up to abt $29 per person. tea and coffee included. Service is also v gd.

Food tasting...yum yum.
Only sharks fin soup din passed.
The rest are ok. no complaints. even the roast chicken was tender and tasty. Wish there's another round of tasting...so i can eat...haha...cos on AD, i think the couple can only eat the first 3 dishes. After which, goto change and do photo taking, then standby at the door as guests leaves.

How was ur food tasting, Janis?

Hi Violet

So far Ok, the sharks fin soup passed, not too diluted. Hope it will be the same for the AD.

I must compliment that the service are very good that day although something crop up.

Which room are you at, Violet for the food tasting?

hi seabreaker!
initiallly wanted to go allure charix too but the prices for EG start at 499...much to ex for me..
great that u found something u like! do u have a specific colour in mind?
i'm torn between taking pink or lavender..(safe colours for me coz im quite fair)..or to take a royal blue gown..something different to stand out..sigh..

hi star tortoise!
congrats! so now u're a newly-wed..! =)
hubby n i ROMed last year oct on my bday..
PS will be in early dec coz wan to avoid rainy season..now busy searching for my EG..coz not planning to take from BS..either gonna get a contact to custom make it for me or buy it online..

hey violet,
thanks for your glad tidings!
can't wait to go have my food tasting...how long b4 AD do we need to go for it?

Hi Magical

It depends on indidivual. But I prefer the food tasting two weeks before my AD....

I must say that the yesterday food tasting is fantastic as all couples have it in a function room, more privacy. The presentation of the food is good and the portion is huge too. Especially the shark fins,which is very thick.

Hi FRF brides and brides to be,

I need help urgently. I am having my banquet in FRF in nov 2005 and need help in the wedding invites. Is there anyone out there who source for their own printing co for printing the inserts? i will be asking my uncle to print the inserts for me, but i urgently require a sample/format and the layout of the inserts in both chinese and english? is there anyone who can email me your invitation card inserts sample? Your help is greatly appreciated as i desperately need one...thks! Pls email me at [email protected]
BTw, do you think i am late to do printing now?

hi shirley! managed to dig through all the rubbish on my messy desk and found these.Will post it here in case anyone else needs it

if parents are helping to pay for the dinner

(parents names)

and

(parents names)

cordially invite

to the wedding celebration of

their son (name) and daughter (name)

at

(place)

on (date) at (time)

if you n hubby are paying

(hubby name) and (your name)

together with our parents

(parents names)
and
(parents names)

in a celebration of marriage on
(date)
at
(place)
Cocktails will be served at (time)
Dinner will be served at (time) sharp.

these are samples of my friends' invites, but you can add in or take out other things.

hm..these that i have don't have chinese version, so can't really help in that area..sorrie!
hope the above comes in useful though..=)

i'm also planning to print my own invites..hehheh..save $$$!

btw, think FRF will change their invites soon? i really cannot tahan their two designs..the red one still ok, but the ivory ones totally cannot make it!

Hmn! glad to hear that the food's ok! Thx for sharing violet & janis!

Hi star tortise! we'd our rom on the same day eh! I juz becme a Mrs too. heheh... do u feel anytin different between u & yr 'new' hubby??

Magical, dun wori too much.. maybe they'll cme up with nicer designs of the cards when its ur turn to choose!

Halo seabreaker! how's ya doing??

Hi Icywave:

Btw I am a guy. My wife and I though ROMed still go back to our own home. Though legally married we still behave like bf and gf feeling hence not much difference. Furthermore our work is so busy hence no time no celebrate between ourselves.

So what abt u leh.

oh yeah..my hubby n i ROM almost 1 year but we still live apart..coz haven customary yet..but will stay over at his place over weekends..so troublesome..but anyway i also not ready to leave my family yet...so i jst take this period as slowly adjusting loh..

btw i am pleased to annouce that i ordered my EG online already! need to wait 3-5 days for delivery...
here's the pic!

315302.jpg

=D hehheh..i took the royal blue one in the end coz think will be more glam for a night function..
will let u guys know when it arrives..!

icywave,
i hope so too...in fact i was looking at the cards last night n thinking of ways to cut it so it looks nicer..haha..

Hahaha!! Glad to have u around star tortise! So we have a better idea how guys tink during preparation of marriage?

Me & 'new' hubby living apart from each other after ROM too. So currently I don't feel much difference either. In fact, there are many times when I forgot that we are married. Haven't been able to adjust to the new status yet. But Im proud to realise that I really 'own' him now. Kekeke..

My AD cming up in less than 80days. Me customary tis Dec, so will be moving on to my next phase of life real soon. Hope I'll be able to adapt to my new life well. Like Magical, I still cannot bear to lve my family too.

Hey Magical! Nice EG! Tink my hubby wld like it very much, he likes blue color alot & have been asking me Y I don't pick a blue color EG. Haha..

Hi Magical

That is a nice gown...i like the colour too....is it from the bridal studio?

My invitation cards are from the previous Novetel Apollo one... foldable one.A lot of my friends and relatives said that the card is nice....My Co-ordinator, Halim helped us by pasting a Furama Hotel sticker over all the cards...

Hi Icywave...you are welcome...hope you have a pleasant food tasting as well....

Hi Star Tortise

So your AD is this year November?

Hey Magical.. That is a very nice gown.. Looks like its well the search and wait eh..
But i think i wouldnt have the guts to try something i never try.. Maybe cos my shape not as good as all you ladies here..
Exciting to see that there are more couples opting for FRF.

Hi star tortoise and icywave,

I am also FRR bride and rom on 9 sep too. I agree that it is a hot date. I even practice going into the ROM website and familiarise with the information required so that we can book the timing we want.

Have not went for food tasting. Planning to go in Oct.

Can anyone comment if the food portion is enuff for 10 pax?

hi guys!
thanks for the nice comments! but then again, don't know how i look in the gown yet..hopefully its not money wasted loh..*cross fingers!*

janis,
i bought this gown from a US website..my BS got nothing i like...this gown costs less than US$100..quite affordable lah..
sigh...have u seen the FRF ones? urgh! cannot make it man..

ribbons,
i decided to get this coz usually bustiers and A-line skirts can fit most shapes.. i also not in very good shape too..heheh..

icywave,
hey 80 days can travel around the world..haha...*ignore my rubbish* heh..
so everything prepared already? abt 2 plus mths left! started to finalize your guest list already anot?.. i tried to come up with one earlier this year, but was such a big headache! dunno whether should invite this or that person anot..then if invite this also must invite that..argh!!!!

Aiyo magical, u hit me on the nail. Im quite troubled abt my guest list too. Juz have 2gd frds who said they cano mk it. Tink quite afew of my relatives may not be able to cme too. Tink my list will shrink, BUT, my hubby's guest list growing. Haha.. guess balance lah.

M going to collect my invitation cards soon & c how lor.. Heheh, shld be collecting my studio foto tis sun too! very eager to get my album! My frds & family all waiting to c it!

Hey PoohGer! so u rom on 9sept too! Haha.. u wanted to rom on tat day coz u like double date? Mine juz conincidence - we actually went to get a shifu to give us auspicious dates & 9sept was given. So I muz rom on tat day no mtr wat! Haha..

Janis, Im not going for food tasting, wld prefer to have the voucher & have large gatherings with my family & frds at FRF restaurant instead. Food tasting only can have 10pax. For me, I tink the more the merrier!

hey icywave,
share the pics with us can? i kaypo..hhaha..

if i find a nice way to cut it up maybe i'll ask FRF to gimme my invitation cards early so got time to cut 300 cards..haha..
if i cut already then next year got nice design..i;'ll knock my head on the wall ..hmph..!

Hi Icywave,

It was also coincidence that I rom on that day.Cos I also check out on any auspicious date for us and 9/9/05 happens to be one of them

Hi Magical

How are u going to cut the cards?? Are they coming up with new designs? I seriously dun like their invitation card designs

huh..ah.. magical, u really want to cut 300cards yrself ah..? very tiring one leh.. & how to ensure the cards are all cutted exactly the same way/dimension? I tink u wait awhile ba, I believe they'll definitely cme up wif new designs next yr de. U can save yr fingers from aching with pain due to continuous use of sisscors!

Hoho.. regarding the pics ah... sigh...... i dino tk much pixs coz was too upset with my hair. Quite a eventful day for my ROM. Scheduled appt with BS at 9.45am, however the key holder late so me & MUA ended up wating in vain for door to open. After tat, left with insufficient time for MUA so she rushed thru everytin. MUA said my fringe too long after doing my hair, & cut it short - too short! Somemore cut not balanced, one side shorter than the other - very obvious mistake that everyone can see.. was so upset I felt like crying if not for hubby's consolation..

sigh.. wat a good way to spoil my day. Lucky my happiness helped me ovrcme my sadness fast.

HI star tortoise and icywave and poohger...My ROm same day as urs too..my actual day will be in June next yr...=)
Btw, anyone have photgraphers to recommend me for AD? I am sourcing but all seems to charge quite steeply...=(

Hi Destineey!

I've engaged a free-lance photographer who's supposed to be quite gd (as read from several threads/postings in Styleweddings forum). I tink his charges is quite reasonable. Moz importantly, he's able to customised his pkg in accordance to our different needs. R U interested? But I've nvr seen him before, only his wrks on internet. If u want, let me have your email & i'll send u his contacts okie.

Cheers!!

icywave,
aiyo..so sorry to hear your experience..but anyway,this will be a good thing to remember your ROM by! =) if go through smoothly, not very memorable...haha..for me what i remember most is super HOT that day...n my JP talk in english, then suddenly lapse to chinese..then he realised his mistake, then switch to english again...i felt like laughing, so din really pay much attention to him..my hubby said he felt like we were being scolded by a discipline master..coz we both stand up n look down at JP who was sitting, n we look very solemn..haha..so now that's all i remember most abt the day..

hm..i've met with Jacky from Injack studio..most likely will take him coz too lazy to go n see others...icywave, may i have your PG's rates too? thanks!

Hi Poohger,
Rest assured that food tasting portion is more than enuf for 10 persons.

To everyone here...
I was told by my wedding coordinator friend that a good photographer usu charges about $1.2k plus minus. Same thing for videographer. Not sure how true it is. I met up with one last wkend, find tt his work is ok only thou he did for Mediacorp artiste. I guess it is also up to individual preferences.

All said and done, I will be meeting up with at least another 5 photographers before deciding. Looking for value for money than branding work. If anyone has good photographers or videographer, please recommend and likewise.

hi violet,
jacky from injack studio is not bad...very friendly n easygoing..good price too..if interested, give me your email add ..i'll email u..=)

Actually, the foods served during the food tasting is good and the portion is more than enough for 10 pax.....Hopefully, on my actual wedding dinner, the foods served will be as good as the food tasting one.

Dont think so much lah mummy Janis... think so much will get pimples.. than not mei mei.. =)
Your wedding will be fine.. When is it again? October what?

destineey,
emailed you already..=)
sigh...got a BBQ with my colleagues late but now raining..dunno it'll stop anot...wrong time to rain man..

hi magical,

not to worry, i think it will stop in a while.

yezzzz, pls email me @ [email protected]

anyone else who has good fotographers can also email to me...many thanks...

btw, last night, i dreamt i m doing my photo shoot and the bridal studio is in sentosa...hahaha...and we woke up late so in e end, we can only do outdoor fotography, no time for indoor...n strangely, the sun sets v early, as thou its winter time in aust...aiyo...maybe i m stressed cos my photoshoot next wk...so lookg forward...hehee...