Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date
Hi nov_bride,
Hee, thanks for your compliments. Must say most of the credit goes to my MUA and photographer. What time is your reception? U intend to go down during the reception? U ask your MUA whether enuf time. Total 48 tables are opened (we requested for 49 includind spares but did not open 1 spare table). We made a loss as we gave my mum 11 tables so not possible to cover our expenses lah. We only keep the red packets from my hubby's and my friends and colleagues, and from my parent-in-laws' friends and colleagues ('cos we paid for their tables as well).

Hi i_bless_u,
We went to Italy and Switzerland for our HM. Not bad. Where u going for yours?

Hi hiphip

Nice pics!! You & hubby got the Fu Qi Xing

We thinking of going Europe as well. I wanna go Italy,Paris & Swiss! But no such package leh,usually theirs is Swiss & Italy or Swiss & Paris. No all 3 together.

How abt u? U took package or F&E? We intend to put aside 10K for a 12 or 14days trip. How long did u go ?

Hi i_bless_u,
A lot of pple said me and my hubby look alike. We went F&E. We spent 6 nights in Italy and 8 nights in Switzerland. Spent a total of $12-13K for the total trip, including air ticket (we took Malaysia airline), rail pass, accomodation and all expenses. Both Italy and Swiss are beautiful but I liked Swiss better. My hubby went to Paris about 2 months ago and he said Paris also very beautiful. When are you going? Btw, when's your AD?

hiphip

My AD is on 16 May 2005. This season is high peak season in Europe cos of their summer holidays. Package is especially xpensive as well thus we cant go too many days.
Heard fr travel agencys at the NATAS, it will probably cost $400-$500 more during peak season. Anyway we will most probably purchase package next yr NATAS in March. Hopefully got more discount. I love Swiss...got nice sceneries heee!

Btw, if u got msn messenger installed, can chat with u as well there.

My Id : [email protected]

hip hip

Thanks for the info. Really useful. I'll be seeing my wedding coordinator soon and sort things out with her. Hope that everything will go smoothly. Thanks again dearie!!

harlow,

have been busy these 2 days, din come into this thread :p reception starts @ 7pm loh, no choice leh, as my makeup artist have 2 brides to do makeup on that day and i dunwan to be the 1st one so compromise with her regarding the timing loh.

U lost alot???? Me too giving 10 tables to my parents, dun think will be able to cover the cost, just hope to minimise the looses, thats all :p

Wow, so good, envy you all leh, i only going to korea, anyway never mind lah, happy so long as can take aeroplane ^_

Nov Bride:

Korea good place also.... Romantic...
Esp if they bring u to those Korea drama series location

I've been to Korea for holiday during winter time.... It's fun esp skiing.

Remember to bring more rolls of film or memrory card along.... will snap till siaoz

Just heard from my wedding coordinator that she's leaving!!! Her last day will be tomorrow and she has no idea herself as to who will be handling my wedding stuff after she leaves. Haizzz...with the change of the hotel's name and now my wedding coord leaves, dunno what else to expect. Hope everything will be alrite, if not better...Anyone of u affected as well? Any recommendations as to which coordinator I should request for to handle my case?

Hi Blackrose,
Who's ur Co-ordinator? Mine is Selestina. So far she has not been giving us any problem.

However, I am veri mad that the hotel just change their name suddenly...it has caused so much inconvenience to me. Despite sending out emails to all my guests that Novetel Apollo has been rebranded to Furama Riverfront, all my guests, upon receipt of the invitation cards still came to me feeling puzzled why i changed my hotel to the Furama at Chinatown point. I was so fed up of explaining to them alreadi. I wonder if the hotel is doing anything to avoid such confusion. I wouldn't want my banquet to be delayed cos of blurred people gng to the Furama at Chinatown Point. Sigh.

All Novetel Brides,
What did u do to minimise these confusion? I mean I really dun mind calling up all my guests personally to inform them of the change of hotel name and not the location. But if u come to think abt it, this calling time can be more fruitfully or constructively be used on other wedding preparations. Worse is, does it really help even if I call my guest to feed them with these info? I doubt not. Sianz. Any advice?

Hi everybody,

I'm getting married at Novotel Apollo next month. I feel the same way as u all on the way the hotel handle matters. v disappointing. They dun mk any effort 2 inform us of any important news.

blackrose, u r luckier than us, at least your coordintor told u that she's leaving. Our initial coordinator is caroline n she left without informing us. The hotel din even bother 2 inform us oso. we oni get 2 know tis news in here. Secondly, the hotel din inform us change of wedding invitation cards. It's oni when we r at the printer then we found out tat the old ones r not in use anymore. Finally, the change in the hotel name. We get 2 know tis oni after calling about collecting the cards n after our inserts r printed. We insist tat the hotel paid 4 our reprinting which they did. I just crossing my fingers tat the hotel dun give us any more surprises.

Fiona: yes i agree wif u. when i send out my invitation cards 2 my colleagues. When they saw the printing on the cards tat it's Furama, they immediately tink of chinatown one. even the cab driver we took 2 the hotel the other day tot the same. I have 2 remind my friends n colleagues over n over again it's Novotel Apollo. As a precaution, we even printed on our inserts tat the hotel is formally Novotel Apollo. i dun tink there's anything we cn do but keep reminding them it's Novotel Apollo. jst hpe nobody will go 2 the wrong place or even worse, go to chinatown Apollo centre. :p

Hi tiger4,

My initial co-ordinator was Caroline too and like you, we were not inform when she left. When I called and found out, I was very angry and made a fuss over it. And I'm lucky that my AD was just before NA official change name. My AD was in Sept. Else, I'll be having the same problems as you.

During my wedding dinner, one of my colleagues was late and I jokingly asked him did he go to the Apollo in Chinatown. And surprisingly, he did! He sms his friend to ask how to go to Apollo but did not say Apollo Hotel so his friend tell him to take a bus that goes to Apollo Centre in Chinatown!

tiger4,
sad to say, despite emailing and sms all my guests to inform them abt the change in hotel name, but not the hotel location...there are still quite a number of 'sotong' out there who still think that my hotel is at Chinatown point.
Though it's the IT world now...and everyone is expected to be at least 1% IT-savvy, u will be surprised that Singaporean dun bother to read emails...imagine my guests are 80% TEACHERS...sigh...still so blur and 'cant-be-bothered'.

Fiona, my coordinator is Jenny Ng. Yes, like all of you, Im really mad that they changed the name to Furama Riverfront.So 'obiang'( err..is this the rite spelling?).

Hiphip, did that really happen? Gosh!!!That's terrible. Like what Fiona was asking, is there any other way that we can minimise any further inconveniences / confusions, apart from having to call up our guests to remind them that its gonna be at the Havelock Novotel Apollo, not Furama Chinatown and not Apollo Chinatown. I intend to state Furama Riverfront Singapore (former Novotel Apollo) on my card but I fear that some people mught still end up at the wrong place. They might overlook the latter part (Former NA) and will immediately think its Furama Chinatown upon seeing the word "Furama" printed on the card. Grrrrrr....this is so frustrating.

Agree with Tiger4 that the management doesn't seem to make much effort to inform us of any important news. Even if they did, thy do it at the very last minute that leaves us with not much choice. Very unprofessional. On the subject of rebranding to Furama Riverfront,I guess they should play their part to create public awareness of the change in the hotel name and emphasise that they are still at the same place though the name has been changed. This will save us a lot of unnecessary trouble and inconveniences to reiterate to our guests the correct location.

Oh and by the way, does anyone have any recomendation as to which wedding coord can provide good service? Have to admit that I can be rather demanding, given the fact its my Big Day and I want everything to run smoothly, not taking any chances. Suggestions? I read somewhere in this thread that Halim is helpful and friendly. Is he a wedding coord and is he still around?

Hi Blackrose,
I stated Furama Riverfront (formerly known as Novetel Apollo Hotel) in my cards but still, alot of 'sotong' overlooked. We must all agree that Singaporeans will not look into fine prints like dis. If u happen to come across the current NA wedding card, the 'Furama' is printed veri big with 'riverfront' printed veri tiny just below it. I cannot blame pple for noticing the FURAMA oni and straight away llink it to the one at Chinatown.

NA created public awareness...they announced it on the Straitstime papers for just ONE day. So it's either u read it or miss it, no second chance. sigh...

Dear All NA brides,

We actually bolded, caps & increase the font size for the hotel name "FURAMA RIVERFRONT SINGAPORE"(formerly known as Novetel Apollo Hotel) in our inserts. Think only can remind guests again before the AD...NOT THE HOTEL/CENTRE @ CHINATOWN but along Havelock Rd & to include a map to minimise the confusion!

Adeline,
I bolded, caps & increase the font size for the hotel name "FURAMA RIVERFRONT SINGAPORE"(formerly known as Novetel Apollo Hotel) in our inserts, but sad to say, still alot of pple overlooked or chose not to look! That's y i am so mad.

I will call up all my guests PERSONALLY a week before my wedding, but sometimes it makes me wonder y shd we have to do all these calling? Shouldn't the hotel do something to alleviate the problem. Just imagine, if I take 10 mins to explain the change in name, give directions, etc to ONE guest, and I have 300 guests to call, then the total time WASTED on calling will be 3000 mins, which can be more constructively be used on other wedding preparations! sigh...I dun care, next week I am gng down to NA to bang table and ask for some kinda compensations!

Fiona,
I actually double checked with Jenny, my weddg coord before she left, that the cards are still gonna be the very same ones that I saw the other day before the change in management. She assured me that the cards will be exactly the same as the ones shown to me then. Gosh, this is really bad. If I were to print my own cards( not using the hotel's), do you think they can compensate me on that or a slightly reduced cost for the package? Anyone tried that before?

Adeline,
Yeah, I guess thats what I'll do to avoid any more confusion but still.......u know? *sigh* I can just pray hard now.

Blackrose,
The current invitation card is the same as the cream-coloured card that we see last time. now we have 2 options to the colours either cream or pink. However, the name 'Furama Riverfront' has replaced 'Novetel Apollo', of course.

Fiona,
Thks for the response. Do u know if its possible to choose the card that was shown to me the last time with the Novotel Apollo print instead of the Furama on the card. I'd like to highlight to my guests that it is still the old Novotel Apollo. You think that's possible? And pls tell us if you managed to get any compensation from the management following your visit to the hotel next week to make the complaints.

Hiphip & Tiger4,
How long did it take the management to inform you the new coordinator who will be managing your wedding function? Im still waiting for them to get back to me so that I can follow up with the new coord on further arrangements for my function.

Hi Blackrose,

NA didn't inform me that my initial co-ordinator left the hotel. I onli knew when I saw in this forum and called the hotel. U could have imagine how angry I am! Halim take over my account. He's the banquet manager and he's easy to talk with. I advise you not to wait for them to call you lah. Else wait until the cow comes home and no call.

But other then this big hiccup, everything else goes quite well with the hotel.

Dear gals,
I believe it's very fustrating now that the hotel has changed name. And I agreed that the hotel should be doing something to help like calling the guests instead of us calling. I would be as mad if it happens to me. Think can talk to your co-ordinator on this and see how they can help?

So long i have not come in this forum. So many things happen.. Jenny just call my husband last week also. say that she has left the hotel for better offer. but we are not aware of who is our new coordinator. Hmmm.. I only have jenny no, and do not have the hotel no.

Can anyone tell me wat is the no. to call to check who is my new coordinator.. JIALAT man! hearing so many prob..

Hi i_bless_u,

my PS is this dec. My MUA is Irene and photographer is Alex. not sure i can get negative a not, must wait until i take photo. But i believe WL style is u buy more, they gv u negative. tt wat i heard so far lah...

Hi hiphip,

Can send me ur photos as well? hehe... Also tot of going bintan... tks tks! [email protected]

Hi Blackrose,
So now who is your coordinator? I just call jenny, she tell me got new staff coming in.. aiyo.. jialat leh... and ask me check w/ Selest...

Hey all,
any coordinator to recommend?

Jialat man!

My coordinator is oso Halim. He took over when we call up the hotel about our coordinator leaving. He is a really nice n helpful guy. Halim promise he will fulfil any agreements we made previously. aiya, should hv con him a free projector then... *evil grin* But he seems 2 b a bit blur lately. Mayb as a Director of Catering, doubling as a coordinator is stressing him out.

Another thing is anyone know wat r the themes they hv? They keep confusing us wif the theme name n the actual look. Will b going down tis Sat as there r 2 themes on tat day.

As for the guests going 2 the wrong place, there is so much we cn do. Jst make sure u and your family hp r fully charged tat day. ;)

Hi Tiger,

U r going down @ sat to view the theme? I will be there too as I am holding my wedding this sat @ venus ballroom. Surprised...............

Actually hor, I faced similiar situations. My coor left and I was left wondering who will follow up with my a/c. GOd bless and I have Halim as the new coor.

I must comment that he is really good with his PR. Everything we bargain for, ask for, he tries to accomodate. I added in the projector, saying that the ex coor has agreed.

Actually I dun like any of the theme that Halim showed me last week. Its either the centre piece not nice or the back stage not nice. So in the end, I choose and mix myself. Hopefully it turns out well on that day

Kekekek

hiphip,
Yep, I called them this very morning. Can't tolerate any more nonsense from them.
Glad your function went smoothly...For the rest of us, we just gotta keep our fingers crossed..

kiki80,
My new coordinator is Selestina. She seems helpful and friendly. Perhaps you can call Jenny's office line (67396452) and explain that since Jenny, your wedding coord left, you'd like to know if there has been a new coordinator assigned to manage your account. By the way, when is your AD?

Yvonne,
Congrats on your Big Day. Who's your florist? Which theme did you choose? Im with Stefii's but have not really finalised the theme.

hiphip,
Yep, I called them this very morning. Can't tolerate any more nonsense from them.
Glad your function went smoothly...For the rest of us, we just gotta keep our fingers crossed..

kiki80,
My new coordinator is Selestina. She seems helpful and friendly. Perhaps you can call Jenny's office line (67396452) and explain that since Jenny, your wedding coord left, you'd like to know if there has been a new coordinator assigned to manage your account. By the way, when is your AD?

Yvonne,
Congrats on your Big Day. Who's your florist? Which theme did you choose? Im with Stefii's but have not really finalised the theme.

Hi Black rose,

If I am not wrong, I chose Stefi as well. But I cant really recall the theme as I mix and match the flowers

If u r free, just pop by the ballroom this sat

Thanks. Will try to drop by. What time is the best time cos the other time when I went to see someone else's wedding, the set up was not ready yet. Are you gonna have the tentage thingee on the stage or the iron rod(that's how they described it to me)?

Fiona & all NA brides,
Im thinking of stating the venue as Novotel Apollo( now known as Furama Riverfront) to avoid guests ending up at Furama Chinatown. Probably when they read Novotel Apollo first, then its gonna register in their heads as NA instead of Furama. And perhaps upon seeing Furama Riverfront, they will double check and the map and address will confirm its the NA @ Havelock Rd and NOT Furama Chinatown. I will also follow up with calls to my guests personally to highlight this to them again. U know how people can be sometimes..so Im just taking the extra precautions. To make it less confusing, I don't think I'll be using the hotel's cards with the Furama print. Instead I'll be using the printer's cards or something, just as long as there's no Furama on the front of the card. Do you think this will work? Will it sound silly putting NA first instead of Furama?

Pls comment. I know Ive raised this issue earlier in this posting but I just cant decide... Aaaargghh!!!

Blackrose: yours mayb a good plan. just take it ez. tings will work out right tat day

Hi yvonne. Congrats. I will definitely drop by tat evening. Cn provide some feedback on the hotel services 2 us when your banquet is over. Thanks

Balckrose, when I went down the other day, there was a wedding and there was a tentage. It looks funny and bare. The tentage is white and all table cloths are white too. It looks like err................. (not too good for me to spell out). So in the end, I choose to mix the centrepiece, the stage backdrop myself.

Maybe there is no theme to the flowers that I choose, but at least the flowers are bright colours. Not so dull.

I took the iron rod cos I think that is the nicest of all.

Hi Tiger, I dont know what time the decor will be ready. But my emcees are having their rehearsal around 6, so I guess by then the decor should be ready for viewing.

All NA brides,

Went down yesterday to talk to Selestina.
She promised to help me call all my guests to inform them that the location is still the same at Havelock.

They have done something to create public awareness of the change in name. Since the change in name, they have been encouraging taxi drivers to drive in to Furama Riverfront, and those who drove in, will get a lunch pack, mineral water and most importantly car-d-cal for them to paste on their car windscreen. The address and tel no is printed on the car d cal and hence this will minimise the confusion in them. I rode in a few taxis recently and notice the car-d-cal pasted on their windscreen.

Hope this info helps.

Just to add to my previous msg.

Guess Furama Riverfront is successful in creating public awareness of the change in name b'cos my f who just held her wedding at the old furama has guests gng to OUR furama instead!

Hi Fiona,

surprise tat the hotel do tis 4 u. But jst a precaution, i will contact my friends n relatives once more on the week of my AD 2 remind them one last time.

Hi Fiona,

That's very nice of Selestina. You really mean she's gonna be calling ALL your guests? Wah, that must be a load off for you. Like tiger4, I guess I'd be calling up my guests personally...at least I'd be more assured that way...just in case lah..

You mean the tentage u saw was on the stage huh?

I hv choose the iron rod one as well. They call it the Garden Theme. And at the entrance of the door, they hv like banners hanging from the door. no kw how to describe tt design. I understand from Selest that there are new themes coming up by Stefii. Is white w/ burgundy color.. she roughly describe to me tt day thru the phone..

Maybe can go down this sat to take a look. but i got to attend a wedding on this sat as well at hyatt.. not sure free a not...

Hey Tiger,

If there are 2 themes is sat, meaning is 2 different ballroom? the biggest ballrm is venus rite? and the small one is jupiter huh? forgot liao also... hehe...

Hi HipHip,

Tks tks! have rx your photos.. heheh have reply u via your email.. hehe.. hope you have rx..

Once again, nice shots! and tks for sharing...

Hi Kiki,

Yes, the tentage is on the stage and it covers almost the whole stage, so underneath quite dark. It just looks funny loh.

I choose the iron rod, but really cant recall the theme.

Yes, this coming sat 30 Oct, there are 2 wedding. One of them is mine at the venus ballroom, the other one is held at the jupiter function room. They have lesser guests, I heard.

I have 54 tables, so will look quite cramp. Last time I saw 60 tables. The chairs are so cramp that it touches one and other at the other table

Ic. Okie. So yours is w/ an arch outside i supposed. shld be the same as HipHip one. Think there is no theme for this, but just under steffi lor.

Anyway, congrats! hehe... If happy to c you, will congrats u that day... hehehe..

So you hv any montage tmr? let me kw how is the coordination w/ the hotel like? seems so blur.. cos i will not hv my own coordinator as Hiphip, so just wonder how will the hotel staff help..

keep me update.! tks!

My wedding is 2 weeks later on the 13 November.
I've chosen the new theme by Steffi.

Feel free to drop by and take a look

If u happen to see me, let me know.

Hi kiki80,

The hotel has came up with 2 new themes by Stelfi. I have seen the pics, find them quite nice and more modern. U may want to check with Selest.

Hi Fiona,
U seen the pictures for the 2 new themes by Stefii? How were they like? Is this the white w/ burgundy in color? Do email me if Selest had sent you the pics.

Hi Xuan,
What's exactly the new theme that you have chosen like? Any pics of it? Checked out stefii's website but don't think its updated.
If you do have the pics, pls email to me.

Blackrose,
Unfortunately, I dun have the pics. Selest showed me the pics then, one of which is the white and burguny in colour one. I prefer this to the garden theme. More modern. but it's all up to individual's taste.

Hi everybody,

It's a bz weekend for me. Went down last Sat 2 view Yvonne ballroom deco. Like the stage design which is the same as hiphip. Went 2 see the jupiter ballroom design which looks the same as Yvonne's 2 us except the VIP tables centrepiece r different. All in all the new design by Steffi is v nice. We actually wanted 2 take the bubbleglass theme by Cocoon but the stage design is v simple n the deco use fake flowers unlike Steffi's which use real flowers on their deco, as pointed out by Halim.

Once again, like 2 praise Halim 4 being accommodating n helpful all tis time, although he may b a bit blur some times. We actually plan 2 use the VIP room as a makeshift changing room. When Halim heard tis, he immediately offer 2 place a mirror in there 4 our convenience.

Blackrose:
cn post Steffi's website here? like 2 go there 2 hv a look c look c :p